All Good Things Must End
Saying goodbye is hard, especially when it means an end to one of the greatest international piano competitions in the Midwest. Vivian Leon worked tirelessly to put together and keep running this renowned competition. Securing host families, providing promotional guidance, planning events, and finding funding among other crucial pieces are not easy feats, yet Mrs. Leon did so with pride. This competition hosted hundreds of pianists from over 30 countries and filled the four-state area with musical excellence for 20 years, all because of the dedication and drive of Vivian Leon and the kindness of the community.
2008 boasted Avan Yu, 2002 Junior Division winner, as the final Grand Prize winner of the competition showing the event was something competitors held dear, many of which returned to enjoy a competition unlike any other. In 2009, Yu returned from his Carnegie Hall debut to perform the Grand Finale performance with the Southern Symphony Orchestra headed by Dr. Kexi Liu. This performance provided a fond farewell to the competition allowing the community to tearfully say goodbye.
Board Member Gary Duncan quotes Joni Mitchell’s “Big Yellow Taxi” in his February 2009 column in the Joplin Globe, saying, “Don’t it always seem to go that you don’t know what you’ve got ‘til it’s gone!” claiming that the lyrics “seem hauntingly apropos.”
2008 Farewell Letter
The letter sent out informing the community of Vivian León’s retirement and the subsequent end of the MSIPC. Includes a list of the Board of Directors members and information on the final Carnegie Hall performance.
2008 Vivian Leon Reception Invitation
An invitation for Vivian Leon’s retirement reception. Contains RSVP information and the date, time, and location of the reception.
Joplin Globe 11/28/2008
Sharon Lambert, a member of the MSIPC planning committee, writes on her experience with the competition in this Joplin Globe publication.
The Chart 10/24/2008
The Chart publication regarding Mrs. León’s retirement and the end of the MSIPC.
Vivian León says, “It is to promote Missouri Southern. It is to have a special cultural activity here at Missouri Southern to attract people from all over, to make Missouri Southern and Joplin a cultural center of the region. That was the purpose in the beginning, and we fit into the international mission just perfectly. When we started having interest from international competitors, that was just hand and glove, a very good fit.”
Joplin Globe 2/27/2009
Written by MSIPC Board Member and Freeman Health President Gary Duncan, this piece speaks on the bittersweet feeling of saying goodbye to such a renowned competition. Featuring a quote from Avan Yu and detailing Vivan Leon’s hard work and dedication, Duncan signs off this piece by saying:
“We have been blessed to have a cultural event of this caliber in our neighborhood for so many years and now it is time to say thank you and farewell... Celebrate this treasure as it moves onto the pages of history and enjoy a remarkable evening of classic musical artistry. We promise you a night to remember.”
2009 Avan Yu “Grand Finale” Concert Flyer
The flyer for Avan Yu’s 3/5/2009 “Grand Finale” performance. Contains the date, time, and location, and Yu’s chosen composers for the event. Also mentions the Southern Symphony Orchestra with their conductor Dr. Kexi Liu.
2009 Avan Yu “Grand Finale” Card
Front and back of the card sent out for Avan Yu’s “Grand Finale” performance on 3/5/2009. Contains a biography for Avan Yu, information on the date, time, and location of the performance, as well as mention of Avan Yu’s “week-long residency” with local schools.
2009 Avan Yu “Grand Finale” Program:
The program for Avan Yu’s 2009 “Grand Finale” performance with the Southern Symphony Orchestra. Contains biographies for Avan Yu and symphony conductor Dr. Kexi Liu, along with repertoire information and lists of symphony performers, MSIPC Board of Director members, and Planning Committee members.
2009 Avan Yu “Grand Finale” Program:
The program for Avan Yu’s 2009 “Grand Finale” performance with the Southern Symphony Orchestra. Contains biographies for Avan Yu and symphony conductor Dr. Kexi Liu, along with repertoire information and lists of symphony performers, MSIPC Board of Director members, and Planning Committee members.
2009 Avan Yu “Grand Finale” Program:
The program for Avan Yu’s 2009 “Grand Finale” performance with the Southern Symphony Orchestra. Contains biographies for Avan Yu and symphony conductor Dr. Kexi Liu, along with repertoire information and lists of symphony performers, MSIPC Board of Director members, and Planning Committee members.
2009 Avan Yu “Grand Finale” Program:
The program for Avan Yu’s 2009 “Grand Finale” performance with the Southern Symphony Orchestra. Contains biographies for Avan Yu and symphony conductor Dr. Kexi Liu, along with repertoire information and lists of symphony performers, MSIPC Board of Director members, and Planning Committee members.
This site is maintained by the librarians of George A. Spiva Library.
If you have a question or comment about the Library's LibGuides, please contact the site administrator.
