Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Missouri Southern Theatre Department Collection: Home

University Archives, AC#92, Missouri Southern Theatre Department Collection

Collection Information

Collection Number: AC#92

Title: 
Missouri Southern Theatre Department Collection

Dates: 
1950-2012


Collection Size: 
6 Boxes

 

Scope and Content

Programs, photographs and various other papers from the Missouri Southern Theatre Department, 1950's through 2012.

Creator(s)

Missouri Southern Theatre Department

Acquisition Information

Donated by the Missouri Southern Theatre Department in 1987, 2002, 2008, 2009, and 2016-2017.

Donated by Duane and Gwen Hunt, January 27, 2020.

Preview of the Collection

Goodbye My Fancy, December 16, 1951

Goodbye My Fancy, December 16, 1951

Our Town, May 1, 1952

Our Town, May 1, 1952

The Crucible, 1960

The Crucible, 1960

The Crucible, 1960

Anna Karenina, 1967

Anna Karenina, 1967

Anna Karenina, 1967

Preview the Collection

Androcles And The Lion, 1971

Androcles And The Lion, 1971

Androcles And The Lion, 1971

Rosencrantz and Guildenstern Are Dead, 1980

Rosencrantz and Guildenstern Are Dead, 1980

Rosencrantz and Guildenstern Are Dead, 1980

Conundrum, 1990

Rakshasa's Ring, November 13, 2002

Chicago, March 7, 2012

Joplin Junior College and Missouri Southern Theatre 1950-1972, Box 1

Missouri Southern Theatre 1950-1972​, 
Box 1

  •   Plays 1950-1954: Newspaper Articles
  •   Mr. Pim Passes By: Fall, 1956
  •   The Physician in Spite of Himself- Spring 1957
  •   Male Animal- Fall, 1957
  •   She Stoops to Conquer- Spring, 1958
  •   Ah, Wilderness!- Fall, 1958
  •   Diary of Anne Frank- Spring , 1959
  •   Charley’s Aunt- Fall, 1959
  •   The Crucible- Spring, 1960
  •   Jane Eyre- Fall, 1960
  •   Green Grow the Lilacs- Spring, 1961
  •   The Admirable Crichton- Fall, 1961
  •   Everyman- Christmas, 1961
  •   Good News- Spring, 1962
  •   You Can’t Take It With You- Fall, 1962
  •   Christ in Concrete City- Easter, 1963
  •   Medea- Spring, 1963
  •   Our Town- Fall, 1963
  •   Little Marry Sunshine- Spring, 1964
  •   The Miser- Oct., 1964
  •   Miracle Worker- Dec., 1964
  •   All the Way Home- Spring, 1965
  •   The Taming of the Shrew- Spring, 1965
  •   Oedipus Rex- Fall, 1965
  •   The Heiress- Fall, 1965
  •   Peter the Wolf- 1966
  •   Liliom- Spring, 1966
  •   Ralph Roister Doister- Spring, 1966
  •   Blithe Spirit- Fall, 1966
  •   Corn is Green- Fall, 1966
  •   Finian’s Rainbow- Spring, 1967
  •   Lorreto-Hilton, Spring, 1967
  •   The Menaechmi- Fall, 1967
  •   Anna Karenina- Fall 1967
  •   Dramatico- Spring, 1968
  •   A Doll’s House- Spring, 1968
  •   Dark of the Moon- Fall, 1968
  •   Finian’s Rainbow I, Touring USO- Spring, 1968
  •   Dandelion Wine- Fall, 1968
  •   Lady’s Not For Burning- Mar., 1969
  •   Easter- April, 1969
  •   The Magic Hour- Spring, 1969
  •   Summer & Smoke- Summer, 1969
  •   Trojan Women- Oct., 1969
  •   Cinderella- 1969
  •   Right You Are- Dec., 1969
  •   Blood Wedding- Spring, 1970
  •   School for Scandal- May, 1970
  •   Many Moons- Spring, 1970
  •   Missouri Legend- Fall, 1976
  •   Robin Hood- Fall, 1970
  •   Cherry Orchard- Fall, 1970
  •   Tartuffe- Spring, 1971
  •   Rumpelstiltskin- Spring, 1971
  •   The Killer- Spring, 1971
  •   Androcles and the Lion- Fall, 1971
  •   The Little Foxes- Fall, 1971
  •   Rosencrantz and Guildenstern Are Dead- Fall, 1971
  •   The Rooster’s Egg- Spring, 1972
  •   She Stoops to Conquer- Spring, 1972
  •   Once Upon a Mattress- Spring 1972
  •   Deidre of the Sorrows- Fall, 1972
  •   Earnest in Love- Fall, 1972
  •   Brave Little Taylor- Dec., 1972

Missouri Southern Theatre, 1973-1986, Box 2

Missouri Southern Theatre 1973-1986,
Box 2

  • The Member of the Wedding- Spring, 1973
  •   Tarradiddle Tales- Spring, 1973
  •   The Great Divide- April, 1973
  •   Fantasticks- Fall, 1973
  •   Thoreau- Fall, 1973
  •   Just So- Fall, 1973
  •   Summertree- Spring, 1974
  •   Puss in Boots- Spring, 1974
  •   As You Like It- Spring, 1974
  •   Strolling Players- Fall, 1974
  •   Inherit the Wind- Fall, 1974
  •   Imaginary Invalid- Fall, 1974
  •   Reynard the Fox- Spring, 1975
  •   The Warrior’s Husband- Spring, 1975
  •   Come Slowly, Eden- Spring, 197
  •   Rags to Riches- Fall, 1975
  •   All My Sons- Fall, 1975
  •   Life with Father- Fall, 1975
  •   George Washington Slept Here- Spring 1976
  •   Appleseed- Spring, 1976
  •   Giants in the Earth- Spring, 1976
  •   Green Grow the Lilacs- Fall, 1976
  •   The Merry Pranks of Tyll- Fall, 1976
  •   The Doctor in Spite of Himself- Spring, 1977
  •   The Madwoman of Chaillot- Spring, 1977
  •   Picnic- Spring, 1977
  •   Mother Courage- Oct., 1977
  •   Cinderella- Fall, 1977
  •   My Sister Eileen- Dec., 1977
  •   Rude Mechanicals- Spring, 1978
  •   Medea- Spring, 1978
  •   Rainmaker- Spring, 1978
  •   Glass Menagerie- Oct., 1978
  •   Androcles and the Lion- Fall, 1978
  •   Macbeth- Dec., 1978
  •   Rumpelstiltskin- Spring, 1979
  •   Kiss Me Kate- March, 1979
  •   Arms and the Man- May, 1979
  •   Robin Hood II- Fall, 1979
  •   Mousetrap- Oct. &Nov., 1979
  •   A Streetcar Named Desire- Dec., 1979
  •   Born Yesterday- March, 1980
  •   The Boyfriend- April, 1980
  •   Rosencrantz and Gildenstern Are Dead (Revival)- Fall, 1980
  •   Tarradiddle – December, 1980
  •   The Magic Horn – 1981
  •   Studio ’81 – No. 1 - 1981
  •   Bus Stop- April, 1981
  •   Studio ’81 – No. 2 – April, 1981
  •   The Sleeping Beauty – October, 1981
  •   Crucifer of Blood- Nov., 1981
  •   Tartuffe – December, 1981
  •   Peter and the Wolf – February, 1982
  •   The Crucible- March, 1982
  •   Family Theatre – April, 1982
  •   Rashomon- Oct., 1982
  •   The Fantasticks – November, 1982
  •   Step on a Crack – February, 1983
  •   Ghosts- Spring, 1983
  •   The Good Doctor – October, 1983
  •   The Effect of Gamma – November, 1983
  •   Little Women – December, 1983
  •   The Reluctant Dragon In the Days when Knights were olde – March, 1984
  •   The Importance of Being Earnest- Spring, 1984
  •   Brush up on Your Shakespeare- Oct., 1984
  •   A Christmas Carol – November, 1984
  •   The Great Cross – Country Race – March, 1985
  •   The Real Inspector Hound – April, 1985
  •   Crimes of the Heart – November, 1985
  •   Pinocchio – December, 1985
  •   The Red Shoes – March, 1986
  •   Ah, Wilderness- April, 1986

Missouri Southern Theatre, 1986-2003, Box 3

Missouri Southern Theatre 1986-2003,
Box 3

  •   Pack of Lies- Oct., 1986
  •   Cinderella – December, 1986
  •   Greensleeves’ Magic – March, 1987
  •   Studio ’87 – March, 1987
  •   A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Forum – April, 1987
  •   Brighton Beach Memoirs – October 1987
  •   Rumpelstiltskin – December, 1987
  •   King Arthur’s Sword – March, 1988
  •   Cat on a Hot Tin Roof- April, 1988
  •   Little Shop of Horrors- July, 1988
  •   Tom Jones- Fall, 1988
  •   Fool for Love- Fall, 1988
  •   The Wizard of Oz – December, 1988 – 3 folders
  •   The Nerd- Spring, 1989
  •   Pinter Two: The Collection and the Lover- April, 1989
  •   Snoopy: The Musical – April, 1989
  •   Talley’s Folly- Oct., 1989
  •   Hotel Baltimore- Fall, 1989
  •   The Diviners- Fall, 1989
  •   Robin Hood & the Golden Arrow – December, 1989
  •   Androcles & the Lion – February, 1990
  •   The Menaechmi- Fall, 1990
  •   Conundrum- Oct., 1990 
  •   The Blue Kangaroo – December, 1990
  •   Snow White and Rose Red – March, 1991
  •   The Fantasticks – April, 1991
  •   The Shadow Box – September, 1991
  •   Black Comedy- Fall, 1991
  •   The Fisherman & the Flounder – December, 1991
  •   Make a Joyful Noise- Dec., 1991
  •   Coyote Ugly- Feb., 1992
  •   Swords of Xanadavia – March, 1992
  •   Godspell- April, 1992
  •   The Mystery of Edwin Drood- May, 1992
  •   Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf?- Sept., 1992
  •   Dogs! – December, 1992
  •   Antigone- Sept., 1992
  •   Strange Snow- Feb., 1993
  •   The Doctor in Spite of Himself- April, 1993
  •   Like Father- Sept., 1993
  •   The Boys Next Door- Oct. 1993
  •   Love Letters- Fall, 1993
  •   Tom Sawyer – December, 1993
  •   Graceland- Feb., 1994
  •   Quilters- April, 1994
  •   True West- Sept. 1994
  •   Vanities- October, 1994
  •   The Frog Prince – November & December, 1994
  •   Waiting for Godot- Feb., 1995
  •   12th Night- April, 1995
  •   The Fourposter- Fall, 1995
  •   The Secret Garden – December, 1995
  •   Orphans- Jan., 1996
  •   Standing on my Knees- Jan., 1996
  •   Peter & the Wolf – April, 1996
  •   Camelot- Spring, 1996
  •   Mamet Oleanna- Summer, 1996
  •   Ralph Roister Doister- Fall, 1996
  •   Waiting for the Parade- Fall, 1996
  •   The Steadfast Tin Soldier- Dec., 1996
  •   One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest- Jan. & Feb., 1997
  •   Aesop’s Fables – March, 1997
  •   The Sea Gull- April, 1997
  •   The Middle Ages- Fall, 1997
  •   Les Liasions Danereuses- Oct., 1997
  •   The Stolen Prince – December, 1997
  •   The Runner Stumbles- Jan., 1998
  •   Guys and Dolls- Feb., 1998
  •   The Glass Menagerie- Sept., 1998
  •   The Mousetrap- Oct., 1998
  •   Tarradiddle World – December, 1998
  •   Tartuffe: Born Again- Jan., 1999
  •   The Magician’s Nephew – February, 1999
  •   Evening of One Acts- April, 1999
  •   To Gillian on Her 37th Birthday- Sept., 1999
  •   The Colorado Catechism- Oct., 1999
  •   Sleeping Beauty – December, 1999
  •   The American Dream- Jan., 2000
  •   Carousel- Feb., 2000
  •   Woolfie – April, 2000
  •   Sticks and Bones- Sept., 2000
  •   Deathtrap- Fall, 2000
  •   You’re A Good Man Charlie Brown – December, 2000
  •   When You Comin’ Back Red Ryder- Jan., 2001
  •   The Ice Wolf – February, 2001
  •   Ancestral Voices- Sept., 2001
  •   Romantic Comedy- Oct. 2001
  •   The Zoo Story- Jan., 2002
  •   Pajama Game- Feb., 2002
  •   Down the Road- Sept., 2002
  •   The Magic Riddle – April, 2002
  •   The Birthday Party- Oct., 2002
  •   Rakshasa’s Ring- Nov., 2002
  •   The Laramie Project- Jan., 2003
  •   Free to be You & Me – February, 2003

Missouri Southern Theatre, 2003-2019, Box 4

Missouri Southern Theatre 2003-2019,
Box 4

  •   Seven Directors- April, 2003
  •   Getting Out- Sept., 2003
  •   Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde- Oct., 2003
  •   Deviations- Nov., 2003
  •   Everyday Adventures of Heriot Handleman – December, 2003
  •   Diary of Anne Frank- Jan., 2004
  •   Hansel & Gretel – February, 2004
  •   Kiss Me Kate- April, 2004
  •   The Guys- Sept., 2004
  •   Love Letters- Sept., 2004
  •   The Celebration/ The Brute/ A Marriage Proposal – October, 2004
  •   Pinocchio the Puppet – December, 2004
  •   The Musical Comedy Murders of 1940- Jan., 2005
  •   Snow White & the 7 Dwarfs – February, 2005
  •   An Evening of Chekhov- April, 2005
  •   The Diviners- Sept., 2005
  •   Faena- Oct., 2005
  •   Excalibur- Dec., 2005
  •   The Water Children- Jan., 2006
  •   A Funny Thing Happened On the Way to the Forum - Feb., 2006
  •   The Dining Room- Sept., 2006
  •   The Lark- Oct., 2006
  •   Noises Off- Jan., 2007
  •   Jolly Roger – February, 2007
  •   An Evening of One Act Plays – April, 2007
  •   Show in Midsummer- Sept., 2007
  •   Home Front- Oct., 2007
  •   Christmas Criss at Mistletoes Mesa – December, 2007
  •   Praying for Rain- Jan., 2008
  •   Anything Goes- March, 2008
  •   James and the Giant Peach – April, 2008
  •   Beyond Therapy- Sept., 2008
  •   Gas- Oct., 2008
  •   The Elves and the Shoemaker – December, 2008
  •   Saved or Destroyed- Jan., 2009
  •   The Commedia Cinderella – February, 2009
  •   Festival of One Act Plays- April, 2009
  •   Emily Carr- Sept., 2009
  •   Rabbit Hole- Oct., 2009
  •   School House Rock – December, 2009
  •   Exit the King- Jan., 2010
  •   Fiddler on the Roof- March, 2010
  •   Marian & Robin – April, 2010
  •   The Rogues’ Trial
  •   The Pillowman – October, 2010
  •   Twas the Night Before Christmas – December, 2010
  •   How I Learned To Drive- Jan., 2011
  •   Beanie & the Bamboozling Book Machine – February, 2011
  •   You’re Ruining My Show- April, 2011
  •   Communion- Sept., 2011
  •   Antony and Cleopatra- Oct., 2011
  •   A Winnie the Pooh Christmas Tail – December 2011
  •   Dead Man’s Cell Phone- Jan. &Feb., 2012   
  •   Chicago- March, 2012
  •   Pale Pink Dragon – April, 2012
  •   Humpty Dumpty – October, 2012
  •   Phra Abhai Mani: A Shadow Puppet Play – November, 2012
  •   A Seussified Christmas Carol – December, 2012
  •   The Patsy – February & April, 2013
  •   Puss in Boots The Master Cat – March, 2013
  •   Show… Don’t Tell – April, 2013
  •   God of Carnage – September, 2013
  •   Pagliacci – October, 2013
  •   Hansel and Gretel’s Christmas Adventure
  •   Escanaba in Da Moonlight – January, 2014
  •   The Drowsy Chaperone – March, 2014
  •   The Bear Prince – April, 2014
  •   The Glass Menagerie – September, 2014
  •   The Trojan Women – October, 2014
  •   Mother Goose Christmas Mystery – December, 2014
  •   Crimes of the Heart – January, 2015
  •   Straw Into Gold – March, 2015
  •   Don’t Cut to the Chase One-Act Festival – April/May, 2015
  •   The Secret Rapture – September, 2015
  •   No Suicide in springtime – October, 2015
  •   Christmas at the Old Toy Store – December, 2015
  •   This is our Youth – February, 2016
  •   The Threepenny Opera – March, 2016
  •   Commedia Princess and the Pea – April, 2016
  •   Blithe Spirit – September, 2016
  •   Veronica’s Room – October, 2016
  •   Another Mother Goose Christmas Mystery – December, 2016
  •   Women of Ciudad Jurarez – January, 2017
  •   The Great Alphabet Adventure – March, 2017
  •   One-act Play Festival - April, 2017
  •   Antigone – September, 2017
  •   The Sleeping Beauty – November, 2017
  •   Pippin – February, 2018
  •   How the Other Half Loves – April, 2018
  •   Ghosts – October, 2018
  •   Hyronomous A. Frog – November, 2018
  •   Plaza Suite – February, 2019
  •   These Things Fall Apart an Evening of One-acts – April, 2019

Missouri Southern Theatre, Show-Me Celebration Company Box 5

Show-Me Celebration Company Scrapbooks, 1969-1977, Box 5

  • 1969-1971 Children’s Theatre Scrapbook. 1970: Cinderella, The Magic Horn, Many Moons; 1971: Robin Hood, Rumplestiltskin
  • 1971-1973 Show-Me Celebration Company Scrapbook. 1971-1972: Androcles and the Lion, The Rooster’s Egg; 1972-1973: The Brave Little Tailor, Tarradiddle Tales
  • 1973-1975 Show-Me Celebration Company Scrapbook. 1973-1974: The Just So Stories, Puss in Books; 1974-1975: The Strolling Players, Reynard the Fox; 1975-1976: Rags to Riches
  • 1976 Show-Me Celebration Company Scrapbook: Appleseed
  • 1976-1977 Show-Me Celebration Company Scrapbook: The Merry Pranks of Tyll, The Doctor in Spite of Himself

Show-Me Celebration Company Scrapbooks, 1979-1988, Box 6

Show-Me Celebration Company Scrapbooks, 1979-1988, Box 6

  • 1979-1980 Show-Me Celebration Company Scrapbook. 1978-1979: Androcles and the Lion, Rumplestiltskin; 1979-1980: Robin Hood, The Puppet Prince; 1980-1981: Tarradiddle 1-2-3, The Magic Horn
  • 1981-1983 Show-Me Celebration Company Scrapbook. 1981-1982: The Sleeping Beauty, Peter and the Wolf; 1982-1983: Beauty and the Beast, Step on a Crack
  • 1983-1985 Show-Me Celebration Company Scrapbook. 1983-1984: Little Women, The Reluctant Dragon; 1984-1985: A Christmas Carol, The Great Cross-Country Rage
  • 1985-1987 Show-Me Celebration Company. 1985-1986: Pinocchio the Puppet, The Red Shoes; 1986-1987: Cinderella, Greensleeves’ Magic
  • 1987-1988 Show-Me Celebration Company Scrapbook: Rumplestiltskin, King Arthur’s Sword

Missouri Southern Theatre USO Tour, Newspaper clippings and Miscellaneous, Box 7

Missouri Southern Theatre USO Tour, Newspaper clippings and Miscellaneous

  • Theatre 1967 Newspapers
  • Finian’s Rainbow USO Tour 1968
  • Barn Theatre Newspapers 1968
  • Theatre 1970-71 Newspapers
  • Theatre 1971-72 Newspapers
  • Barn Theatre 1972-73 Newspapers
  • Barn Theatre 1974-75 Newspapers
  • Theatre 1976-77 Newspapers
  • Giants in the Earth & Rude Mechanicals Newspapers 1976 &1978
  • Theatre Newspaper Articles 1980-84
  • Theatre Newspaper Articles 1988 & 1989
  • MSSC Theatre Season Cards
  • Southern Theatre Focus 1996
  • Vinie Burrows 1975-76
  • Ruby Dee Article
  • Stanley Harrison
  • Gwen Hunt Photos
  • Duane and Gwen Hunt
  • MSSC Past Theatre Students Articles
  • MSSC Theatre Reports 1977-78
  • Theatre Papers 1965-66, 1970, 1990
  • Taylor Auditorium
  • MSSC Theatre Newsletter
  • Creation of Taylor Auditorium 1976
  • Taylor Auditorium Attendance and Schedule 1984-85
  • Theatre and Plays Attendance
  • Barn Reunion Photos 1982, 1993
  • 31st Annual College Players Banquet 1987
  • Children’s Theater
  • College Players
  • APO Pictures
  • Southern Theatre Season 1973 – 2002 Folder 1
  • Southern Theatre Season 2002 – 2008 Folder 2
  • Southern Theatre Season 2008 – 2020 Folder 3
  • A Pictorial of Southern Theatre from 1937 – 1988
  • Misc Photographs 1
  • Misc Photographs 2
  • The Theatre Experience - 1976
  • Barn Theatre and Taylor Auditorium Photos
  • Barn Theatre Photos
  • Barn Theatre Newspaper Articles
  • Barn Theatre Photos and Articles

Missouri Southern Theatre "Finian's Rainbow" USO Tour, Box 8

Missouri Southern Theatre "Finian's Rainbow" USO Tour, Box 8

  • Finian’s Rainbow USO Tour Flag
  •   Finian’s Rainbow USO Tour Scrapbook

This site is maintained by the librarians of George A. Spiva Library.
If you have a question or comment about the Library's LibGuides, please contact the site administrator.