Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Arrell Gibson Collection: Collection Inventory (cont.)

Special Collections, SC#112, Arrell Gibson Collection. This collection focuses on Arrell Gibson's authorship, including drafts of his novels, personal correspondence, and copies of the photographs and letters used in his writings.

Collection Inventory

Box 116

  • Indian materials, E.E. Dale biog. Page proofs, P.H.d. diss. – Wm. Allen White, Helen Hunt Jackson materials.

Box 117

  • Reprints of articles War with Mexico

Box 118

  • Reprints of articles essays, chapters – War with Mexico

Box 119

  • Personal correspondence, bood reviews, reprint articles, magazines and journals

Box 120

  • Professional files of Dr. Gibson

Box 121

  • W.S. History, Five Civilized Tribes manuscripts –(1866-1907), Book reviews, 20th century Indians, Whitlesey Journal, Broadcloth and Brithhes by Conner Skaggs, New Deal Art Projects in Oklahoma.

Box 122

  • Materials on the Southwest

Box 123

  • Civil War materials, galley proofs- American West Book Proofs Frontier Historian Book

Box 124

  • Mexican War, materials on Wizlizenus, Frederich

Box 125

  • Gibson materials on the Pacific (Alaska, Hawaii, Asia and the Antartic)

Box 126

  • Pacific Basin, Chapters, Bibliography and correspondence

Box 127

  • Literary projects and contracts

Collection Inventory

Box 128

  • Professional files, course and lecture notes

Box 129

  • Reprints of articles, essays, chapters on War with Mexico

Box 130

  • Pacific Basin research material

Box 131

  • Materials on Modern Oklahoma

Box 132

  • American Indian materials (thesis, Dissertations, articles)

Box 133

  • Personal correspondence, speeches and writings

Box 134

  • Personal correspondence, (grade books) (restricted)

Box 135

  • Personal correspondence and miscellaneous papers and manuscripts

Box 136

  • Course materials and E.E., Dale manuscripts

Box 137

  • Miscellaneous manuscripts – Folklore, the United States, Ozarks, Manuscripts Europe

Box 138

  • Materials relating to the war with Mexico

Box 139

  • Oklahoma History, Tri state history, Indian Laws 1633-1831

 
 

Collection Inventory

Box 140

  • Miscellaneous correspondence, cards, bibliography models, Dawes Act, scholarships, capitols and council houses of 5 civilized tribes, Japanese relocation.

Box 141

  • Expeditions Des Espanels
  • Life and Public Services of General Zachary Taylor
  • El Cuidadario – General Pedro De Ampudia
  • A History of the Mexican War
  • Biographical Sketches and Anecdotes
  • Life of Major General Taylor
  • Mexican Letters Written during the progress of the war between the United States and Mexico
  • Taylor and his Campaigns
  • The Causes and Justices of the Mexican War
  • Camp Life of a Volunteer
  • A Short Statement of the Causes which led to the War with Mexico
  • The Justices of the Mexican War
  • Epistolario
  • Taos Valley News –Vol. XV 1/3/22 – 12/19/22

Box 142

  • Campana Contra Los Americanos Del Norte
  • Incident in the war of the United States with Mexico
  • Tagebuch Geschrieben Wahrend der Nordamerikan – Ischmexikanischen Campagne in den Jahren 1847 and 1848 auf Beiden Operationslinien
  • California in 1846
  • Alta California: Embracing Notices of Climate, Soil and Agricultural Products.
  • A New History of Texas
  • Pencilings of Scenes Upon the Rio Grande
  • Francis Collins Journal (Seminole Campaign in Fla.) Francis Collins Diary
  • Scotts Campaign in Mexico
  • Condensed History of the Mexican War and its glorious results
  • Reminiscences of a campaign in Mexico
  • Journal of William H. Richardson – A private Soldier in the Campaign of New and Old Mexico under the command of Colonel Doniphan of Missouri (1849)
  • Invasion of Norte America in 1846

Box 143

  • Studs Terkel – “Working”
  • Final Exam – Closed
  • Answer Sheets and Evaluation Forms – ASU 86
  • How the Other Half Lives
  • Life of Frederick Douglas American Slave- 1843
  • Law Record: Immigration to U.S. Congressional Record Vol. XIVII March 16, 1896
  • Work Culture of Society in Industrializing America Herbert Gutman
  • Bagged Dick – Mark the March Boy. Horatio Alger, Jr.
  • Liberty’s Daughters. Mary Battle Norton
  • The Autobiography of Malcom X. Asst. by Alex Haley.
  • The Feminine Mystique. Betty Friedan.
  • The Jungle. Upton Sinclair
  • Mexican War. Jennery Diary.
  • Biography on Mexican War on Yale Univ. Beinecke College.
  • Century of Expansion. Johnson.
  • The Conquest of California and New Mexico.
  • Mexican War – (Manuscripts)
  • The Conquest of New Mexico and California.
  • Mexican War – St. Patrick’s Battalions. (manuscripts)
  • Mexican War Letters
  • Mexican War – California and Mexico
  • The Norman Transcript
  • Navajo Campaigns and the Occupation of New Mexico: 1847-1848
  • Mexican War
  • Old Santa Fe

Box 144

Arrel Gibson Photograph Illustrations

  • Chimney Rock – A landmark near Freedom in Woodard County
  • Buffalo Herd – Wichita Mountain Wildlife Preserve
  • Copy of “Prehistoric Oklahoma,” – a painting, June 6, 1938
  • Mastadon Skeleton
  • Prehistoric drawings on the bluffs of Cimaron Canyon, Oklahoma Panhandle
  • Weapon Points produced by Oklahoma’s earliest known settlers
  • Harlan Mound Site – Screening dirt so that no small object overlooked
  • Glass Mountains – Major County
  • Archeological Artifacts
  • Spiro Mound Artifact
  • Artist’s Sketch of Coronado Expedition
  • Thomas Jefferson in 1800 by Rembrant Peale
  • Zebulon Pike by Jackson
  • George Champlin Sibley from Road to Sante Fe
  • Stephen H. Long by Bearss and Gibson
  • Osage Scalp Dance – a John Mix Stanley painting
  • Fort Smith
  • Long Knives on the Canadian
  • General Thomas James – pioneer trader in Western Oklahoma
  • Fort Gibson
  • Daird Vann – Cherokee business & political leader
  • Tooantuh (Spring Frog) – Cherokee leader
  • Moshulatubbee – Choctaw District Chief
  • Tukoseemathla – Seminole Chief
  • Opothleyaholo – Creek leader & commander of neutral troops in Indian Territory
  • Major Ridge – Cherokee leader and signer of Treaty of New Echota
  • John Ross – Chief of the Cherokee Nation; painted shortly after the Treaty & Union in 1846. Treaty is in his hand.
  • Washing Irving
  • Dick West’s depiction of the Trail of Tears
  • Cherokee Female Seminary
  • Jones Hall – Spencer Academy, Choctaw Nation
  • Samuel A. Worcester – missionary to the Cherokees
  • Evan Jones – Educator and missionary among the tribes of Indian Territory
  • Cyrus Byington – Missionary to the Choctaws
  • Chief John Jumper – Seminole
  • Sequoyah
  • Sequoyah’s Cherokee Syllabary
  • Oil painting of Jesse Chisholm – hanging in the Saddle & Sirloin Club, Chicago
  • Black Beaver
  • Albert Pike – Confederate Commissioner to Indian Territory
  • Stand Watie from Phillips Collection
  • General James G. Blunt – Commander Union Troops in Indian Territory
  • Colonel William A. Phillips – Union officer & Conqueror of Cherokee Nation
  • The Battle of Honey Springs
  • Isaac Parker – the “Hanging Judge”
  • Cherokee National Capitol – Tahlequah
  • Seminole Nation Election – Wewoka, 1898
  • Council house – Chickasaw, at Tishomingo, Oklahoma
  • Cherokee Female Seminary
  • Jones Academy in the Choctaw Nation
  • Skinners processing buffalo robes and tongues
  • Freight Line serving Indian Territory before railroads
  • The Red Barn Livery Stable – El Reno, Oklahoma Territory
  • Cattle depicted in “On the Great Trail” by A. Castaigne
  • Fort Supply – Indian Territory
  • Cheyenne – Arapaho Scouts – attached to U.S. Cavalary Units Stationed at Ft. Reno
  • Quanah Parker – War Chief of the Quahoda Comanches
  • Colonel E.C. Boudinot
  • David L. Payne – Prince of the Boomers
  • Military Escorting Arrested Claim-Jumpers across the border 1889
  • Sample of Boomer Literature
  • Land Run Scene-Opening the Cherokee Outlet to settlement, 1893
  • Great Plains plowing scene
  • Oklahoma Dugout by J.V. Dedrick of Taloga
  • Geronimo in exile, 1897
  • Fox of Iowa – Worsted Work
  • Oklahoma’s Territorial Governors
  • Homestead Picture
  • Oklahoma City
  • Sorghum Mill-Indian Territory
  • Chief Isparhecher – Traditionalist Creek Leader
  • Chitto Hanjo – Creek Traditionalist Leader
  • Pleasant Porter – Creek
  • Green McCurtain – Choctaw
  • Allen Wright – Chief of the Choctaw Nation, first to suggest name “Oklahoma”
  • Oklahoma Constitutional Convention – Guthrie, 1906
  • Inauguration of Oklahoma’s first governor, Charles N. Haskell, November 16, 1907
  • Charles N. Haskell – Oklahoma’s 1st Governor
  • Arkansas River Steamer
  • Robert L. Owen – one of Oklahoma’s 1st U.S. Senators
  • Gore – one of Oklahoma’s 1st U.S. Senators
  • Governor Lee Cruce
  • Governor Robert L. Williams
  • Governor James B. Robertson
  • Governor Jack Walton
  • Governor William H. “Alfalfa Bill” Murray
  • Governor Martin E. Trapp
  • Governor Henry S. Johnston
  • Bartlesville Klu Klux Klan 1920’s
  • Governor Murray’s soupline in Oklahoma City, 1932
  • Dust Bowl Scene – Oklahoma 1930’s
  • Sharecropper & Family Stalled in the Desert near India, California, February 1937
  • Civilian Conservation Corps crew Rehabilitating a field, Oklahoma City 1937
  • Governor Leon “Red” Phillips
  • U.S. Senator Josh Lee
  • Governor Ernest W. Marland
  • Unidentified
  • Governor Roy J. Turner
  • Mrs. Ada Fisher – Jan. 14, 1946, was denied admission to University of Oklahoma
  • Oklahoma State Capitol
  • Governor Johnston Murray
  • Governor Raymond Gary
  • Governor J. Howard Edmondson
  • President Kennedy at Big Cedar, Oklahoma
  • Governor Henry Bellmon
  • Governor Dewey Bartlett
  • Autographed picture of Carl Albert
  • Governor David Hall
  • Governor Boren
  • Governor Nigh
  • Mayor Patience Latting, 1977
  • Hannah D. Atkin – State Representative
  • Cleta Deatherage
  • Mechanical Cotton Picker-Jackson County
  • Combines harvesting in Oklahoma Bumper Wheat Crop
  • Central Oklahoma dairy herd
  • Herefords finishing out in an Oklahoma feed lot
  • Irrigated Stock Feed Field-Oklahoma panhandle
  • Lead & Zinc Mine in Ottawa County
  • Kerr McGee Corporations first rig
  • Sunray Refinery, Tulsa
  • Lumbering in forests of S.E. Oklahoma – 1970’s
  • Oklahoma Industry – Aero Commander, Bethany
  • Sequoyah State Park
  • Beavers Bend State Park
  • Tenkiller Lake & State Park, Near Gore
  • Tinker Air Force Base-Oklahoma City
  • “Knowledge Box,” – School with sod roof, Western Oklahoma
  • Cherokee Male Seminary – Tahlequah, Oklahoma
  • Choctaw Female Seminary – Tuskahoma
  • Unidentified Buildings (Possible Oklahoma University Campus)
  • Anadarko’s American Indian Exposition
  • “Trail of Tears” Drama
  • Anadarko Indian Dancers
  • Anadarko Indian Meeting
  • The Tulsa Opera
  • Philbrook Art Center – Tulsa
  • Charles B. Wilson
  • Augusta Metcalf – Oklahoma Artist
  • Citizens State Bank
  • Price Tower – Bartlesville – an architectural landmark
  • Revolution in church architecture – Church of St. Cecila, Ardmore
  • Will Roger Memorial – Claremore
  • Gilcrease Museum –Tulsa
  • Lynn Riggs
  • Jim Thorpe-rated world’s greatest athlete
  • Tulsa, Oklahoma, 1900
  • Oklahoma City, 1980
  • Mikanopy-From McKenney and Hall, Indian Tribe of North America. John Benno – (Tal-a-mas-Micco, or King of the Forrest)
  • The Buffalo Hunt, from a painting by John Mix Stanley in the Smithsonian Institution.
  • Tishomingo – The last war chief of the Chickasaw Nation.
  • Pawhuska – an Osage warrior painted by George Catlin.
  • Kiowa Infant in Cradle Board – Anandarko, 1896
  • Dragoon Expedition – meeting with the Commanches, Wichita Mountains, 1834 from a sketch by George Catlin.
  • Arrell Gibson Videotape – VHS Tape
  • 1985-7-9 – Letter from David L. Boren
  • 1974-2-4 – Letter from Carl Albert
  • Stand Watie letters – 1860s

Dr. Arrell Gibson Maps

  • Map of a tour from Independence to Santa Fe Chihuahua, Monterey and Matamoros by A. Wislizenus in 1846 and 1847.
  • Geological sketch of Texas, Oklahoma, Colorado, Kansas, New Mexico and Mexico.
  • Plan of the Battle of Sacramento.
  • Plan of the Battle of Brazito
  • Routings of the Army of the West
  • Midwest Indian locations in Oklahoma, Kansas, and Nebraska
  • Indian Nation locations in Oklahoma.
  • Indian Nations – Pre-Removal in the South.

Maps used for Dr. Gibson’s Oklahoma History

  • Overlay for Map #7
  • Landforms of Oklahoma – map #7
  • Overlay map #1
  • Indian Territory, 1830-1855 – map #1
  • Overlay for map #2
  • Important Routes and Trails – map #2
  • Overlay for map #3
  • Indian Territory, 1866-1889-map #3
  • Overlay for map #4
  • Cattle Trails – map #4
  • Overlay for map #5
  • Land Openings – map #5
  • Overlay for map #6
  • Oklahoma Counties – 1960 – map #6

Location: In Map Drawer – “Work Drawer”

Gibson – Memorabilia

  • Territorial Marshal Commission – from Gov. George Nigh
  • The Chickasaws- Cover Design
  • Oklahoma – Capt. Payne’s Oklahoma Colony – (Broadside)
  • “We All Need Clean Water” – National Wildlife Poster – 1977
  • “We Care About Eagles” – National Wildlife Poster – 1982
  • “We Care About Eagles – The Year of the Eagle “ - 1982
  • “Copy of a Painting of Col. Albert Jennings Fountain” by Ken Barrick – 1987
  • “A History of the American Indian” – Cover Design
  • “A Picture of President John F. Kennedy and his brother Robert F. Kennedy”
  • “Rudyard Kipling’s Itinerary for American Notes”
  • U.S. Geography Maps

Collection Inventory

Box #144

  • “America’s Exiles”
  • America’s Frontier Heritage: A Review Essay
  • The Canadian River Valley
  • The Cherokees
  • Chickasaw Ethnography: An Ethnohistorical reconstruction
  • The Chickasaws
  • The Choctaw Country
  • The Choctaws
  • Confederates on the Plains: The Pike Mission To Wichita Agency
  • Constitutional Experiences of the Five Civilized Tribes
  • The Cowboy in Indian Territory
  • Edward Everett Dale
  • From the Brazos to the North Folk
  • A History of the University of  Oklahoma Press
  • History of Woodward County
  • Homesteaders Last Frontiers
  • Indian Heritages and Western Culture
  • Indian Pioneer Legacy: A Guide to Oklahoma Literature
  • An Indian Territory United Nations: the Creek Council of 1845
  • Joe Kogey: Indian Educator
  • Lead Mining in Southwest Missouri after 1865
  • Lead Mining in Southwest Missouri to 1865
  • Museum of the Great Plains Purpose and Prospects
  • The National Cowboy Hall of Fame
  • Native Americans and the Civil War
  • Native American muses
  • Oklahoma: A Student’s Guide to Localized History
  • Oklahoma: Land of the Drifters
  • Pacific Basin Frontier
  • Philosophical, Legal, and Social Rationales for appropriating The Tribal Estate, 1607-1980
  • Pioneer Women
  • Poor man’s Camp Labor Movement Missitudes on the Tri-State District
  • Prehistory in Oklahoma
  • Preservation and use of Oklahoma History Materials
  • Ranching in the West
  • Ranching on the Southern Great Plains
  • Research Center: Museum of the Great Plains
  • Search for the Purebloods
  • The Saint Augustine Prisoners
  • A Social History of the Tri-State District
  • Sources for Research on the American Indian
  • Water Days of Oklahoma
  • West as Region
  • Will Rogers
  • Wyandotte Mission: the Early Years, 1871-1900
  • Medicine Show
  • From the Brazos to the North Falls

Box #145

Books Edited by Gibson

  • Great Plains Quarterly-Vol.8, #1, Winter 1987
  • Great Plains Quarterly-Vol.6, 34, Fall 1986
  • Great Plains Quarterly-Vol.6, #3, Summer 1986
  • Red River Valley Review-Vol.7, #4, Fall 1982
  • Red River Valley Review-Vol.7, #3, Summer 1982
  • Red River Valley Review-Vol.7, #2, Spring 1982
  • Red River Valley Review-Vol.7, #1, Winter 1982
  • Red River Valley Review-Vol.6, #4, Fall 1981
  • Red River Valley Review-Vol.6, #2, Spring 1981
  • Red River Valley Review-Vol.6, #1, Winter 1981
  • Red River Valley Review-Vol.5, #4, Fall 1980
  • Red River Valley Review-Vol.5, #3, Summer 1980
  • Red River Valley Review-Vol.5, #2, Spring 1980
  • Red River Valley Review-Vol.5, #1, Winter 1980
  • Red River Valley Review-Vol.4, #4, Fall 1979
  • Red River Valley Review-Vol.4, #3, Summer 1979
  • Red River Valley Review-Vol.4, #2, Spring 1979
  • Red River Valley Review-Vol.4, #1, Winter 1979
  • Red River Valley Review-Vol.3, #4, Fall 1978
  • Red River Valley Review-Vol.3, #3, Summer 1978
  • Red River Valley Review-Vol.3, #1, Winter 1978
  • Red River Valley Review-Vol.2, #2, Summer 1975
  • Red River Valley Review-Vol.1, #4, Winter 1974
  • Red River Valley Review-Vol.1, #3, Autumn 1974
  • Red River Valley Review-Vol.1, #2, Summer 1974
  • Red River Valley Review-Vol.1, #1, Spring 1974
  • Western Historical Quarterly-Vol.15, #4, Oct.1984
  • Western Historical Quarterly-Vol.15, #2, April 1984
  • Western Historical Quarterly-Vol.15, #1, Jan. 1984
  • Western Historical Quarterly-Vol.16, #3, July 1983
  • Western Historical Quarterly-Vol.16, #2, April 1983
  • Western Historical Quarterly-Vol.16, #1, Jan. 1983
  • Western Historical Quarterly-Vol.18, #4, Oct. 1982
  • Western Historical Quarterly-Vol.18, #3, July 1982
  • Western Historical Quarterly-Vol.18, #2, April 1982
  • Western History Associates Newsletter-Vol.3-4, 1967-1968

Box #3

  • Journal of the West-Vol.25, #2, April 1986
  • Journal of the West-Vol.25, #1, Jan. 1986
  • Journal of the West-Vol.24, #4, Oct. 1985
  • Journal of the West-Vol.24, #2, April 1985
  • Journal of the West-Vol.24, #1, Jan. 1985
  • Journal of the West-Vol.23, #4, Oct. 1984
  • Journal of the West-Vol.23, #3, July 1984
  • Journal of the West-Vol.23, #1, Jan. 1984
  • Journal of the West-Vol.22, #4, Oct. 1983
  • Journal of the West-Vol.22, #3, July 1983
  • Journal of the West-Vol.22, #2, April 1983
  • Journal of the West-Vol.21, #4, Oct. 1982
  • Journal of the West-Vol.21, #3, July 1982
  • Journal of the West-Vol.21, #2, April 1982
  • Journal of the West-Vol.21, #1, Jan.1982
  • Journal of the West-Vol.20, #4, Oct. 1981
  • Journal of the West-Vol.20, #2, April 1981
  • Journal of the West-Vol.20, #1, Jan. 1981
  • Journal of the West-Vol.19, #4, Oct. 1980
  • Journal of the West-Vol.19, #3, July 1980
  • Journal of the West-Vol.19, #2, April 1980
  • Journal of the West-Vol.18, #3, July 1979
  • Journal of the West-Vol.18, #2, April 1979
  • Journal of the West-Vol.18, #1, Jan. 1979
  • Journal of the West-Vol.17, #3, July 1978
  • Journal of the West-Vol.17, #2, April 1978
  • Journal of the West-Vol.16, #1, Jan.1977
  • Journal of the West-Vol.15, #4, Oct. 1976
  • Journal of the West-Vol.15, #3, July 1976
  • Journal of the West-Vol.15, #2, April 1976
  • Journal of the West-Vol.15, #1, Jan. 1976
  • Journal of the West-Vol.14, #4, Oct. 1975
  • Journal of the West- Vol.14, #3, July 1975
  • Journal of the West-Vol.14, #2, April 1975
  • Journal of the West-Vol.13, #4, Oct. 1974
  • Journal of the West-Vol.13, #3, July 1974
  • Journal of the West-Vol.13, #2, April 1974
  • Journal of the West-Vol.13, #1, Jan. 1974
  • Journal of the West-Vol.12, #4, Oct. 1973
  • Journal of the West-Vol.12, #2, April 1973
  • Journal of the West-Vol.12, #1, Jan. 1973
  • Journal of the West-Vol.11, #4, Oct. 1972
  • Journal of the West-Vol.11, #3, July 1972
  • Journal of the West-Vol.11, #2, April 1972
  • Journal of the West-Vol.11, #1, Jan. 1972
  • Journal of the West-Vol.10, #3, July 1971
  • Journal of the West-Vol.10, #2, April 1971
  • Journal of the West-Vol.10, #1, Jan. 1971
  • Journal of the West-Vol.9, #4, Oct. 1970
  • Journal of the West-Vol.9, #3, July 1970
  • Journal of the West-Vol.8, #3, July 1969
  • Journal of the West-Vol.8, #2, April 1969
  • Journal of the West-Vol.7, #4, Oct. 1968
  • Journal of the West-Vol.7, #3, July 1968
  • Journal of the West-Vol.7, #2, April 1968
  • Journal of the West-Vol.7, #1, Jan. 1968
  • Journal of the West-Vol.6, #4, Oct. 1966
  • Journal of the West-Vol.5, #4, Oct. 1966
  • Journal of the West-Vol.4, #3, July 1965
  • Journal of the West-Vol.4, #2, April 1965 

This site is maintained by the librarians of George A. Spiva Library.
If you have a question or comment about the Library's LibGuides, please contact the site administrator.