Research and Course Guides: Arrell Gibson Collection: Collection Inventory (cont.)

Collection Inventory

Box 12: Research Materials—A.J. Fountain Book

Photographs
Fountain Case Interviews
Misc. New Mexico Material Non-fountain
Civil War Period
Chapter One Material
Chapter Two Material
Chapter Three Materials Completed
Materials for Chapter 4

Box 13: Research Materials-A.J. Fountain Book

Chapter Five Material
Chapter Six Material
Chapter Seven Material

Box 14 - Research Materials-A.J. Fountain Book

Chapter Eight Materials
Chapter Nine Materials
Chapter Ten Materials
Chapter Eleven Materials
Chapter Twelve Materials
Chapter Thirteen Materials

Box 15- Research Materials-A.J. Fountain Book

Chapter Thirteen Materials
Chapter Fourteen Materials
Chapter Fifteen Materials
Chapter Sixteen Materials

Box 16

Fountain book-Letters
Permission letters-Fountain biography
Fountain biography contract
Publisher’s correspondence-Fountain story
W.D. Grisso Correspondence
Chapter Sixteen materials (Fountain book)
Pinkerton File on the Col, A.J. Fountain Murder Case

Box 17-Correspondence-A.J. Fountain Book

Early Family History – Closed
California Period
Territorial Records
Fountain Case
Fountain Case Correspondence-Closed
Fountain Case File(Pinkerton)
Fountain Case Bibliography
Newspaper Microfilm
Fountain Case
Federal Records
Fountain Case
Court Records
Fountain Case
Fountain Case Correspondence Closed
Fountain Case File-Closed Correspondence
W.D. Grisso Correspondence
Fountain Case Correspondence
J.D. McAllister
Fountain Publicity
Fountain Book Correspondence

Box 18- Manuscripts-A.J. Fountain Book

Chapter One-Completed-Fountain
Chapter Two-Completed
Chapter Three
Chapter Four
Chapter Five
Chapter Six
Chapter Seven
Chapter Eight
Chapter Nine
Chapter Ten
Chapter Eleven
Chapter Twelve
Chapter Thirteen
Chapter Fourteen
Chapter Fifteen
Chapter Sixteen
Chapter Seventeen

Box 19-Manuscripts

A.J. Fountain Book (In two 8½ x 11 boxes)

Box 20

Chapter 1 (Fountain)
Chapter 2 (Fountain)
Chapter 3 (Fountain)
Chapter 4 (Fountain)
Chapter 5 (Fountain)
Chapter 6 (Fountain)
Chapter 7 (Fountain)
Chapter 8 (Fountain)
Chapter 9 (Fountain)
Chapter 10 (Fountain)
Chapter 11 (Fountain)
Chapter 12 (Fountain)
Chapter 13 (Fountain)
Chapter 14 (Fountain)
Chapter 15 (Fountain)
Chapter 16 (Fountain)
Chapter 17 (Fountain)
Fountain Biography (Carbon) (In 8½ x 11 box)

Box 21-A.J. Fountain Book

Original Manuscript (Pages tied with twine)
Signatures

Collection Inventory

Box 22-A.J. Fountain Biography

Galleys
Page Proofs

Box 23

Long, Grace. The Anglo-American Occupation of the El Paso District. Unpub. MA Thesis, University of Texas, 1931. (In box 8½ x 11)

Box 24

History of Oklahoma Manuscripts

Box 25

History of Oklahoma Manuscripts II

Box 26 - History of Oklahoma Manuscripts

Chapter One
Chapter Two
Chapter Three
Chapter Four
Chapter Five
Chapter Six
Chapter Seven
Chapter Eight
Chapter Nine
Chapter Ten
Chapter Eleven
Chapter Twelve
Chapter Thirteen
Chapter Fourteen
Chapter Fifteen & Sixteen
Chapter Seventeen
Chapter Eighteen
Chapter Nineteen
Chapter Twenty

Box 27 – History of Oklahoma: Correspondence, Galleys, Page Proofs

Page Proofs
Autographing Party-Oklahoma History
Guest Book for Autographing Party
Galleys

Box 28- Oklahoma History

(High School Text) Revision
Pages tied with twine with written

Box 29-Oklahoma History

(High School Text) Revision
Galleys (tied in bundle)
Manuscript (tied)
Page Proofs (tied)

Box 30

Harlow’s Oklahoma History (In two red-rope containers)

Box 31 – Fort Smith Book Research Materials

Maps
Red-rope folder containing Manuscript
Illustrations
Binders:
- Fort Smith serves general Mcculloch as a supply depot 1861
- The Army of the west abandons Fort Smith 1862
- The Federals raid Van Buren and threaten Fort Smith 1862
- General William Steele fights to hold onto northwest Arkansas 1863
- Blunt invades the Choctaw nation and captures Fort Smith 1863
- The Indian Territory confederates recover the initiative
- Fort Smith is a bone of contention between the federal generals
- The confederates put the squeeze on Fort Smith
- General Cooper and the Indian Territory confederates threaten Fort Smith
- The Great Cabin Creek Raid
Post Returns 1818-1822
Appendices
Fort Smith – Traders, Sutlers

Box 32 – Fort Smith Book Research Materials

Pictures-Fort Smith, Arkansas in 1821
Galley
Binders-Typescript:
- Fort Smith I
- Fort Smith II
- Captain Stuart struggles with the freebooters
- Fort Smith as the agency for the western Choctaws
- Book 3-Fort Smith 1838-1871
- Synopsis – Law enforcement at Fort Smith 1871-1896
- General Bussey takes over at Fort Smith
- The federals struggle to hold on to Fort Smith
- Fort Smith 1838-1871 Civil War Book 5
Buildings, Supplies, land
- Fort Smith
Fort Smith
Fort Smith-Drawings, sketches, plans
2 unlabeled folders of notes and maps

Box 33- Fort Smith Book Research Materials
(Original Manuscript, corrected Manuscript)

Corrected Mss. Fort Smith (in box 8½ x 11)
Unlabeled folder of notes and maps
Belle Point – Chapter 1
War Drums on the Verdigris – Chapter 2
Chapter 3 – Fort Smith’s New Garrison
Chapter 4 – Little Gibraltar on the Arkansas
Chapter 5- Fort Smith in the Interim
The White Lightin’ War – Chapter Six
Chapter Seven – The Belle Point Phoeniz
Chapter Eight – The Citizens’ War at Fort Smith
Chapter Nine-Portals of Croesus
Chapter Ten-Mother Post for the Southwest
Fort Smith and the War of Rebellion a Confederate Post-Chapter Eleven
Fort Smith and the War of the Rebellion a union post- Chapter Twelve
Chapter Thirteen

Collection Inventory

Box 34-Chickasaw Materials

1866-1900 (4 Folders)

Box 35-Chickasaw Materials

1866-1900 (3 folders)
Chickasaw Bibliography

Box 36-Chickasaw Materials

Chapter Twelve
1866-1900

Box 37-Chickasaw Materials

1866-1900 (3 folders)

Box 38-Chickasaw Materials

Pre-Removal (4 folders)

Box 39-Chickasaw Materials

Pre-Removal
Removal (3 folders)

Box 40-Chickasaw Materials

1837-1861 (3 folders)

Box 41-Chickasaw Materials

Post – Removal
1866-1900
Civil War & Recon.

Box 42-Chickasaw Materials

Post 1865
Civil War & Reconstruction
1866 Treaties
1866-1900

Box 43-Chickasaw Materials

The Southern Indians in Oklahoma, 1808-1860, by Mabel Alcy Ranck, A.B. 1920
MA Thesis from University of California, 1926
1866-1900
Chickasaw Sources I.L.L.
PreRemoval (2 folders)
Chickasaw Bibliography Cards

Box 44-Chickasaw Materials

PreRemoval (4 folders)
Southeastern Cultures-A Comparative Study – Lyda. A. Paz (MA Thesis)
Indian Trade in the Old South (MA thesis)

Box 45-Chickasaw Materials

PreRemoval (3 folders, 1 tied bundle)

Box 46-Chickasaw Materials

PreRemoval (4 folders, 1 tied package)

Box 47-Chickasaw Materials

PreRemoval (5 folders)

Box 48-Chickasaw Materials

PreRemoval (4 folders)

Box 49-Chickasaw Materials

PreRemoval (3 folders)

Collection Inventory

Box 50-Chickasaw Manuscripts

Chapter 1 Pages 1 through 46
Chapter 2 Pages 47-thru 91
Chapter 3 Pages 92 thru 128
Chapter 4 Pages 129 thru 171
Chapter 5 Pages 172 thru 192
Chapter 6 Pages 193 thru 221
Chapter Seven
Chapter 8 Pages 249 thru 275

Box 51-Chickasaw Manuscripts

Chapter 9 Pages 276 thru 303
Chapter 10 Page 304 through 328
Chapter 11 Pages 329 through 361
Chapter 12 Pages 362 thru 396
Chapter 13
Chapter 13 Sources

Box 52

Civil War Centennial Clippings
Civil War Centennial – 1965
Civil War Centennial – 1961
Civil War Centennial- 1962
Civil War Centennial – 1963
Civil War Centennial – 1964
Oklahoma Civil War Centennial Commission

Box 53-Manuscripts for Articles

Chickasaw Ms.
- Sooner Magazine
Ranching on the Southern Plains
Prehistory in Oklahoma
Crowell-Collier Encyclopedia Article
Southern Hist. Assn. Paper
Columbia University Project

Box 54-Professional Files- University of Oklahoma

Ms. Conference – Austin, Texas Oct/64
Manuscripts Management Conference
Gen. Soc. Short Course
Historical Society Conference
Southwestern Library Association- Book Award
Cowboy Hall of Fame
Western. Hist. Meeting
Library Research Committee – Report
Museum Conference
Cowboy Hall of Fame Committee

Box 55-Professional Files

BLS
Athletic Council – 1962
Athletic Council – 1963
Athletic Council – 1964
Athletic Council – 1965
World’s Fair – New York
Faculty Research
University Senate

Box 56

Speech-A regional History Collection
Library Reports & Minutes
Medicine Show
Medicine Show Material
Medicine Show Article Correspondence
Medicine Show Material (2)

Box 57

TV Series – Program Outlines
Radio & TV – 1969
Colonial Dames Speech
Genealogical Society Speech
Div. of Ms. Speech
Heritage Speech
Speech Material (2 folders)
Speeches
Speech Manuscript

Box 58- Speech Manuscripts Television Manuscripts

Speech Material
Speech Manuscripts
Legacy of Pride Speech
OLA Speech – April 24, 1964
Manila envelope – Oklahoma Government Newspaper article
The Wild West
A Day in the Life of the Pioneer Woman (Sorosis Speech)
The Indian Heritage and the Western Culture
Commencement Address – University High School
Social Sciences Speech
TV Series Speech (summer, 1966)
Historic Trails TV Series
Wewoka Chief
Campfire Girls Conference – 1965
Writers Short Course Speech
TV Program
Speech on Modern Careers
Stillwater Speech

Box 59

Duke Foundation
O.U. Press Article- Journal of the West
Graduate Students Complaint Committee
TV Series-Scripts
- Southwestern Military Frontier- Taped Jan-Mar./68-17 shows
Original Ms. for America’s Frontier Heritage
Dust Bowl – Ency. Americana Article
Article for American Peoples Encyclopedia
Indian Territory Article – Grolier Ency.
Oklahoma Historical Society
- Board of Directors – 1968
Oklahoma Historical Society
- Board of Directors – 1969
Writers’ Conference Speech
Speech Ms. – Cleveland County Before 1889
Great Plains Proposal
Civil War Bibliography
BLS Seminar
BLS-Inter-area Seminar
- Summer, 1968

Collection Inventory

Box 60

Dr. Hollomon’s Committee
Human Relations Center
Museum Curator
Oral History
Committee A
Am. Ass. State and Local History
Consultant – Chickasaw Historical Society
Graduate Standards Committee – 1967-68
Graduate Standards Committee
GSC – Action File
Graduate Standards Committee – History Dept.

Box 61- Oklahoma Westerners 1962-69

Oklahoma Corral of Westerners 1962
Oklahoma Corral of Westerners 1963
Oklahoma Corral of Westerners 1964
Oklahoma Westerners – 1965
Oklahoma Westerners – 1966
Oklahoma Westerners – 1967
Oklahoma Westerners – 1968
Oklahoma Westerners – 1969

Box 62 Personal Papers

Personal Papers 1958 (2 folders)
Personal Papers, Newspaper Clippings, etc.
A preview to the 50^th Anniversary Phillipian
Card Case
Cards
Season ticket book for basketball

Box 63

Personal Papers – 1959
Personal Papers (3 folders)
Family photographs
Annual Progress Reports to North Central Association of College and Secondary Schools Committee on Liberal Arts Education, May, 1955 (Brown binder)

Box 64

Research Correspondence – Pre 1958
Research Correspondence 1957
Research Correspondence 1958
Research Correspondence 1959 (2 folders)
Research Correspondence 1960 (2 folders)
Research Correspondence 1961
Research Correspondence 1962

Box 65

Personal Correspondence Pre-1955
Personal Correspondence 1956
Personal Correspondence 1957 (2 folders)
Personal Correspondence January, 1958
Personal Correspondence February, 1958
Personal Correspondence March, 1958
Personal Correspondence April, 1958
Personal Correspondence May, 1958
Personal Correspondence June, 1958
Personal Correspondence July, 1958
Personal Correspondence August, 1958
Personal Correspondence September, 1958
Personal Correspondence October, 1958
Personal Correspondence November, 1958
Personal Correspondence December, 1958

Box 66

Personal Correspondence, January 1959
Personal Correspondence, February 1959
Personal Correspondence, March 1959
Personal Correspondence, April 1959
Personal Correspondence, May 1959

Box 67

Personal Correspondence 1959 (4 folders)

Box 68

Personal Correspondence 1960
Personal Correspondence 1961
Personal Correspondence 1962
Personal Correspondence 1963
Personal Correspondence 1964

Box 69

Personal Correspondence (3 folders) 1965-66

Box 70

Personal Correspondence 1968 (2 folders)
Personal Correspondence 1967

Box 71

Personal Correspondence 1969-70 (2 folders)

Collection Inventory

Box 72

Fort Smith Manuscripts-Press copy

Box 73 Chickasaw book-Rough Draft

Chickasaws
Chapter One
Chapter Two
Chapter Three

Box 74 Chickasaw book- Rough draft

Chapter Four
Chapter Five
Chapter Six
Chapter Seven
Chapter Eight

Box 75 Chickasaw book – Rough draft

Chapter Nine
Chapter Ten
Chapter Eleven
Chapter Twelve
Chapter Thirteen

Box 76

Personal Correspondence 1982

Box 77

Personal Correspondence 1982

Box 78

O.H.S. – (Okla. Hist. Society) 1982
O.H.A. – (Okla. Heritage Assoc.) 1982
Diamond Jubilee Speakers Bureau 1982
Presidential Search Comm. 1982

Box 79

S.H.A. Program 1982
Faculty Senate 1980-82
Distinguished Senice Citation 1982
(Nomination Letters Enclosed) 1978

Box 80

Stoval Museum 1980-82
Personal Clippings 1971-81

Box Minor 80-A

Notes

Box 81

Literary Galleys Page Proof

Box 82

Pacific Basin Material

Box 83

Pacific Basin 2

Box 84

Personal Correspondence 1983-85

Box 85

Sante Fe- Taos Materials

Box 86

Assorted-Mining, Hawaii, Sabbatical

Collection Inventory

Box 87

Personal Correspondence and Papers 1983-84

Box 88

Literacy Manuscripts
Wilderness Bonanza
Labor History
Tri State Area

Box 89

Literary Ms.

Box 90

Oklahoma Data File

Box 91

Royal Kipling Materials

Box 92

Fort Smith Book (Second Society Materials)
The Oklahoma Story (Revised Ms. – Edited Ms.)
Oklahoma Historical Society
Oklahoma Heritage Asan
Santa Fe Taos Materials

Box 93

Advisory Council Museum of the Great Plains
Library Reports and Minutes
A.H.A.- Eval Committee
W.H.A. – Program Papers 1974
Literary Manuscripts Introduction (Frys Overland Guide)
Educational Film Strip (Scripts Oklahoma)
Choctaw Nation (Sooner Magazine)
O.L.A. Article

Box 94

Oklahoma Politics 1964-70

Box 95

Santa Fe Taos

Box 96

Graduate Faculty
Sabbatical Leave
President’s Office
Curator of History
Stovall Museum
Stovall Museum Planning Committee
General Faculty
University Senate
Oklahoma Westerness
Oklahoma Historical Society-Board of Directors
College of Liberal Studies
T.S.H.A. 1972
Council on Instruction
A.A.U.P.
Frick Case
Phi Alpha Theta

Box 97

American Indian; Prehistory to the Present (Illustration Materials)
Photos

Box 98

Oklahoma File 1800-1940
Oklahoma Politics 1889-1964
Oklahoma Politics 1966
Oklahoma Historical Society 1973
Oklahoma Historical Society 1974

Box 99

Indians

Box 100

Museum Curriculum
Personal Correspondence 1974-76

Box 101

Museum Curriculum
Chinese position Search Committee
O.V. Press Director Search Committee 1981
All Stars University Speech
Personal Correspondence 1981
Personal Correspondence 2 1981
Blue Cord
Book Reviews
Personal Correspondence 3 1981
Oklahoma Heritage Assn 1981
Personal Correspondence 4 1981
O.H.S. (Oklahoma Historical Review) 1981
Scholar Leadership Seminar N. Scoff Momaday
Honolulu Program 1978
Council on Faculty Awards and Honors
Chickasaw Nation Project

Collection Inventory

Box 102

Personal Clippings
Southwestern Library Assn Grant Papers 1975
Native American Research Center Proposal
Distinguished Service Awards Committee Papers
Southern Historical Assn Program Committee Papers 1977
Organization of American Histories Program Committee Papers 1977
University of New Mexico Appointment 1975
Arizona State University Appointment 1973
A.A.S.L.A. Award Wilderness Bonanza
Arizona and the West
Editorial Board
Oklahoma Board of Geographic Names
University of Wisconsin – Milwaukee Evaluation 1977
University of Southern Mississippi Evaluation 1975
W.H.A. Program Materials 1978
Oklahoma Historical Society Proceedings
A.S.U. Speech
Oklahoma Heritage Association

Box 103

Oklahoma and Southwest Materials

Box 104

Personal Correspondence 1984
Professional Files
Personal Correspondence 2
Speech Ms.

Box 105

American Indian: Prehistory to the Present
Final Ms. Copy
Personal Correspondence

Box 106

Literary Ms.

Box 107

Literary Ms.

Box 108

Indian Materials
Miscellaneous Files

Box 109

Personal Correspondence 1978
O.H.S. 1979
Personal Correspondence 1979-80

Box 110

Cherokee Nation Papers
Stand Watie
Personal Correspondence 1977
Faculty Senate
Stonal Museum
A.A.U.P.

Box 111

Literary Ms.

Box 112

The Gibson Papers on Santa Fe
SF-T Photos (Indians)
Gibson Illustrations
Various Photos of Indians, Old Timers, and Letters from and to Gibson

Box 113

Misc. Class materials and manuscripts

Box 114

Taxes, bills, newspaper clippings, class dissertations

Box 115

Exams, manuscripts, outlines, copies of class materials