Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Missouri Southern Institute of International Studies Collection: Home

University Archives, AC#93, Information about Missouri Southern's past themed semesters, beginning in 1997, along with information about the Institute of International Studies, including brochures, postcards, programs, flyers, posters, etc.

Collection Information

Collection Number: AC#93

Title: 
Institute of International Studies Collection

Dates: 
1990-Present


Collection Size: 
3 Boxes, 7 framed Gockel Symposium programs on shelf

Scope and Content

This collection contains information on Missouri Southern’s past themed semesters. This includes brochures, postcards, programs, flyers, posters, news articles, ads, event planning, booklets, photographs, and other media.

Creator(s)

Institute of International Studies, Missouri Southern State University

Preview the Collection

November 7 & 12, 1997 – “A Celebration of Chinese Music” postcard

“The Africa Semester” flyer with upcoming events, 1998

Fall 1999 – “Latin America Semester” poster

April 18-19, 2000 - Harry and Berniece Gockel International Symposium, "America on the Verge of a New Millennium" program

Fall 2001 - The Japan Semester

September 26, 2002, The Gockel International Symposium "India and South Asia: Conflict, Crisis, and Kashmir"

2002 - Southern Theatre presents "Rakshasa's Ring"

2003 Cuban Film Festival Flyer

October 28, 2004, Russia Semester "Barynya" flyer

Preview the Collection

Fall 2005 Mexico Semester brochure

Fall 2006 France Semester brochure

November 1, 2007, China Semester, "Wu Man & Friends" flyer

September 22, 2008, Germany Semester, 'Live from Berlin' 17 Hippies flyer

October 5, 2009, Canada Semester, "Great Big Sea" flyer

September 23, 2010, Brazil Semester, "The Search for the Lost City of Z" flyer

Preview the Collection

September 6, 2011, Egypt Semester, Bill Needle presentations

"Mysteries of the Great Pyramids: Some Unsolved, Some Solved But Not Forgotten"

"Royal Connections: Six Famous Egyptians Kings and Queens"

"The Billionaire's Curse: James Teackle Dennis, Early American Egyptologist"

October 25, 2011, Egypt Semester, Sahar Sami & the Sahar Dance Company in "Haram: Unveiling the Mystery of the Forbidden Dance"

Fall 2012 Thailand Semester brochure

Fall 2014 Turkey Semester brochure

Fall 2015 Spain Semester brochure

Collection Inventory, Box 1

Box 1

Institute of International Studies Publications

  • “MSSU’s International Mission” booklet
  • “Institute of International Studies” folder with informative papers
  • March 1, 2006 – “Study at Oxford University with Missouri Southern State University” flyer
  • March 28, 2014 – “World Music & Cuisine Festival” program
  • 1996 Newsletters
    • Sept. 1996 – Bem-vindos Vol. 1.1 newsletter (2 copies)
    • Sept. 1996 – Bienvenidos Vol. 1.2 newsletter
    • Oct. 1996 – International Language Resource Center Newsletter Vol., 1 No. 2 newsletter
    • Oct. 1996 – Soyez la bienvenue Vol. 1.3 newsletter (2 pages)
    • Nov. 1996 – Willkommen Vol. 1.4 newsletter
  • International Happenings
    • Jan. 1997 – International Happenings Vol. 2, No. 1, “MSSC: Grant Programs Highlight First Semester of New Institute of International Studies” newsletters (2 copies)
  • The Voyager 1997-2012

    • Sept. 1997 – The Voyager Vol. 1, No. 1 newsletter
    • Sept. 1997 – The Voyager Vol. 1, No. 2 newsletter
    • Nov. 1997 – The Voyager Vol. 1, No. 3 newsletter
    • Dec. 1997 – The Voyager Vol. 1, No. 4 newsletter
    • Jan. 1998 – The Voyager Vol. 1, No. 5 newsletter
    • Feb. 1998 – The Voyager Vol. 1, No. 5 newsletter
    • June 1998 – The Voyager Vol. 1, No. 6 newsletter
    • Sept. 1998 – The Voyager Vol. 2, No. 1 newsletter
    • Dec. 1998 – The Voyager Vol. 2, No. 2 newsletter
    • Fall 1999 – The Voyager Vol. 3, Issue 1 newsletter
    • Spring 2000 – The Voyager Vol. 3, Issue 2 newsletter
    • Spring 2001 – The Voyager Vol. 4, Issue 1 newsletter
    • Fall 2002 – The Voyager Vol. 5 Issue 1 newsletter
    • Spring 2004 – The Voyager Vol. 6 Issue 1 newsletter
    • Spring 2006 – The Voyager Vol. 7 Issue 1 newsletter
    • Spring 2012 – The Voyager

Promotional Material, Study Abroad Fair, Gockel Symposium, Photographs

  • Institute of International Studies
    • Institute of International Studies Postcards
      • “Help others study abroad through MSSU” postcard
      • Students with Sweden flag postcard
    • Institute of International Studies Flyers
      •  “Aminata Sow Fall” flyer
      • “International Travel Film Weekly Series” flyer
      • Feb. 22 – “Australian 101: Investigate the Land Down Under” flyer
      • March 13, 2003 – “Special Report: International Broadcaster: Pamela J. Morgan” flyer
      • May 24-July 17, 2004 - “Summer Internship in London” flyer
    • Institute of International Studies Posters
      • Nov. 13-17 – “The American Council on Education (ACE) National Carnegie Project” poster
    • Institute of International Studies Emails
      • Oct. 31, 1996 – “MSSC The Institute of International Studies” email to all faculty from Richard Massa
      • Sept. 3, 1999 – “Formation of a New International Task Force” email to all faculty from Chad Stebbins
      • Sept. 23, 1999 – “First Meeting of the New International Task Force” email to all faculty from Chad Stebbins (3 pages)
      • Dec. 13, 1999 – “International Task Force Committees” email to all faculty from Chad Stebbins
      • April 10, 2000 – “Gockel International Symposium” email to all faculty from Chad Stebbins
      • Oct. 12, 2000 – “International Education Week” email to all faculty from Chad Stebbins
      • Dec. 6, 2002 - “Cuba Semester” email to all faculty from Chad Stebbins
    • Institute of International Studies Misc
      • “Passport to Possibilities” decorative note paper
      • “The Missour Multicultural Network” decorative note paper
      •  “For the Promotion of International Educational Exchange Between MSSU and Fachhochschule AnsBach, Germany” Agreement papers (2 pages)
      • “Grants for Faculty Study Abroad, 2000-2001” paper (2 pages)
      • Nov. 25, 1996 – “$29,463 in Grants Awarded for Travel, Internationalizing the Curriculum” paper
      • May 12, 1997 – “In Fulfillment of a Mission Enhancement: A Report to the Campus Community” papers (21 pages)
  • Study Abroad Fair

    • “Opportunities to Study Abroad” paper (3 pages)
    • Jan. 31, 1997 - “Grants for Student Study Abroad” paper
    • 1997-1998 - “Grants for Students Study Abroad, 1997-98” paper
    • 1997-1998 – “Consider Travel Abroad Possibilities for 1997-1998” paper
    • 1997-1998 – “Grants for Faculty Study Abroad, 1997-98” paper
    • Sept. 2, 1998 – “On Sponsoring A Study-Abroad Program” paper (2 pages)
    • 1998-99 – “Grants for Faculty Study Abroad, 1998-99” paper
    • 1998-99 – “Grants for Student Study Abroad,1998-99” paper
    • Dec. 2, 1998 – “A Funding Initiative On Internationalizing the Curriculum” paper
    • 2000-2001 – “Application Faculty Study Abroad Grant” paper
    • 2000-2001 – “Grants for Student Group Study Abroad, 2000-2001” paper
    • 2001-2002 – “Grants for Faculty Study Abroad, 2001-2002” paper
    • 2001-2002 – “Grants for Internationalizing the Curriculum” paper
    • 2001-2002 – “Grants for Student Group Study Abroad, 2001-2002” paper
    • 2001-2002 – “Grants for Student Study Abroad, 2001-2002” paper
    • Nov. 12, 2002 – “2002 Study Abroad Fair” flyer
    • Nov. 19, 2003 – “2003 Study Abroad Fair” flyer
    • 2003-2004 – “Grants for Faculty Study Abroad, 2003-2004” paper
    • 2003-2004 – “Grants for Student Group Study Abroad, 2003-2004” paper
    • Nov. 17, 2004 – “2004 Study Abroad Fair” flyer
    • Nov. 17, 2004 – “2004 Study Abroad Fair” poster
    • Nov. 16, 2005 – “2005 Study Abroad Fair” flyer
    • Nov. 16, 2005 – “2005 Study Abroad Fair” poster
    • Nov. 14, 2007 – “2007 Study Abroad Fair” flyer
    • Nov. 12, 2008 – “2008 Study Abroad Fair” flyer
    • Nov. 18, 2009 – “2009 Study Abroad Fair” flyer
    • Nov. 14, 2012 – “2012 Study Abroad Fair” flyer
  • The Harry and Berniece Gockel International Symposium

    • April 13-14, 1998 – “Africa: The Neglected Continent” flyer
    • Sept. 20, 2005 – “New Horizons in U.S.-Mexico Relations” flyer (2 copies)
    • April 14-15, 1997 – “Hong Kong in Transition: The Transfer of Sovereignty to China” booklet
    • April 12, 1999 – “Peace, Human Progress & New Challenges for the 21st Century” booklet
    • Sept. 18, 2001 – “Rising Sun, Looming Crisis: Japan Facing Reform and Transition in the New Millennium” booklet
    • Sept. 25, 2003 – “Cuba after Castro?” booklet
    • Sept. 27, 2007 – “China and the U.S.: Steering a Course for Collision or Convergence?” booklet
    • Oct. 28, 2008 – “Germany & the U.S.: In a Globalized World” booklet
    • Oct. 27-28, 2008 – “Enduring Boundary, Lasting Friendship, Evolving Futures: Canada – U.S. Relations” booklet
    • Sept. 22-23, 2011 – “Charting a New Course for Egypt” and “The Changing Nature of America’s Interests in Egypt: Implications for U.S. Policies” booklet
    • Sept. 27-28, 2012 – “The Transformation of Thailand: Revival and Political Change” and “Diversity, National Integration and the Questioning of ‘Thai-ness’” booklet
  • 1990 International Party

    • Photographs

Themed Semesters Brochures/Handbooks

  • Fall 2001 – “The Japan Semester” brochure (2 copies)
  • Fall 2002 – “The India Semester” brochure
  • Fall 2003 – “Cuba Semester” brochure
  • Fall 2004 – “Russia Semester” brochure
  • Fall 2006 – “France Semester” brochure
  • Fall 2007 – “The China Semester” brochure
  • Fall 2008 – “The Germany Semester” brochure
  • Fall 2009 – “Canada” brochure
  • Fall 2010 – “Brazil” brochure
  • Fall 2011 – “Egypt Semester” brochure
  • Fall 2012 – “Thailand” brochure
  • Fall 2013 – “Italy” brochure
  • Fall 2014 – “Turkey” brochure
  • Fall 2015 – “Spain” brochure

China Semester 1997

  • China Semester Tickets
    • April 14, 1997, “Hong Kong in Transition: The Transfer of Sovereignty to China” ticket (2 copies)
    • April 15, 1997, “Hong Kong in Transition: The Transfer of Sovereignty to China” ticket (2 copies)
  • China Semester Postcards
    • Nov. 7 & 12, 1997 – “A Celebration of Chinese Music” postcard (2 copies)
  • China Semester Programs
    • Jan. 27, 1996 – University of Cincinnati College-Conservatory of Music, “Chinese Music Recital Ming Ke, Pipa & Raun” program
    • Nov. 7, 1997 – “A Celebration of Chinese Music” program (2 copies)
  • China Semester Flyers
    • Oct. 30, 1997 – “Two Countries: One Agenda – The Nursing Role” flyer
  • China Semester News Articles
    • June 17, 1997 – Southern News Service, “British hand over the sovereignty of Hong Kong to the Chinese” article
    • Oct. 27, 1997 – Southern News Service, “Harvest Celebration” article (2 pages) (3 copies)
    • Oct. 24, 1997 – Southern Accents Vol. 13, No. 6, “Ancient PiPa highlighted in Chinese music Celebration” article
    • Oct. 29, 1997 – The Joplin Globe, “Boy Buddhists: Through young monks, old traditions continue in Chinese temples” newspaper article
    • Oct. 29, 1997 – The Joplin Globe, “Rails across Asia: Trans-Asian railway may someday become reality” article
  • China Semester Ads
    • April 15, 1997 – Joplin Globe, “Ex-senator: U.S. policy on China embarrassing” ad
    • April 17, 1997 – Joplin Globe, “China: Simon’s voice one of many” ad
    • July 1, 1997 – Joplin Globe, “Ceremony dances into history” ad
  • China Semester Event Planning
    • “Ming Ke” paper
    • “Program and Program Notes” paper (4 pages)
    • “A Brief Introduction to the Instrument PiPa” paper
    • Letter in Chinese (3 pages)
    • Feb. 9, 1995 – letter to Ming Ke from Bruce D. Mcclung
    • Sept. 27, 1995 – letter from Amy Banister
    • Oct. 20, 1995 – letter to Ming Ke from Sonny Burnette
    • 1996 – “Weekend” papers (9 pages)
    • May 7, 1996 – letter to Ming Ke from Anne Arenstein
    • July 11, 1996 – letter to Ming from John Morris Russell
    • July 11 1996 – letter to Ming Me from Anne Cushing-Reid
    • April 4, 1997 – “Jon Sawyer” paper
    • April 20, 1997 – The Kansas City Star, “Don’t abandon ideals in dealing with China” paper
    • Aug. 19, 1997 – email to Gubera
    • Oct. 21, 1997 – “Chinese Music Celebration – Daytime Schedule” email from Pete Havely (2 pages)
    • Oct. 28, 1997 – paper
    • Nov. 6-7, 1997 – “Chinese Music Celebration: Daytime Schedule” paper
    • Nov. 12, 1997 – “An Evening of Chinese Cuisine, Festivals & Culture” paper
  • China Semester Photographs
    • MSSC. P.I. photographs
  • China Semester Booklets
    • Envelopes
    • April 14-15, 1997 – “The Harry and Berniece Gockel International Symposium” booklet (3 copies)

Africa Semester 1998

  • Africa Semester Postcards
    • April 13, 1998 – “Africa: The Neglected Continent” postcard (2 copies)
    • Oct. 19, 1998 – “Africa: Through the Eyes of Women Artists” postcard
    • Nov. 12 & 16, Dec. 5&6, 1998 – “Experience Africa on-stage” postcard (2 copies)
  • Africa Semester Programs
    • “The John and Pam Finley Collection of African Art” program (2 copies)
    • “Aminata Sow Fall” program
    • March 9, 1998 – “Samite of Uganda” program
    • Oct. 20, 1998 – “Africana Literature and Its Influences on the Literature of the Americas” program (2 copies
    • Oct. 21, 1998 – “The Changing News Media of Africa” program (2 copies)
  • Africa Semester Flyers
    • “The Africa Semester” flyer with upcoming events (2 copies)
    • March 10, 1997 – “Aminata Sow Fall” flyer (2 copies)
    • April 13, 1998 – “Africa: The Neglected Continent” flyer
    • Sept. 22, 1998 – “African Art Program” flyer
    • Sept. 25, 1998 – “Brown Bag Lunches – Tanzania: An Outsider Looking In” flyer
    • Oct. 1, 1998 – “The School of Technology and The Institute of International Studies” flyer
    • Nov. 12, 1998 – “Ballet Folclorico Do Brasil” flyer
    • Dec. 2, 1998 – “Brown Bag Lunches – African Wedding and Funeral Rituals” flyer
  • Africa Semester Posters
    • “The Africa Semester” poster with events
    • “Africa On Stage” poster
    • “The John and Pam Finley Collection of African Art” poster
  • Africa Semester News Articles
    • March 9, 1998 – Southern News Service, “Missouri Southern Television – African Semester” article (2 copies)
    • March 16, 1998 – Southern News Service, “Staff Leaving for West Africa” article (2 pages) (2 copies)
    • March 23, 1998 – Southern News Service, “Africa during President Clinton’s visit” article (2 copies)
    • April 6, 1998 – Southern News Service, “Africa during Clinton’s visit” article
    • April 13, 1998 – Southern News Service, “Leading authorities on Africa praised President Clinton” article (2 pages) (2 copies)
    • April 14, 1998 – Southern News Service, “President Clinton’s African Initiative” article
    • April 20, 1998 – Southern News Service, “Extensive Collection of African Art” article
    • Sept. 23, 1998 – Southern News Service, “Africa Semester program by Dr. William A. Hachten” article (2 pages)
    • Sept. 23, 1998 – Southern News Service, “Africa Semester program, ‘Africana Literature and Its Influences on the Literature of the Americas’” article
    • Oct. 21, 1998 – Southern News Service, “Special Africa Semester program” article (2 pages)
    • Oct. 26, 1998 – Southern News Service, “Zambian Acapella Boys Choir” article
    • Oct. 26, 1998 – Southern News Service, “The Ballet Folclorico Do Brasil” article (2 pages)
  • Africa Semester Articles
    • Nov. 1997 – The Voyager Vol. 1, No. 3, “11 Faculty Members Receive Travel Grants In First Round of Applications” article
    • Jan. 1998 – The Voyager Vol. 1, No. 5, “Attention Now Shifts to Africa In Preparation for Symposium” article
    • Sept. 4, 1998 – Southern Accents Vol. 14, No. 3, “Former Energy Secretary to make address” article
    • Sept. 18, 1998 – Southern Accents Vol. 14, No. 4, “Nigerian technological development topic of engineering professor’s lecture” article
  • Africa Semester Newspaper Articles
    • Dec. 5, 1997 – The Chronicle of Higher Education, “Cattle, Education, and the Masai Identity” article
    • Oct. 2, 1998 – The Chart, “Band fuses Jamaican, African Styles” article
    • Oct. 30, 1998 – The Joplin Globe, “Folk Dance Magic” article
  • Africa Semester Event Planning
    • Tree art paper
    •  “Gwen Hunt – Program notes” papers (4 pages)
    • “The People of Zambia” papers (5 pages)
    • “World Beat Africa” papers (8 pages)
    • “John and Pam Finley Collection of African Art” written notes (2 pages)
    • “Tentative Schedule for Aminata Sow Fall” papers (2 pages)
    • “Aminata Sow Fall” paper
    • “Mother, all these women’s arguments…” paper
    • “Africa Through the Eyes of Women Artists” papers (19 pages)
    • April 3, 1996 – “Aminata Sow Fall” papers (3 pages)
    • April 7, 1997 – “Why Africa Matters” web article (5 pages)
    • March 5, 1998 – “Gockel Symposium Program Specifications” paper
    • March 12, 1998 – “Africa” email to Rod Surber from Richard Massa
    • March 12, 1998 – “Africa: The Neglected Continent” email to Administrative Council from Richard Massa
    • March 16, 1998 – “Peter Ukpokodu” paper (2 copies)
    • March 16, 1998 – “Jacqueline Brice-Finch” paper
    • March 16, 1998 – “Yemisi Jimoh” paper
    • March 16, 1998 – “The Africa Semester” web article (2 pages)
    • March 16, 1998 – “African Art” web article (2 pages)
    • April 7, 1998 – “United States Senate” email from John Ashcroft
    • April 16, 1998 – email to Gwen Hunt from Richard
    • Sept. 21, 1998 – “Zambian Acapella Boys Choir” web article (2 pages)
    • Sept. 21, 1998 – “Ballet Folclorico Do Brasil” web article (3 pages)
    • Sept. 29, 1998 – “Jacqueline Brice-Finch” web article (2 pages)
    • Sept. 29, 1998 – “Dr. William A. Hachten” web article
    • Sept. 30, 1998 – “Tarradiddle World [Africa] cast list” papers (7 pages)
    • Oct. 20, 1998 – “Africana Literature and Its Influences on the Literature of the Americas” program rough draft (4 pages)
    • Nov. 16, 1998 – “Africa On Stage” ad and notes (5 pages)
  • Africa Semester Photographs
    • “Bartholomew Nnaji” photograph
  • Africa Semester Booklet
    • “Ballet Folclorico Do Brasil” booklets (2 copies)
    • “Samite of Uganda” booklets (4 copies)
    • Fall 1998 – “The Africa Semester – Schedule of classes” booklet
    • April 1998 – Crossroads Vol. 6 Issue 2, “Africa: Plus…The Hidden Dangers of Everyday” magazine
    • April 13-14, 1998 – “The Harry and Berniece Gockel International Symposium” booklet
  • Africa Semester Books
    • “African Designs From Traditional Sources” book by Geofrey Williams
  • “Traditional African Designs” book by Gregory Mirow

Latin America Semester 1999

  • Latin America Semester Brochures
    • “Direct From Buenos Aires…TANGOkinesis” pamphlet
  • Latin America Semester Postcards
    • Aug. 23 – Sept. 17, 1999 – “Judith Burns McCrealatin America Experiences” postcard
    • Oct. 5, 1999 – “The Future of the Third World in the 21st Century” postcard
    • Nov. 3, 1999 – “TANGOkinesis” invitation postcard (2 copies)
  • Latin America Semester Programs
    • Sept. 9, 1999 – “Latinas and Leadership” program (2 copies)
    • Oct. 12, 1999 – “A Columbus Day Latin America Symposium” program (3 copies)
    • Nov. 3, 1999 – “TANGOkinesis” program
  • Latin America Semester Posters
    • Fall 1999 – “Latin America Semester” poster
  • Latin America Semester Misc
    • Oct. 26, 1999 – “Latin America Business Language and Culture” letter
  • Latin America Semester News Articles
    • Sept. 2, 1999 – Southern News Service, “Latinas and Leadership” article
    • Sept. 27, 1999 – Southern News Service, “The Future of the Third World in the 21st Century” article
    • Oct. 26, 1999 – Southern News Service, “TANGOKineses” article
  • Latin America Semester Newspaper Clippings
    • Feb. 22, 1999 – The Joplin Globe, “Nobel winners to speak at MSSC” newspaper clipping
    • June 23, 1999 – The Joplin Globe, “Losing the canal” newspaper clipping
  • Latin America Semester Ads
  • Latin America Semester Event Planning
    • “Latin America” Semester logo (3 pages)
    • Latin America clipart (4 pages)
    •  “Proposed Schedule for Dr. Arias” (3 pages)
    • “Latin America Semester events” doc by Rob Surber (2 pages)
    • “Gwen Hunt – An Invitation for Ballet Program” paper
    • Dec. 10, 1992 “Rigoberta Mench Tum’s Nobel Prize Acceptance Speech” (7 pages)
    • Oct. 6, 1998 – “Ballet Folclorico” email to Gwen Hunt from Richard Massa
    • March 2, 1999 – “To Mr. Richard Massa (Inv Missouri Southern) From Rebeca M. de Cardenas” to Richard Massa from Rebecca Cardenas
    • March 3, 1999 – “The Latin America Semester” web article (2 pages)
    • March 31, 1999 – letter to Gwen Hunt from Chad Stebbins (3 pages)
    • April 8, 1999 – Latin America list of Countries event planning
    • April 13, 1999 – The Joplin Globe, “’Moral Superpower’ Peace prize winner: View of Latin America lopsided” newspaper clipping (2 pages)
    • April 16, 1999 – Invoice from Chism’s Harvest Farm
    • Aug. 20, 1999 – “Latin America Semester” letter to Rod Surber from Chad Stebbins
    • Sept. 30, 1999 – “Latin America Semester” email to Chad Stebbins and Judy Stiles from Stephen Smith
    • Oct. 12, 1999 – “A Columbus Day Latin America Symposium” rough draft (4 pages)
  • Latin America Semester Booklets
    • “In Search of Peace” published by McCaleb Initiative for Peace, booklet
  • Latin America Semester Event: Dr. Oscar Arias
    • Event Planning - “Maintenance logistics for Gockel Symposium” paper
    • Event Planning - Gockel TPAC April 12, 7:30 written notes
    • “Harry and Berniece Gockel” poster
    •  “The Harry and Berniece Gockel, International Symposium” Nobel Laureate speaker cancelled postcard (2 copies)
    • The Southern View Vol. 3, No. 1, “Former President of Costa Rica and Nobel Laureate to speak”
    • 1999 – “Harry and Berniece Gockel International Symposium” RSVP letter (3 copies)
    • Feb. 4, 1999 – Event Planning Gockel Symposium Booklet quote
    • Feb. 4, 1999 – Event Planning Gockel Invitations expenses
    • March 1, 1999 – “Gockel Symposium Program Specifications” paper to vendor
    • April 7, 1999 – “Gockel Symposium” email to Bob Beeler from Gwen Hunt (2 copies)
    • April 9-10, 1999 – The Joplin News Herald, “Missouri Southern State College” and “Peace Prize winner to speak at college” newspaper clippings (1 page)
    • April 12-13, 1999 – “The Harry and Berniece Gockel, International Symposium” invitation and envelope
    • April 12, 1999 – “Oscar Arias” flyer (3 copies)
    • April 12, 1999 – “The Harry and Berniece Gockel Internatinoal Symposium – Oscar Arias” news article
    • April 12, 1999 – “Oscar Arias” letter (3 copies)
    • April 12, 1999 – “Speech by Dr. Oscar Arias” papers (7 pages)
    • April 12, 1999 – “The Harry and Berniece Gockel International Symposium” booklets (4 copies)
    • April 12, 1999 – Paper submission to use Taylor Auditorium for the Gockel Symposium
    • April 12-13, 1999 – “The Harry and Berniece Gockel International Symposium – Rigoberta Menchu Tum” web article (4 pages)
    • April 12-13, 1999 – “The Harry and Berniece Gockel International Symposium – Oscar Arias” web article (3 pages)
    • April 12-13, 1999 – “The Harry and Berniece Gockel International Symposium – Latin America: Peace, Human Progress and New Challenges for the 21st Century” web article (3 pages)
    • April 12-13, 1999 – “the Harry and Berniece Gockel International Symposium” web program (2 copies)
    • April 12, 1999 – “Dr. Oscar Arias News Conference” VHS tape
  • April 12, 1999 – “Dr. Oscar Arias Audio Recording – 1999 Gockel Symposium” TPAC

America Semester 2000

  • America Semester Postcards
    • Dec. 10, 1987 – “Oscar Arias’ Nobel Peace Prize Speech, 1987” (5 pages)
    • April 2000 – MSIPC and “America and the Future” letter with upcoming events
    • April 18-19, 2000 – “The Harry and Berniece Gockel International Symposium” postcard
    • Aug. 28, 2000 – “An American in Paris: Harriet Welty Rochefort” postcard (2 copies)
    • Oct. 18-24, 2000 – “The American Semester” postcard invitation (2 copies)
    • Nov. 2, 2000 – “The America Semester: Swing Dance America” postcard invitation (3 copies)
    • Nov. 6, 2000 – “Earl Hamner, Creator of the Waltons. A Sampler: Reflections on an American Writer’s Life” postcard invitation (3 copies)
  • America Semester Programs
    • Aug. 28, 2000 – “An American in Paris: Harriet Welty Rochefort” program (2 copies)
    • Oct. 10, 2000 – “11th Annual Helen Boylan Lecture: Women in Government” program
    • Oct. 18, 2000 – “Getting Home: Baseball, American Identity, and Recent Change in Central Europe” program (3 copies)
    • Oct. 24, 2000 – “The Shot Heard Around the World: 21st Century Terrorism” program (2 copies)
    • Nov. 2, 2000 – “Swing Dance America” program (2 copies)
    • Nov. 6, 2000 – “A Sampler: Reflections on an American Writer’s Life” program (2 copies)
    • Nov. 16, 2000 – “America Onstage! Voice Majors Recital” program
  • America Semester Flyers
    • Sept. 14 – “Indian Rock Painting in North America” flyer
    • Nov. 17 – “Everyone Welcome Study Abroad Fair” flyer
    • 2000-2001 – “Grants for Student Group Study Abroad, 2000-2001” flyer
    • Oct. 10, 2000 “11th Annual Helen Boylan Lecture: Women in Government” flyer
  • America Semester Misc
    • The Joplin Globe, thank you note
  • America Semester News Articles
    • July 4, 2000 – The Joplin Globe, “MSSC’s global mission helps students see world” newspaper article
    • Aug. 10, 2000 – Southern News Service, “America Semester Activities to Begin with Rochefort Appearance” article
    • Aug. 28, 2000 – “An American in Paris: Harriet Welty Rochefort” draft
    • Sept. 18, 2000 – Southern News Service, “Newsmakers to Feature Interview with Expatriate Author” article (2 copies)
    • Sept. 19, 2000 – Southern News Service, “International Mission Topic on Window on the World” article
    • Sept. 29, 2000 – Southern News Service, “Summer in Sweden Exhibit Includes Watercolors, Photographs” article
    • Oct. 6, 2000 – Southern News Service, “Janette M. Lohman to Speak at Boylan Lecture” article
    • Oct. 12, 2000 – Southern News Service, “Program to Feature Boylan Lecture Speaker” article
    • Oct. 13, 2000 – Southern News Service, “Author, Gary Gildner, to Speak at Missouri Southern” article
    • Oct. 18, 2000 – Southern News Service, “Four to Take Part in Terrorism Symposium at Missouri Southern” article
    • Oct. 20, 2000 – Southern News Service, “News Conference on Terrorism Tuesday, Oct. 24” article (2 copies)
    • Oct. 25, 2000 – Southern News Service, “From the Walton’s Mountain to the Ozark Mountains” article (2 copies)
    • Oct. 27, 2000 – Southern News Service, “SwingDance America to Appear at Missouri Southern” article (2 copies)
    • Nov. 21, 2000 – Sothern News Service, “Fall Chilean Trip Topic of Window on the World” article
    • Nov. 27, 2000 – Southern News Service, “Italian Film Offered at Missouri Southern” article
  • America Semester Ads
    • Fall 2000 – “The America Semester” ad (2 copies)
    • Aug. 28, 2000 – “An American in Paris: Harriet Welty Rochefort” newspaper article
    • Oct. 22, 2000 – The Joplin Globe, “The Shot Heard Around the World 21st Century Terrorism” newspaper article/ad
    • Nov. 1, 2000 – The Joplin Globe, “SwingDance America” Newspaper Ad (2 copies)
    • Nov. 2, 2000 – ImPLUSE, “Southern’s Swingin’: SwingDance America shuffles onto MSSC campus” newspaper article
  • America Semester Event Planning
    • United States Map (3 copies)
    • Event Planning - Harriet Welty Rochefort written notes
    • “Walton Mountain Museum” notes and information (6 pages)
    • “The Waltons: Earl Hamner” web article (3 pages)
    • “Rob Surber – American Semester” document (3 pages)
    • Sept. 7, 2000 – “American Semester” memo to Rod Surber from Pete Havely
    • Sept. 21, 2000 – “Media Advisory” letter (2 copies)
    • Oct. 12, 2000 – “International Education Week” to All Faculty from Chad Stebbins” email (2 copies)
    • Oct. 16, 2000 – letter to Rod (7 pages)
    • Oct. 27, 2000 – “Program to Explore Native American Stereotypes” email from Stephen Smith
    • Sept. 13, 2001 – “A Tribute to the United States” email from Rod Surber
  • America Semester Booklets
    • April 18-19, 2000 – “The Harry and Berniece Gockel International Symposium” booklet
    • July 22-23, 2000 – “Airfest 2*0*0*0 – A Grateful Nation Remembers” magazine
  • Nov. 2, 2000 – “Swing Dance America” booklet

Collection Inventory, Box 2

Box 2

Japan Semester 2001

  • Japan Semester Postcards
    • Sept. 18, 2001 – “Rising Sun, Looming Crisis: Japan Facing Reform and Transition in the New Millennium” postcard (2 copies)
    • Nov. 1 & 2, 2001 – “Kenny Endo Taiko Ensemble” postcard (2 copies)
    • Fall 2001 – “The Japan Semester” letter with events of the semester (4 copies)
  • Japan Semester Programs
    • Sept. 14, 2001 – “Modern Japanese Literature’s Ten Greatest Hits” and “Preparing to Read a Japanese Novel” program (3 copies)
    • Sept. 27, 2001 – “Degrees of Cultural Accuracy in Memoirs of a Geisha” program (2 copies)
    • Oct. 2, 2001 – “The Japanese Tradition of Tea” program (2 copies)
    • Oct. 9, 2001 – “A Peek Into The Secret Heart of The Shakuhachi” program (2 copies)
    • Oct. 16, 2001 – “The Making of the Samurai: From Wild Warriors to the Way of the Warrior” program (2 copies)
    • Nov. 6, 2001 – “Living Tradition of Japan Today Through Theatre Forms and Martial Arts” program (2 copies)
  • Japan Semester Flyers
    • Oct. 9, 2001 – “A Peek Into the Secret Heart of The Shakuhachi” flyer
    • Nov. 9, 2001 – “Achieving A Different Direction” flyer
    • Nov. 1, 2001 – “Reminder: Kenny Endo Ensemble to Perform Tonight” letter (2 copies)
  • Japan Semester Posters
    • Fall 2001 – “The Japan Semester” poster (2 copies)
  • Japan Semester News Articles
    • May 21, 2001 - Southern News Service, “Reporters and Photographers from The Chart Visit Japan” article (2 copies)
    • July 12, 2001 – Southern Accents! Vol. 17, No. 1, “Japan Semester planning continues” article
    • Aug. 14, 2001 - Southern News Service, “Numerous Activities Planned during ‘Japan Semester’” article (2 copies)
    • Sept. 6, 2001 – Southern News Service, “Dr. Van Gessel to Present Preparing to Read a Japanese Novel” article (3 copies)
    • Sept. 12, 2001 - Southern News Service, “Three to Speak at Gockel International Symposium Next Week” article (3 copies)
    • Sept. 21, 2001 - Southern News Service, “K.U. Professor to Analyze Memoirs of a Geisha Thursday, Sept. 27” article (2 copies)
    • Sept. 28, 2001 - Southern News Service, “Japanese Tea Ceremony to Take Center-Stage October 2” article (2 copies)
    • Oct. 10, 2001 - Southern News Service, “Dr. Elizabeth Oyler to present Making of the Samurai” article (2 copies)
    • Oct. 14, 2001 - Southern News Service, “Japanese Flute Recital, Lecture this Tuesday Evening” article (2 copies)
    • Oct. 15, 2001 - Southern News Service, “Joplin Reception to Honor Consul General of Japan” article
    • Oct. 19, 2001 – Carthage Press, “MSSC Gockel Symposium focuses on Japanese culture” newspaper article
    • Oct. 23, 2001 - Southern News Service, “Get Ready for the Kenny Endo Taiko Ensemble” article (2 copies)
    • Oct. 23, 2001 - Southern News Service, “Nursing Society Presents The Japanese Healthcare Experience” article (2 copies)
  • Japan Semester Ads
    • Sept. 18, 2001 – “The Harry and Berniece Gockel International Symposium” newspaper ad clipping
    • Sept. 18, 2001 – “The Harry and Berniece Gockel International Symposium” Ad
  • Japan Semester Event Planning
    • “Missouri Southern International Piano Competition” written note
    • “The Harry and Berniece Gockel International Symposium” cover picture
    • Japan banner art (2 pages)
    • “The Consulate General of Japan” paper
    • “MSSC/Japan Bilateral Agreement Fact Sheet” paper (2 pages)
    • “Earlene Fort – Partial List of Invitees to the Reception” paper (4 pages)
    • “The Art of Watering – The Bonsai Shop” paper
    • “Far Side Music LTD. – Order Form and information” paper
    • “Ordering Information” (18 pages)
    • “Press Release – New Consul General of Japan Appointed” paper
    • “Alladin” Photographs in envelope
    •  “The Politics of Pain” paper (2 pages)
    • “Purchase Order for Robelan Display, Inc.” from Melody Laning to Rod Surber
    • “Curriculum Vitae – Takao Shibata” paper
    • Fall 2001 T-shirt designs and logo (8 pages)
    • Fall 2001 – “The Japan Semester” letter with events of the semester rough draft
    • July 25, 2001 – “The Japan Semester – List of Activities” web article (7 pages)
    • Aug. 10, 2001 – Price Quote (2 pages)
    • Aug. 22, 2001 – “Transfer Funds” email to Carolyn Meyer from Earlene Fort
    • Sept. 6, 2001 – “Work Order for Gockel International Symposium” meme to Bob Harrington from Rod Surber (3 pages)
    • Sept. 6, 2001 – “Japan Semester” email to Chad Stebbins from William Tsutsui
    • Sept. 6, 2001 – “Gockel Symposium Work Order” email to Rod Surber from Chad Stebbins
    • Sept. 6, 2001 – “Gockel Request” email to Rod Surber from Jeff Pooley
    • Sept. 6, 2001 – “Work Order for Gockel International Symposium” memo to Bob Harrington from Rob Surber (3 pages)
    • Sept. 10, 2001 – “MSSC President’s Office” paper
    • Sept. 11, 2001 – “The Japan Semester” List of activities web article (8 pages)
    • Sept. 13, 2001 – “Full page ad” email to Michael Hailey from Rod Surber
    • Sept. 17, 2001 – “Gockel International Symposium” email to Dan from Chad Stebbins
    • Sept. 17, 2001 – Receipt from “The Botany Shop”
    • Sept. 27, 2001 – “Degrees of Cultural Accuracy in Memoirs of a Geisha” program rough draft
    • Oct. 5, 2001 – “Globe and Stand” email to Janice Stebbins; Robert Harrington from Rod Surber
    • Oct. 16, 2001 – “Samurai Timeline” paper (3 copies)
    • Oct. 19, 2001 – “Flags for TPAC for Oct. 22, Nov. 1-2” email to Janice Stebbins; Robert Harrington from Rod Surber
    • Sept. 26, 2002 – “Far Side Music” information (19 pages)
    • Oct. 11, 2002 – “Tentative Working Version! Itinerary for Mr. Takao Shibata, Consul General of Japan in Kansas City Region” notes
    • Oct. 15, 2002 – “Itinerary for Mr. Takao Shibata, Consul General of Japan at Kansas City” paper
  • Japan Semester Booklets
    • Fall 2001 – “International Crossroads Kyoto Cultural Capital” magazine
    • Aug. 4, 2001 – The Economist, “The Voters give Koizumi a chance. Will the LDP?” magazine article p. 21
    • Sept. 18, 2001 - “The Harry and Berniece Gockel International Symposium” booklet (2 copies)
  • Japan Semester Photographs
    • Feltz, Arts Program – Envelope with photographs
    • 2001 - “Bamboo Forest – Nan Melville” (3 photos)
    • 2001 – flyers, posters, and program photos (4 photos)
    • Aug. 16, 2001 – “MSSC PI” photographs in envelope found with paper named “Curriculum Vitae – Takao Shibata
  • Japan Semester Event: “The Tale of Genji – Saeko Ichinohe Company”
    •   “The Tale of Geniji- Saeko Ichinohe Company” flyer
    •  “Saeko Ichinohe and Company” poster
    •  “The Tale of Genji – Saeko Ichinohe Company” (4 photos)
    • Oct. 18, 2001 – “Saeko Ichinohe Dance Company” newspaper ad clipping
    • Oct. 22, 2001 – “Saeko Ichinohe Dance Company” flyer rough draft
    • Oct. 22, 2001 – “Saeko Ichinohe Dance Company” poster rough draft
    • Oct. 22, 2001 – “Saeko Inchinohe Dance Company” program rough draft (2 copies)
    • Oct. 22, 2001 – “The Tale of Genji & Bamboo Forest” postcard (2 copies)
    • Oct. 16, 2001 – Southern News Service, “Saeko Ichinohe Dance Company to Perform Monday Night” article (3 copies)
    • Oct. 22, 2001 – “Saeko Ichinohe Dance Company” program (3 copies)
  • Oct. 22, 2001 – “Saeko Ichinohe Dance Company” program text floppy disc

India Semester 2002

  • India Semester Brochures
    • “The India Semester” event brochure
    • Fall 2002 – “Southern Spotlight” brochure
    • Fall 2002 – “The India Semester” upcoming events brochure
  • India Semester Postcards
    • Sept. 26, 2002 – “The Gockel International Symposium” postcard (2 copies)
  • India Semester Programs
    • Sept. 5, 2002 – “The Threat of International Terror to Democratic Governments” program
    • Sept. 11, 2002 – “The Gandhian Initiative” program
    • Sept. 20, 2002 – “From Kandahar to Kerala: The Diversity of South Asian Islam” and “Martyrs to Love: The Enduring Legacy of Indo-Persian Sufism” program
    • Oct. 4, 2002 – “The Natya Dance Theatre” program
    • Oct. 5, 2002 – “The Natya Dance Theatre, Shakti Chakra The Energy Cycle” program
    • Oct. 8, 2002 – “Indian Percussionist Sandip Burman: East Meets Jazz” program
    • Nov. 7, 2002 – “Colonialism in Context: Tarakeswar Murder Case of 1873” and “Displacing Manstrocities: Indian Women on Their Own Terms” program
    • Nov. 13-16, 2002 – “Southern Theatre: Rakshasa’s Ring” program
    • Dec. 3-4, 2002 – “The Sensuous and the Sacred: Within Common Boundaries” and “Curating Devi: The Great Goddess” program (2 copies)
    • Feb. 21, 2005 – “Sandip Burman & Friends…back by popular demand” program
  • India Semester Flyers
    • “Indian Semester” flyer
    • “Diwali: The Festival of Lights” flyer
    • Fall 2002 – “MSSC India Semester Fall 2002, Dinner Menu” table flyer
    • April 30, 2002 – “International Experiences Forum” flyer
    • Oct. 4, 2002 – “Celebrate Diwali” flyer (2 copies)
    • Nov. 2, 2002 – “Mid America India Association – Diwali” flyer (2 copies)
    • Dec. 2002 – “Upcoming events for the India Semester” flyer (2 copies)
    • May 2, 2003 – “Dr. Mohan G. Ramanan speaking on The Indian Discovery of America” flyer
  • India Semester Posters
    • Fall 2002 – “The India Semester” poster listing events
    • Nov. 13-16, 2002 – “Southern Theatre: Rakshasa’s Ring” poster
  • India Semester News Articles
    • Fall 2002 – The Voyager Vol. 5 Issue 1, “The India Semester” newsletter
    • April 16, 2002 – Southern News Service, “Southern Elected to Membership in American Institute of Indian Studies” article
    • Aug. 13, 2002 – Southern News Service, “Gandhi Display to Open India Semester at Missouri Southern” article
    • Sept. 3, 2002 – Southern News Service, “Indian Consul General to Speak on Terrorism Thursday” article
    • Sept. 6, 2002 – Southern News Service, “Srimati Kamala to Speak on Gandhian Initiative September 11” article
    • Sept. 17, 2002 – Southern News Service, “Duke University Department Head to Speak this Friday” article
    • Sept. 23, 2002 – Southern News Service, “Gockel International Symposium this Thursday” article
    • Sept. 25, 2002 – Southern News Service, “News Conference with Gockel Symposium Speakers Scheduled” article
    • Sept. 30, 2002 – Southern News Service, “Indian Cuisine Featured at Diwali Festival at MSSC” article
    • Sept. 30, 2002 – Southern News Service, “Indian Percussionist, Sandip Burman, to Appear at MSSC” article
    • Oct. 4, 2002 – Southern News Service, “Natya Dance Theater to Appear at Missouri Southern” article
    • Oct. 7, 2002 – Southern News Service, “Indian Musician to Present Concert Tomorrow Night at MSSC” article
    • Nov. 12, 2002 – Southern News Service, “Study Abroad Fair Today at Missouri Southern” article
    • Nov. 26, 2002 – Southern News Service, “Former Chief Curator at Smithsonian Galleries to Speak” article
  • India Semester Misc
    • Oct. 4, 2002 – “Celebrate Diwali” ticket
  • India Semester Ads
    • Sept. 20, 2002 – The Joplin Globe, “The Harry and Berniece Gockel International Symposium” newspaper ad
    • Sept. 26, 2002 – “The Gockel International Symposium” ad (3 copies)
    • Oct. 4-5, 2002 – The Joplin Globe, “The Natya Dance Theatre” newspaper ad (3 copies)
  • India Semester Event Planning
    • “Projects for the India Semester 2002” paper
    • “The Star of India Springdale Restaurant” menu for event planning
    • “Missouri Southern India Semester” T-shirt and mouse pad design
    • Event planning written notes (4 pages)
    • Semester Event Planning – Country selection notes
    • “India Faculty Banquet Ideas” printed notes
    • Email from Karl Schmidt to Rod Surber
    • “Faculty Banquet Purchase Items” email to Rod Surber
    • Fall 2002 – “The India Semester” poster listing events rough draft
    • Oct. 27, 1999 – “Award of National Security Education Program (NSEP) grant” memo
    • Nov. 5, 1999 – “Brown Bag Lunches – India: The Gilded Lily and the Splendid Lotus” flyer
    • Fall 2002 – “The India Semester” upcoming events brochure rough draft
    • July 1, 2002 – “The India Semester, List of Activities” web article (9 pages)
    • Aug. 5, 2002 – “MSSC Present’s Office” dinner menu and seating (3 pages)
    • Aug. 6, 2002 – “Indian Currency Collector” web article
    • Aug. 7, 2002 – “Flags for Faculty Dinner” email to Nancy Messick from Darlene Beeler
    • Aug. 8, 2002 – “India Quotes” email to Rod Surber from Michael Hailey
    • Aug. 14, 2002 – “AmeriServe – Special Service Event, Faculty Luncheon” receipt
    • Sept. 4, 2002 – “Cancellation of India Consul General’s visit” email to All-employees from Chad Stebbins, Southern News Service article cancelled (2 copies)
    • Sept. 9, 2002 – “Ads For Newsletter” email to Rod Surber from Matthew Rigsby
    • Sept. 11, 2002 – “The Gandhian Initiative” program rough draft
    • Sept. 17, 2002 – “Missouri Southern Request” email to Lowe’s Companies, Inc. – Heather from Rod E. Surber
    • Sept. 18, 2002 – “Work Order for Gockel International Symposium” memo to Bob Harrington from Rod Surber
    • Sept. 19, 2002 – “India Display Help” email to Rod Surber from Barry Brown
    • Sept. 20, 2002 – “Announcement to Administrators and Faculty from President’s Office” paper (2 copies)
    • Sept. 23, 2002 – “Natya Dance Theatre Ad” email to Mike Sparlin from Rod Surber
    • Sept 23, 2002 – “Reception for Gockel speakers” email from Chad Stebbins
    • Sept. 27, 2002 – “Comment on Russia” email to All-Campus-Community from Tatiana Karmanova
    • Oct. 4-5, 2002 – “Celebrate Diwali: India’s Festival of Lights” Banner rough draft
  • India Semester Booklets
    • 2001 – Winter Solstice Vol. 35, No. 4 - “The Gandhi Message” booklet
  • Sept. 26, 2002 – “The Harry and Berniece Gockel International Symposium” booklet

Cuba Semester 2003

  • Cuba Semester Brochures
    • Fall 2003 – “Cuba Semester” brochure
  • Cuba Semester Postcards
    • Sept. 25, 2003 – “The Gockel International Symposium” postcard (2 copies)
  • Cuba Semester Programs
    • Aug. 28, 2003 – “Son Venezuela” program
    • Sept. 4-5, 2003 - “Cubans and U.S. Professional Baseball 1871 to 2003” and “Cuban Baseball: From Rebel Game to Revolutionary Baseball” program
    • Sept. 11-12, 2003 - “Cuban Night” and “Balsero Dreams: Riff Blues on
      Immigration” program
    • Oct. 7, 2003 – “Senses of Cuba” program
    • Oct. 9, 2003 – “Cuba: At the Crossroads” program
    • Oct. 15, 2003 – “Tropical Reels: Cuban Cinema and Revolution from the 1960s to the Present” and “Cuba Va: Challenge of the Next Generation” program
    • Oct. 23, 2003 – “Translating Cuba: Predicaments of a Diasporic Anthropologist” and “Adio Kerida/Goodbye Dear Love: A Film Screening and Discussion” and “Everything I Kept: Being a Poet in Cuba” program
  • Cuba Semester Flyers
    • Fall 2003 - “Cuba Semester, Dinner Menu” table flyer
    • Aug. 28, 2003 – “Son Venezuela” flyer (2 copies)
    • Sept. 4-5, 2003 – “Cubans and U.S. Professional Baseball 1871 to 2003” and “Cuban Baseball: From Rebel Game to Revolutionary Baseball” flyer (2 copies)
    • Sept. 11-12, 2003 – “Cuban Night” and “Balsero Dreams: Riff Blues on
      Immigration” flyer (2 copies)
    • Sept. 25, 2003 – “The Harry and Berniece Gockel International Symposium” flyer
    • Oct. 2-3, 2003 – “Everyday Life in Cuba: An Ethnographic Portrait” and “Dengue, 1997: Case Study of a Cuban Epidemic” flyer (2 copies)
    • Oct. 7 & 9, 2003 – “Senses of Cuba” & “Cuba: At the Crossroads” flyer
    • Oct. 9, 2003 – “Cuba: At the Crossroads” flyer
    • Oct. 15, 2003 – “Tropical Reels: Cuban Cinema and Revolution from the 1960s to the Present” and “Cuba Va: Challenge of the Next Generation” flyer
    • Oct. 13-17, 2003 – “Cuban Film Festival” flyer
    • Oct. 22-24, 2003 – “Translating Cuba: Predicaments of a Diasporic Anthropologist” and “Adio Kerida/Goodbye Dear Love: A Film Screening and Discussion” and “Everything I Kept: Being a Poet in Cuba” flyer
    • Oct. 31, 2003 – “Cuba On Our Mind: Reflections of Joplin’s Only Cuban-American Couple” flyer
  • Cuba Semester Posters
    • “Cuba on Campus” event poster
  • Cuba Semester News Articles
    • Sept. 2003 – “El Tiempo” newspaper
    • Aug. 13, 2003 – Southern News Service, “MSSC Alumni Association Sponsors Trip to Havana, Cuba” article
    • Aug. 15, 2003 – Southern News Service, “City on the Edge of Forever” article
    • Sept. 8, 2003 – Southern News Service, “Balsero Dreams: Riff Blues on Immigration” article
    • Sept. 17, 2003 – Southern News Service, “Fidel Castro” article
    • Sept. 17, 2003 – Southern News Service, “Quimbombo” article
    • Sept. 22, 2003 – Southern News Service, “News Conference to Kick Off Gockel Symposium” article
    • Oct. 1, 2003 – Southern News Service, “Dr. Mary Katherine Crabb presentations” article
    • Oct. 6, 2003 – Southern News Service, “Dr. John Couper – Senses of Cuba” article
    • Oct. 6, 2003 – Southern News Service, “John Holod – Cuba: At the Crossroads” article
    • Oct. 7, 2003 – Southern News Service, “Dr. Tamara Falicov – Tropical Reels: Cuba Cinema and Revolution from the 1960s to the Present” article
    • Oct. 14, 2003 – Southern News Service, “Dr. Ruth Behar series of presentations” article
    • Oct. 28, 2003 – Southern News Service, “Reflections of Joplin’s Only Cuban-American Couple” article
    • Oct. 31, 2003 – Southern News Service, “Deviations by Julio Matas” article
    • Nov. 12-15, 2003 – “Cast of Deviations, MSSU Theatre Production” paper
  • Cuba Semester Ads
    • Sept. 4-5, 2003 – “Cubans and U.S. Professional Baseball 1871 to 2003” and “Cuban Baseball: From Rebel Game to Revolutionary Baseball” ad for Joplin Globe
  • Cuba Semester Event Planning
    • “Alberto R. Coll, Dean” paper
    • “Why Cuba? By Dr. Larry Cebula” papers (2 pages)
    •  “Dessert Receptions for International Students” paper event planning
    • “Helping with Cuba Semester activities” paper event planning
    • Handwritten notes on Cuba semester
    • “Cuba Semester” paper (4 pages)
    • “Joplin Greenhouse” notes and business card
    • “Ray Blanco – Film and Television Producer” paper (2 copies)
    • Dec. 13, 2002 – “Cuba Semester announcement” email to Larry Cebula; David Locher from Chad Stebbins
    • Dec. 17, 2002 – Amazon.com order receipt
    • Dec. 20, 2002 – EBSCO Host, “Sen. Dodd Looks for Middle Ground on Easing Cuban Trade Embargo Following Bush-Carter Clash.” Online article (3 pages)
    • Dec. 20, 2002 – “First Cuban program” email from Chad Stebbins
    • Dec. 20, 2002 – KU The University of Kansas, “Students invite Sen. Roberts to talk on Cuban embargo” online article
    • Jan. 3, 2003 – The New York Times, “Geography of Cuba” online article
    • Jan. 3, 2003 – Lonely Planet, “Cuba” online article
    • Jan. 20, 2003 – “Cuba on Wednesday” email to Larry Cebula; David Locher from Chad Stebbins
    • Jan. 20, 2003 – The Wall Street Journal Online, “Cuba: Election Turnout More Than 97% Despite Boycott Call” online article
    • Jan. 20, 2003 – “Media Luncheon – update on attendees” email to Rod Surber from Earlene Fort
    • Jan. 21, 2003 – “Two students/media luncheon” email to Rod Surber from Earlene Fort
    • Jan. 21, 2003 – CNN, “Fidel Castro, Cuban Leader” online article (3 pages)
    • Jan. 21, 2003 – ABC News, “Fidel Alejandro Castro Ruz” online article
    • Jan. 22, 2003 – “Media Luncheon” letter invitation (2 copies)
    • Jan. 22, 2003 – “AmeriServe – Special Service Event” receipt (2 copies)
    • Feb. 17, 2003 – “QUERY: Cuba experts needed!” email from Larry Cebula
    • Feb. 19, 2003 – “Cuba Experts” email to Larry Cebula from Aaron
    • Feb. 24, 2003 – “Cuba Semester” email to Larry Cebula from Christine Ayorinde (2 pages)
    • March 11, 2003 – “Jane B. Wyman” letter to Chad from Jane Wyman
    • April 19 – “Castro’s Cuba: the Forbidden Island” flyer
    • May 30, 2003 – “Salsa Dancer” email to Chad Stebbins; Rod Surber from Gwendolyn Murdock
    • June 23, 2003 – “Cuba Semester” email to Liz Ford from Chad Stebbins (14 pages)
    • Aug. 20, 2003 – “TV Promotions/Directions” email to Larry Cebula; David Locher from Lee Elliff Pound
  • Cuba Semester Booklets
    • Summer 2003 – “International Crossroads: Cuba” Magazine
    • Sept. 25, 2003 – “The Harry and Berniece Gockel International Symposium” booklet
  • Cuba Semester Photographs
    • Winter 2002-2003 – “CUBA Photos” DVD
  • Cuba Semester Event: “Come watch your professor do the salsa! Quimbombo”
    • Oct. 1, 2003 – “Quimbombo” program
    • Oct. 1, 2003 – “Come watch your professor do the salsa! Quimbombo” flyer
    • Oct. 1, 2003 – “Come watch your professor do the salsa! Quimbombo” table flyer
  • Oct. 1, 2003 – “Come watch your professor do the salsa! Quimbombo” newspaper ad (2 copies)

Russia Semester 2004

  • Russia Semester Brochures
    • Fall 2004 - “Russia Semester” brochure
  • Russia Semester Postcards
    • “Russian Film Festival” postcard
    • Sept. 23, 2004 – “After Tsars & Soviets: Russia’s Future & Why It Matters” postcard
  • Russia Semester Programs
    • Sept. 1-2, 2004 – “Overview of Russia: Land, Language, People” program
    • Sept. 10, 2004 – “All Work and No Play: Education the Russian Way” and “When in Russia, Do as the Russians Do: A Closer Look at Traditions, Customs, and Holidays” program
    • Sept. 14-15, 2004 – “An Acting Workshop Based on the Teachings of the Great Russian Actor/Director Michael Chekhov” and “The Teaching of the Great Russian Acting Teacher Konstantin Stanislavsky” program
    • Sept. 16-17, 2004 – “Catherine the Great: Life and Legend”, “Body and Soul: Peter the Great and Catherine the Great”, and “A Russian Celebrity: Aleksandr Pushkin” program
    • Sept. 30, 2004 – “Between the City of Yes and the City of No” program
    • Oct. 7-8, 2004 – “Modest Mussorgsky: Nationalist, Realist, ‘Barbaric’ Genius” and “Aleksandr Borodin: Chemist and Composer” program
    • Oct. 12-16, 2004 – Southern Theatre, “An Evening of Chekhov” program
    • Oct. 19, 2004 – “Women in a Totalitarian Society: Soviet Union, Late 1920s-Early 1940s” program
    • Oct. 12, 2004 – “The Iconic Tendency in Russian Culture and Politics” program
    • Oct. 25, 2004 – “Religion After Communism: The Status of the Russian Orthodox Church in Post-Communist Russia” program
    • Oct. 28, 2004 – “Barynya” program
    • Nov. 1, 2004 – “Having Guts to Disagree: Political and Cultural Dissent in the Soviet Union” program
    • Nov. 8, 2004 – “The Prospects for Russia’s Evolution into a Western-Style Democracy” program
    • Nov. 10, 2004 - “New Moscow, Old Heartland – Contrasts of Russia Today”, “Culture of the Russian Table” and “Poet and Power, The story of Nikolai Klyuev” program (2 copies)
    • Nov. 11, 2004 – “Russian Women Today” and “The Literature of St. Petersburg” program (2 copies)
    • Nov. 19, 2004 - “The Ballet Russe” program
  • Russia Semester Flyers
    • Fall 2004 – “Russia Semester” table flyer (2 copies)
    • Fall 2004 – “Russian Film Festival” flyer
    • Sept. 1, 2004 – “Overview of Russia: Land, Language, People” flyer
    • Sept. 10, 2004 - “All Work and No Play: Education the Russian Way” and “When in Russia, Do as the Russians Do: A Closer Look at Traditions, Customs, and Holidays” flyer
    • Sept. 14-15, 2004 – “An Acting Workshop Based on the Teachings of the Great Russian Actor/Director Michael Chekhov” and “The Teaching of the Great Russian Acting Teacher Konstantin Stanislavsky” flyer
    • Sept. 16-17, 2004 – “Catherine the Great: Life and Legend”, “Body and Soul: Peter the Great and Catherine the Great”, and “A Russian Celebrity: Aleksandr Pushkin” flyer (2 copies)
    • Sept. 23, 2004 - “The Harry and Berniece Gockel International Symposium” flyer
    • Sept. 23, 2004 – “After Tsars & Soviets: Russia’s Future & Why It Matters” flyer/ad
    • Sept. 30, 2004 – “Between the City of Yes and the City of No” flyer
    • Oct. 7-8, 2004 – “Modest Mussorgsky: Nationalist, Realist, ‘Barbaric’ Genius” and “Aleksandr Borodin: Chemist and Composer” flyer
    • Oct. 12, 2004 – “The Iconic Tendency in Russian Culture and Politics” flyer
    • Oct. 19, 2004 – “Women in a Totalitarian Society: Soviet Union, Late 1920s-Early 1940s” flyer
    • Oct. 20, 2004 – “The Last Love Song” flyer
    • Oct. 25, 2004 – “Religion After Communism: The Status of the Russian Orthodox Church in Post-Communist Russia” flyer
    • Oct. 28, 2004 – “Barynya” table flyer (2 copies)
    • Oct. 28, 2004 – “Barynya” flyer (2 copies)
    • Nov. 1, 2004 – “Having Guts to Disagree: Political and Cultural Dissent in the Soviet Union” flyer (2 copies)
    • Nov. 8, 2004 – “The Prospects for Russia’s Evolution into a Western-Style Democracy” flyer
    • Nov. 10, 2004 – “New Moscow, Old Heartland – Contrasts of Russia Today”, “Culture of the Russian Table” and “Poet and Power, The story of Nikolai Klyuev” flyer
    • Nov. 11, 2004 – “Russian Women Today” and “The Literature of St. Petersburg” flyer
    • Nov. 19, 2004 – “The Ballet Russe” flyer
  • Russia Semester Posters
    • Sept. 30, 2004 – “Between the City of Yes and the City of No” poster
  • Russia Semester News Articles
    • Spring 2004 – The Voyager Vol. 6 Issue 1, “The Russia Semester”
    • Aug. 25, 2004 – MSSU News Release, “Dr. Yvonne Howell presentation” article
    • Sept. 8, 2004 – MSSU News Releases, “Russian Film Festival to Feature Circus” article
    • Sept. 13, 2004 – MSSU News Release, “Dr. John T. Alexander” article
    • Sept. 15, 2004 – MSSU News Release, “Commissar to Show Next Tuesday at MSSU” article
    • Sept. 16, 2004 – MSSU News Release, “Gockel Symposium Thursday, Sept. 23 at Missouri Southern” article (2 copies)
    • Sept. 21, 2004 – MSSU News Release, “The Harry and Berniece Gockel International Symposium” article
    • Sept. 22, 2004 – “1980 Academy Award Winning Film Slated for Next Tuesday” article
    • Sept. 27, 2004 – MSSU News Release, “Station to Broadcast Russian Music Tuesday” article
    • Sept. 27, 2004 – MSSU News Release, “Yevgeny Yevtushenko” article
    • Sept. 28, 2004 – MSSU News Release, “My Name is Ivan Next Offering in Russian Film Series” article
    • Oct. 4, 2004 – MSSU News Release, “An Evening of Chekhov” article
    • Oct. 5, 2004 – MSSU News Release, “Dr. David Kushner presentations” article
    • Oct. 6, 2004 – MSSU News Release, “Russian Comedy Next Presentation in Film Series” article
    • Oct. 7, 2004 – MSSU News Release, “Monas to Speak on Russian Iconic Tendency” article
    • Oct. 13, 2004 – MSSU News Release, “Dr. Elena Osokina presentations” article (2 copies)
    • Oct. 13, 2004 – MSSU News Release, “Barynya” article
    • Oct. 14, 2004 – MSSU News Release, “The Last Love Song Slated for Wednesday, Oct. 20” article
    • Oct. 20, 2004 – MSSU News Release, “Dr. Jennifer Wynot presentations” article
    • Oct. 20, 2004 – MSSU News Release, “Burnt by the Sun to Show Next Tuesday at MSSU” article
    • Oct. 26, 2004 – MSSU News Release, “Dr. Maxim Matusevich presentations” article
    • Nov. 3, 2004 – MSSU News Release, “Timberlake to Speak on Russian Evolution Monday” article
    • Nov. 3, 2004 – MSSU News Release, “Off into the Wild Blue Younder” article
    • Nov. 3, 2004 – MSSU News Release, “Dr. Michael Makin presentations” article
    • Nov. 4, 2004 – MSSU News Release, “Alexander Nevsky to Show Next Tuesday at MSSU” article
    • Nov. 11, 2004 – MSSU News Release“Presentation on Ballets Russes Friday, November 19 at MSSU” article
    • Nov. 11, 2004 – MSSU News Release, “Russian Crime Thriller Set for Next Tuesday” article
  • Russia Semester Misc
    • Nov. 13, 2004 – “St Petersburg Philharmonic” tickets (2 copies)
  • Russia Semester Event Planning
    • “Operas Based on Pushkin’s Works” paper (2 copies)
    • National Geographic, “Soviet Union” maps
    • “Russia’s place in history” article
    • Russia logo concepts (17 pages)
    • “Kremlin Gifts Company” invoice
    • List of activities for semester (11 pages)
    • “Schedule for Dr. Nina Khrushcheva” paper
    • “Russia Semester Activities” rough draft (3 pages) (3 copies)
    • “Student Comments on End-of-Semester Russia Survey” paper
    •  “Russia Semester Wrap-Up” written notes
    • Jan. 22, 2004 – “Does Russia Matter?” internet article
    • March 24, 2004 – “Russian Semester” email from Chris Moos
    • April 8, 2004 – “Enhancing the International Semesters” email to Chad Stebbins from Larry Cebula (2 pages)
    • April 16, 2004 – “Kremlin Gifts – Russian Pavlov Posad Shawl” website page
    • April 16, 2004 – “Kremlin Gifts – Russian Nesting Dolls” website page (2 pages)
    • June 22, 2004 – “Wholesale request” email to Rod Surber from Kremlin Gifts Company (2 copies)
    • Fall 2004 – “The Russia Semester: List of Activities” web article (13 pages)
    • July 7, 2004 – “Kremlin Gifts” website page
    • July 8, 2004 – “Wholesale request” email to Natasha Strukov, KremlinGifts from Rob Surber
    • July 8, 2004 – “Wholesale request” email o Kremlin Gifts from Rob Surber
    • July 23, 2004 – “your order” email from Kremlin Gifts Company to Rob Surber
    • July 29, 2004 – “Politically Classic Movies” email to Julie Blackford; Rod Surber from Thomas Simpson
    • Aug. 4, 2004 – “Upcoming events” rough draft(8 pages)
    • Aug. 18, 2004 – “Ad Systems Incorporated – Russia Brochure” invoice
    • Aug. 30, 2004 – “Russia Semester” email to All-Campus-Community from Richard McCallum
    • Sept. 7, 2004 – “Logo Description” email to Rod Surber from Tatiana Karmanova
    • Sept. 20, 2004 – “Information Bulletin from the Academic Affairs office” paper
    • Sept. 23, 2004 – “Information Bulletin from the Academic Affairs Office” paper
    • Nov. 9, 2004 – “St. Petersburg trip to KC transportation” email from Tatiana Karmanova
    • Nov. 29, 2004 – “Final Russia Semester Planning Committee Meeting” paper
  • Russia Semester Booklets
    • Summer 2004 – “International Crossroads” booklet
  • Sept. 23, 2004 - “The Harry and Berniece Gockel International Symposium” booklet

Mexico Semester 2005

  • Mexico Semester Brochures
    • Upcoming event signup sheet to be notified
    • “Mexico Semester Extra Credit Form” (2 pages)
    • Fall 2005 – “Mexico Semester – Fall 2005” Brochure
    • Fall 2005 – “Mexico Semester – Fall 2005” Brochure copy
  • Mexico Semester Postcards
    • 2005 – “Mexico Semester Events” postcard
    • Nov. 11, 2005 – “Norahua Mexican Folkoric Dancers of Oklahoma” postcard
  • Mexico Semester Programs
    • Aug. 30, 2005 – “Reading, Revolution, and Modernity in Mexico: The Meanings of Literacy” and “Tlatelolco: Cultural Memory and the Mexican Student Movement of 1968” program
    • Sept. 9, 2005 – “Postmodern Politics and Mexican Development” and “Mexico’s Environmental Politics” program
    • Sept. 14, 2005 – “Class in Mexican History and Culture” and “Gender and Sexuality in Mexican History and Culture” program (2 copies)
    • Sept. 19, 2005 – “Marimba Sol de Chiapas” program
    • Sept. 21-22, 2005 – “Maya History: Culture Origins to Spanish Conquest”, “Maya Archaeoastronomy”, and “Maya Calendar Systems” program
    • Sept. 23, 2005 – “The Tomb of Pakal: Great King of the Ancient Maya” and “Maya Sacred Geometry” program
    • Sept. 26-27, 2005 – “Marketing in Mexico: Why the Differences are Critical” program
    • Sept. 30, 2005 – “Missouri Southern Homecoming Fiesta” program
    • Oct. 1, 2005 – “P.I. Homecoming Tailgate Party” program
    • Oct. 4, 2005 – “(Un) Friendly Neighbors? U.S.-Mexican Relations in Historical Perspective: Understanding the Differences of Proximity” program
    • Oct. 10, 2005 – “Mexico: Our Distant Neighbor” and “Trouble on Our Border: Mexico and the U.S. at the Turn of the 21st Century” program
    • Oct. 10-11, 2005 – “Young and Living Large in Mexico City” and “Culture Shock: A Perspective on the Mexican/American Dream” program
    • Oct. 11, 2005 – “Culture Shock: A Perspective on the Mexican/American Dream” program
    • Oct. 17, 2005 – “Celebracion” program
    • Oct. 20, 2005 – “El Grupo Folklorico Atotonilco” program
    • Oct. 21, 2005 – “What Difference did the Mexican Revolution Make? Official and Revisionist Interpretations” and “Marketing Mexican Popular Culture for the 21st Century: Tradition and Transnationalism” program
    • Oct. 23, 2005 – “Celebremos Mexico” program
    • Nov. 1, 2005 – “Los Cenzontles” program
    • Nov. 8, 2005 – “Songs of Passion and Strife” and “Poetry and Violence in the Ballads of Mexico’s Costa Chica” program (2 copies)
    • Nov. 11, 2005 – “Norahua Mexican Folkoric Dancers of Oklahoma” program
  • Mexico Semester Flyers
    •  “Mexico Semester” table flyer
    • Fall 2005 – “The Mexico Semester” poster
    • 2005-2006 – “International Film Festival” letter
    • Aug. 30, 2005 – “Reading, Revolution, and Modernity in Mexico: The Meanings of Literacy” and “Tlatelolco: Cultural Memory and the Mexican Student Movement of 1968” flyer
    • Sept. 9, 2005 – “Postmodern Politics and Mexican Development” and “Mexico’s Environmental Politics” flyer
    • Sept. 14, 2005 – “Class in Mexican History and Culture” and “Gender and Sexuality in Mexican History and Culture” flyer
    • Sept. 19, 2005 – “Marimba Sol de Chiapas” flyer
    • Sept. 20, 2005 – “The Harry and Berniece Gockel International Symposium” flyer
    • Sept. 21-23, 2005 – Christopher Powell and Dr. Edwin Barnhart upcoming events flyer
    • Sept. 26-27, 2005 – “Marketing in Mexico: Why the Differences are Critical” flyer
    • Oct. 4, 2005 – “(Un) Friendly Neighbors? U.S.-Mexican Relations in Historical Perspective: Understanding the Differences of Proximity” and “Hernan Cortes and the Aztec Conquest: The Making of Mexico” flyer
    • Oct. 10, 2005 – “Mexico: Our Distant Neighbor” and “Trouble on Our Border: Mexico and the U.S. at the Turn of the 21st Century” flyer
    • Oct. 10-11, 2005 – “Young and Living Large in Mexico City” and “Culture Shock: A Perspective on the Mexican/American Dream” flyer
    • Oct. 17, 2005 – “Celebracion” flyer
    • Oct. 20, 2005 – “El Grupo Folklorico Atotonilco” flyer
    • Oct. 21, 2005 – “What Difference did the Mexican Revolution Make? Official and Revisionist Interpretations” and “Marketing Mexican Popular Culture for the 21st Century: Tradition and Transnationalism” flyer
    • Oct. 23, 2005 – “Ballet Folklorico Tierra Mestiza” flyer
    • Nov. 1, 2005 – “Los Cenzontles” flyer
    • Nov. 8, 2005 – “Songs of Passion and Strife” and “Poetry and Violence in the Ballads of Mexico’s Costa Chica” flyer
  • Mexico Semester Posters
    • Oct. 11-15, 2005 – Southern Theatre, “Faena” poster
  • Mexico Semester News Articles
    • Aug. 22, 2005 – MSSU News Release, “Mexican Art Exhibit Slated for MSSU’s Spiva Gallery” article
    • Aug. 23, 2005 – MSSU News Release, “Mexico Semester Begins at Missouri Southern State University” article (2 pages)
    • Aug. 23, 2005 – MSSU News Release, “Mexico Semester Begins at Missouri Southern State University” article (2 pages)
    • Aug. 29, 2005 – MSSU News Release, “K.U. Department Head to Speak Tuesday, August 30” article
    • Aug. 29, 2005 – MSSU News Release, “Mexico Semester Begins at Missouri Southern State University” article
    • Aug. 31, 2005 – MSSU News Release, “Mexican Film Festival to Begin Wednesday, Sept. 7” article
    • Sept. 12, 2005 – MSSU News Release, “Marimba Sol de Chiapas to Perform Monday, Sept. 19” article
    • Sept. 12, 2005 – MSSU News Release, “Mexican Class Structure, Gender Issues Topics of Presentations” article
    • Sept. 13, 2005 – MSSU News Release, “International Film Festival to Present Next Mexican Film” article
    • Sept. 14, 2005 – MSSU News Release, “Gockel International Symposium Slated for Tuesday, Sept. 20” article
    • Sept. 14, 2005 – MSSU News Release, “Too Hot to Handle Homecoming Fiesta Events” article
    • Sept. 19, 2005 – MSSU News Release, “Barnhart to Speak on Maya Tomb, Calendar System” article
    • Sept. 19, 2005 – MSSU News Release, “Archaeologist to Speak on Maya Culture” article
    • Sept. 28, 2005 – MSSU News Release, “MSU Professor to Speak on U.S.-Mexican Relations” article
    • Sept. 28, 2005 – MSSU News Release, “International Film Festival to Present All the Power” article
    • Sept. 28, 2005 – MSSU News Release, “International Film Festival to Present All the Power” article
    • Oct. 4, 2005 – MSSU News Release, “Southern Theatre to Present Faena October 11-15” article
    • Oct. 11, 2005 – MSSU News Release, “Spanish Club to Present Celebracion Oct. 17” article
    • Oct. 11, 2005 – MSSU News Release, “International Film Festival Presents El Crimen del Padre Amaro” article
    • Oct. 17, 2005 – MSSU News Release, “Ballet Folklorico Tierra Mestiza to Appear at MSSU” article
    • Oct. 25, 2005 – MSSU News Release, “Southern Theatre to Present Los Cenzontles November 1” article
    • Oct. 31, 2005 – MSSU News Release, “Lectures Slated for November 8 at MSSU” article
    • Nov. 1, 2005 - MSSU News Release,  “Snyder Cancels Missouri Southern Appearance” article
    • Nov. 4, 2005 - MSSU News Release, “Norahua Mexican Folkloric Dancers to Perform at MSSU” article
  • Mexico Semester Ads
    • Sept. 14, 2005 – “Mexico Semester! Fall 2005” ad
    • Sept. 20, 2005 – “The Harry and Berniece Gockel International Symposium” ad
  • Mexico Semester Misc.
    • Nov. 12, 2005 – Thank you note
  • Mexico Semester Event Planning
    • “Ballet Folklorico Tierra Mestiza” paper
    • “Ballet Folklorico – Addendum to Artist Agreement” paper
    • “Ballet Folklorico Tierra Mestiza – Tulsa OK” information paper
    • “Images and communication: What you see not always what you understand” paper (4 pages)
    • CSIS Armand Peschard-Sverdrup business card
    • “El Patio Mexican Restaurant” menu
    •   “Marimba Sol de Chiapas – Kansas City” pamphlet
    •   “Liz Myers” paper
    •  “Funding Request” email to Mexico Semester Planning Committee from Dr.James Lile
    • “Funding Request” email to Mexico Semester Planning Committee from Dr. Conrad Gubera/Sam Claussen (2 pages)
    •   “Songs of Passion and Strife” papers (9 pages)
    • “Mexico Semester Tasks” (3 pages)
    • “Proposal” paper
    • “The University of Nebraska-Lincoln – Proposals for Mexico Semester” paper
    • “Important Message” to Rod paper
    • Student Poll-Results” paper (2 copies)
    • 2004 – “Joplin Area Advertising Federation 2004 Scholarship Auction” paper
    • May 17, 2004 – “Mexico: Faculty Study Topics” email from William Kumbier
    • May 18, 2004 – “Mexico: Faculty Study Topics” email from Gregory Buchholz (2 pages)
    • Dec. 16, 2004 – “Graduate Program Specifications Program Booklet with 12 pages plus cover” paper
    • Fall 2005 – “Fall 2005 Mexico Semester Activity Proposal” papers (23 pages)
    • Feb. 11, 2005 – “Mexico Semester Planning Committee” paper
    • Feb. 15, 2005 – “Dynamic Mexican experts recommendations” email to Larry from Tamara
    • Feb. 16, 2005 – “Dynamic Professors” email to Larry from Myra
    • Feb. 16, 2005 – “Dynamic Mexicanists?” email to Larry from Victor Macias Gonzalez
    • Feb. 16, 2005 – “Speaker” email to Larry Cebula from Andrew Wood
    • Feb. 17, 2005 – “Dynamic Speakers!” email to Larry from Nelly Blacker-Hanson
    • Feb. 19, 2005 – “Query Dynamic Mexico Expert” email to Larry Cebula from Dan La Botz
    • March 1, 2005 – “Missouri Southern proposal” email to Rod Surber from Liz Myers (5 pages)
    • March 6, 2005 – “Dynamic Mexico Experts” email to Larry Cebula from Teresa Vazquez
    • March 11, 2005 – “John F. Chuckiak IV, Ph.D.” paper
    • March 11, 2005 – “Mexico Semester Meeting Today” email to Chad Stebbins from Pedro Talavera-Ibarra
    • March 11, 2005 – “Folklorist” web page (5 pages)
    • April 6, 2005 – “Oklahoma Touring Program Roster – DANCE” web article
    • April 14, 2005 – “Mexico Semester at Missouri Southern” email to Chad Stebbins from John Chuchiak (2 pages)
    • May 2, 2005 – “Ballet Folklorico” email to  Liz from Rod Surber (2 copies)
    • Aug. 4, 2005 – Semester events – Final proof paper (20 pages)
    • Aug. 4, 2005 – “Artist Agreement” (2 pages)
    • Aug. 24, 2005 – Menu and letter to El Patio from Chad Stebbins
    • Aug. 30, 2005 – program and notes (5 pages)
    • April 14, 2005 – “Marimba Sol de Chiapas” paper
    • Sept. 12, 2005 – “Faculty Bulletin from Academic Affairs Office” paper
    • Sept. 30, 2005 – “Missouri Southern Homecoming Fiesta” Dinner Table Arrangement (3 pages)
    • Nov. 2, 2005 – “Norahua Director Information” email and memos (5 pages)
  • Mexico Semester Booklets
    • Fall 2005 – “Southern Spotlight” booklet
    • Sept. 20, 2005 – “The Harry and Berniece Gockel International Symposium” booklet
    • Sept. 26, 2005 – “Doing Business in Mexico Seminar” folder
    • May 25-June 29, 2006 – “Department of Foreign Languages” booklet
  • Mexico Semester Photographs
    • Photographs of food (10 photos)
  • Mexico Semester Media
    • Nov. 11, 2005 – “MSSU Lecture Series Program” DVD copy
  • 2005 – “Celebracion JPGs, Choral Brochure JPGs

France Semester 2006

  • France Semester Brochures
    • Upcoming event signup sheet to be notified
    • Fall 2006 – “France Semester” Brochure (3 copies)
    • Sept. 19, 2006 – “The Pine Leaf Boys” booklet (2 copies)
    • Nov. 2-3, 2006 – “From Paris to the World” Brochure copy
    • Nov. 2-3, 2006 – “From Paris to the World” Brochure (2 copies)
  • France Semester Postcards
    • Sept. 19, 2006 – “The Pine Leaf Boys” postcard
    • Oct. 24, 2006 – “France and the U.S.: Friends and Foes in Global Change” postcard
    • Oct. 30, 2006 – “Eric Vincent” postcard
    • Nov. 2, 2006 – “The Significance of the French Revolution” and “The Crisis of French National Identity” postcard
  • France Semester Programs
    • Aug. 29, 2006 – “Cajun Music and Zydeco as Social Barometers” and “Against the Tide” program
    • Sept. 28-29, 2006 – “What’s Dada/Surrealism?” and “Picasso’s Problem” program
    • Oct. 2, 2006 – “Blue Railroad Train” program
    • Oct. 3, 2006 – “The Role of Politics and Culture in French Business” program (2 copies)
    • Oct. 4, 2006 – “Cultural Adjustments, or How to Survive Without Ice Cubes and Air Conditioning” and “French Education, or Going to School the French Way” program
    • Oct. 5, 2006 – “Corporate Rules and Working Habits in France” and “Doing Business in France” program
    • Oct. 11, 2006 – “Finding Pierre” and “Pierre Cruzatte: A Musical Journey Along the Lewis & Clark Trail” program (2 copies)
    • Oct. 12-13, 2006 – “City of Light and Dark: The Romantic Theatre in Paris” and “Jeanne d’Arc and Jean Anouilh in French Theatrical Tradition” program
    • Nov. 1, 2006 – “Can the Internet Be Absorbed Into Democracy?” program
    • Nov. 2, 2006 - “The Significance of the French Revolution” and “The Crisis of French National Identity” program
    • Nov. 4, 2006 – “Acting in the Classical Theatre” and “Moliere Than Thou” program
  • France Semester Flyers
    • Aug. 28, 2006 – “Negotiating the Mainstream: The Cajuns and Creoles of Louisiana” and “Deep Meanings in Small Places: Social and Community Values in the Oral Tradition of French Louisiana” flyer
    • Aug. 29, 2006 – “Cajun Music and Zydeco as Social Barometers” and “Against the Tide” flyer (2 copies)
    • Sept. 11, 2006 – “The French Revolution as Viewed Through Both Ends of the Binoculars” flyer
    • Sept. 12, 2006 – “Eating Out: Restaurants and Fast Food in France” and “How Attractive are The Northern French Alps?” flyer
    • Sept. 14, 2006 – “French Cinema: What Do You Know About It?” and “Social Alienation in Contemporary French Cinema” flyer
    • Sept. 28-29, 2006 – “What’s Dada/Surrealism?” and “Picasso’s Problem” flyer
    • Oct. 2, 2006 – “Blue Railroad Train” flyer
    • Oct. 3, 2006 – “The Role of Politics and Culture in French Business” flyer
    • Oct. 4, 2006 – “Cultural Adjustments, or How to Survive Without Ice Cubes and Air Conditioning” and “French Education, or Going to School the French Way” flyer
    • Oct. 5, 2006 – “Corporate Rules and Working Habits in France” and “Doing Business in France” flyer
    • Oct. 5, 2006 – “Before the Parade Passes By: Erik Satie and Musical Modernism”, “Francis Poulenc: The Man, The Music, The Legacy”, and “Poulenc recital” flyer
    • Oct. 5, 2006 – “Corporate Rules and Working Habits in France” and “Doing Business in France” flyer
    • Oct. 6, 2006 – “French Bashing: What’s Behind It?” and “French Food: Why It’s Revered, Respected, and Relished” flyer
    • Oct. 6, 2006 – “Marketing in the 25 Countries of the European Union – French Global Effects” flyer (2 copies)
    • Oct. 11, 2006 – “Finding Pierre” and “Pierre Cruzatte: A Musical Journey Along the Lewis & Clark Trail” flyer
    • Oct. 12-13, 2006 – “City of Light and Dark: The Romantic Theatre in Paris” and “Jeanne d’Arc and Jean Anouilh in French Theatrical Tradition” flyer
    • Nov. 1, 2006 – “Can the Internet Be Absorbed Into Democracy?” flyer
    • Nov. 4, 2006 – “Acting in the Classical Theatre” and “Moliere Than Thou” flyer (2 copies)
    • Nov. 4, 2006 – “Moliere Than Thou” flyer
    • Nov. 10, 2006 – “Ocular Anxiety and the Pink Tea Cup: Edgar Degas’ Woman with a Bandaged Eye” and “Unmasking Manet’s Morisot” flyer
  • France Semester News Articles
    • Aug. 30, 2006 – MSSU News Release, “International Film Festival to Present Vagabond” article
    • Aug. 22, 2006 – MSSU News Release, “Exhibit on Printmaking from French Avante-Garde Aug. 28 to Sept. 22” article
    • Sept. 7, 2006 – MSSU News Release, “Presentation on the French Revolution Monday, Sept. 11” article
    • Sept. 8, 2006 – MSSU News Release, “Singerman to Speak Twice on French Cinema” article
    • Sept. 10, 2006 – MSSU News Release, “International Film Festival to Present Hate” article
    • Sept. 18, 2006 – MSSU News Release, “International Film Festival to Present Daybreak” article
  • France Semester Booklets
    • Oct. 24, 2006 – “The Harry and Berniece Gockel International Symposium” booklet
    • Nov. 2-3, 2006 – “From Paris to the World” booklet
  • France Semester Media
    • MSSU Paris Conference Bro. – CD
    • Oct. 2, 2006 - “Blue Railroad Train-Music” DVD
    • Oct. 11, 2006 – “Pierre Cruzatte: A Musical Journey along The Lewis & Clark Trail” DVD
  • Oct. 24, 2006 – “Gockel International Symposium - Jean-Benoit Nadeau and Dr. Michael Mosher” DVD (2 copies)

China Semester 2007

  • China Semester Brochures
    • Fall 2007 – “The China Semester” Brochure
  • China Semester Postcards
    • Sept. 27, 2007 – “China & the U.S.: Steering a Course for Collision or Convergence?” postcard
    • Oct. 3 & 6, 2007 – “Diabolo Dance Theatre of Taiwan” and “Kung Fu Theatre: Tales from the Beijing Opera” postcard (2 copies)
    • Nov. 1, 2007 – “Wu Man & Friends” postcard
    • Nov. 7 & 12, 2007 – “A Celebration of Chinese Music” and “An Evening of Chinese Cuisine, Festivals and Culture” postcard
    • Dec. 5, 2007 – “Songs and Dances from China” postcard
  • China Semester Programs
    • Aug. 28, 2007 – “In the Eye of the Hurricane” and “Why China Thrives Despite Corruption” program
    • Sept. 7, 2007 – “Two Worlds, Single Country: The Rural and Urban Divine in China” and “Democratizing or Legitimizing the Authoritarian Regime: Political Reform in China Since 1989” program
    • Oct. 2, 2007 – “Uncontested Nationalism and Realpolitik in China’s Changing Relations with the U.S.” and “Modern China and Chinese Past: A Political Analysis of China-Japan-Taiwan Triangle” program
    • Oct. 3, 2007 – “Diabolo Dance Theatre of Taiwan” program
    • Oct. 6, 2007 – “Kung Fu Theatre: Tales from the Beijing Opera” program
    • Oct. 17, 2007 – “Doing Business in China: The New Entrepreneurs” program
    • Nov. 1, 2007 – “Wu Man & Friends” program
    • Nov. 1-2, 2007 – “SOBA – The Dragon Awake: China & its Emergence as a Global Business Leader” program
    • Nov. 9, 2007 – “Sound of China” program
    • Dec. 5, 2007 – “Songs and Dances from China” program
  • China Semester Flyers
    • Table menu flyer
    • Aug. 28, 2007 – “In the Eye of the Hurricane” and “Why China Thrives Despite Corruption” flyer (3 copies)
    • Sept. 5, 2007 – “The Rise of China in the 21st Century Through Sport” flyer
    • Sept. 7, 2007 – “Two Worlds, Single Country: The Rural and Urban Divine in China” and “Democratizing or Legitimizing the Authoritarian Regime: Political Reform in China Since 1989” flyer (2 copies)
    • Sept. 11, 2007 – “Eloquence in the Mandarin Court: The Place of Poetry in the Life of Chinese Court-Officials” flyer
    • Sept. 20-21, 2007 – “Chinese Kite Flying Contest” flyer
    • Sept. 21, 2007 – “The Politics of Piracy: Intellectual Property in Contemporary China” and “Six Things that Every Businessperson Should Know About China” flyer
    • Sept. 21, 2007 – MSSU News Release, “Gockel International Symposium Slated for Thursday, Sept. 27” article (2 pages)
    • Sept. 24-25, 2007 – “The Flora of China: An International Project to Describe the 31,000 Wild Plants of China” and “Travels in China for Botanical Field Work” flyer
    • Sept. 26, 2007 – “Confucian Role Ethics: A Moral Foundation for Human Rights” flyer
    • Oct. 2, 2007 – “Uncontested Nationalism and Realpolitik in China’s Changing Relations with the U.S.” and “Modern China and Chinese Past: A Political Analysis of China-Japan-Taiwan Triangle” flyer
    • Oct. 3, 2007 – “Diabolo Dance Theatre of Taiwan” flyer
    • Oct. 17, 2007 – “Doing Business in China: The New Entrepreneurs” flyer
    • Oct. 22, 2007 – “From the Heartland of China to the Heartland of America” flyer
    • Oct. 29, 2007 – “One Life to Live: Born in China…What is your future?”, “The Young and the Restless: Dating, Marriage, and Career Mobility in China”, and “The Golden Years and Grave Justice: The Social Safety Net – Whole or Full of Holes?” flyer
    • Nov. 1, 2007 – “The Evolving Socio-Economic and Political Landscape of International Business in China” flyer
    • Nov. 1, 2007 – “Wu Man & Friends” flyer
    • Nov. 2, 2007 – “The Dragon Sleeps: The Smoking Opium Business in the 19th Century American West” flyer
    • Nov. 9, 2007 – “Composing Music Between Countries” flyer
    • Nov. 16, 2007 – “Family Planning in Rural China” and “Sources of conflict in Rural China” flyer
    • Dec. 5, 2007 – “Songs and Dances from China” flyer
  • China Semester News Articles
    • July 25, 2007 – MSSU News Release, “More than 40 Activities Scheduled for China Semester” article (3 copies)
    • Aug. 13, 2007 – MSSU News Release, “Newsmakers to Focus on China” article
    • Aug. 21, 2007 – MSSU News Release, “MSSU to Feature Tai Chi Chuan Class” article
    • Aug. 21, 2007 – MSSU News Release, “First Presentations in China Semester August 28” article
    • Aug. 28, 2007 – MSSU News Release, “Chinese Film Festival to Open September 4” article
    • Sept. 4, 2007 – MSSU News Release, “Kennedy to Make Two Presentations on China Sept. 7” article
    • Sept. 10, 2007 – MSSU News Release, “MSSU Chinese Film Festival Selection Sept. 18” article
    • Sept. 17, 2007 – “Mertha to Make Two Presentations on China Sept. 21” article
    • Sept. 18, 2007 – MSSU News Release, “Botanical Garden Official to Speak on Flora of China” article
    • Sept. 20, 2007 – MSSU News Release, “Kite Flying Contest Friday, Sept. 21 at MSSU” article
    • Sept. 25, 2007 – MSSU News Release, “Chinese Theater Performances at MSSU” article
  • China Semester Ads
    • Sept. 27, 2007 – “China & the U.S.: Steering a Course for Collision or Convergence?” Globe Ad
    • Dec. 5, 2007 – “Songs and Dances from China” emailed ad
  • China Semester Event Planning
    • Oct. 16, 2007 – “Business in China” MSSU news page
    • Nov. 14, 2007 – “Dr. Ethan Michelson” MSSU news page
  • China Semester Booklets
    • Sept. 27, 2007 – “The Harry and Berniece Gockel International Symposium” booklet (2 copies)
  • China Semester Media
    • 2007 – “Spring Break – Tortola, BUI” CD
    • Oct. 6, 2007 – “MSSU Lecture Series: Kung Fu Tales From the Beijing Opera” DVD
  • Dec. 5, 2007 – “Songs and Dances from China” DVD

Germany Semester 2008

  • Germany Semester Brochures
    • Fall 2008 – “Germany Semester” brochure
    • 2008-2009 – “International Film Festival” brochure
  • Germany Semester Postcards
    • Sept. 22, 2008 – “’Live from Berlin’: 17 Hippies” postcard
    • Oct. 28, 2008 – “Germany & the US.: In a Globalized World” postcard
  • Germany Semester Programs
    • Aug. 26, 2008 – “Myth and Reality of the German Autobahn” and “How Green Were the Nazis?” program
    • Sept. 3, 2008 – “Virtual Berlin: A Walk Through German History (part one)” and “Virtual Berlin: A Walk Through German History (part two)” program
    • Sept. 5, 2008 – “German Folkore: A Key to History” and “The German Castle: From Fortress to Museum and Youth Hostel” program
    • Sept. 9, 2008 – “The Fulbright Experience: An American Working in Germany” program
    • Sept. 10, 2008 – “From Kindergarten to Hauptschule, Realschule or Gymnasium: Which Middle School Would You Have Wanted to Attend?” and “Examining the German University System: Does it Make More Sense?” program
    • Sept. 11, 2008 – “The Cold War and the Fall of the Berlin Wall (or) Farewell Comrades, Hello Capitalism!” program
    • Sept. 15, 2008 – “Alexander von Humboldt Explores the Americas in a Digital Library” and “Albert Bloch, the Artist of the Blue Rider from Missouri” program
    • Sept. 17, 2008 – “Walden in the Bavarian Forest: Adalbert Stifter, Henry David Thoreau, and the Transcendental Idea of Nature” and “German Philosophy Goes Green: The Ecological Imperative of Hans Jonas” program
    • Sept. 22, 2008 – “’Live from Berlin’: 17 Hippies” program
    • Sept. 24, 2008 – “So Unlike Ours: German Elections, German Parties” and “Your Dignity, Not Your Happiness: The Principle Values of the German Constitution” program
    • Sept. 30-Oct. 1, 2008 – “Germany’s Business IT after the Big Bang” and “Night and Day: Science in Berlin” program
    • Oct. 2, 2008 – “Jazz in Germany: A View from the Capital” and “German Literature: The 21st Century” program
    • Oct. 7, 2008 – “The Social Market Economy in Germany and the Challenges of Globalization” and “The German Business Environment” program
    • Oct. 8, 2008 – “Beer is Life: The Relationship of Beer to German History, Culture, and Everyday Life” and “Imported Brewers: How German-Americans Changed the History of Beer” program
    • Oct. 14-18, 2008 – Southern Theatre, “GAS: Georg Kaiser” program
    • Oct. 16, 2008 – “Flowerless Gardeners: Barbaric Poetry after Auschwitz” and “Germany’s Coming to Terms with the Holocaust” program
    • Oct. 16, 2008 – “The Impossible and the Necessary: Jewish Life in Germany from the Middle Ages to the Present” and “The Jews of Germany after the Holocaust” program
    • Oct. 20, 2008 – “Not a Bunch of Bologna: Reforms in German Higher Education” program
    • Oct. 22, 2008 – “The World is Our Oyster: Love and Friendship After the Wall” and “That Warm, Fuzzy Feeling of Togetherness: On Growing Up in the GDR” program
    • Oct. 23, 2008 – “The Most Important Thing Is to Win: Competition in East Germany” program
    • Oct. 29, 2008 – “NATO’s Future: Regeneration, Stable Condition, or Terminal Decline?” program
    • Nov. 3, 2008 – “Germans in the Making of Our Nation” and “Germans in the Making of Missouri” program
    • Nov. 10, 2008 – “Grimm for Grownups” and “Cheerfully Grimm” program
    • Nov. 13, 2008 – “’I Go to Fight Mit Sigel!’: The Contribution of German Immigrant and German-American Soldiers in the American Civil War” program
    • Nov. 14, 2008 – “Little Germanies in Kansas and Missouri: Kannst du Deitsch plaudern?” and “Ei, du schone Schnitzelbank!: A Never-Ending Story in American Popular Culture” program
    • Nov. 24, 2008 – “The Origins and Development of the German National Character: From Caesar to Nietzsche” and “My Experiences in the ‘Unbelievable Society’: The German Democratic Republic” program
  • Germany Semester Flyers
    • Aug. 26, 2008 – “Myth and Reality of the German Autobahn” and “How Green Were the Nazis?” flyer
    • Aug. 28, 2008 – “German Film Festival: Run Lola Run (Lola rennt)” flyer
    • Sept. 3, 2008 – “Virtual Berlin: A Walk Through German History (part one)” and “Virtual Berlin: A Walk Through German History (part two)” flyer
    • Sept. 5, 2008 – “German Folkore: A Key to History” and “The German Castle: From Fortress to Museum and Youth Hostel” flyer
    • Sept. 9, 2008 – “Pop-Cultural Relations Between Germany and the U.S.: The Simpsons, Family Guy and Music as a Learning Experience” flyer
    • Sept. 9, 2008 – “The Fulbright Experience: An American Working in Germany” flyer
    • Sept. 10, 2008 – “From Kindergarten to Hauptschule, Realschule or Gymnasium: Which Middle School Would You Have Wanted to Attend?” and “Examining the German University System: Does it Make More Sense?” flyer
    • Sept. 11, 2008 – “Good Bye, Lenin!” and “The Lives of Others (Das Leben der Anderen)” flyer
    • Sept. 11, 2008 – “The Cold War and the Fall of the Berlin Wall (or) Farewell Comrades, Hello Capitalism!” flyer
    • Sept. 15, 2008 – “Alexander von Humboldt Explores the Americas in a Digital Library” and “Albert Bloch, the Artist of the Blue Rider from Missouri” flyer
    • Sept. 17, 2008 – “Walden in the Bavarian Forest: Adalbert Stifter, Henry David Thoreau, and the Transcendental Idea of Nature” and “German Philosophy Goes Green: The Ecological Imperative of Hans Jonas” flyer
    • Sept. 20, 2008 – “Deutschmeister Brass Band” flyer
    • Sept. 22, 2008 – “’Live from Berlin’: 17 Hippies” flyer
    • Oct. 3, 2008 – “Experience the Berlin Wall” flyer
    • Oct. 4, 2008 – “Festhaus-Musikanten” flyer
    • Oct. 8, 2008 – “Beer is Life: The Relationship of Beer to German History, Culture, and Everyday Life” and “Imported Brewers: How German-Americans Changed the History of Beer” flyer
    • Oct. 9, 2008 – “German Film Festival: The Cabinet of Dr. Caligari (Das Cabinet des Dr. Caligari)” flyer
    • Oct. 20, 2008 – “Not a Bunch of Bologna: Reforms in German Higher Education” flyer
    • Oct. 22, 2008 – “The World is Our Oyster: Love and Friendship After the Wall”, “That Warm, Fuzzy Feeling of Togetherness: On Growing Up in the GDR”, and “The Most Important Thing Is to Win: Competition in East Germany” flyer
    • Oct. 29, 2008 - “NATO’s Future: Regeneration, Stable Condition, or Terminal Decline?” flyer
    • Oct. 29, 2008 – “Rescheduled German Film Festival: East of War (Jenseits des Krieges)” flyer
    • Nov. 3, 2008 - “Germans in the Making of Our Nation” and “Germans in the Making of Missouri” flyer
  • Germany Semester Booklets
    • Oct. 28, 2008 – “The Harry and Berniece Gockel International Symposium” booklet
  • German Semester Media
  • Oct. 28, 2008 – “MSSU Gockel Symposium: Wolfgang Drauntz, James Sperling” DVD (2 copies)

Canada Semester 2009

  • Canada Semester Brochures
    • Fall 2009 – “Canada Semester” brochure
  • Canada Semester Postcards
    • Oct. 27, 2009 – “Enduring Boundary, Lasting Friendship, Evolving Futures: Canada – U.S. Relations” postcard
  • Canada Semester Programs
    • Aug. 28, 2009 – “Quebec, the Cradle of Canada” program
    • Sept. 1, 2009 – “Two Canadian Writers of Multi-volume Fiction: Robertson Davies and Margaret Laurence” program
    • Sept. 3, 2009 – “The Cultural Anthropology of Canada: As Viewed Through the Lens of Ice Hockey” and “The Past and Present Behavior of Mummers: What the Reinvention of a Traditional Ritual in Newfoundland Tells Us about Worldwide Changes in Human Social Relationships” program
    • Sept. 4, 2009 – “Why are There So Many Newfoundland Flags in Alberta? Newfoundland Identity and Supportive Social Networks” and “In Cod They Trusted: Ecological Knowledge, Social Context and the Overexploitation of Marine Resources in Eastern Canada” program
    • Sept. 9, 2009 – “Something Bigger Than Fact: The Art and Life of Emily Carr” program
    • Sept. 11, 2009 - Interdependence Day” program
    • Sept. 14, 2009 – “Herman Voaden, Canadian Playwright” and “Trends in Contemporary Canadian Theatre and Drama” program
    • Sept. 21, 2009 – “Of Myth and Mounties: A History of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police”, “The Modern Model of the RCMP”, and “A Tradition of Service: The RCMP and Canada’s Aboriginal Peoples” program
    • Oct. 5, 2009 – “Great Big Sea” program (2 copies)
    • Oct. 6, 2009 – “Canadian Mosaic” and “’I’m an Albertan First!’ Tales of Provincial-Federal Relations” program
    • Oct. 8, 2009 – “Gouldberg Variations: Glenn Gould’s Polyphonic Art and Life” program
    • Oct. 12, 2009 – “Turn-of-the-Century Canadian Literature for the Young and Dutiful: Each Time Has to be the First Time When Re-experiencing Anne of Green Gables” and “Turn-of-the-Century Canadian Literature for the Young and Adventurous: Fierce Animals, Red Indians, & Terrible Storms: Courage, Pluck, & Derring-do and None of It Seen from an Arm-Chair” program
    • Nov. 9, 2009 – “Nunavut: An Inuit Approach to Wildlife Management” and “First Nations and Treaty-Partnership in Canada” program
    • Nov. 12, 2009 – “From Champlain to the Cirque du Soleil – 400 years of French in North America” and “Quebec in North America: Nation Building in the North” program
    • Nov. 18-19, 2009 – “Emily Carr’s Klee Wyck”, “’A Little Old Lady on the Edge of Nowhere’: Canada’s National Treasure, Emily Carr”, and “Artist, Author, Eccentric, Genius: Will Emily Carr Please Identify Herself!” program
  • Canada Semester Flyers
    • Sept. 21, 2009 - “Of Myth and Mounties: A History of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police”, “The Modern Model of the RCMP”, and “A Tradition of Service: The RCMP and Canada’s Aboriginal Peoples” flyer
  • Canada Semester News Articles
    • Oct. 5, 2009 – “Great Big Sea” newspaper clipping (2 copies)
    • Oct. 27, 2009 – “Enduring Boundary, Lasting Friendship, Evolving Futures: Canada – U.S. Relations” newspaper clipping
    • Nov. 6, 2009 – “Clinking Maple Leaves” newspaper clipping
  • Canada Semester Event Planning
    • “Books by Margaret Laurence (1926-1987)” papers (3 pages)
    • “Canada” Banner rough draft
    • June 11, 2009 – “Items loaned for the Canada Semester” paper
  • Canada Semester Media
    • Oct 6, 2009 – “MSSU Lecture Series: ‘Canadian Mosaic’ by Dr. Elizabeth Paddock” DVD
  • Oct. 27-28, 2009 – “MSSU Lecture Series: ‘Gockel Symposium’ by Georges Rioux & Mark Kasoff” DVD (3 copies)

Brazil Semester 2010

  • Brazil Semester Brochures
    • Fall 2010 – “Southern Spotlight” brochure
    • Sign Up for MSSU Cultural Events Mailing List
  • Brazil Semester Postcards
    • Sept. 23, 2010 – “The Search for The Lost City of Z” postcard (3 copies)
    • Oct. 26, 2010 – “Brasil Brazil” postcard
    • Dec. 6, 2010 – “Two for Brazil” postcard (2 copies)
  • Brazil Semester Programs
    • Sept. 2, 2010 – “Peoples and Cultures of the Amazon” and “Anthropology of the Amazon: Partible Paternity and Promiscuous Mating” program
    • Oct. 26, 2010 – “Brasil Brazil” program
    • Oct. 28, 2010 – “A Night in the Tropics” program
  • Brazil Semester Ads
    • Sept. 23, 2010 – The Joplin Globe, “The Search for The Lost City of Z” ad
    • Oct. 26, 2010 – “Brasil Brazil” ad
  • Brazil Semester Event Planning
    • Aug. 24, 2010 – Receipt from TicketPrinting.com
    • Aug. 25, 2010 – SignARama Invoice
    • Aug. 27, 2010 – “TicketPrinting.com Shipment” email to Rod Surber
    • Sept. 15, 2010 – “Work Order for Gockel International Symposium” email to Addie Atkinson from Rod Surber (2 pages)
    • Sept. 17, 2010 – Dixie Printing invoice
  • Brazil Semester Booklets
    • Sept. 23, 2010 – “The Harry and Berniece Gockel International Symposium” booklet
  • Brazil Semester Media
  • Oct. 26, 2010 – “Brasil Brazil Music Performance” DVD

Egypt Semester 2011

  • Egypt Semester Brochures
    • Fall 2011 - “Egypt Semester” brochure
  • Egypt Semester Postcards
    • Sept. 22-23, 2011 – “Charting a New Course for Egypt” postcard
  • Egypt Semester Programs
    • Sept. 6, 2011 – “Mysteries of the Great Pyramids: Some Unsolved, Some Solved but Not Forgotten”. “The Royal Connections: Six Famous Egyptian Kings and Queens”, and “The Billionaire’s Curse: James Teackle Dennis, Early American Egyptologist” program
    • Sept. 7, 2011 – “Revolution and Military Rule in Egypt: Legacies and Prospects” and “Hollywood on the Nile: Viewing Arab/Egyptian Cinema” program
    • Sept. 16, 2011 – “The People of Predynastic Hierakonpolis: Life and Death Before Unification” and “The People of Amarna Speak: Akhenaten’s Failed Experiment with Monotheism and a New Capital City” program
    • Oct. 27, 2011 – “Rodgers, Hammerstein and Friends” program
    • Nov. 3, 2011 – “A Musical Pyramid” program
  • Egypt Semester Flyers
    • Oct. 25, 2011 – “Sahar Sami & the Sahar Dance Company in Haram” table flyer
  • Egypt Semester Ads
    • Sept. 22-23, 2011 – “Charting a New Course for Egypt” Joplin Globe Ad
    • Oct. 25, 2011 – “Sahar Sami & the Sahar Dance Company in Haram” Joplin Globe Ad
    • Nov. 10, 2011 – “Melodies of the Nile” Joplin Globe Ad
  • Egypt Semester Event Planning
    • Book titles about Egypt – event planning (2 pages)
    • “William Tannenbaum, Suggested Speakers for Egypt Semester” event planning paper
    • “Egyptian Films” list for event planning
    • “The MB Orchestra” papers (2 pages)
    • “Egypt” written notes paper
    • “Egypt Semester” logo – event planning (2 copies)
    • Jan. 28, 2011 – “Egypt Semester Planning Committee” paper
    • Feb. 14, 2011 – “Bill Needle – Egyptologist” website article
    • Feb. 14, 2011 – “Egypt Semester Planning Committee” paper
    • Feb. 28, 2011 – “Egypt Semester Planning Committee” paper
    • March 12, 2011 – “Egypt Semester at MSSU” email to Chad Stebbins from Sahar Sami
    • March 13, 2011 – “The King Fahd Center for Middle East & Islamic Studies” web article (2 pages)
    • Sept. 7, 2011 – “Gockel Globe ad” email to Tawnya from Liz Ford
    • Sept. 9, 2011 – “Work Order for Gockel International Symposium” email to Addie Atkinson from Chad Stebbins (2 pages)
  • Egypt Semester Booklets
  • Sept. 22-23, 2011 – “The Harry and Berniece Gockel International Symposium” booklet (2 copies)

Thailand Semester 2012

  • Thailand Semester Brochures
    • Fall 2012 – “Thailand Semester” brochure (2 copies)
  • Thailand Semester Postcards
    • Sept. 27-28, 2012 – “The Transformation of Thailand: Revival and Political Change” postcard
  • Thailand Semester Programs
    • Aug. 31, 2012 – “Thailand 101: What Makes Thais Tick”, “Sit There Till You Get There: Enlightenment or Bust – Thai Style”, and “Tourism in Thailand: Challenges in Paradise” program
    • Sept. 6, 2012 – “Big Turtles in Big Trouble: The Giant Softshells of Thailand” and “Saving Giant Softshelled Turtles in Thailand: A “Whole Technology” Captive Breeding and Head Starting Program” program
    • Sept. 18, 2012 – “From a City on a Continent 10,000 Miles Away to MSSU and the Great Outdoors” program
    • Sept. 21, 2012 – “Thailand’s Pioneering Role in the History of Women’s Suffrage” and “Village Life in Thailand” program
    • Oct. 1, 2012 – “Thread That Bind a Culture: Historical and Contemporary That Silk Textiles”, “Living on the Fringe: Hill Tribe Minorities in Contemporary Thailand”, and “Love Knows No Bounds: A Thai Adoption Story” program
    • Oct. 11, 2012 – “Can We Rely on The King and I?” program
    • Oct. 12, 2012 – “Thai Piracy on the High Seas and High-Tech Market”, Volunteerism in Thailand: Getting Involved”, and “Thai Language, Greetings and Script” program
    • Oct. 22, 2012 – “Where is the Elephant in the Room?”, “The Last Elephant in Thailand”, and “Shades of Gray: It’s Now Black and White!” program
    • Oct. 29, 2012 – “Nang Talung” program
    • Oct. 29, 2012 – “The Somapa Thai Dance Company: Siamese Story” program
    • Nov. 6-7, 2012 – “The Immigrant Son: Confusion, Denial, Belonging, and Understanding”, “What is Home?”, and “Thai Boy Becomes a Monk” program (2 copies)
  • Thailand Semester Ad
    • Oct. 29, 2012 – “The Somapa Thai Dance Company: Siamese Story” Show Me Ozarks ad
  • Thailand Semester Event Planning
    • Thailand logo (2 copies)
    • Fall 2012 “Thailand” brochure cover
  • Thailand Semester Booklets
  • Sept. 27-28, 2012 – “The Harry and Berniece Gockel International Symposium” booklet (2 copies)

Italy Semester 2013

  • Italy Semester Media
    • Sept. 12, 2013 – “Stirring it UP – Italian Style by Cody Hogan” DVD

 

Turkey Semester 2014

  • Turkey Semester Brochures
    • Fall 2014 – “Turkey” brochure

 

Spain Semester 2015

  • Spain Semester Brochures
    • Fall 2015 – “Spain” brochure (2 copies)

Collection Inventory, Box 3

Flags from USSR, Yugoslavia, South Africa from the 1990’s from Dr. Leon.

Collection Inventory

On Shelf

7 framed Gockel Symposium programs

2001 Japan, 2002 India, 2003 Cuba, 2004 Russia, 2005 Mexico, 2006 France, 2007 China

This site is maintained by the librarians of George A. Spiva Library.
If you have a question or comment about the Library's LibGuides, please contact the site administrator.