Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Contact Us

Hours: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM Monday-Thursday

  • Appointments are recommended.

Location: Missouri Southern State University's Archive and Special Collections are location on the first floor of George A. Spiva Library at Missouri Southern State University.

Telephone: 417-625-9552

Email: archives@mssu.edu

News

Bailey Collection Exhibit

The Bailey Collection Exhibit is now available! The Bailey collection consists of many letters, documents, forms and photographs all revolving around the Bailey family. The Bailey Family consisted of Edward, Mabel, Carroll, and Amy Bailey. The collection also includes their extended family the Sellars. Many of the documents in the collection are of the work the family did in China and Japan and of Edward and Carroll Bailey’s military service after World War II. Check out the exhibit to learn more!

Joplin Business and Professional Women's Club Collection Exhibit

The Joplin Business and Professional Women's Club Collection Exhibit is now available! This collection was curated by the students of the HIST 483:Archival Collections and Methods class. The Joplin chapter of the Club was organized on March 18, 1929. This collection encompasses the documents of the Joplin Business and Professional Women's Club from the 1940s through the 2010s. Check out the exhibit to learn more!

F.M. Forbey Collection Exhibit

The F.M. Forbey Collection Exhibit is now available! This collection was curated by MSSU student Haley Hembree. Frank Moses "F.M." Forbey Jr., born June 28, 1924, Charleston, Missouri. He served in the U.S. Navy during World War II. The F.M. Forbey Collection is comprised of his letters to and from his family during that time. Check out the exhibit to learn more!

Veterans History Project Collection

The Veterans History Project Collection has now been processed and is available to be viewed by the public! This collection of veteran interviews was gathered by Missouri Southern to be sent to the Library of Congress, American Folklife Center's Veteran History Project. Many of these interviews were accepted by the project and are now streaming online!

Fred G. Hughes Collection and Exhibit

Fred Hughes was the manager of the Joplin Globe Publishing Company from 1953-1986 and the first President of the Board of Regents of Missouri Southern. Under his guidance Missouri Southern bought the two hundred and sixty-five acre estate where it is now located. In 1975 the University honored him by naming the football stadium after him. Lena Brewer, an intern at the MSSU Archive, recently completed a project to process a collection of his papers and create a finding aid and exhibit for them. Take a look!

Online Collections

The MSSU Archives now have online collections! While the creation of these collections is still a work in progress, you can view currently uploaded items, like Crossroads yearbooks and The Chart by clicking here!

Archives and Special Collections Full Lists


Archives & Special Collections Exhibits

MSSU Photograph Collection

The MSSU Photograph Collection encompasses a vast array of images, ranging from the institution's humble beginnings as Joplin Junior college, to late 1990s Missouri Southern State University. A project has just begun to digitize the University's historic photographs. Move through this exhibit to explore MSSU's roots as JJC, the construction of the current campus, along with the institution's administrative history, everyday academia and campus life. 

Bailey Collection

The Bailey collection consists of many letters, documents, forms and photographs all revolving around the Bailey family. The Bailey Family consisted of Edward, Mabel, Carroll, and Amy Bailey. The collection also includes their extended family the Sellars. Many of the documents in the collection are of the work the family did in China and Japan and of Edward and Carroll Bailey’s military service after World War II.

Joplin Business and Professional Women’s Club

The Joplin chapter of the Business and Professional Women’s Club was organized on March 18, 1929. This collection encompasses the documents of the Joplin Business and Professional Women's Club from the 1940s through the 2010s. In July of 2021 the HIST 483: Archival Collections & Methods class at Missouri Southern State University worked this collection. The collection was divided among the students of the class to organize and describe.

F.M. Forbey Collection

Frank Moses "F.M." Forbey Jr., born June 28, 1924, Charleston, Missouri. He served in the U.S. Navy during World War II. The F.M. Forbey Collection is comprised of his letters to and from his family during that time.

Fred G. Hughes Collection

Fred Hughes was the manager of the Joplin Globe Publishing Company from 1953-1986 and the first President of the Board of Regents of Missouri Southern. Under his guidance Missouri Southern bought the two hundred and sixty-five acre estate where it is now located. In 1975 the University honored him by naming the football stadium after him.

Woman's Christian Temperance Union of Illinois

In honor of National Women's Equality Day an exhibit has been created for the Woman's Christian Temperance Union of Illinois collection. In addition to promoting temperance, the WCTU was also active in advocating for women's suffrage.This collection ranges from 1904 through 1987.

Tri-State Mining Collection


Help is Just a Click Away

Search our FAQ Knowledge base, book a research appointment, reserve a room, register for an event, ask a question, chat, send comments...
LibAnswers & LibChat

Discussion Boards

Join in the conversation - or start a new one of your own!
Go to Discussion Boards
title
Loading...

This site is maintained by the librarians of George A. Spiva Library.
If you have a question or comment about the Library's LibGuides, please contact the site administrator.