Joplin Business and Professional Women's Club Meeting Minutes, 1955-1977
Curated by Joshua Newhouse, 2021-07.
Enclosed within Box 4, of Missouri Southern State University’s Joplin Business & Professional Women’s Club (JBPWC), is an arrangement of routine meeting notes that accounts for “administrative,” “routine,” and “event” purposes. Summarily, administrative manuscripts lay out the overall agenda for the JBPWC, while the routine meeting manuscripts display the actions carried out by club members; to achieve the objectives set by the board and executive directors of JBPWC. Otherwise, the event manuscripts refer to accounts of the annual Christmas parties and Emblem Breakfasts. Typically, both board and regular meetings are held on a monthly basis with infrequent cancellations, while “special director meetings” will be occasionally held by varying board members.
Section I: Administrative Meeting Manuscripts: Refers to JBPWC’s monthly board meetings, in which they discuss matters pertaining to financial, committee, and enrollment matters. Frequent topics covered relate to volunteer-work performed by JBPDWC members, thank you notes received from local organizations, fund-raising, and event arrangements.
Section II: Routine Meeting Manuscripts: Refers to JBPWC’s routine meetings that are available to all registered members and respective guests to the club. Frequent topics covered relate to approving the prior meeting minutes, member & guest attendance, enrollment, donations to and from JBPWC, fundraising opportunities, and committee elections.
Section III: Event Meeting Manuscripts: Refers to annual entries that broadly cover material pertaining to JBPWC’s Christmas party and Emblem Breakfast.
Administrative/Board Meeting Minutes
Hosted at the home of Grace Welch, page one includes standard procedures of accounting for attendance and acknowledging the review of the prior meeting’s notes. Furthermore, the president, Dorothie Richardson, presented auditing information for review and approval. As well as, various bills were discussed.
Minutes of Board Meeting
Joplin B. &. P. W. Club
May 14, 1962
The regular meeting of the board of Joplin Business and Professional Women’s club met Monday evening, May 14, 1962, in the home of Grace Welch. Sixteen members were present.
The meeting was called to order by the club president. The minutes of the last board meeting and those of the April regular meeting were read, corrected, and approved.
Dorothie Richardson presented a report submitted by the audit-ing committee chairman, Maxine Carney. Total receipts were $1,541.83, Total Expenditure $1,230.23, Bank Balance $311.60, Savings Account $418.78, and bonds $425.00. Margaret Winn moved that the auditor’s report be accepted. It was recorded by Margo Young, and the motion carried.
The following bills were pre-rented: Margo Young, stamps $1.84; Margaret Winn, expenses for the installation of officers, $12.48; Carolyn Starkweather a bill from InterCity Florists (flowers for Esther Pardee) $3.06; Georgia Marshall cards and stamps $2.59; Ann Tracy, Southside Flower Shop, flowers for Wilma Rice $3.00; Joplin _________ Chamber of Commerce annual banquet ticket
Bill discussion is resolved, followed by Lillie Belle Beisner reading correspondence regarding multiple organizations. Afterwards, a list of club actions were presented, relating to club membership with Joplin Chamber of Commerce, flight tickets, and a “Presidential Roundtable” report.
$4.50; and Dorothie Richardson a bill for materials for club work $6.60. Hester Lee Roby made a motion that the bills be allowed. The motion was seconded by Ann Tracy and carried.
The corresponding secretary, Lillie Belle Beisner, read the following correspondence: a thank you card from Ann Tracy, a letter from the Cardinal Football Association sponsored by the Auto Club in St. Louis, a notice of a Leadership Seminar to be held at the Univ. Of Michigan Sept. 21, 1962 asking the club to make this letter public to the club members, and a letter from the Chamber of Commerce, Los Angeles, Calif. Concerning the National Convention to be held there in July 1962.
The following action was taken:
Actions from the previous page are continued, pertaining to: booklet sales, club treasurer policy, leadership conference, and club dues. The last point carries over to the next page.
obtained through Mrs. Dobson concerning the sale of the booklets “Know Your [Tocon?]”, cost 40 each, or less if bought in groups of ten or more. Dinners of these meetings have risen to $1.50
The last item is discussion regarding the selection of club committee members, as well as particular committee stipulations. The document is signed by club president Dorothie Richardson, and the recording secretary, Helen J. Belford.
business was the selection of committee members by the pre-announced committee chairmen. The president asked for a complete listing of all committee be presented to her, to Georgia Marshall, Bulletin Chairman, and Margaret Winn, program coordinator, as soon as possible. The idea of each member serving on only one of the five major committees (except for such special meetings as Business Women’s Week, the Christmas party, and the Emblem Breakfast) be carried out this year. This plan was followed.
The meeting adjourned.
Helen J. Belford
Recording Secretary
Dorothie Richardson
Dorothie Richardson, Pres.
Hosted at the home of Mrs. Mary Jo Douglas, page one includes standard procedures of accounting for attendance and acknowledging the review of the prior meeting’s notes. Meeting was called by President Florence Frazier. Afterwards, correspondence regarding multiple organizations, such as the Salvation Army, was read.
There is note of the treasurer’s report being read, although the placeholders for currency are blank. Towards the latter half of the page, committee reports are listed and carry over to the next page.
Committee reports largely comprise this page, these consist correspondence from: Public Relations, Finance, Hostess, Christmas Party, and Cards & Flowers, followed by discussion pertaining to travel assistance, gifts, and a presidential roundtable discussion.
The next board meeting will be held on January 14th, and the regular meeting on the 18th. The placeholders for signatures are empty, this could signify that this documentation was either (accidentally or purposefully) unapproved. Otherwise, this could also be the case where these notes were copied and redistributed among board members before approval.
Hosted at the home of Florence Frazier, page one includes standard procedures of accounting for attendance and acknowledging the review of the prior meeting’s notes. Meeting was called by President Florence Frazier. Afterwards, correspondence regarding multiple organizations was read.
Furthermore, the treasurer report was also read and marked for an audit. Lastly, committee reports are listed and carry over to the next page.
Committee reports largely comprise this page, these consist of correspondence from: Finance, Public Relations, Membership, Bulletin Committee, ands Cards & Flowers. Following committee reports, various bills are presented and approved for payment, as well as Florence provides a report on the presidential roundtable meeting.
Lastly, freedom awards will be presented on May 11th, to Empire Electric Company, and Lois Hastings announces an “Installation Ceremony” will be held at the YWCA. The placeholder for the club president’s signature is unsigned.
Hosted at the “Rafters,” page one includes standard procedures of accounting for attendance and acknowledging the review of the prior meeting’s notes. Meeting was presided by President Imogene Hole, and invocation given by Rebecca Wilson. Afterwards, correspondence regarding multiple organizations was read, as well as the treasurer report was provided and approved.
Furthermore, the President Hole suggested to relocate the timeframe of board meetings and initiate a “telephone chain” as a reminder. President Hole also provided information pertaining to events. Otherwise, the board discussed that the Missouri Southern State College scholarship commitment would remain at 2 individuals for the year, which were the same recipients.
A seminar [hosted by the club?] will be held at MSSC, requiring 6 club volunteers for registration. Otherwise, committee members were assigned for the following year, as well as certificates/awards and donations were discussed.
Hosted at the “Rafters,” page one includes standard procedures of accounting for attendance and acknowledging the review of the prior meeting’s notes. Meeting was presided by President Rebecca Wilson. Afterwards, correspondence regarding multiple organizations was read, as well as the treasurer report was provided.
Two scholarship candidates were turned over to Scholarship Chairman, Maxine Black, for additional review. President Wilson provided a report that outlined the club’s agenda for the 1976 year, given from what is likely a prior president. Additionally, in celebration of Susan B. Anthony’s birthday, the club will be performing a skit at the YMCA.
Discussion pertaining to the February 11th, Elmhurst party ensued. Otherwise, board reports were given which entails club program information, MSSC scholarship credit, tax exemption, club projects and by-laws.
Handwriting can be seen as corrections across this document, as well as slip of paper is attached to signify approval of the January 8th, 1976 Board Meeting Minutes.
Unlike most minutes, this particular set of meeting minutes does not list as to where it was hosted. Furthermore, typos are more-so present than in the other documents.
This meeting was hosted by President Rebecca Wilson, as well as the “Club Collect” was given by all members- this possibly means a collection of dues from club members.
Otherwise, correspondence from multiple organizations was read and the club discussed their role in the upcoming state convention.
Additionally, general club reports were read from the end of the first page to the end of the second page. These reports include elements such as: events involving the club, board membership voting, thank you notes, career promotions, tax emption status, a “get-well-soon" card for a former member, miscellaneous budget information, and President Rebecca Wilson’s farewell message/gifts to the board members.
Hosted at “Rafters Restaurant,” the meeting was called by President Betty Nopwasky, standard procedures of accounting for attendance, reciting the collect, and acknowledging the review of the prior meeting’s notes- which were approved upon a small revision.
Afterwards, the treasurer report was provided and correspondence regarding multiple organizations was read.
Shirley Kennedy provided a report on the Missouri State Board, which includes various points on the institution and Shirley Kennedy’s election as an alternate from the state of Missouri to the National Convention.
Bob Hicks requested to speak to the club about the candidacy of Jerry Litton for U.S. Senator from Missouri.
Additionally, there was discussion involving: a speaker from the Joplin Police Department for an upcoming regular club meeting; publicity for the club’s activities; a club committee chairman in the hospital; cancellation of the club’s float for the “May Parade;” salvation army’s appreciation plaque; a club member’s career promotion.
Continuing from the previous page, there were additional reports of various club activities, as well as the board discussed when and where the next meeting should take place- which was further debated and settled with continuing to host at “Henry’s.” Even though this board meeting is marked as being hosted at “Rafters Restaurant,” this “Henry’s” could be referring to the restaurant’s proprietor.
Otherwise, Shirley Kennedy recommended to send a letter to the State of Missouri, requesting that retired members be eligible for holding offices and delegacies to the conventions. Additionally, a “Special Election” is mentioned, pertaining to a transference of school district funds.
General/Regular Meeting Minutes
Event Meeting Minutes
This site is maintained by the librarians of George A. Spiva Library.
If you have a question or comment about the Library's LibGuides, please contact the site administrator.
