Research and Course Guides: Arrell Gibson Collection: Home

Collection Information

Collection Number: SC#112

Title:
Arrell Gibson Collection

Dates:
1960s-1980s

Collection Size:
168 Boxes, 53 shelves of books

Biographical History

Dr. Arrell Gibson was a graduate of Joplin Junior College and taught history at the University of Oklahoma.

Scope and Content

This collection focuses on Arrell Gibson's authorship, including drafts of his novels, personal correspondence, and copies of the photographs and letters used in his writings. Dr. Gibson also donated many books on the American West and American Indian history. Many of these books are now located in Spiva Library’s Native American Resource Collection.

Creator(s)

Arrell Gibson

Acquisition Information

Donated by Arrell M. Gibson on August 27, 1984.

Preview the Collection

Letter from Arrell Gibson to C.L. Sonnichsen of Texas Western College, December 7, 1960

Letter from C.L. Sonnichsen of Texas Western College to Arrell Gibson, December 10, 1960

Letter from C.L. Sonnichsen of Texas Western College to Arrell Gibson, September 27, 1962

Letter from C.L. Sonnichsen of Texas Western College to Arrell Gibson, October 16, 1962

Letter from Arrell Gibson to C.L. Sonnichsen of Texas Western College, October 17, 1962

Letter from Arrell Gibson to C.L. Sonnichsen of Texas Western College, October 23, 1962

Collection Inventory

Box 1: Kickapoo Documents and Research Materials

Kickapoo Folklore
Wilson’s Kickapoo Bibliography
Kickapoo Mss.
Kickapoos in Mexico
Kickapoo Manuscripts – Early
Okla. Kickapoo – News Stories
Kickapoo Documents – Used
Kickapoo (Spanish)
Kickapoo Folklore (2)
Kickapoo Bibliography
Kickapoo Maps
Kickapoo Documents
Kickapoo Materials
Mex. Kickapoo – Ethnology
Mex. Kickapoo Land Frauds

Box 2

Kickapoo Original Draft
Preface
Chapter One
Chapter Two
Chapter Three
Chapter Four
Chapter Five
Chapter Six
Chapter Seven
Chapter Eight
Chapter Nine
Chapter Ten
Chapter Eleven
Chapter Twelve
Chapter Thirteen
Chapter Fourteen
Chapter Fifteen
Chapter Sixteen
Chapter Seventeen
Chapter Eighteen
Chapter Nineteen
Chapter Twenty
Chapter Twenty-One
Chapter Twenty-Two
Chapter Twenty-Three
Chapter Twenty-Four
Chapter Twenty-Five
Chapter Twelve – Notes

Box 3

Kickapoo Manuscript – Rough Draft – Original (2 boxes 8½ x 11)

Box 4

Kickapoo Manuscripts (2 boxes – 8½ x 11 )

Box 5

O.U. Press Research Grant
Kickapoos-Contract
Kickapoo Correspondence (Pending)
Kickapoo Correspondence
Kickapoo Research – Correspondence (Closed)
Galley
Page Proofs
Map & Photographs – Kickapoo

Box 6

Kickapoo Documents (miscellaneous)

Box 7

Will Hale Reviews
Copies of Inquiries Will Hale Book
Will Hale Introduction – A.M. Gibson (Manila envelope)
Library Inquiries Will Hale Book
General Inquiries Will Hale Book
Book Dealer Inquiries Will Hale Book
Will Hale Introduction
Encyclopedia Brit. Article
Chickasaw Rancher – Introduction
Seneca Indian School Manuscript
Guide Information
Mining Camp Society – Mss.
Creek Council Laws – 1845 (Ms.)
Choctaw Country Ms.

Box 8

Lead and Zinc Material
Manuscript – Southwestern Mining Camp Society – A Survey
Great Plains Speech
Pikes Council at Wichita Agency
Gilcrease Leaflet
Articles for Little and Ives
American Scene Article “Land Runs”
Kagey Story File
Cowboy Hall of Fame
Review – Astoria
Museum of the Great Plains Article
Article on “New Sources of Indian History”
Cherokee Nation Article

Box 9

Koeltzow Manuscript (4 folders)
Koeltzow Manuscript – Correspondence

Box 10

Kickapoo Publicity
Post-Publication Correspondence – Kickapoos
Manuscript- The Kickapoos: Lords of the Middle Border Part I (in red-rope folder)
Manuscript – The Kickapoos: Lords of the Middle Border Part II (in red-rope folder)

Box 11

Galley Proofs for The Kickapoos