Joplin Business and Professional Women's Club Events and Community Work
Curated by Madelyn Enlow, 2021-07.
This portion of the collection contains various documents from the Joplin chapter of The Business and Professional Women's Organization. Through song lyrics, games, programs, letters, and various types of applications we get a glimpse of Joplin BPW in the 1960s and 70s. These documents showcase the type of women who were a part of the local chapter of BPW at the time as well as their community involvement and participation in the state/national BPW organization. The Joplin BPW club during this time period had a large focus on empowering women and on bettering their local community. As this collection demonstrates, these women contributed to their community and the national BPW organization often and took their role as a chapter seriously.
Two songs: “Club Collect” and “Emblem Benediction” typed on two pieces of paper. The exact year within the 1960s-70s span that these were typed is unknown, but the lyrics and tunes of the songs themselves predate the members of the Joplin chapter during this period. These songs are used and distributed by the national BPW organization.
Two songs: "Our Emblem" and "The Old Oaken Bucket." “Our Emblem” was individually typed on a typewriter and "The Old Oaken Bucket" was within a booklet of published music. “The Old Oaken Bucket” is used as the tune for the BPW song “Our Emblem.” The exact year within the1960s-70s span that these were typed is unknown, but the lyrics and tunes of the songs themselves predate the members of the club during this period. "Our Emblem" is used and distributed by the national BPW organization.
A three-page new member induction ceremony script published by the national BPW organization; reprint dated March of 1958. The pages appear to have been typed on a typewriter. This script was to be used by individual chapters to officially welcome new members.
A three-page new member induction ceremony script published by the national BPW organization; reprint dated March of 1958. The pages appear to have been typed on a typewriter. This script was to be used by individual chapters to officially welcome new members.
A three-page new member induction ceremony script published by the national BPW organization; reprint dated March of 1958. The pages appear to have been typed on a typewriter. This script was to be used by individual chapters to officially welcome new members.
A small hand-made program for Joplin BPW's 1961 Emblem Breakfast. The booklet has a golden wrinkled front and back cover with seven green pages within and is held together with a staple. The first page of the program states the time, date, and location of this breakfast, the second page lists new members, the third page lists the order of events, the next three pages have Christmas carols on them, and the last page lists members of the membership committee.
A small hand-made program for Joplin BPW's 1961 Emblem Breakfast. The booklet has a golden wrinkled front and back cover with seven green pages within and is held together with a staple. The first page of the program states the time, date, and location of this breakfast, the second page lists new members, the third page lists the order of events, the next three pages have Christmas carols on them, and the last page lists members of the membership committee.
A small hand-made program for Joplin BPW's 1961 Emblem Breakfast. The booklet has a golden wrinkled front and back cover with seven green pages within and is held together with a staple. The first page of the program states the time, date, and location of this breakfast, the second page lists new members, the third page lists the order of events, the next three pages have Christmas carols on them, and the last page lists members of the membership committee.
A small hand-made program for Joplin BPW's 1961 Emblem Breakfast. The booklet has a golden wrinkled front and back cover with seven green pages within and is held together with a staple. The first page of the program states the time, date, and location of this breakfast, the second page lists new members, the third page lists the order of events, the next three pages have Christmas carols on them, and the last page lists members of the membership committee.
A small hand-made program for Joplin BPW's 1961 Emblem Breakfast. The booklet has a golden wrinkled front and back cover with seven green pages within and is held together with a staple. The first page of the program states the time, date, and location of this breakfast, the second page lists new members, the third page lists the order of events, the next three pages have Christmas carols on them, and the last page lists members of the membership committee.
A small hand-made program for Joplin BPW's 1961 Emblem Breakfast. The booklet has a golden wrinkled front and back cover with seven green pages within and is held together with a staple. The first page of the program states the time, date, and location of this breakfast, the second page lists new members, the third page lists the order of events, the next three pages have Christmas carols on them, and the last page lists members of the membership committee.
A "Golden Circle Club" certificate from the National Federation of BPW awarded to the Joplin chapter of BPW in 1969 for fulfilling their program goals from 1966 to 1969. The certificate template was typed and printed, while the chapter was handwritten and signed by BPW president at the time Hope Roberts.
A photocopy of a certificate and an award ribbon side by side. This award was presented to the Joplin BPW club as a whole by the Missouri Federation of BPW for outstanding accomplishments during the 1968-69 club year. The certificate template was typed and printed, while the club information was handwritten onto the award. The award is signed by the Missouri BPW state president at the time Reitha McCracken and state chairman at the time June R. H.
A certificate presented to the Joplin BPW by the National Federation of BPW on March 28th, 1969for attaining the status of "Criteria Club" in 1968-69. The certificate template was typed and printed, while the club information was handwritten onto the award. The award is signed by the BPW president at the time Hope Roberts.
A typed three-page document created by the Missouri Federation of BPW that discusses the requirements for various state/national BPW awards that individuals and clubs can earn in the1972-73 club year.
A typed three-page document created by the Missouri Federation of BPW that discusses the requirements for various state/national BPW awards that individuals and clubs can earn in the1972-73 club year.
A typed three-page document created by the Missouri Federation of BPW that discusses the requirements for various state/national BPW awards that individuals and clubs can earn in the1972-73 club year.
A five-page typed application of Joplin BPW's nomination for Missouri BPW Young Career Woman for 1973. The applicant is Sandra Lynn Powers, and the application was put together and processed by Madge Stinnett, the Young Career Women Chairman at the time. The document includes a completed application page, a three-page essay about Ms. Powers' accomplishments and community activities, and a short paragraph signed by Mrs. Stinnett confirming that all applicant information is true.
A five-page typed application of Joplin BPW's nomination for Missouri BPW Young Career Woman for 1973. The applicant is Sandra Lynn Powers, and the application was put together and processed by Madge Stinnett, the Young Career Women Chairman at the time. The document includes a completed application page, a three-page essay about Ms. Powers' accomplishments and community activities, and a short paragraph signed by Mrs. Stinnett confirming that all applicant information is true.
A five-page typed application of Joplin BPW's nomination for Missouri BPW Young Career Woman for 1973. The applicant is Sandra Lynn Powers, and the application was put together and processed by Madge Stinnett, the Young Career Women Chairman at the time. The document includes a completed application page, a three-page essay about Ms. Powers' accomplishments and community activities, and a short paragraph signed by Mrs. Stinnett confirming that all applicant information is true.
A five-page typed application of Joplin BPW's nomination for Missouri BPW Young Career Woman for 1973. The applicant is Sandra Lynn Powers, and the application was put together and processed by Madge Stinnett, the Young Career Women Chairman at the time. The document includes a completed application page, a three-page essay about Ms. Powers' accomplishments and community activities, and a short paragraph signed by Mrs. Stinnett confirming that all applicant information is true.
A five-page typed application of Joplin BPW's nomination for Missouri BPW Young Career Woman for 1973. The applicant is Sandra Lynn Powers, and the application was put together and processed by Madge Stinnett, the Young Career Women Chairman at the time. The document includes a completed application page, a three-page essay about Ms. Powers' accomplishments and community activities, and a short paragraph signed by Mrs. Stinnett confirming that all applicant information is true.
A thank you letter sent to the Joplin BPW club on February 15th, 1973 from the Elmhurst Nursing Home in Webb City, MO. The typed letter thanks the Joplin BPW club for hosting a Valentine's Day Bingo Party and is signed by Inah Hammons and Inez Hodges.
The Joplin BPW's October activity’s schedule typed on yellow paper. The exact year of this event listing is currently unknown, but it displays how often the group met as well as how active they were in their community. This activity’s schedule also shows that the Joplin BPW club collaborated and met with other local chapters of BPW.
A set of homemade trivia cards typed on index cards from 1977-78. The cards cover information about joining and participating in Joplin’s BPW chapter, BPW history, Joplin BPW’s community involvement, and BPW chapter leadership roles.
A set of homemade trivia cards typed on index cards from 1977-78. The cards cover information about joining and participating in Joplin’s BPW chapter, BPW history, Joplin BPW’s community involvement, and BPW chapter leadership roles.
A set of homemade trivia cards typed on index cards from 1977-78. The cards cover information about joining and participating in Joplin’s BPW chapter, BPW history, Joplin BPW’s community involvement, and BPW chapter leadership roles.
A set of homemade trivia cards typed on index cards from 1977-78. The cards cover information about joining and participating in Joplin’s BPW chapter, BPW history, Joplin BPW’s community involvement, and BPW chapter leadership roles.
This site is maintained by the librarians of George A. Spiva Library.
If you have a question or comment about the Library's LibGuides, please contact the site administrator.
