Zoology & Animal Science - Life Sciences - Anatomy, Biology, Botany, Ecology, Zoology & the Environment - Research and Course Guides at Missouri Southern State University

Select Journals - Zoology & Animal Science

Journal of Animal Science
The Journal of Animal Science is the premier journal for animal science and serves as the leading source of new knowledge and perspective in this area.
Journal of Animal Science and Biotechnology
Journal of Animal Science and Biotechnology is an open access, peer-reviewed journal that encompasses a wide range of research areas including animal genetics, reproduction, nutrition, physiology, biochemistry, biotechnology, feedstuffs and animal products.

View More Zoology & Animal Science Journals

Select Ebooks - Zoology & Animal Science

Advances in Animal Science and Zoology by Owen P. Jenkins This book presents a comprehensive review of recent advances in animal science and zoology research. Chapter One presents an overview of bacterial diseases in animals, the present scenario of a "post-antibiotic era", and summarizes the mechanisms of action, purposes and potentials of the recent and forthcoming biotechnology applications. Chapter Two is mainly designed to cover the description of marine natural products currently used with high-value in the market, as well as to harbor the multiple biological and therapeutic properties of these multipurpose marine organisms. Chapter Three summarizes available information on home ranges of Lumholtzs tree-kangaroos (LTK) in various habitats and the results from current research on the role of chemical communication in conspecific interactions of this species. Chapter Four examines nutrient ecology and the dynamics of deer herbivory in a temperate ecosystem. Chapter Five reviews impacts of outfitters on free access to white-tailed deer habitat, hunting opportunities, and local residents in the state of Illinois. Chapter Six presents information related to the biodiversity and distribution of nematodes belonging to the families Longidoridae and Trichodoridae in different habitats in the countries belonging to the CIS (Commonwealth of Independent States, formerly known as the USSR). Chapter Seven summarizes the population size and trend of elephants in the Laikipia-Samburu-Marsabit ecosystem. Chapter Eight provides comments on genome size, heterochromatin and species diversity in salamanders and other vertebrates.
ISBN: 9781536101300
Publication Date: 2016-01-01
Animal Life by Carl W. Hoagstrom (Editor); Tracy Irons-Geroges (Editorial Coordinator); Dawn P. Dawson (Editor-In-Chief); Salem Press Editors This set offers accessible, easy-to-understand scientific information on nonhumans from the animal kingdom, from insects to reptiles to mammals. Topics include anatomy, behavior, classification, ecology, evolution, habitats, physiology, reproduction and development, and scientific methods.
ISBN: 9781587650192
Publication Date: 2001-12-01
Animal Science and Issues by Jacob M. Jaworski This book presents a comprehensive review of various studies in animal science. Topics discussed herein include the developmental expression profile of cockroach genes; zooplankton composition in an estuarine area; non-invasive methods of DNA sampling; morphology and distribution of four pill millipedes; and immunotoxicity of azadirachtin in freshwater Mussel.
ISBN: 9781617618703
Publication Date: 2011-01-01
Treatise on Zoology - Anatomy, Taxonomy, Biology. the Crustacea, Volume 5 by Carel von Vaupel Klein (Editor) This fifth volume of The Crustacea contains chapters on: ● Devoting a chapter to Pentastomida ● Class Eupentastomida ● Orders Bochusacea, Mictacea, and Spelaeogriphacea ● Order Amphipoda ● Order Tanaidacea For those working on Arthropoda, it will be obvious that the chapters on Pentastomida are newly conceived. The other chapters in this book constitute updated translations of contributions in the French edition of the Trait , volume 7(III)(A), while the order Bochusacea, not featuring in the French version as only more recently described, has been added in a combined treatment with the two closely similar orders. Overall, this constitutes the eighth tome published in this English series, viz., preceded by volumes 1 (2004), 2 (2006), 9A (2010), 9B (2012), 3 (2012), 4A (2013), and 4B (2014). From vol. 4A onward the chapters are no longer published in the serial sequence as originally envisaged, because the various contributions, both the updates and the entirely new chapters, become available in a more or less random order. Yet, when completing this series, all major issues as well as all taxa currently recognized will have been treated.
ISBN: 9789004190849
Publication Date: 2015-03-27
Zoology in Early Modern Culture by Karl A. E. Enenkel; Paul J. Smith (Volume Editor) This volume tries to map out the intriguing amalgam of different, partly conflicting approaches that shaped early modern zoology. It demonstrates that theology and philology played a pivotal role in the complex formation of this new science.
ISBN: 9789004279179
Publication Date: 2014-10-13

Select books in Spiva Library - Zoology & Animal Science

Cornell Lab of Ornithology Handbook of Bird Biology by Cornell Lab of Cornell Lab Ornithology Call it Bird University. This gloriously illustrated volume provides comprehensive college-level information about birds and their environments in a style accessible to nonscientists and teachers the world over. The Handbook of Bird Biology covers all major topics, from anatomy and physiology to ecology, behavior, and conservation biology. One full chapter addresses vocal communication and is accompanied by a CD of bird vocalizations. Produced by the Cornell Laboratory of Ornithology's world-renowned Macaulay Library of Natural Sounds, the CD illustrates key elements of bioacoustics. The book's text was written by 12 leading ornithologists and illustrated by respected photographers and acclaimed artist John Schmitt. It includes an extensive glossary and index, a list of the common and scientific names of all birds mentioned in the text, author profiles, suggested readings following each chapter, and a complete reference section. The Handbook serves as the backbone of the Lab's popular Home Study Course in Bird Biology, a self-paced course that can be taken from anywhere in the world, by anyone with a serious interest in birds who would like guidance from professional ornithologists. Comprehensive and readable guide covering all major topics Free CD of bird vocalizations enclosed Extensive glossary and index List of all common and scientific names Suggested readings Complete reference section Companion to the Cornell Laboratory of Ornithology's popular Home Study Course in Bird Biology
ISBN: 093802762X
Publication Date: 2004
General Zoology by Claude A. Villee; Warren F. Walker; Robert D. Barnes
ISBN: 0721690394
Publication Date: 1978
Invertebrate Zoology by Julian Barnes
ISBN: 0030567475
Publication Date: 1980
Marine Conservation Biology by Elliott A. Norse (Editor); Marine Conservation Biology Institute Staff; Larry B. Crowder (Editor); Michael E. Soule (Foreword by) Humans are terrestrial animals, and our capacity to see and understand the importance and vulnerability of life in the sea has trailed our growing ability to harm it. While conservation biologists are working to address environmental problems humans have created on land, loss of marine biodiversity, including extinctions and habitat degradation, has received much less attention. At the same time, marine sciences such as oceanography and fisheries biology have largely ignored issues of conservation. Marine Conservation Biology brings together for the first time in a single volume leading experts from around the world to apply the lessons and thinking of conservation biology to marine issues. Contributors including James M. Acheson, Louis W. Botsford, James T. Carlton, Kristina Gjerde, Selina S. Heppell, Ransom A. Myers, Julia K. Parrish, Stephen R. Palumbi, and Daniel Pauly offer penetrating insights on the nature of marine biodiversity, what threatens it, and what humans can and must do to recover the biological integrity of the world's estuaries, coastal seas, and oceans.
ISBN: 1559636610
Publication Date: 2005