Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Afro-American Society Collection: Home

University Archives, AC#255, Afro-American Society Collection. The Afro-American Society was a student organization at Missouri Southern State University from the 1960s through the 1980s

Collection Information

Collection Number: AC#255

Title: 
Afro-American Society Collection

Dates: 
1960s-1980s


Collection Size: 
1 Folder

Biographical History

The Afro-American Society was a student run organization on the Missouri Southern campus from the 1960s through the 1980s. The Afro-American Society was organized to promote interest in the black experience and to connect black students on the Missouri Southern campus. As part of their organizational activities they instituted Black Awareness Week at Missouri Southern and in the city of Joplin, they worked with the Committee to rename Broadway Street to Langston Hughes Street in Joplin and hosted and participated in numerous activities on the Missouri Southern campus.

Scope and Content

One folder with photographs and documents specifically relating to the 1975 and 1976 Afro-American Society, a student organization at Missouri Southern State University.

Creator(s)

Afro-American Society

Preview the Collection

1975-1976 Afro-American Society

Left to Right: Row 1: Aaron Johnson, Bill Hayles, Melvin Wilson, Michel Bauer, Randall Johnson; Row 2: Damon Clines, Robert Burks, Willie Williams, Kenric Conway, Larry Barnes, John Watson, Gordon David, Dr. Henry Morgan

1975-1976 Afro-American Society

Left to Right, Facing the camera: Robert Burks, Dr. Henry Morgan

1975-1976 Afro-American Society

Left to Right: Row 1: Robert Burks, Damon Clines, Aaron Johnson, Dr. Henry Morgan, Michel Bauer, Randy Johnson; Row 2: Larry Barnes, Willie Williams; Row 3: Bill Hayles, Kenric Conway, Melvin Wilson, John Watson, Gordon David

1975-1976 Afro-American Society

Left to Right: John Watson

1975-1976 Afro-American Society

Seated: Zsa Zsa Sands

Preview the Collection

April 21-27, 1975 Program for Black Awareness Week

April 21-27, 1975 Program for Black Awareness Week

April 21-27, 1975 Program for Black Awareness Week

April 21-27, 1975 Program for Black Awareness Week

1975 Proclamation from the City of Joplin

Collection Inventory

  • 1975, 5 photographs of Afro-American Society members
  • Program for Black Awareness Week, April 21-27, 1975
  • Template for the April 21-27, 1975 Black Awareness Week program
  •  Copy of a letter from Vinie Burrows to Kerry Anders, Vice Chairman, College Union Board, Missouri Southern, discussing details of a performance of “Walk Together Children” at Missouri Southern on April 3, 1976
  • Proclamation from the City of Joplin, proclaiming April 21-27 as Black Awareness Week
  • Registration forms for speakers and events for Black Awareness week in 1975

This site is maintained by the librarians of George A. Spiva Library.
If you have a question or comment about the Library's LibGuides, please contact the site administrator.