Microbiology - Life Sciences - Anatomy, Biology, Botany, Ecology, Zoology & the Environment - Research and Course Guides at Missouri Southern State University

Select Journals - Microbiology

Annals of Microbiology
The aim of Annals of Microbiology is the advancement and dissemination of microbiological knowledge in the general, environmental, ecological and applied fields.
Applied and Environmental Microbiology
Applied and Environmental Microbiology® (AEM) publishes study results that make significant contributions to applied microbial research, basic microbial ecology research, and genetic and molecular investigations of microbial topics of practical value.
The Journal of General and Applied Microbiology
Published by Applied Microbiology, Molecular and Cellular Biosciences Research Foundation
Microbial Ecology in Health & Disease
The aim of this international, Open Access journal is to draw together research on different human microbial eco-systems, and to increase our understanding of their role in health and disease.

View More Microbiology Journals

Select Ebooks - Microbology

Desk Encyclopedia of Microbiology by Moselio Schaechter (Editor) Derived from the Encyclopedia of Microbiology, this edition contains about 25 percent of the articles that originally appeared in that work. The articles selected have been chosen to offer the broadest appeal to microbiologists in all fields, and for their currency. The result is a volume where the coverage is extensive but not overly long in specific details. Topics fall into all major headings of the Encyclopedia, but greatest emphasis is placed on genetics, physiology, metabolism and gene expression, infectious diseases and pathogenesis and applied microbiology. Additionally, hot topics such as biofilms and quorum sensing have been included.
ISBN: 9780126213614
Publication Date: 2003-12-04
Food Microbiology by Subha Ganguly The book provides the advance and updated information on various issues related to hygiene and quality control in food processing sector. The book encompasses on the broad aspects of immense concern in the field of Food Microbiology and Processing Technology. Even it finds its broad implication in processing industries and breweries. The book can be used as textbook and a ready guide by the Students of Food Processing Technology and Allied Sciences, as well as the professionals associated with the ever expanding food processing sector. The book is dedicated towards the development of Science, Education, Knowledge and Technology.
ISBN: 9789351305422
Publication Date: 2015-01-01
Introductory Microbiology by D. V. & Tikkoo Abha & Goyal Pathak Several books on different topics like food microbiology, industrial microbiology, soil microbiology, biological nitrogen fixation and molecular biotechnology are available in universities/ research institutes which deals with specified topic. But a textbook on general microbiology written by an Indian author covering all the topics at one spot is scarcely available in the market. The undergraduate students and students preparing for competitive examinations have to consult books of foreign authors. These books are quite bulky and difficult to understand. There is a dire need of a textbook that can cover all the topics to avoid unnecessary exercise and utilize energy in a fruitful manner. The present book extensively embodies different topics like history, cell structure, microbial growth, bacterial classification, soil microbiology, food microbiology, fermentation, waste recycling and biotechnology. It is hoped that this compilation should serve as a torch bearer for undergraduate students who have meek knowledge of microbes.
ISBN: 9789351305415
Publication Date: 2015-01-01
Manual of Clinical Microbiology by James H. Jorgensen (Editor); Michael A. Pfaller (Editor-In-Chief) The 11th edition of the Manual of Clinical Microbiology continues to set the standard for state-of-the-science laboratory practices as the most authoritative reference in the field of clinical microbiology. This new edition presents the numerous microbial taxonomic changes and newer more powerful diagnostic approaches that have been developed since publication of the 10th edition. A collaborative team of editors and authors from around the world, all experienced practitioners, researchers, or public health experts, revised the Manual to include the latest applications of genomics and proteomics, producing an authoritative work of two volumes filled with current findings regarding infectious agents, leading-edge diagnostic methods, laboratory practices, and safety guidelines.
ISBN: 9781555817374
Publication Date: 2015-04-30
Industrial Microbiology: Microbes in Action by Neelam Garg (Editor); Abhinav Aeron (Editor) This is a collection of twenty different articles from across the globe divided into four basic themes of microbial fertilisers, microbial metabolites, microbes in health and microbial fuels. The first chapter discusses removal of undesirable compounds from soil by a process called rhizoremediation. Sustainability of the ecosystem is greatly needed, which is pertinently covered in the first sub-theme of this volume. The second sub-theme of this collection focuses on diverse types of microbial metabolites with chapters on biosurfactants, carotenoids, organic acids, antibiotics and biosensors, each of which is important and significant in its own way. The third sub-theme of the book is enriched by a discussion on microbes in health with four chapters, each explaining probiotics, direct fed microbials (DFMs), the role of microbes in the production of vaccines, and survival mechanisms of human pathogenic fungi. The chapter on probiotics elucidates the role of microbiota in development of the immune system and their influence on the development of atopic conditions. Finally, the importance of probiotics as a simple but powerful tool that may influence human health by modulating the microbiota is introduced. In the review on DFMs, dissemination and efficacy of Bacillus direct-fed microbial candidates in the gastrointestinal tract of broiler chickens and their effect on health and performance parameters in different poultry diets is discussed as well. Next in this book, vaccines are analyzed, which have reduced the harmful impact of pathogenic microbes on human life. A discussion about long-chain polyunsaturated fatty acids (LC-PUFAs), such as the omega-3 fatty acids eicosapentaenoic acid (EPA) and docosahexaenoic acid (DHA) that provide significant health benefits is introduced. LC-PUFAs can be recovered from many marine organisms, transgenic plants, fungi and many microorganisms, but the largest amount is currently extracted from fish. Finally, biological fuels like biodiesel and bioethanol, which can be generated by efficient utilization of the biotransforming ability of various microorganisms such as microalgae, cyanobacteria and yeasts, are covered in the fourth sub-theme of this volume with six engrossing chapters. One of the chapters discusses the use of waste water for growth of microalgae. Integration of waste water treatment with microalgae performs nutrient incorporation to algal biomass, and waste water remediation as additional benefit are also presented. Thus, the dual-process system provides the potential for energy and effective waste water treatment at lower costs compared to chemical treatment methods. 
ISBN: 9781634844918
Publication Date: 2016-01-01
Polar and Sub-Polar Microbiology by Robert V. Miller; Lyle Whyte (Editor) Sheds new light on the microbial ecology and physiology of the Earth's polar regions. Examines the microbial investigations during the International Polar Year of 2008 focusing on the Arctic and Antarctic, along with earlier investigations on critical environmental issues such as climate change, ozone depletion, and elemental cycling. Offers a survey of what is known and unknown about the microbial inhabitants of polar environments, addresses the adaptations and physiology of cold-adapted microorganisms, and explores the ecological role that polar microbial communities play in biogeochemical cycling. Presents the challenges that polar and subpolar microorganisms face and describes the lowest temperatures in which microbial life can exist--and the prospects for life on other planets. Recommended for a general microbiology audience as well as for scientists and students in all areas of biology and geomicrobiology.
ISBN: 9781555816049
Publication Date: 2011-12-29

Select books in Spiva Library - Microbiology

Dictionary of Microbiology and Molecular Biology by Paul Singleton; Diana Sainsbury This Third, Revised Edition of a unique, encyclopaedicreference work covers the whole field of pure and appliedmicrobiology and microbial molecular biology in one volume. TheDictionary of Microbiology and Molecular Biology, ThirdEdition, Revised: Reflects the latest developments in the field Features over 18,000 entries from concise definitions of termsto review-length articles Provides extensive cross-referencing between topics Includes numerous references from scientific journals and otherrelevant sources With its wide-ranging description of different areas ofmicrobiology, the Dictionary of Microbiology and MolecularBiology, Third Edition, Revised is an indispensablereference for every researcher, lecturer and student.
ISBN: 9780470035450
Publication Date: 2006
Environmental Microbiology by Ian L. Pepper; Charles P. Gerba; Jeffrey W. Brendecke Environmental Microbiology: A Laboratory Manual is designed to meet the diverse requirements of upper division and graduate-level laboratory sessions in environmental microbiology. The experiments introduce students to the activities of various organisms and the analyses used to study them. The book is organized into three thematic sections: Soil Microbiology, Water Microbiology, and Environmental Biotechnology. The first section includes experiments on the soil as a habitat for microorganisms, and introduces the main types of soil microorganisms, how they interact with the soil, and the techniques used in their analysis. Experiments in the second section cover assays of microbial pathogens--bacteria, viruses, and protozoan parasites--used in food and water quality control as well as an exercise in applied bioremediation of contaminants in water. The final section on biotechnology includes applications of the polymerase chain reaction (PCR) for the detection of bacteria and the use of enrichment cultures and a computer-based, physiological test bank to isolate and identify a bacterium useful in bioremediation. Designed for maximum versatility and ease of use for both the student and instructor, each experiment is self-contained and includes theoretical, practical, and pedagogical material.
ISBN: 0125506562
Publication Date: 2005
Koneman's Color Atlas and Textbook of Diagnostic Microbiology by Gary W. Procop; Gail Woods; Elmer Koneman; Paul C. Schreckenberger; William M. Janda; Stephen Allen; Washington C. Winn Long considered the definitive work in its field, this new edition presents all the principles and practices readers need for a solid grounding in all aspects of clinical microbiology—bacteriology, mycology, parasitology, and virology. Tests are presented according to the Clinical and Laboratory Standards Institute (formerly NCCLS) format. This extensively revised edition includes practical guidelines for cost-effective, clinically relevant evaluation of clinical specimens including extent of workup and abbreviated identification schemes. New chapters cover the increasingly important areas of immunologic and molecular diagnosis. Clinical correlations link microorganisms to specific disease states. Over 600 color plates depict salient identification features of organisms.
ISBN: 0781730147
Publication Date: 2006
Medical Microbiology by George F. Brooks; Karen C. Carroll; Janet S. Butel; Stephen A. Morse A comprehensive and authoritative text that discusses the roles microorganisms play in human health and illness, with important correlations in moleulcar mechanisms, chemotherapy, and prevention.
ISBN: 9780071476669
Publication Date: 2007
Pioneers of Microbiology and the Nobel Prize by Ulf Lagerkvist We are swamped with information and each day seems to bring new discoveries that must be considered. Never before in the history of science have so many scientists been as active as today. It has become a major problem for the expert just to keep up with the literature in his or her own field of research. Why, then, should experts and their poor students worry about the pioneers of microbiology, those half-forgotten scientists who a century ago devoted their lives to a new science that was on its way to revolutionizing medicine?With so many new facts and problems screaming for our attention, it is easy to lose sight of the long road that we have travelled in order to get to the point where we are now. Tracing the path of those who have gone before us will help us to see our own scientific goals and efforts in a more revealing perspective.The great figures who are at the center of interest in this book -- Robert Koch, Emil von Behring, Paul Ehrlich and Elie Metchnikoff -- were far from uncontroversial during their lifetimes. It is interesting to see how they were judged by their peers at the Karolinska Institutet when they were considered for the Nobel Prize.Pioneers of Microbiology and the Nobel Prize has been written in such a way that it can be enjoyed even without an extensive knowledge of microbiology and medicine. In fact, a considerable part of the book portrays the state of medicine during the middle of the 19th century, when bacteriology can be said to have made its debut on the medical scene.
ISBN: 981238233X
Publication Date: 2003