Post-War Home Front Education
During World War II the Federation of Women's Clubs and subsequently the Saint Louis Safety Club's focus shifted to building safety consciousness on the home front and providing aid overseas via other women's clubs internationally. This meant building relations between these clubs and clubs on the home front by sharing information about daily life on all sides and sharing support through community outreach. This page is a dedicated space for items within Betty Baron's collection that offer a look into life during the War from the perspective of America's women's clubs.
"Foreign and Territorial Activites" by Ruth Kelso Renfrow
An article written to inform people on how clubs can aid in building community nationally and abroad using the terror of World War II as an example as to why it’s important to maintain these connections. It also highlights the importance of remaining informed on national and international affairs.
"The G.F.W.C., reaching as it does into all communities in the United States as well as into the far places of the world, can foster and develop a more informed public opinion on world needs by a program of information and exchange of ideas between the clubwomen of the United States and the women of other countries."
"Foreign and Territorial Activities"
An article written to inform people on how clubs can aid in building community nationally and abroad using the terror of World War II as an example as to why it’s important to maintain these connections. It also highlights the importance of remaining informed on national and international affairs.
“The G.F.W.C., reaching as it does into all communities in the United States as well as into the far places of the world, can foster and develop a more informed public opinion on world needs by a program of information and exchange of ideas between the clubwomen of the United States and the women of other countries.”
"Important -- To You and Your Club"
This letter sent to clubs informs members of an upcoming convention and a list of outreach opportunities and suggestions to help take away some post-war burden effecting national and international communities.
"Important -- To You and Your Club"
This letter sent to clubs informs members of an upcoming convention and a list of outreach opportunities and suggestions to help take away some post-war burden effecting national and international communities.
Letter and American Booklist for Exchange
This letter contains a call to General Federation of Women's Club members asking them to send books about America. It includes a list of books that are available for purchase that can be gifted to women's clubs in other countries via the G.F.W.C's librarian.
Letter and American Booklist for Exchange
This letter contains a call to General Federation of Women's Club members asking them to send books about America. It includes a list of books that are available for purchase that can be gifted to women's clubs in other countries via the G.F.W.C's librarian.
Letter and American Booklist for Exchange
This letter contains a call to General Federation of Women's Club members asking them to send books about America. It includes a list of books that are available for purchase that can be gifted to women's clubs in other countries via the G.F.W.C's librarian.
"Things I Never Knew 'Til Now"
This clipping compares daily accident injury and death numbers to deaths due to the war and states that more lives are lost on the home front due to accidents than are lost in battle.
"An Emergency Letter"
A letter sent to clubs within the General Federation of Women's Clubs calling them to action and asking them to aid women and children in post-war Greece by sending fabric for clothing.
"An Emergency Letter"
A letter sent to clubs within the General Federation of Women's Clubs calling them to action and asking them to aid women and children in post-war Greece by sending fabric for clothing.
"Roosevelt Calls for Safety"
This newspaper clipping shares President Roosevelt’s thoughts on home front accidents stating that more caution on the road and in wartime factories can lead to better odds at home.
"Facts About Fighting Fire Bombs"
This pamphlet explains the types of bombs used by Germany and Japan in 1943 during World War II and the best ways to stay safe should they fall near someone’s home.
A Letter and Booklist for Club Leaders
This letter sent to leaders of clubs within the General Federation of Women's Clubs urges leaders to pick a country for their club to learn about. It asks these women to build relations between a women's club in that country and share letter back and forth. The letter contains a list of books about other countries that are available in libraries so the clubs can learn more about the countries they'll be engaging with.
A Letter and Booklist for Club Leaders
This letter sent to leaders of clubs within the General Federation of Women's Clubs urges leaders to pick a country for their club to learn about. It asks these women to build relations between a women's club in that country and share letter back and forth. The letter contains a list of books about other countries that are available in libraries so the clubs can learn more about the countries they'll be engaging with.
A Letter and Booklist for Club Leaders
This letter sent to leaders of clubs within the General Federation of Women's Clubs urges leaders to pick a country for their club to learn about. It asks these women to build relations between a women's club in that country and share letter back and forth. The letter contains a list of books about other countries that are available in libraries so the clubs can learn more about the countries they'll be engaging with.
A Letter and Booklist for Club Leaders
This letter sent to leaders of clubs within the General Federation of Women's Clubs urges leaders to pick a country for their club to learn about. It asks these women to build relations between a women's club in that country and share letter back and forth. The letter contains a list of books about other countries that are available in libraries so the clubs can learn more about the countries they'll be engaging with.
A Letter and Booklist for Club Leaders
This letter sent to leaders of clubs within the General Federation of Women's Clubs urges leaders to pick a country for their club to learn about. It asks these women to build relations between a women's club in that country and share letter back and forth. The letter contains a list of books about other countries that are available in libraries so the clubs can learn more about the countries they'll be engaging with.
A Letter and Booklist for Club Leaders
This letter sent to leaders of clubs within the General Federation of Women's Clubs urges leaders to pick a country for their club to learn about. It asks these women to build relations between a women's club in that country and share letter back and forth. The letter contains a list of books about other countries that are available in libraries so the clubs can learn more about the countries they'll be engaging with.
A Letter and Booklist for Club Leaders
This letter sent to leaders of clubs within the General Federation of Women's Clubs urges leaders to pick a country for their club to learn about. It asks these women to build relations between a women's club in that country and share letter back and forth. The letter contains a list of books about other countries that are available in libraries so the clubs can learn more about the countries they'll be engaging with.
A Letter and Booklist for Club Leaders
This letter sent to leaders of clubs within the General Federation of Women's Clubs urges leaders to pick a country for their club to learn about. It asks these women to build relations between a women's club in that country and share letter back and forth. The letter contains a list of books about other countries that are available in libraries so the clubs can learn more about the countries they'll be engaging with.
A Letter and Booklist for Club Leaders
This letter sent to leaders of clubs within the General Federation of Women's Clubs urges leaders to pick a country for their club to learn about. It asks these women to build relations between a women's club in that country and share letter back and forth. The letter contains a list of books about other countries that are available in libraries so the clubs can learn more about the countries they'll be engaging with.
"Accidents Waste Manpower"
A clipping sharing how home front accidents are causing more fatalities than war campaigns.
"A Marathon Mound of Cloth for the Children of Greece"
This paper sent with the Emergency Letter provides an overview of what the fabric donated by American G.F.W.C. members will go towards.
Fires Hinder the War Effort Letter
This letter speaks on a presidential address during World War II in which it’s mentioned that fires on home terf not only weakens the war effort, but sends a message to our enemies that we’re easy to defeat. Betty Baron quotes the president’s address, then details how fires start and how community members can prevent them moving forward.
Fires Hinder the War Effort Letter
This letter speaks on a presidential address during World War II in which it’s mentioned that fires on home terf not only weakens the war effort, but sends a message to our enemies that we’re easy to defeat. Betty Baron quotes the president’s address, then details how fires start and how community members can prevent them moving forward.
This site is maintained by the librarians of George A. Spiva Library.
If you have a question or comment about the Library's LibGuides, please contact the site administrator.
