Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

An Introduction to Islam

This guide was created to offer some introductory materials about the Islam faith, Muslims, Islamic society, etc.

The Five Pillars

Inside Qatar's grand mosque

"Inside Qatar's grand mosque" by Omar Chatriwala is licensed under CC BY-NC-ND 2.0

    Over time, these five practices became the basic obligations for pious Muslims. Though each has a textual basis in the Qu'ran, they are not prescribed together or elaborated as such at the time of the Prophet.

Witness of Faith (shahada)

Prayer (salat)

Fasting (sawm)

Alms (zakat)

Pilgrimmage (hajj)


For more information see The Five Pillars of Islam

Maps of the Middle East

(Above, a map of Northern Africa published in the 'Proceedings of the Association for Promoting the Discovery of the Interior Parts of Africa [1790-1810].' Source: NYPL Digital Collection)

This site is maintained by the librarians of George A. Spiva Library.
If you have a question or comment about the Library's LibGuides, please contact the site administrator.