1992
The 1992 Missouri Southern International Piano Competition brought in even more opportunities. The addition of the Honor’s Audition to the competition allowed performers 18 and under within a 100-mile radius of Joplin to try their hand at competing. An ad for the Honor’s Audition quotes, “This new event was added to the [MSIPC] to encourage local participation of piano students in our International Piano Competition.” Every added event brings in more and more talented artists, building a competition space where beginners learn to hone their skills with the help of more experienced pianists who were once in these young performers’ shoes.
The Fourth MSIPC also saw the inclusion of a new grand prize: a debut concert in New York’s Carnegie Recital Hall. This prestigious award becomes a regular addition to the competition, a prize worthy of the hard work and dedication put forth by the competitors.
1992 Informational Booklet
Pages from the 1992 MSIPC informational booklet. Contains general competition information, lists of underwriters, contributors, and other sponsors, and judges’ information. It also includes letters from George H.W. Bush, a proclamation from Governor John Ashcroft and Secretary of State Roy Blunt, and Competition Director Vivian León. Junior and Senior Division competitors’ information has been left out for privacy.
1992 Informational Booklet
Pages from the 1992 MSIPC informational booklet. Contains general competition information, lists of underwriters, contributors, and other sponsors, and judges’ information. It also includes letters from George H.W. Bush, a proclamation from Governor John Ashcroft and Secretary of State Roy Blunt, and Competition Director Vivian León. Junior and Senior Division competitors’ information has been left out for privacy.
1992 Informational Booklet
Pages from the 1992 MSIPC informational booklet. Contains general competition information, lists of underwriters, contributors, and other sponsors, and judges’ information. It also includes letters from George H.W. Bush, a proclamation from Governor John Ashcroft and Secretary of State Roy Blunt, and Competition Director Vivian León. Junior and Senior Division competitors’ information has been left out for privacy.
1992 Informational Booklet
Pages from the 1992 MSIPC informational booklet. Contains general competition information, lists of underwriters, contributors, and other sponsors, and judges’ information. It also includes letters from George H.W. Bush, a proclamation from Governor John Ashcroft and Secretary of State Roy Blunt, and Competition Director Vivian León. Junior and Senior Division competitors’ information has been left out for privacy.
1992 Informational Booklet
Pages from the 1992 MSIPC informational booklet. Contains general competition information, lists of underwriters, contributors, and other sponsors, and judges’ information. It also includes letters from George H.W. Bush, a proclamation from Governor John Ashcroft and Secretary of State Roy Blunt, and Competition Director Vivian León. Junior and Senior Division competitors’ information has been left out for privacy.
1992 Informational Booklet
Pages from the 1992 MSIPC informational booklet. Contains general competition information, lists of underwriters, contributors, and other sponsors, and judges’ information. It also includes letters from George H.W. Bush, a proclamation from Governor John Ashcroft and Secretary of State Roy Blunt, and Competition Director Vivian León. Junior and Senior Division competitors’ information has been left out for privacy.
1992 Informational Booklet
Pages from the 1992 MSIPC informational booklet. Contains general competition information, lists of underwriters, contributors, and other sponsors, and judges’ information. It also includes letters from George H.W. Bush, a proclamation from Governor John Ashcroft and Secretary of State Roy Blunt, and Competition Director Vivian León. Junior and Senior Division competitors’ information has been left out for privacy.
1992 Informational Booklet
Pages from the 1992 MSIPC informational booklet. Contains general competition information, lists of underwriters, contributors, and other sponsors, and judges’ information. It also includes letters from George H.W. Bush, a proclamation from Governor John Ashcroft and Secretary of State Roy Blunt, and Competition Director Vivian León. Junior and Senior Division competitors’ information has been left out for privacy.
1992 Informational Booklet
Pages from the 1992 MSIPC informational booklet. Contains general competition information, lists of underwriters, contributors, and other sponsors, and judges’ information. It also includes letters from George H.W. Bush, a proclamation from Governor John Ashcroft and Secretary of State Roy Blunt, and Competition Director Vivian León. Junior and Senior Division competitors’ information has been left out for privacy.
1992 Informational Booklet
Pages from the 1992 MSIPC informational booklet. Contains general competition information, lists of underwriters, contributors, and other sponsors, and judges’ information. It also includes letters from George H.W. Bush, a proclamation from Governor John Ashcroft and Secretary of State Roy Blunt, and Competition Director Vivian León. Junior and Senior Division competitors’ information has been left out for privacy.
1992 Informational Booklet
Pages from the 1992 MSIPC informational booklet. Contains general competition information, lists of underwriters, contributors, and other sponsors, and judges’ information. It also includes letters from George H.W. Bush, a proclamation from Governor John Ashcroft and Secretary of State Roy Blunt, and Competition Director Vivian León. Junior and Senior Division competitors’ information has been left out for privacy.
1992 Informational Booklet
Pages from the 1992 MSIPC informational booklet. Contains general competition information, lists of underwriters, contributors, and other sponsors, and judges’ information. It also includes letters from George H.W. Bush, a proclamation from Governor John Ashcroft and Secretary of State Roy Blunt, and Competition Director Vivian León. Junior and Senior Division competitors’ information has been left out for privacy.
1992 Informational Booklet
Pages from the 1992 MSIPC informational booklet. Contains general competition information, lists of underwriters, contributors, and other sponsors, and judges’ information. It also includes letters from George H.W. Bush, a proclamation from Governor John Ashcroft and Secretary of State Roy Blunt, and Competition Director Vivian León. Junior and Senior Division competitors’ information has been left out for privacy.
1992 Informational Booklet
Pages from the 1992 MSIPC informational booklet. Contains general competition information, lists of underwriters, contributors, and other sponsors, and judges’ information. It also includes letters from George H.W. Bush, a proclamation from Governor John Ashcroft and Secretary of State Roy Blunt, and Competition Director Vivian León. Junior and Senior Division competitors’ information has been left out for privacy.
1992 Informational Booklet
Pages from the 1992 MSIPC informational booklet. Contains general competition information, lists of underwriters, contributors, and other sponsors, and judges’ information. It also includes letters from George H.W. Bush, a proclamation from Governor John Ashcroft and Secretary of State Roy Blunt, and Competition Director Vivian León. Junior and Senior Division competitors’ information has been left out for privacy.
1992 Informational Booklet
Pages from the 1992 MSIPC informational booklet. Contains general competition information, lists of underwriters, contributors, and other sponsors, and judges’ information. It also includes letters from George H.W. Bush, a proclamation from Governor John Ashcroft and Secretary of State Roy Blunt, and Competition Director Vivian León. Junior and Senior Division competitors’ information has been left out for privacy.
1992 Informational Booklet (end)
Pages from the 1992 MSIPC informational booklet. Contains general competition information, lists of underwriters, contributors, and other sponsors, and judges’ information. It also includes letters from George H.W. Bush, a proclamation from Governor John Ashcroft and Secretary of State Roy Blunt, and Competition Director Vivian León. Junior and Senior Division competitors’ information has been left out for privacy.
Elisabeth Smirnova Carnegie Flyer Front
Front and back of the flyer for Elisabeth Smirnova’s October 20, 1992 Carnegie Hall Concert. Features photos, biographical information, and her repertoire for the event.
Elisabeth Smirnova Carnegie Flyer Back
Front and back of the flyer for Elisabeth Smirnova’s October 20, 1992 Carnegie Hall Concert. Features photos, biographical information, and her repertoire for the event.
Elisabeth Smirnova Carnegie Trip Information
A flyer sent out inviting people to travel to New York for Elisabeth Smirnova’s Carnegie debut. Features trip costs, biographical information, and MSSC contact information.
1992 Winners Poster
Poster of the 1992 winners with their prizes. Features Elisabeth Smirnova (Russia), Read Gainsford (New Zealand), and Richard Dowling (United States) from the Senior Division, and Albert Kim (United States), Andrew Armstrong (United States), and Atsuko Oba (Japan) from the Junior Division.
1992 Tickets
Tickets for various concerts and events from the 1992 season.
Mia Chung Opening Concert Program
The program for 1990 Senior Division Winner Mia Chung’s return concert on April 21, 1992. Dr. Chung was the first winner to return for a concert.
Mia Chung Opening Concert Program
The program for 1990 Senior Division Winner Mia Chung’s return concert on April 21, 1992. Dr. Chung was the first winner to return for a concert.
Mia Chung Opening Concert Program
The program for 1990 Senior Division Winner Mia Chung’s return concert on April 21, 1992. Dr. Chung was the first winner to return for a concert.
1992 Judges Information
Poster with information about Judges and Guest pianists for the 1992 competition. Features Erna Gulabyan, Solomon Mikowsky, Tong-il Han, Sylvia Zaremba, and Ana Maria Trenchi de Bottazzi.
Joplin Globe 4/23/1992
Joplin Globe publication on Zhanar Suleimanova, a junior division semifinalist from the Republic of Kazakhstan. Offers insight into Suleimanova’s trip to Joplin and her motivations, along with a photo.
Southern News Service 9/6/1992 - 3/7/1993
List of dates in which MSTV aired recordings from the ’92 competition. These performances were recorded through collaboration between local stations and the campus television station.
Missouri Press 5/8/1992
Missouri Press publication detailing Elisaveta/Elisabeth Smirnova’s win along with information on senior division runner ups and junior division winners.
Ozark Public Television 4/6/1992 and 4/13/1992
Informational card regarding where to watch a recording of the competition and the Carnegie Hall debut.
Missouri Press 3/18/1992
Missouri Press publication highlighting a local Honors Audition performer, Shannon Afuvai.
Southern News Service 2/10/1992
Campus news release sharing information on where to watch a documentary over the 1990 competition.
Joplin Globe 10/16/1992
Joplin Globe publication on Elisaveta/Elisabeth Smirnova’s Carnegie Hall Debut. Contains a brief biography along with performance information.
Joplin Globe 8/7/1992
Joplin Globe publication featuring information regarding 1992 MSIPC winner Elisabeth/Elisaveta Smirnova’s Carnegie debut.
Joplin Globe 4/26/1992
Joplin Globe publication detailing Elizaveta/Elizabeth Smirnova’s grand prize win as well as senior division runner ups and junior division winners.
Joplin Globe 4/25/1992
General Competition information regarding senior division finalists, prizes, and events. Features a photo of Atsuko Oba of Japan.
Joplin Globe 4/24/1992
Joplin Globe publication providing information on Steven Larson. Includes a photo of Larson, quotes, professional background, and biographical information as well as a list of junior finalists also competing in the competition.
Carthage Press 4/9/1992
A detailed Carthage Press entry regarding competition information including, but not limited to, prize amounts, ticket prices, and judge and competitor information.
Joplin Globe 4/23/1992
Joplin Globe publication on Elisaveta Smirnova offering a photo along with information on how she found piano and why she continues to play.
Joplin Globe 4/21/1992
A Joplin Globe publication about 1990 MSIPC winner Mia Chung. Includes quotes and advice from Chung, information about her schooling and professional life, and ticket prices for her “Opening Recital” performance in April of 1992.
Joplin Globe 4/17/1992
Joplin Globe publication featuring photos of senior division competitors and general competition information.
Joplin Globe 4/15/1992
Joplin Globe advertisement with a schedule of events and list of reminders to help the events go smoothly.
Joplin Globe 4/10/1992
Joplin Globe publication providing lists of junior and senior division performers and photos of junior division competitors, along with information and quotes excitedly preparing the reader for the competition
Joplin Globe 3/27/1992
Joplin Globe publication with details regarding the new Honors Audition for area pianists 18 and under.
Joplin Globe 3/6/1992
Joplin Globe publication with general information regarding the fourth MSIPC aiming to amp up excitement for the competition and its accompanying events. Features the competition logo (three overlayed pianos) and judges’ photos.
Carthage Press 8/11/1992
Carthage Press piece over Elisabeth Smirnova’s Carnegie debut. It features information about her training, a tour taking place that following summer, and a quote from Vivian León on Smirnova’s distinctive win and the trip to New York.
Carthage Press 4/23/1992
A piece shared in Carthage Press newspaper about Polish pianist Joanna Maria Lawrynowicz and her fellow competitors along with host family information for each of them.
This site is maintained by the librarians of George A. Spiva Library.
If you have a question or comment about the Library's LibGuides, please contact the site administrator.
