1987 and 1988
The Missouri Southern International Piano Competition began in May of 1987. Guest artists and judges included Mack McCray, Ramzi Yassa, Joanne Baker, Angela Cheng, and Clive Swansbourne. This debut event led to a 20 year internationally renowned competition hosting pianists ages 9-35 from around the world. Alan Chow took the Grand Prize for the 1987 competition, returning in 2004 as a guest pianist.
1987 Announcement Program 1
Program containing initial announcement, competition prizes, and opens into a poster featuring judges' and guest pianists' biographies.
1987 Announcement Program 1
Program containing initial announcement, competition prizes, and opens into a poster featuring judges' and guest pianists' biographies.
1987 Announcement Program 1
Program containing initial announcement, competition prizes, and opens into a poster featuring judges' and guest pianists' biographies.
1987 Announcement Program 1
Program containing initial announcement, competition prizes, and opens into a poster featuring judges' and guest pianists' biographies.
1987 Announcement Program 2
This program includes judges' biographies, division and repertoire requirements, and opens into a poster featuring cash prizes.
1987 Announcement Program 2
This program includes judges' biographies, division and repertoire requirements, and opens into a poster featuring cash prizes.
1987 Announcement Program 2
This program includes judges' biographies, division and repertoire requirements, and opens into a poster featuring cash prizes.
1987 Announcement Program 2
This program includes judges' biographies, division and repertoire requirements, and opens into a poster featuring cash prizes.
1988 brought more performers, more attention, and a new informational booklet containing information about general competition information including judges, competitors, and advertising supporters.
1988 Informational Booklet
Pages from the 1988 MSIPC informational booklet. Contains judges' information for Caio Pagano, Clive Swansbourne, and Mack McCray, event information for Swansbourne and McCray’s duo performance. Also features a letter from Clive Swansbourne, an event schedule, prize information, and supporter advertisements. Junior and Senior Division competitors’ information has been left out for privacy.
1988 Informational Booklet
Pages from the 1988 MSIPC informational booklet. Contains judges' information for Caio Pagano, Clive Swansbourne, and Mack McCray, event information for Swansbourne and McCray’s duo performance. Also features a letter from Clive Swansbourne, an event schedule, prize information, and supporter advertisements. Junior and Senior Division competitors’ information has been left out for privacy.
1988 Informational Booklet
Pages from the 1988 MSIPC informational booklet. Contains judges' information for Caio Pagano, Clive Swansbourne, and Mack McCray, event information for Swansbourne and McCray’s duo performance. Also features a letter from Clive Swansbourne, an event schedule, prize information, and supporter advertisements. Junior and Senior Division competitors’ information has been left out for privacy.
1988 Informational Booklet
Pages from the 1988 MSIPC informational booklet. Contains judges' information for Caio Pagano, Clive Swansbourne, and Mack McCray, event information for Swansbourne and McCray’s duo performance. Also features a letter from Clive Swansbourne, an event schedule, prize information, and supporter advertisements. Junior and Senior Division competitors’ information has been left out for privacy.
1988 Informational Booklet
Pages from the 1988 MSIPC informational booklet. Contains judges' information for Caio Pagano, Clive Swansbourne, and Mack McCray, event information for Swansbourne and McCray’s duo performance. Also features a letter from Clive Swansbourne, an event schedule, prize information, and supporter advertisements. Junior and Senior Division competitors’ information has been left out for privacy.
1988 Informational Booklet
Pages from the 1988 MSIPC informational booklet. Contains judges' information for Caio Pagano, Clive Swansbourne, and Mack McCray, event information for Swansbourne and McCray’s duo performance. Also features a letter from Clive Swansbourne, an event schedule, prize information, and supporter advertisements. Junior and Senior Division competitors’ information has been left out for privacy.
1988 Informational Booklet
Pages from the 1988 MSIPC informational booklet. Contains judges' information for Caio Pagano, Clive Swansbourne, and Mack McCray, event information for Swansbourne and McCray’s duo performance. Also features a letter from Clive Swansbourne, an event schedule, prize information, and supporter advertisements. Junior and Senior Division competitors’ information has been left out for privacy.
1988 Informational Booklet
Pages from the 1988 MSIPC informational booklet. Contains judges' information for Caio Pagano, Clive Swansbourne, and Mack McCray, event information for Swansbourne and McCray’s duo performance. Also features a letter from Clive Swansbourne, an event schedule, prize information, and supporter advertisements. Junior and Senior Division competitors’ information has been left out for privacy.
1988 Informational Booklet
Pages from the 1988 MSIPC informational booklet. Contains judges' information for Caio Pagano, Clive Swansbourne, and Mack McCray, event information for Swansbourne and McCray’s duo performance. Also features a letter from Clive Swansbourne, an event schedule, prize information, and supporter advertisements. Junior and Senior Division competitors’ information has been left out for privacy.
1988 Informational Booklet
Pages from the 1988 MSIPC informational booklet. Contains judges' information for Caio Pagano, Clive Swansbourne, and Mack McCray, event information for Swansbourne and McCray’s duo performance. Also features a letter from Clive Swansbourne, an event schedule, prize information, and supporter advertisements. Junior and Senior Division competitors’ information has been left out for privacy.
1988 Informational Booklet
Pages from the 1988 MSIPC informational booklet. Contains judges' information for Caio Pagano, Clive Swansbourne, and Mack McCray, event information for Swansbourne and McCray’s duo performance. Also features a letter from Clive Swansbourne, an event schedule, prize information, and supporter advertisements. Junior and Senior Division competitors’ information has been left out for privacy.
1988 Informational Booklet
Pages from the 1988 MSIPC informational booklet. Contains judges' information for Caio Pagano, Clive Swansbourne, and Mack McCray, event information for Swansbourne and McCray’s duo performance. Also features a letter from Clive Swansbourne, an event schedule, prize information, and supporter advertisements. Junior and Senior Division competitors’ information has been left out for privacy.
1988 Announcement Program 1
This program contains general competition information, prizes and awards, and opens into a poster containing judges' biographies.
1988 Announcement Program 1
This program contains general competition information, prizes and awards, and opens into a poster containing judges' biographies.
1988 Announcement Program 1
This program contains general competition information, prizes and awards, and opens into a poster containing judges' biographies.
1988 Announcement Program 1
This program contains general competition information, prizes and awards, and opens into a poster containing judges' biographies.
1988 Announcement Program 2
This program contains general competition information, judges' biographies, and opens into a poster containing prizes and awards.
1988 Announcement Program 2
This program contains general competition information, judges' biographies, and opens into a poster containing prizes and awards.
1988 Announcement Program 2
This program contains general competition information, judges' biographies, and opens into a poster containing prizes and awards.
1988 Announcement Program 2
This program contains general competition information, judges' biographies, and opens into a poster containing prizes and awards.
1988 Lecturer Information: Bryce Morrison
Bryce Morrison provided the first noted lecture for the MSIPC. Titled “The Life and Art of Eileen Joyce” Morrison presented selected excerpts from the Australian pianist’s 2-disc release providing insight into the artist’s performances and life.
1988 Jury Members List
A sheet showing which jury members are judging the junior and senior divisions, and noting Maxim Gershunoff as a "Guest Observer."
This site is maintained by the librarians of George A. Spiva Library.
If you have a question or comment about the Library's LibGuides, please contact the site administrator.
