University Archives Collection: University Archives

 Papers, floor plans, and manuals related to the Joplin Junior College.

 Papers from Dorothea B. Hoover on the proposal of Joplin Junior College from 1937 to 1964.

 1965 College Appreciation Day, honoring Governor Warren E. Hearnes, Area Legislators and dedicating Hearnes Boulevard.

 Sheet music of the Alma Mater for Missouri Southern and a copy of the Alma Mater from 1939.

 Numbered papers on the highlights of the Missouri Southern school year from 1969 to 1971.

 A 1975 agreement to facilitate articulation between and among public institutions of higher education in Missouri, was the first time that all public colleges and universities had reached a substantial agreement regarding the transfer process.

 Magazine articles from 1969 to 1970 about Missouri Southern, including “Harbinger Magazine” (August 1970) and “Missouri Highways” (Winter 1969).

A chart showing the organization of academic schools and departments at Missouri Southern in 1980.

 A certificate of appreciation and medallions presented by Southwest Baptist College in Bolivar, Missouri to Missouri Southern in 1972.

 Maps of the current Missouri Southern campus from 1967 through the present day.

 1 Folder

 1 Folder - A brochure about the graduate program at Missouri Southern, date unknown.

 1 Folder - Posters of Missouri Southern State College and Missouri Southern State University mission statements; dates unknown.

 1 Folder - A 1972 Publication to compensate for the absence of the Missouri Southern Crossroads yearbook that year. It gives a brief history of the college and has photographs of past college presidents.

 1 Folder - Promotional booklets about Missouri Southern published by the Missouri Southern Admissions Office in the early 2000s.

 5 Boxes - Papers and information of the President’s Office from the 1960s-2001.

 1 Box - Minutes and papers kept by the Administrative Council from 1966 to 2008.

 2 Boxes - Correspondence and files accumulated by the Dean's Office at Joplin Junior College and Missouri Southern College from 1963 to 1966.

 1 Box - Papers from 1978 to 1979 on the Missouri Southern State College search for a college president.

 1 Box - Photographs, newspaper articles, programs and various other papers relating to Dr. Julio León, the President of Missouri Southern from 1982-2007.

 1 Box - Reports from the president of the college from 1964 to 1977, summarizing the activities of the college during the fiscal year.

 1 Box - Photographs of plans for the Multi-Purpose Arena from 1980 and a design approach to the arena from 1991.

 1 Box - Architectural drawings for the Theatre Playhouse Project in 1999.

 1 Folder - Handbook for faculty advisors from 1980 to 1983, including organizational charts, general education requirements and suggested order of study.

 3 Boxes - Faculty Handbooks 1964 to 2015 (various editions), containing information on policies and procedures relating to Missouri Southern faculty.

 2 Boxes - Missouri Southern Policy Handbooks from 1983 to 1990.

 1 Folder - Brochures on various School of Arts and Sciences degree programs of the 1970s.

 1 Folder - Papers, brochures, and flyers from Missouri Southern’s Criminal Justice department, 1992-2002, including initiation programs from 2002 from Alpha Phi Sigma, Lambda Epsilon Chapter, the National Criminal Justice Honor Society.

 1 Folder - Papers and flyers from the Missouri Southern Department of English, including a 1980 self-study report.

 3 Boxes - Papers and flyers from various themed semesters from 1997 to 2015, along with information about the Institute of International Studies, including the newsletter “The Voyager”. Learn more about this collection!

 1 Folder - Law Enforcement Program brochure and Police Academy Training Announcements from the 1980s and Law Enforcement Academy Graduation programs from 2002-2003.

 1 Box - Papers from the Music department from 1952 to 2013, including programs from individual recitals, programs and promotional material from the Choral Society and Symphony Orchestra, programs and “Allegro” newsletter from the Suzuki Program and programs from the President’s Gala Concert. Promotional documents from the Lion Pride Marching Band. Learn more about this collection!

 1 Box - Social Sciences Department meeting minutes from 1989, “Update from the Mansion” newsletter from 1987, and various brochures and flyers from programs within the department from the 1980s through the 2000s.

 6 Boxes, Various scrapbooks - Programs, photographs and various other papers from the Missouri Southern Theatre Department, 1950's through 2012. Learn more about this collection!

 1 Box - Flyers and booklets with information about the Missouri Southern School of Business from the 1970s-2005, a scrapbook with newspaper clippings from the 1970s, “Alumni Newsletter” from 2004, “Southern Business Exchange” magazine from 2005-2008, and the International Trade Center newsletter and information from the 1990s.

 1 Box - Various papers of the Missouri Southern Department of Communication, including “Southern’s Special” magazine from 1984 and programs from the Southern Media Showcase Pioneer Broadcaster Award/Regional Media Hall of Fame Award from 1997-2010, 2014.

 1 Folder - Biology Department newsletter “Biology Focus” from 2005-2006.

 1 Box - Papers and flyers from the Dental Hygiene/Dental Assisting program at Missouri Southern, including programs from the Dental Pinning Ceremony from 1985-2003.

 1 Folder - A handbook of physical education and intramural sports for men and women and various brochures from the Physical Education and Kinesiology programs from the 1970s. Papers and newspaper clippings on the Missouri Southern State College Physical Education Department from 1969 to 1973.

 1 Folder - Brochures on School of Health Sciences degree programs of the 1970s.

 1 Box - A self-study report from 1988 about the BS in Nursing Completion Program, programs from the 1968-2014 Nursing Pinning Ceremonies, Nursing Handbooks from 1989-1991 and various other nursing promotional materials.

 1 Box - School of Education documents from 1969 to 1999, including education articles in “Forum” newsletter and education handbooks for student teachers.

 1 Box - Advising, Counseling and Testing promotional papers and flyers, including the “Family/Guest Handbook” from 1998-2017, “Advising News & Notes” newsletter from 2016-2017, and “Southern Welcome” handouts from 2009-2013. An assessment of the Writing Program from 1993-1994 and the Writing Program newsletter, “Protocol” or “Writing Across the Curriculum,” from 1989-2010.

 1 Box - Publications of the Campus Activities Board (CAB) about on-campus events from 1978-1998.

 2 Boxes - Various papers and annual reports, including “Career Highlights,” from Career Services/Career Planning and Placement Office from 1960 to 2007.

 1 Folder - Publications of the Division of Student Involvement, comprised of the departments of Campus Recreation and Wellness, Student Activities, Student Leadership/Registered Student Groups, Billingsly Student Center and Greek Life, from 2006-2007

 1 Folder - Papers and flyers of the First Year Experience program at Missouri Southern from 2005-2016, including the programs, philosophy statement, self-study reports, and First-Year Student Convocations from 2010-2015.

 1 Folder - A booklet from 1994 with guidelines for assisting students with disabilities.

 1 Box - Learning Center promotional papers from 1989-2010.

 1 Folder - Missouri Southern orientation brochures, flyers, invitations and the “Orientation Newsletter” from 1989-2000.

 1 Folder - Project Stay brochures and flyers from the 2000s.

 1 Folder - “Missouri Southern State University Student Recreation Center Study: Final Report” from June of 2004.

 1 Box - “Active Living” and “Your Healthstyle” newsletters and various other brochures and flyers from the Missouri Southern Recreation/Wellness Department.

 1 Box - News and notes from Student Affairs/Student Services from 1988 to 1991.

 1 Folder - Brochures from the MSSC Student Employment Service and the “Missouri Southern State University Student Employment Manual” from an unknown date.

 1 Folder - Memos from the Office of Student Retention and copies of the “Missouri Southern Retention Update” from 1991-1992.

 1 Folder - “Handbook for Veterans,” printed by the Office of Veterans Affairs in 1985.

 1 Folder - A program from Howard Dugan's retirement reception in March 1990. Howard Dugan was the Director of the Physical Plant at Missouri Southern from 1971 through 1990.

 1 Folder - Newspaper articles and photographs from 1964 to 1984 of Harry Gockel, a retired Geography faculty member, including a memoriam and tribute to him.

 1 Box - The papers of Missouri Southern English and Journalism faculty emeritus, Cleetis Headlee who worked at Missouri Southern from 1946-1964

 3 Boxes - The papers of History faculty emeritus, Dr. Virginia Laas, ranging from 1988-2010, including microfilm reels on topics of research.

 2 Boxes - Correspondence between Martha McCormick with past members of her college classes, 1957.

 1 Box - The papers of former Missouri Southern coach, Ed Wuch, including newspaper clippings and photographs of Missouri Southern Baseball and Football teams from the 1970s.

 1 Folder - Microfilm rolls with data on Missouri Southern faculty members from 1938 to 1979.

 1 Box - Newspaper articles about faculty members and programs from the memorial services of various former faculty members. Including Dr. Art Saltzman, John Richard Lantz, John Scott Ware, Dr. David Tate, Dr. Gail Kenneth Renner, S. Patrick Cassens.

 2 Boxes - Various faculty publications from 2008-2010.

 1 Folder - Faculty Years of Service Recognition programs from 2018 (3), 2019 (3), 2022 (3)

 1 Folder - Missouri Southern’s “Outstanding Faculty” publication, each highlighting a different member of the faculty, from 1981-1986.

 2 Boxes - Employee and committee rosters from 1984 to 2011.

 1 Box - ‘Southern Perspective’ video interviews from 1984-1985 with former and current Missouri Southern faculty, staff, and regents.

 1 Folder - Welcome New Faculty publications from 2017 (3), 2018 (3), 2019 (3), 2022 (3)

 7 Boxes, 70 Volumes - Papers and minutes from the Academic Policies Committee at Missouri Southern State College, from the 1970s through 2010.

 1 Folder - Academic Standards Committee meeting minutes from January 23, 1967.

 1 Box - Newsletter and evaluation of the American Association of University Professors, Missouri Southern chapter from 1969 to 1976.

 1 Folder - Committee on Advising and Orientation papers from 1974, including objectives for freshman orientation course.

 1 Folder - Report of the committee to the Academic Policies Committee in 1993.

 1 Box - Faculty Development Committee papers from 1976. Faculty development grant follow-up reports from 1979 to 80.

 1 Box - Faculty Meeting Minutes from 1959-1967 and an account of monthly dues submitted by faculty members to the faculty treasury from 1962-1964.

 1 Box - The Faculty Organization constitution and meeting minutes from 1963 to 2011, including a paper defining the duties of the department heads.

 3 Boxes - Minutes and papers from Faculty Personnel Committee Meetings from 1968 to 1981, including the Faculty Personnel Committee Hearings in 1978.

 2 Boxes - Committee on Sabbatical papers from 1974-1975 and 2015-2016, including reasons for sabbaticals and membership rosters for the committee. A sabbatical report from 1996 by Dr. Virginia Laas.

 5 Boxes - Meeting minutes and papers from the Faculty Senate from 1971 to present.

 1 Box - Papers from 1971 to 1986 from the Missouri Southern State College Faculty Wives organization.

 2 Boxes - Papers of the Library Committee from 1982-2014, including budgets, surveys from the early 1980's, and meeting minutes.

 1 Box - Missouri Southern National Education Association Papers from the local chapter from 1975 to 1985.

 1 Box - Papers dealing with the National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education in 1972 at Missouri Southern State College. Included in this collection is an outline of the duties and membership of the council on teacher education.

 1 Box - Papers of the Special Events Committee at Missouri Southern State College, from 1970 to 1982.

 2 Boxes - Staff Senate papers, including ballots and election results, from 2007-2013.

 1 Folder - Teaching and Learning Committee meeting minutes from 2006-2007 and 2010.

 1 Folder - Handbook for women's club members 1982 to 1983. This collection includes a membership list, past women club presidents, papers on committees, interest groups, and activities schedules.

 1 Box, 1.33MB - Programs from the Academic Achievement Recognition Ceremony/Honors Convocation from 1977, 1979, 1981, 1982 and 1985 to the present, including lists of honor students at Missouri Southern.

 1 Folder - Programs from baccalaureate services at Joplin Junior College and Missouri Southern College from 1939 to 1966.

 1 Folder - Programs from the School of Business, Business Contest Awards Convocation from 2004, 2006, 2010, 2012 and 2013.

 5 Boxes - Missouri Southern Commencement programs from 1954 to the present, cassette tapes of various commencement speeches from the 1980s and 1990s and VHS tapes of various commencements in the 1990s. View portions of the Missouri Southern Commencement collection online.

 1 Folder - Programs from the Student Services and Omicron Delta Kappa Glenn D. Dolence Leadership Service Award from 1992-2004.

 1 Folder - Programs from and invitations to the employee appreciation brunch or luncheon from 1997 through 2014.

 1 Folder - Homecoming invitations and flyers from 1984 through 2016.

 1 Box - Papers from the 1960's to 2016 from the Missouri Southern Film Society, including flyers from the Harrison and June Kash International Film Festival from 1985-2016.

 1 Folder - DVDs of various Jeans Lectures in History given at Missouri Southern from 1998-2014.

 1 Folder - September 8th, unknown year, program from event

 1 Box - Programs and various other papers from “A Time to Remember: September 11 Memorial Service” held on September 11, 2004-2006 at Missouri Southern.

 1 Folder

 1 Box - The original dedication of the Veterans Memorial at Missouri Southern on November 11, 1988 and program from the rededication of the memorial on November 13, 2012. Flyer from a Veterans Day event at the memorial.

 1 Folder - An audio reel of General William Westmoreland from his visit to Missouri Southern State College on May 2, 1980.

 1 Folder - “Around the Globe in 80 Days,” a series of Joplin Globe newspaper articles about Professor Becky Spracklen’s around the globe trip in 1991. The trip was jointly funded by Missouri Southern and the Joplin Globe.

 1 Folder - Schedule for the November 14-15, 1975 Forensic Tournament, with times, judge’s names, participating schools and room locations.

 1 Folder - Program from the 1967 Friends of the College Breakfast.

 1 Folder - Program from the 2014 Beimdiek Insurance – Missouri Southern State University Golden Lion Awards.

 1 Folder - Programs from Missouri Southern’s Industrial Arts Fair from 1985-1988.

 3 Boxes - Photographs, programs, flyers and other promotional material from the Missouri Southern International Piano Competition from 1988-2009.

 7 Boxes

 1 Folder - Photographs, correspondence and other papers relating to the Joplin Rotary Club’s “Operation Greenleaves,” an initiative to plant trees at Missouri Southern in 1970.

 1 Folder - Papers from 1954 containing the constitution and bylaws of the Joplin Teachers Association.

 1 Folder - A poster and brochures from the Missouri Multicultural Network, a project of Missouri Southern’s Institute of International Studies, from the 1980s or 1990s.

 1 Folder - Programs from various groups who held events at Missouri Southern, including the Southwest Missouri High School Music Festival of 1966 and the City of Joplin Welcomes City of Bethlehem as a Sister City event in 2005.

 1 Box - Modern Foreign Language Field Day/Foreign Language Field Day papers from the 1980s through 1995, including programs, sample award ribbons, stickers, schedules and other papers.

 1 Box - Programs from the Patron Scholarship Banquet from 1987-1998.

 1 Folder - Brochures from 1994-1996 about the Safari Club, a club for area youth sponsored by the Missouri Southern Alumni Association and the Joplin Family Y.

 1 Folder - Various schedules, posters, flyers, and programs from the Southern Arts Festival in 1991.

 4 Boxes - A Spanish language camp held at Missouri Southern for elementary and middle school students. Photographs, flyers, schedules and other papers from 1996-2010

 1 Folder - A program from the Memorial Service held at Missouri Southern for Missouri State Senator Richard Webster in 1990 and an invitation to the inaugural Richard M. Webster Medallion ceremony in 2016.

 1 Folder - Programs and promotional papers from the Young Authors’ Conference from 1992-2006.