MSSU Themed Semesters Research Guide

A guide of library resources from current and past themed semesters at Missouri Southern State University

2020 Caribbean Semester


The Caribbean Semester brings the history and culture of 13 independent countries – Bahamas, Barbados, Cuba, Trinidad and Tobago, Haiti, Dominican Republic, Jamaica, Antigua and Barbuda, Grenada, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, and Dominica – to the Missouri Southern State University campus throughout the semester. 

The Caribbean also includes numerous territories affiliated with other nations, such as the Cayman Islands (Great Britain), Aruba (the Netherlands), Martinique (France), Puerto Rico (United States), British Virgin Islands (Great Britain), Bonaire (the Netherlands), Guadeloupe (France), the Turks and Caicos Islands (Great Britain), U.S. Virgin Islands (United States), Montserrat (Great Britain), and Curaçao (the Netherlands).

The population of the entire region is nearly 44 million, with Haiti, Cuba, and the Dominican Republic the three largest countries. The majority of the population speaks English, as much of the region was colonized by the British. The other main languages are Spanish, French, Dutch, Haitian Creole, and Papiamento – a Portuguese and Spanish-based Creole language.

Check out the  full schedule  for more information, join us on our  Facebook page,  and stay tuned for the Japan Semester in Fall 2021!

Map of the Caribbean

This site is maintained by the librarians of George A. Spiva Library.
If you have a question or comment about the Library's LibGuides, please contact the site administrator.