ACS Chemical Biology
Annals of Human Biology
The Biological Bulletin (Lancaster)
Biology Direct
The Handbook of Culture and Biology by
A comprehensive guide to empirical and theoretical research advances in culture and biology interplay Culture and biology are considered as two domains of equal importance and constant coevolution, although they have traditionally been studied in isolation. The Handbook of Culture and Biology is a comprehensive resource that focuses on theory and research in culture and biology interplay. This emerging field centers on how these two processes have evolved together, how culture, biology, and environment influence each other, and how they shape behavior, cognition, and development among humans and animals across multiple levels, types, timeframes, and domains of analysis. The text provides an overview of current empirical and theoretical advances in culture and biology interplay research through the work of some of the most influential scholars in the field. Harnessing insights from a range of disciplines (e.g., biology, neuroscience, primatology, psychology) and research methods (experiments, genetic epidemiology, naturalistic observations, neuroimaging), it explores diverse topics including animal culture, cultural genomics, and neurobiology of cultural experiences. The authors also advance the field by discussing key challenges and limitations in current research. The Handbook of Culture and Biology is an important resource that: Gathers related research areas into the single, cohesive field of culture and biology interplay Offers a unique and comprehensive collection from leading and influential scholars Contains information from a wide range of disciplines and research methods Introduces well-validated and coherently articulated conceptual frameworks Written for scholars in the field, this handbook brings together related areas of research and theory that have traditionally been disjointed into the single, cohesive field of culture and biology interplay.
Cell and Molecular Biology for Environmental Engineers by
Understanding the molecular underpinnings of life is a task requiring insight from multiple disciplines. In that likeness, biologists have moved toward a systemic approach drawing from the expertise of computational scientists, chemists, engineers, and mathematicians. This collaborative approach requires translation of biological semantics into common language so that the molecular mechanisms can be decoded to promote health, design devices, and preserve environmental homeostasis. This book provides context for biological forms and functions by starting at the molecular level then building outward to include trends in biomedical technology, evolutionary impact, and the lasting implications for our biosphere. In that likeness, biological concepts underlie most wastewater treatment and provide foundation for the hazardous waste treatment being done today. Furthermore, the relationship between biology and geology is starting to emerge as a key relationship for self-healing concrete and reinforcement protection within concrete.
A Primer on Cell and Molecular Biology by
Clear, concise, and well-organized, A Primer on Cell and Molecular Biology is an excellent learning tool for students of cellular and molecular biology. The sixteen chapters of the book follow a logical progression beginning with an introduction to cells and concluding with an overview of current techniques in cellular and molecular biology. Each brief chapter effectively separates core concepts, clarifying each individually and creating a set of building blocks that allow students to fully comprehend one aspect of the subject matter before moving on to the next.
This site is maintained by the librarians of George A. Spiva Library.
If you have a question or comment about the Library's LibGuides, please contact the site administrator.
