Spiva Center for the Arts: Popular Exhibits
Spiva Center for the Arts has had many successful and surprising exhibitions throughout the years. The exhibitions included a wide range of artists spanning from well-known artists such as George Catlin and Pablo Picasso to local, four state area artists. Here you will find exhibition invitations, mailed advertisements, newspaper articles, and exhibition booklets.
“Old Master Drawings” was held October 16th to November 13th, 1983 from the collection of Milton McGreevy at the Nelson-Atkins which featured artists Rembrandt and Goya.
1983-84 Exhibition Information featuring “Old Master Drawings” Advertisement
The “Other Places/Other Faces” exhibition was held January 15th to February 12th, 1989, and featured art by Bruce West, Tony Ramos III, Gary Goldberg, Richard Loftis, and Michael Morgan
“Other Places/Other Faces” Newspaper Advertisement
The “Artists of the American West” exhibition was held February 2-26, 1992, and featured art by Karl Bodmer, John James Audubon, George Catlin and Frederic Remington.
“Artists of the American West” Exhibition Booklet
“Artists of the American West” Exhibition Booklet
The Exhibition “The Disasters of War” was held at the Spiva Center for the Arts from March 3rd to the 31st, 1985. The exhibition featured eighty prints by artist Francisco Goya.
Mailed Advertisement for “The Disasters of War” Exhibition Featuring Goya’s Print Y no hai remedio
Mailed Advertisement for “The Disasters of War” Exhibition Featuring Goya’s Print Y no hai remedio
“Return to Route 66: Photographs of the Mother Road” was held July 26th to August 30th, 1996 and featured photographs by Shellee Graham.
“Return to Route 66: Photographs of the Mother Road” Exhibition Mailed Advertisement
“Return to Route 66: Photographs of the Mother Road” Exhibition Mailed Advertisement
“20th Century Masters, 20th Century Graphics!” was held July 8th to August 28th, 2005 and featured art from the Cochran Collection. Artists included Picasso, Calder, Chagall, de Kooning, Warhol, and Moore.
“20th Century Masters, 20th Century Graphics!” Exhibition Mailed Advertisement
“20th Century Masters, 20th Century Graphics!” Exhibition Mailed Advertisement
“Joe Beeler’s American West” was held September 29th to November 25, 2007, in conjunction with the “American Exploration” exhibition. Joe Beeler was a Joplin Western artist, after his passing Spiva Center for the Arts organized the Joe Beeler Memorial Fund in his honor.
“Joe Beeler’s American West” Exhibition Mailed Advertisement
“Joe Beeler’s American West” Exhibition Mailed Advertisement
The “Joan Backes: Five Drawings of Scotland” exhibition featured drawings of Scotland by Joan Backes and was held January 15th to February 12th, 1989 in conjunction with “Other Places/Other Faces.”
“Joan Backes: Five Drawings of Scotland” Exhibition Mailed Advertisement
“Joan Backes: Five Drawings of Scotland” Exhibition Mailed Advertisement
“DinoStories/DinoArt” was an exhibition held June 2nd to August 26th, 2006, and included artists Richard Courtney and M.F. Dahmen.
“DinoStories/DinoArt” Exhibition Mailed Advertisement
“Michael Peven: Good Dog/Bon Chien” was a photography exhibition held from March 10th to April 20th, 2007. Centered around his six-and-a-half-year-old dog, Bandit, in the exhibition Peven divided his images into sections, enlarged them, and then placed them back together to create larger-than-life images.
“Michael Peven: Good Dog/Bon Chien” Exhibition Mailed Advertisement
“Michael Peven: Good Dog/Bon Chien” Exhibition Mailed Advertisement
“William Rainey: Homecoming” exhibition was held September 17 to November 5, 2010, in the AT&T main gallery. William Rainey attended his exhibition as a special guest.
“William Rainey: Homecoming” Mailed Advertisement
“William Rainey: Homecoming” Mailed Advertisement
“Discover The Oregon Trail” was held October 11th to November 30th, 1996, and was accompanied by a local artist fair on October 5th.
Oregon Trail Event Information
Oregon Trail Event Information
“Contemporary Prints from the Collections of Sheldon Memorial Art Gallery” was held February 4th to March 18th, 1990, and featured artists Roy Lichtenstein, Andy Warhol, Robert Motherwell, Cy Twombly, Robert Cottingham, Chuck Close, Vito Acconi, Frank Stella, and Donald Sultan.
“Contemporary Prints from the Collections of Sheldon Memorial Art Gallery” Exhibition Booklet
“Contemporary Prints from the Collections of Sheldon Memorial Art Gallery” Exhibition Booklet
“African Art from Area Collections” was held January 20th to February 26th, 1995, and featured traditional African art.
“African Art from Area Collections” Exhibition Booklet
“African Art from Area Collections” Exhibition Booklet
This site is maintained by the librarians of George A. Spiva Library.
If you have a question or comment about the Library's LibGuides, please contact the site administrator.
