Molecular & Cell Biology - Life Sciences - Anatomy, Biology, Botany, Ecology, Zoology & the Environment - Research and Course Guides at Missouri Southern State University

Select Journals - Molecular & Cell Biology

Anatomy & Cell Biology
Anatomy & Cell Biology is an international forum for multi-perspective discussion of all fi elds of anatomy, particularly the fi eld of cell biology based on anatomy.
Biochemistry and Cell Biology
Explores every aspect of general biochemistry, & includes up-to-date coverage of experimental research into cellular & molecular biology, review articles on topics of current interest, & notes contributed by recognized international experts.
Bioscience Reports
Bioscience Reports provides a home for sound scientific research in all areas of cell biology and molecular life sciences.
Cellular and Molecular Life Sciences
Based in Basel, Switzerland, the multidisciplinary journal Cellular and Molecular Life Sciences (CMLS) publishes research articles, reviews, multi-author reviews and visions & reflections articles covering the latest aspects of biological and biomedical research.
Journal of Molecular Biology
Journal of Molecular Biology (JMB) provides high quality, comprehensive and broad coverage in all areas of molecular biology.

Select Ebooks - Molecular & Cell Biology

Cell Biology : Immunology and Environmental Biology by Mohan P. Arora
ISBN: 9788183184656
Publication Date: 2005-12-01
Cell Biology and Genetics by Rathoure; Ashok Kumar & Srivastava; Meena The present book entitled Cell Biology and Genetics aims to cover a wide area of cell biology and Mendelian genetics in a form especially suitable for first year undergraduates for unified syllabus of all Indian universities. The overall theme for the book is the cell as the unit of life and its components. We begin by describing the history and components of the cell as seen under the microscope. Further, we turn to the theories and plasma membrane structure and its function. The next chapter describes structure and function of cell organelles. The aim of chapter 3 to describe the biomolecules with structure of chromosomes, Watson and Crick model of DNA, differences between DNA and RNA. We have discussed cell cycle and cell division in detail in chapter 4 whereas Mendelian genetics and sex linkage with various examples given in chapter 5. The last chapter discusses various aspects of sex determination, sex differentiation, prenatal detection of genetic diseases (amniocentesis), sex linked characters, genetic diseases and abnormalities, chromosomal aberrations, eugenics and molecular evolution describes the last section. To conclude the book, summary is given at the end of each chapter for reader to review. Boxed material throughout the book is divided into examples to illustrate the topics covered in the main text, explanations of the medical relevance of the material and in depth sections that extend the coverage beyond the content of the main text.
ISBN: 9789351302957
Publication Date: 2015-01-01
The Dictionary of Cell and Molecular Biology by John M. Lackie (Editor) The over 10,000 entries in this comprehensive Dictionary of Cell and Molecular Biology provide clear and concise definitions for anyone working in life sciences today. It incorporates related terms from neuroscience, genetics, microbiology, immunology, pathology, and physiology. This fourth revised edition reflects the enormous changes brought about by the explosion of new technologies, especially high throughput approaches and functional genomics. As a result, this edition is over 30% larger than the previous edition, with 3400 new entries. As with the prior edition, additions are reflective of online search queries performed by users of the dictionary. The entries in this authoritative work have been widely praised for their clarity, brevity, and accuracy throughout. The Dictionary of Cell and Molecular Biology features numerous tables and other useful features. * Thoroughly revised and expanded by over 30% with 3400 new entries * Expanded coverage of areas greatly impacted by genomics * Includes new terms that relate to the recent elucidation of underlying mechanisms of cell cycle regulation, apoptosis, relationship between mitochondria and disease, metabolic control, and stem cell biology * Consistently provides the most complete short definitions of technical terminology for anyone working in life sciences today * Extensively cross-referenced * Provides multiple definitions, notes on word origins, and other useful features
ISBN: 9780080550343
Publication Date: 2007-10-04
Encyclopedia of Cell Biology Research by Anne H. Foster (Editor) This book presents and discusses current research in the study of cell biology. Topics discussed include a new mast-cell adhesion molecule; carbon nanoparticles as substrates for cell adhesion; stress and pancreatic ß cell function; beta cell glucotoxicity; toxin resistant beta-cells; cell division and cell elongation of corynebacterium glutamicum; cell cycle checkpoints and cancer and cyanobacterial cell division.
ISBN: 9781613240021
Publication Date: 2012-03-01
Molecular Biology by BarCharts, Inc. BarCharts' three-panel Molecular Biology QuickStudy® guide provides a detailed review of the principal areas of biology at the molecular level. A perfect resource for students in an introductory molecular biology course or those in higher-level courses who are in need of a refresher, this guide includes up-to-date information on biomolecules, DNA replication, transcription, and more--all essential knowledge for the successful biology student. Color-coded sections are enhanced by diagrams and illustrations highlighting major processes and structures.
ISBN: 9781423218739
Publication Date: 2012-05-31
Pioneers in Cell Biology by Elizabeth R. C. Cregan Explore the lives and work of incredible cell biologists in this captivating book! From Gregor Mendel to Rita Levi-Montalcini, Anton van Leeuwenhoek to August Weismann, readers will be amazed at the things these incredible scientists discovered! Single-celled organisms, mitosis, dominant and recessive genes, stem cells, and cloning are just some of the topics that readers will explore as they read through this book that features plenty of vivid, detailed images, stimulating facts, captivating sidebars, and easy-to-read text. An engaging lab activity is featured to further delight and captivate readers.
ISBN: 9780743905862
Publication Date: 2007-12-14

Select books in Spiva Library - Molecular & Cell Biology

The Cell by Geoffrey M. Cooper Because molecular and cellular biology is such an exciting and rapidly moving area of science, teaching it at the undergraduate level is a rewarding, yet challenging, task. Designed for use on introductory cell biology courses, this third edition presents current comprehensive science in a readable and cohesive text that students can master in the course of a semester.
ISBN: 0878932143
Publication Date: 2004
Concepts in Applied Molecular Biology by Ram Datar; Jenny Kim ALU repeat sequences -- Antisense oligonucleotides -- Apoptosis -- Aptamers -- Autoradiography -- Bacterial artificial chromosome vectors -- Bacteriophages -- Cell hybrids -- Chromosome painting -- Cis-regulatory elements -- Comparative genomic hybridization -- DNA-binding proteins -- DNA methylation -- DNA sequencing -- DNA typing: DNA fingerprinting or DNA profiling -- Exon trapping -- Fluorescence resonance energy transfer -- Functional genomics -- Gel-based SNP detection technologies -- Gene cloning methodologies -- Gene targeting -- Gene therapy -- Genetic testing -- Genetic therapy -- Genomic DNA and cDNA libraries -- Genomic imprinting -- High-throughput SNP detection technologies -- Homeobox genes -- Human Genome Project -- Immuno-PCR -- In situ hybridization -- In vitro packaging systems: packaging extracts -- Knock-out mice -- Microarrays -- Modifications of DNA sequencing -- Modifications of PCR -- Modified oligonucleotides -- Molecular chaperones -- mRNA differential display reverse transcription PCR -- Multistep carcinogenesis -- Mutator or mismatch repair genes, microsatellite instability, and replication errors -- Nonisotropic labeling and detection -- Nonviral DNA delivery methods -- Nucleic acid hybridization -- Oligonucleotide synthesis -- p53 -- PCR and PCR optimization -- Pharmacogenetics and pharmacogenomics -- Physical mapping -- Plasmids -- Pulsed field gel electrophoresis -- Quantitative reverse transcription PCR -- Rapid amplification of cDNA ends by PCR -- Real-time PCR -- Restriction endonucleases -- Reverse genetics: positional cloning -- Reverse transcription PCR -- Ribozymes -- Sequence-tagged sites and content mapping -- Single nucleotide polymorphisms -- Southern and northern blotting and hybridization -- Subtractive hybridization -- TaqMan and molecular beacons -- Telomeres and telomerase -- Touch-down PCR -- Trans-acting elements: transcriptional factors -- Transcription-mediated amplification -- Two-hybrid or interaction trap system and its modifications -- Yeast artificial chromosomes.
ISBN: 1881299309
Publication Date: 2003
Dictionary of Microbiology and Molecular Biology by Paul Singleton; Diana Sainsbury This Third, Revised Edition of a unique, encyclopaedicreference work covers the whole field of pure and appliedmicrobiology and microbial molecular biology in one volume. TheDictionary of Microbiology and Molecular Biology, ThirdEdition, Revised: Reflects the latest developments in the field Features over 18,000 entries from concise definitions of termsto review-length articles Provides extensive cross-referencing between topics Includes numerous references from scientific journals and otherrelevant sources With its wide-ranging description of different areas ofmicrobiology, the Dictionary of Microbiology and MolecularBiology, Third Edition, Revised is an indispensablereference for every researcher, lecturer and student.
ISBN: 9780470035450
Publication Date: 2006
Molecular Biology of Aging by Linda Partridge (Editor); Douglas C. Wallace (Editor) Research into the causes of aging, and strategies to delay that process, have gained much ground and attention in recent years. This volume covers the major threads in the molecular genetics of aging, including genes that regulate aging, causes of aging, evolutionary theories of aging, and the relationship between diet and aging. Among specific topics covered are calorie restriction, mitochondria, sirtuins, telomeres, stem cells, and cancer. Each chapter is written by one or more leaders in the field, and the book presents the current status of this exciting research area and provides an invaluable source of information in a single volume.
ISBN: 9780879698249
Publication Date: 2008
Molecular Biology of Cancer by Fiona Macdonald; Christopher Ford; Alan Casson Molecular Biology of Cancer has been extensively revised and covers heredity cancer, microarray technology and increased study of childhood cancers.  It continues to provide a detailed overview of the process which lead to the development and proliferation of cancer cells, including the techniques available for their study.  It also describes the means by which tumor suppressor genes and oncogenes may be used in the diagnosis and in determining the prognosis of a wide variety of cancers, including breast, genitourinary, lung and gastrointestinal cancer.
ISBN: 1859962475
Publication Date: 2004