Skip to main content

Woman's Christian Temperance Union of Illinois: Home

Special Collections, SC#102, The meeting minutes, with the names of members and meeting notes, of the Nokomis Illinois Woman’s Christian Temperance Union from 1905-1962; records of the annual convention of the Montgomery County WCTU, 1945-1978.

Collection Information

Collection Number: SC#102

Title: 
Woman's Christian Temperance Union of Illinois Collection

Dates: 
1904-1987


Collection Size: 
2 Boxes

Biographical History

The Nokomis, Illinois Woman’s Christian Temperance Union (WCTU) was founded in 1879 and would continue meeting until the Nokomis local union was dissolved in mid-1962. Remaining members of the Nokomis local union joined the Montgomery County Woman’s Christian Temperance Union of Hillsboro, Illinois, which was the regional chapter of the organization.

Local union occurred around once a month. These meetings consisted of discussions of various topics, including temperance issues. These discussions usually included the reading of newspaper clippings about the subject. Meetings also included prayers, scripture readings and the singing on hymns. Once a year, members would meet in the local cemetery to decorate graves and remember those who had passed.

Woman’s Christian Temperance Union members had to pledge to ‘solemnly promise, God helping me, to abstain from all distilled, fermented, and malt liquors, including beer, wine, and cider, and to employ all proper means to discourage the use and traffic in the same.’ While promoting temperance was the WCTU’s titled purpose, the organization was also involved in social welfare issues, such as promoting child labor laws, prison reform and women’s suffrage. The WCTU worked closely with the Red Cross and promoted peace and arbitration, and Christian education.

Scope and Content

The meeting minutes, with the names of members and meeting notes, of the Nokomis Illinois Woman’s Christian Temperance Union from 1905-1962; records of the annual convention of the Montgomery County WCTU, 1945-1978; pamphlets and papers with information about the regional and national WCTU; and scrap books with newspaper clipping and photographs.

Creator(s)

Nokomis, Illinois Woman’s Christian Temperance Union

Montgomery County Woman’s Christian Temperance Union

Woman’s Christian Temperance Union

Acquisition Information

Donated by Linda Gardner in 1987.

WCTU Exhibit Link

 

WCTU Exhibit Link

On August 26, 2020, in honor National Women's Equality Day and the 100th anniversary of the 19th Amendment, an exhibit was created for the Woman's Christian Temperance Union of Illinois. View the exhibit at the link below!

Preview the Collection

WCTU Hillsboro Scrap Book Cover

WCTU 1962 Old Settlers' Day Festivities

Preview the Collection

"We Believe You Can" Flyer

"We Believe You Can" Flyer

"We Believe You Can" Flyer

Collection Inventory

Box 1

Loose in Box

  • 1904 – 1913 – Meeting notebook with names of members and meeting topics and discussion
  • 1914-1925 – Meeting notebook with names of members and meeting topics and discussion
  • 1926-1932 – Meeting notebook with names of members and meeting topics and discussion
  • 1938-1951 – Meeting notebook with names of members and meeting topics and discussion
  • 1945 – 1947 – Hillsboro, Illinois Secretary’s Book for Women’s Christian Temperance Union - Meeting notebook with names of members and meeting topics and discussion
  • 1954-1962 – Meeting notebook with names of members and meeting topics and discussion
  • Nov. 1961- Jan. 1962 – Notes about expenditures, receipts, disbursements in a spiral notebook

Folder 1

  • Undated – “West Cottage” postcard
  • Undated – “Headquarters National Woman’s Christian Temperance Union” postcard
  • Undated – “Year Round Procedures: For ‘Grass-Roots’ Legislation” pamphlet
  • Undated – “Lincoln’s Appeal for Law” pamphlet
  • Undated – “Teaching in the Church School” pamphlet
  • Undated – “The Hour of Social Freedom: The Right to Refuse Alcoholic Beverages” pamphlet (2 copies)
  • Undated – “A Christian Citizen and The Drink Problem” pamphlet
  • Undated – “As the Strength of Ten: Temperance Education in Church Schools” pamphlet
  • Undated – “How to Write a Letter to the Editor” pamphlet
  • Undated – “Manual  - Youth Temperance Council” manual
  • Undated – “Your Letter to Congress” pamphlet
  • Undated – “Recipes for ‘The Hour of Social Freedom’” booklet
  • Undated – “Marijuana vs Alcohol” pamphlet
  • Undated – “White Ribbon Recruits” card
  • Undated – “History of Three Flags: Salutes and How to Make Card Flags” pamphlet (2 copies)
  • Undated – “Voices in the Forest” pamphlet
  • Undated – “Illinois Woman’s Christian Temperance Union – County Treasurer” paper
  • Undated – “We Believe You Can” pamphlet
  • Undated – “The Fight Against Filth” papers
  • Undated – “All Around the World” pamphlet
  • Undated – “The International Peace Garden” pamphlet
  • Undated – “An Unfinished World” pamphlet
  • Undated – “With Your Child” pamphlet
  • Undated – “National WCTU Handbook” booklet
  • Undated – “The Women’s Crusade: Forerunner of the WCTU” booklet
  • Undated – “What is the WCTU Doing Today?” pamphlet
  • Undated – “The Challenge of Parenthood” pamphlet
  • Undated – “An Early Decision Charted a Course” pamphlet
  • Undated – “Youth Truly Can” pamphlet
  • Undated – “Prohibition: ‘The Way It Was’” flyer
  • Undated – “Executive Directors: Loyal Temperance Union” paper
  • Undated – “Famous Women by Frances E. Willard” photocopy
  • Sept. 25-30, 1952 – “Seventy-Eighth Annual Meeting: National Women’s Christian Temperance Union, St. Louis, Missouri” pamphlet
  • Sept. 28, 1952 – “Building for Total Abstinence” newspaper clipping ad
  • Feb. 8, 1964 – “The Union Signal: A journal of Social Welfare” booklet
  • 1974 – “Women’s Christian Temperance Union” handbook
  • Aug. 21-25, 1986 – “Resolutions: National Woman’s Christian Temperance Union, Knoxville, TN” papers (2 pages)
  • 1986-1987 – “Signal Press 1986-1987 Catalog” booklet
  • 1987 – “Project Methods Department” worksheet
  • 1987 – “Legislation/Citizenship Department” worksheet (2 copies)
  • 1987 – “Christian Outreach Department” worksheet (2 copies)
  • 1987 – “Home Protection Department” worksheet
  • 1987 – “Public Relations Department” worksheet (2 copies)
  • 1987 – “Education Department” worksheet (2 copies)
  • 1987 – “Social Service Department” worksheet
  • April 19-25, 1987 – “The Union Signal: A Journal of Social Welfare for God and Home and every Land” booklet

Folder 2

  • Undated – “With Your Child” pamphlet (2 copies)
  • Undated – “Our White Ribbon Recruits” pamphlet
  • Undated – “What is the LTL?” pamphlet
  • Undated – “It’s Nobody’s Business” pamphlet
  • Undated – “It is some of My Business” pamphlet
  • Undated – “Alcohol’s a Poor Substitute for Real Fun” pamphlet
  • Undated – “When you drink, your unborn baby does too!” pamphlet
  • Undated – “Total Abstinence Motivates The Christian Family” pamphlet
  • Undated – “Gateways to Peace” pamphlet
  • Undated – “What Mothers Should Know About Alcohol” pamphlet
  • Undated – “VD in the Armed Forces” pamphlet
  • Undated – “What’s The Difference?” pamphlet
  • Undated – “Give Youth the Right Picture” pamphlet
  • Undated – “All Around the World” pamphlet
  • Undated – “What everyone should know about the Constitution of the United States of America: A Scriptographic Presentation” booklet
  • Undated – “The Bible and the Use of the Word ‘Wine’” pamphlet
  • Undated – “Membership Pledge” card
  • Undated – “A Line or Two about the WCTU” pamphlet
  • Undated – “The Voice of Song” book
  • Undated – “The Case Against Legalized Gambling” pamphlet
  • Undated – “The Weaver” paper
  • Undated – “Sippingly Delicious!!!” pamphlet
  • Undated – “What Is The WCTU?” pamphlet
  • Undated – “Because You Prayed…” pamphlet
  • Undated – “A Special Invitation” pamphlet
  • Undated – “White Ribbon Recruits Birthday Greeting” postcard
  • Undated – “Woman’s Christian Temperance Union Pledge” card
  • Undated – “Want to Hear About the LJL?” pamphlet
  • Undated – “Elections are for the Birds!” paper
  • 1960-1962 – “National WCTU: Department of Child Welfare” papers
  • 1963 – “I Wish My Mommy Didn’t Smoke” pamphlet
  • May 1972 – “V. 98 No. 5: The Union Signal: Alcohol Education Issue” magazine
  • 1977-1978 – “Program Manual Unlimited Resources” pamphlet
  • July 6-11 & Aug. 3-8, 1981 – “Summer Seminars” pamphlet
  • Aug. 1984 – “Who Says ‘The Social Drinker Isn’t Dangerous?” pamphlet
  • Oct. 16-18, 1984 – “Yearbook: Woman’s Christian Temperance Union of the State of Illinois: 110th Convention” booklet
  • Feb. 1986 – “Frances E. Willard”
  • July 1986 – “The Young Crusader” booklet
  • 1987 – “National Essay Contest Rules and Awards” pamphlet

Collection Inventory

Box 2

Folders

Folder 1

  • 1949 – “Annual Report for 1949: Standard Oil Company (Indiana)” booklet

Folder 2

  • Undated - “Drive in France to Curb Alcoholism of Children” newspaper clipping
  • Undated - “WCTU Sends Gift to Indian School” newspaper clipping
  • Undated - “First President of W.C.T.U.” newspaper clipping
  • Undated - “Christian Temperance Union Workshop” newspaper clipping
  • Undated - “Butler Church Class Enjoys Travelogue Of Trip To Kuwait” newspaper clipping
  • Undated - “Hillsboro W.C.T.U. Has Meeting At Methodist Church” newspaper clipping
  • Undated - “WCTU Holds County Meeting at Fillmore” newspaper clipping
  • Undated - “W.C.T.U. Institute Held at Hillsboro” newspaper clipping
  • Undated – “Hillsboro W.C.T.U. Entertains Officers” newspaper clipping
  • Undated – “Mondin’s Tavern” newspaper clipping
  • Undated – “Christian Temperance Union In Meeting” newspaper clipping
  • Undated – “Mrs. Etta Blades Suffers Seizure” newspaper clipping
  • Undated – “Noontide Prayer” newspaper clipping
  • Undated – “Hillsboro W.C.T.U. Has Interesting Meeting” newspaper clipping
  • Sept. 24, 1940 – “Many At W.C.T.U. Meeting Tuesday” newspaper clipping
  • Oct. 1, 1940 – “New Officers Elected For Hillsboro WCTU” newspaper clipping
  • Oct. 31, 1940 – “W.C.T. U. Rally Held Here Friday” newspaper clipping
  • Nov. 7, 1940 – “W.C.T.U. Meeting” newspaper clipping
  • April 18, 1941 – “W.C.T.U. Institute Held at Hillsboro” newspaper clipping
  • July 10, 1950 – “W.C.T.U. Enjoys Luncheon Meeting” newspaper clipping
  • 1951 – “W.C.T.U. Denounces Toys that ‘Glorify’ Gambling, Gangster” newspaper clipping
  • Sept. 24, 1951 – “Dr. Holtwick Speaks At W.C.T.U. Meeting” newspaper clipping
  • 1953 – “Announce Winners in Teperance Poster Contest” newspaper clipping
  • 1955 – “Mrs. D.L. Colvin, Former W.C.T.U. Head, Falls Dead” newspaper clipping
  • Oct. 29, 1955 - “Hillsboro W.C.T.U. Entertains Officers Of County Union” newspaper clipping
  • Sept. 1957 – “W.C.T.U. Meeting” newspaper clipping

Folder 3

  • Undated - Handwritten note about Francis Willard
  • Undated – “Light Across the Valley” paper
  • Undated – “The Drinker Is a Sissy” paper
  • Undated – “Ten Counts Against The Cigarette” paper
  • Undated – “Walking Up the King’s Highway” paper
  • Undated – “National WCTU: Department of Flower Mission and Relief” pamphlet
  • Undated – Daniel A. Poling Newsletter
  • Undated – “Illinois White Ribboner” newletter
  • Undated – “Friendship Ceremony” newsletter
  • Oct. 12-14, 1955 – “Illinois WCTU” booklet
  • 1962 – Billy Graham Newsletter
  • Oct. 2, 1963 – “Report” paper

Loose in Box - WCTU Hillsboro Scrapbook (Creme Cover)

(Loose) Undated – “Cocktail Hour a Curse, Says 77 Year-Old Foe of Alcohol” newspaper clipping

(Loose) Undated – “Illinois WCTU State Headquarters” picture

(Loose) Oct. 17, 1953 – “Vol. 79 No. 37: The Union Signal” magazine

(Loose) Feb. 11, 1967 – “Vol. 93 No. 3: The Union Signal: A Journal of Social Welfare” magazine

Page 1

  •  Photograph of Frances E. Willard

Page 2

  • George Washington photograph newspaper clipping
  • Quote from George Washington

Page 3

  • “On Heights of Power: Memorial Hymn of the White Ribboners” pamphlet

Pages 4-7

  • “How We are Making America Dry Again” article

Page 8

  • “Taxes paid on drinks” newspaper clipping
  • “What Did These Great Men Think?” newspaper clipping
  • “Alcohol and Nervous System” newspaper clipping
  • “Frances Willard Said:” newspaper clipping

Page 9

  • “The Bar” poem
  • “The Washington Merry-Go-Round” newspaper clipping
  • “Youth’s Highway” newspaper clipping

Page 10

  • “Organization Working in the 1890’s” newspaper clipping
  • “Born 30 years too soon” comic newspaper clipping

Page 11

  • (Loose) “Why I Dislike the Use of Tabacco” newspaper clipping
  • “Beer and Ale Ads Are Banned By South Bend Tribune, WSBT” newspaper clipping
  • “A Soldier Salutes The WCTU” newspaper clipping
  • “John Barleycorn Harms Three Important Bones” clipping

Page 12

  • “The Business World Demands the Best That’s In You!” pledge ad newspaper clipping
  • “United Nations Lounge and Bar” newspaper clipping

Page 13

  • (Loose) “Be A Key Club Member” flyer
  • (Loose) “A Journal of Better Living: Listen” magazine
  • Jan. 30, 1947 – “The Editor’s Private Corner” newspaper clipping
  • “Ethel Hubler Speaks” newspaper clipping
  • “Don’t Give Up” newspaper clipping

Page 14

  • “Illinois White Ribboner: It’s hard to Believe” comic newspaper clipping

Page 15

  • Aug. 30, 1947 – “The Early Crusades” Newspaper clipping
  • “Smokers Consume 327 Billion Cigarettes” newspaper clipping
  • “An Alcoholic’s Death” newspaper clipping
  • “The Hungry Ones” newspaper clipping

Page 16

  • July 22, 1950 – “The Union Signal: Youth Temperance Council” magazine article

Page 17

  • “The Union Signal: A Journal of Social Welfare” newspaper clipping

Page 18

  • “Three Victories” newspaper clipping

Page 19

  • “Fillmore WCTU Annual May Breakfast” newspaper clipping
  • “Hillsboro WCTU Meets at the Rogers Home” newspaper clipping
  • “Serpents in the Glass” clipping

Page 20

  • Oct. 18-21, 1949 – “75th Annual Convention Illinois Woman’s Christian Temperance Union” booklet
  • “WCTU State Convention” newspaper clipping
  • “Hotel LaFayette” postcard

Page 21

  • “God Bless America” lyrics
  • Oct. 7-11, 1948 – “74th Annual Convention Illinois Woman’s Christian Temperance Union” booklet

Page 22

  • “Mrs. A.V. Smith, Waukegan, Director of Soldiers and Sailors Work for Illinois WCTU and group of boys at USO Center in Waukegan, at Sunday Tea” newspaper photograph clipping
  • Aug. 25, 1949 – “Old Settlers Day” photograph
  • Aug. 25, 1949 – “Old Settlers Day” photograph

Page 23

  • “Who Is to Drink It” clipping
  • “Man Behind the Gun” clipping
  • “A Great Soldier Says” clipping
  • “Lincoln’s Challenge to You” clipping
  • “If You Were Busy” clipping
  • “Liquor Gets Ship’s Space Rather Than Food” clipping
  • “You are writing a Gospel” clipping

Page 24

  • “State Convention in Aurora” newspaper photograph clipping
  • “State W.C.T.U. Delegates Hold Banquet” newspaper clipping
  • 1946 - “List Montgomery W.C.T.U. Officers” newspaper clipping

Page 25

  • “W.C.T.U. of Three Counties in Institute” newspaper photograph clipping
  • “Women’s Christian Union Entertains County Members” newspaper clipping
  • “Hillsboro W.C.T.U. Has Dinner And Program At Church” newspaper clipping

Page 26

  • “County W.C.T.U. Convention At Nokomis Elects” newspaper clipping
  • Sept. 23, 1949 – “Montgomery County WCTU Annual Convention” program

Page 27

  • “New York Group Urges Alcoholics’ Treatment” newspaper clipping
  • “Maryland Plans Ban on Drunken Motormen” newspaper clipping
  • “Just Thinking” newspaper clipping
  • “Drinking Alcohol” newspaper clipping
  • “The Bar” newspaper clipping
  • “A Request” newspaper clipping
  • “More Light Demanded In Cocktail Parlors” newspaper clipping
  • Feb. 24, 1947 – “World Day of Prayer Observed at Hillsboro” newspaper clipping
  • April 21, 1947 – “Dr. Thorp” newspaper clipping
  • June 2, 1947 – “WCTU Tea” newspaper clipping

Page 28

  • “WCTU Fruitful Union Certificate” certificate
  • April 17, 1947 – “Awards Made for Temperance Posters” newspaper clipping
  • “WCTU Public Meeting Set for Next Tuesday” newspaper clipping
  • “Today” newspaper clipping

Page 29

  • March 10, 1947 – “Funeral of Mrs. M. Case at Hillsboro” newspaper clipping

Page 30

  • April 29, 1948 – “Sixty Participate in WCTU Poster Contest” newspaper clipping
  • June 14, 1948 – “Women’s Christian Union Has Meeting at Church Here” newspaper clipping

Page 31

  • April 2, 1948 – “WCTU” schedule

Page 32

  • Aug. 26, 1948 – “Old Settlers’ Parade Draws Large Crowd” newspaper clipping
  • Sept. 13, 1948 – “County W.C.T.U. Convention To Be At Waggoner” newspaper clipping
  • Sept. 20, 1948 – “WCTU Convention At Waggoner Is Attended By Many” newspaper clipping

Page 33

  • “Dr. Holtwick Speaks at WCTU Meeting” newspaper clipping
  • Sept. 30, 1948 – “Hillsboro WCTU Department Officers” newspaper clipping
  • 1951 – “Christian Temperance Union In Meeting” newspaper clipping

Page 34

  • “Litchfield Couple Married 50 Years” newspaper clipping

Page 35

  • “Mr. and Mrs. H.F. Henrichs in Anniversary” newspaper clipping

Page 36

  • “County WCTU In Convention At Litchfield” newspaper clipping
  • Sept. 29, 1950 – “WCTU Annual Convention” program
  • Oct. 2, 1950 – “County WCTU In Convention at Litchfield” newspaper clipping

Page 37

  • “WCTU Opens New Year’s Work” newspaper clipping
  • Oct. 23-26, 1951 – “77th Annual Convention” program
  • Oct. 23-26, 1951 – “77th Annual Convention” ribbon

Page 38

  • Feb. 2, 1952 – “Hillsboro, Illinois, Winners in Annual Poster Contest” newspaper photograph clipping

Page 39

  • 1953 – “Temperance Union Entry Ties for Third Place” newspaper photograph clipping
  • 1953 – “Federated Bible Class Float Ties for Third Place” newspaper photograph clipping

Page 40

  • “Presents Awards in WCTU Poster Contest at Junior High School” newspaper clipping

Page 41

  • (Loose) “Be 1 in a Million” advertisement letter
  • “County WCTU Reelects at Annual Meet” newspaper clipping
  • Sept. 28, 1953 – “WCTU Annual Convention” newspaper clipping

Page 42

  • Oct. 20-22, 1953 – “79th Annual Convention WCTU of Illinois” program

Page 43

  • “State WCTU Convention Held” newspaper clipping
  • “Did you Ever Try?” newspaper clipping
  • “Worldly-wise” clipping
  • Oct. 20-23, 1953 – “Delegate 79th Annual Convention Illinois WCTU” ribbon

Page 44

  • “Six Little White Ribbon Recruits” newspaper photograph clipping
  • “White Ribbon Recruits Front Page News” newspaper clipping
  • “Prayer Of A Tired Person” newspaper clipping
  • “The Soul’s Reach” newspaper clipping

Page 45

  • “Give Text of President Eisenhower’s Inaugural Prayer” clipping
  • “Which Side?” clipping
  • “Just Suppose” clipping
  • “General Washington’s Precautions Against Frequenting Tippling Houses” clipping
  • “Learned How It Was Done” clipping

Page 46

  • “A Prayer For Peace” newspaper clipping
  • “The Flag” newspaper clipping

Page 47

  • “Keeper of the Gate” clipping
  • “Not for Sale” clipping
  • “Modern Carrie Nation Uses Axe to Smash Stills” clipping
  • “Lincoln Lost a Whetstone” clipping
  • “Shall Christians Worry?” clipping
  • March 3, 1953 – “’I Buy Dry’ Movement Spreads Rapidly!” clipping

Page 48

  • “Take Me with You” newspaper clipping
  • “Paid in Full” newspaper clipping
  • “Proof” newspaper clipping
  • “Quest” newspaper clipping

Page 49

  • “A Teacher’s Prayer” newspaper clipping
  • “The Chapel of My Heart” newspaper clipping

Page 50

  • “That Eternal Cry” newspaper clipping
  • “Cigarettes Kill” newspaper clipping
  • “Problem Child” newspaper clipping
  • “Remember the Place” newspaper clipping

Page 51

  • “His Guiding Hand” newspaper clipping
  • “It is no secret” newspaper clipping
  • “Just Imagine” newspaper clipping

Page 52

  • “Abraham Lincoln’s Creed” newspaper clipping
  • “Good Idea!” newspaper clipping
  • “Foolish Boy!” newspaper clipping

Page 53

  • “President Eisenhower’s Poisoned Knee” newspaper clipping
  • “What are your totals?” newspaper clipping
  • “Maintaining the Spiritual Glow” newspaper clipping
  • “He Asked No Questions” newspaper clipping

Page 54

  • “Big Dividends” newspaper clipping
  • “Too Much Pay” newspaper clipping
  • “A Wise Reply” newspaper clipping
  • Sept. 29, 1953 – “I Am Alcohol” newspaper clipping

Loose in Box - WCTU Scrapbook (Red Cover)

Page 1

  • 1942 - “Hillsboro” Photograph and Ribbon

Page 2

  • (Loose) “The Seventy-fifth Anniversary of WCTU” newspaper clipping
  • April 1943 – “Illinois Watch Tower: Official Organ of the WCTU” clipping
  • “Salute to the WCTU” newspaper clipping

Page 3

  • Feb. 20, 1943 – “The Chicago Daily News” newspaper clipping

Page 4

  • Oct. 2, 1942 – “WCTU Annual Convention” program

Page 5

  • “Rationing” newspaper clipping

Page 6

  • July 22, 1943 – “The Flag of the United States: How to display and respect it” pamphlet

Page 7

  • (Loose) 1940-1941 – “Rules for WCTU Scrapbooks” paper
  • “Things You Should Know: Why Is Liquor Immune?” newspaper clipping

Page 8

  • Dec. 3, 1942 – “St. Louis Daily Globe: Which Way, Conquering Hero?” newspaper comic clipping
  • “Drys Won’t Quit” newspaper clipping

Page 9

  • “Reveal Reason for Liquor-Soaked Fiction” newspaper clipping
  • Dec. 5, 1941 – “St. Louis Daily Globe – Democrat: Puts Liquor Cost at Over 23 Billions” newspaper clipping
  • Sept. 30, 1942 – “Wartime Prohibition Urged by Drys Here” newspaper clipping
  • Oct. 10, 1942 – “St Louis Daily Globe – Democrat: A People Can Perish” newspaper clipping
  • Feb. 6, 1943 – “St. Louis Daily Globe – Democrat: To Drink or Not” newspaper clipping

Page 10

  • “It’s Hard to Believe” newspaper comic clipping
  • “Alcoholic Beverage Figures – Calendar Years 1942 and 1941” newspaper clipping
  • “3.2% Beer” newspaper clipping

Page 11

  • “We Don’t Mind” clipping
  • “We Will Do all These Things…and more!” clipping

Page 12

  • “Department of Evangelism: Keeping Abreast of the Times with Our Children” newspaper clipping

Page 13

  • Feb. 20, 1943 – “The Chicago Daily News: Is Prohibition Coming Back?” newspaper clipping

Page 14

  • “All out or half out?” article clipping

Page 15

  • (Loose) “Happy the Home” clipping
  • 1943 – “WCTU Meets at Methodist Church” newspaper clipping
  • March 1943 – “WCTU Officers, Committees, Named” newspaper clipping
  • April 1943 – “WCTU Institute Here Next Friday” newspaper clipping
  • April 8, 1943 – “Announce Winners in WCTU Poster Work” newspaper clipping
  • Fall 1943 – “WCTU Has 32 New Members” newspaper clipping

Page 16

  • Unlabeled Photograph

Page 17

  • Sept. 26, 1941 – “WCTU Annual Convention” program
  • Sept. 26, 1941 – “WCTU Raymond” tag with ribbon
  • “Hillsboro Journal: Mrs. Henrichs Again Heads County WCTU: Annual Convention Held at Raymond” newspaper clipping

Page 18

  • “What the World Needs Is Jesus” copy of Hymn

Page 19

  • Oct. 7, 1941 – “Four New Members” newspaper clipping
  • Oct. 9, 1941 – “Hillsboro Journal: Hillsboro WCTU Meets at Church” newspaper clipping
  • Oct. 16, 1941 – “Hillsboro Journal: Liquor Commission Moves Against Gambling” newspaper clipping
  • Oct. 20, 1941 – “Takes Position: Arthur Luddeke of Butler Appointed as Special Liquor Agent” newspaper clipping

Page 20

  • “Kansas Drinkers” newspaper clipping
  • Oct. 2, 1941 – “Hillsboro Journal: WCTU Executive Committee Meets” newspaper clipping
  • Nov. 10, 1941 – “County Rally for WCTU Held Here: Outline Program of Work For Coming Year” newspaper clipping
  • Jan. 5, 1942 – “WCTU Meeting” newspaper clipping
  • Feb. 2, 1942 – “WCTU Meeting” newspaper clipping

Page 21

  • “Ohio River” postcard from WCTU President Orrie Hancock
  • April 6, 1942 – “Hillsboro, Illinois: WCTU meeting” newspaper clipping
  • April 23, 1942 – “Hillsboro, Illinois: Elaine Rogers Wins Medal” newspaper clipping
  • April 27, 1942 – “Hillsboro, Illinois: County WCTU in Rally Here” newspaper clipping

Page 22

  • “WCTU Speaker” newspaper clipping
  • “Pleads Guilty in Slot Machine Indictments” newspaper clipping
  • “Another Life Gone With the Wind” newspaper clipping
  • April 27, 1942 – “Spring Institute of WCTU Held Friday” newspaper clipping
  • May 4, 1942 – “Hillsboro, Illinois: WCTU Meeting” newspaper clipping
  • May 21, 1942 – “Hillsboro, Illinois: WCTU Inspects Temperance Posters” newspaper clipping
  • June 11, 1942 – “Hillsboro, Illinois: Orrie Hancock left hospital” newspaper clipping
  • July 23, 1942 – “Hillsboro, Illinois: Sent to State Farm” newspaper clipping

Page 23

  • Feb. 2, 1942 – “Hillsboro, Illinois: Idle Hour Club Opens With Large Crowd” newspaper clipping
  • Sept. 10, 1942 – “Hillsboro, Illinois: WCTU Meeting” newspaper clipping
  • Dec. 14, 1942 – “Kroger Store” newspaper clipping
  • 1943 – “WCTU in Meeting” newspaper clipping

Page 24

  • Sept. 28, 1942 – “Hillsboro, Illinois, Women’s Christian Temperance Union in County Meeting” newspaper clipping
  • 1943 – “Mayor LaGuardia Says New York Has Too Many Saloons” newspaper clipping
  • May 3, 1943 – “County WCTU Spring Institute Here: State Vice-President Is Speaker at Meeting” newspaper clipping

Page 25

  • (Loose) “Vigilance – Education – Justice – Freedom” newspaper clipping
  • (Loose) “Liquor tax” newspaper clipping
  • (Loose) “Hillsboro WCTU Now Has 100 Members” newspaper clipping
  • (Loose) “Women Now Number Fifty Per Cent of Chicago’s Drunkards” newspaper clipping
  • (Loose) “Peace” newspaper clipping
  • (Loose) “Corrigan Files As Candidate for City Councilman” newspaper clipping
  • (Loose) “What the Drys Will Do Next” newspaper clipping
  • (Loose) “Lost Behind the Ranges” newspaper clipping
  • 1943 – “Canada Bans Wartime Liquor Advertising” newspaper clipping
  • Oct. 18, 1943 – “County WCTU Has Rally Speaker Here” newspaper clipping
  • Sept. 22, 1944 – (Loose) “County WCTU has Election of Officers” newspaper clipping
  • 1945 – (Loose) “G.O.P. Sheriff In Kane Stages Raids” newspaper clipping
  • 1945 – (Loose) “WCTU Meeting” newspaper clipping
  • 1945 – (Loose) “1945 Liquor Ad Cost Is Reported Same as for 1944” newspaper clipping
  • Feb. 3, 1945 – “’Pussyfoot’ Johnson, International Campaigner for Prohibition, Dies” newspaper clipping
  • Oct. 1945 – (Loose) “30 Per Cent in New Members” newspaper clipping
  • 1946 – (Loose) “County Convention WCTU To Be Held Here Friday” newspaper clipping
  • 1946 – (Loose) “Wants Unrepealed Blue Law Enforced” newspaper clipping
  • 1946 – (Loose) “Hillsboro WCTU” newspaper clipping
  • 1946 – (Loose) “House Group Approves Continuation of War Tax Rate on Liquor” newspaper clipping
  • 1946 – (Loose) “Order Gambling Cleanup At Benld” newspaper clipping
  • 1946 – (Loose) “Plan Action” newspaper clipping
  • Oct. 1946 - (Loose) “WCTU In Convention” newspaper clipping
  • Dec. 12, 1946 – (Loose) “Urges Movies To Eliminate Drinking Scenes” newspaper clipping
  • Jan. 31, 1947 – (Loose) “Illinois State Journal: Methodists Urge Abstinence Pledge” newspaper clipping

Page 26

  • “Temperance” article clipping

Page 27

  • “Refrain” newspaper clipping
  • “Business” newspaper clipping
  • “Temperance” newspaper clipping

Page 28

  • “The Tavern That Became a Church” newspaper clipping
  • “The Price We Pay…” newspaper clipping

Page 29

  • “Milk VS. Beer” newspaper clipping
  • “Local Option” newspaper clipping
  • “Ambulance Fund” newspaper clipping
  • “Illinois Watch Tower: To Uncle Sam’s Boy” newspaper clipping

Page 30

  • April 5, 1942 – “Fort Wood Soldiers’ Mecca: War City of 5000 Once Had 468” newspaper clipping

Page 31

  • “Tavern Talk” newspaper photograph clipping
  • “Borden’s HEMO” newspaper comic clipping

Page 32

  • “50 Doctors in Search for Cause and Cure of Chronic Drunk” newspaper clipping
  • “Beware! WCTU Gives New Year Trip” newspaper clipping” newspaper clipping
  • 1942 – “Driver of Car is Arrested On Drinking Charge In Bus Crash” newspaper clipping
  • Jan. 15, 1942 – “Arlenna Donovan Named in Effingham Suit” newspaper clipping

Page 33

  • “Back Over The Trail: Taken From the Files Of the News” newspaper clipping
  • Oct. 5, 1941 – “Return of Prohibition Scene Predicted as Result of New Tax” newspaper clipping
  • Oct. 20, 1941 – “Prison Trusty Drinks His Way Into Trouble” newspaper clipping
  • Jan. 29, 1942 – “Hillsboro, Illinois: Flood in Ohio River Made Temperance Unpopular” newspaper clipping

Page 34

  • “Let Booze Save the Country” newspaper clipping
  • “The Motorists Prayer” newspaper clipping
  • “Temperance” newspaper clipping
  • “Daily Tribune: Drinker’s Victim” newspaper clipping

Page 35

  • “Drys Take Page from 1917 Book to Banish Liquor” newspaper clipping
  • “A Tribute to All Mothers and Boys in Service” newspaper clipping
  • “Smart Drinker” newspaper clipping
  • “Bible Philosophy” newspaper clipping

Page 36

  • Oct. 20, 1941 – “Here Come the Drys” newspaper clipping

Page 37

  • 1942 – “Senate Buries New Attempt at Prohibition” newspaper clipping
  • Sept. 28, 1942 – “Montgomery News: Making of Whiskey Stopped” newspaper clipping

Page 38

  • “The White Ribbon Bow” newspaper clipping
  • Photo of Frances Willard

Page 39

  • “For God and Home and Native Land” newspaper clipping

Page 40

  • “County WCTU Elects Retiring Officers” newspaper clipping
  • “The Hillsboro Journal” newspaper clipping
  • “WCTU Elects” newspaper clipping

Page 41

  • April 28, 1941 – “Illinois Woman’s Christian Temperance Union: State Conference” schedule paper

Page 42

  • “WCTU to have County Rally Here” newspaper clipping
  • “Charged with Violation of Tavern Ordinance” newspaper clipping
  • Oct. 31, 1940 – “WCTU Meeting” newspaper clipping
  • Nov. 4, 1940 – “County WCTU Has Fall Rally Here” newspaper clipping
  • Dec. 1, 1940 – “WCTU Christmas Meeting’ clipping
  • Dec. 3, 1940 – “Hillsboro Journal: Meeting” newspaper clipping
  • Jan. 6, 1941 – “WCTU meeting” newspaper clipping
  • Feb. 3, 1941 – “The Hillsboro Journal: Meeting” newspaper clipping
  • March 3, 1941 – “MCTU Meeting” newspaper clipping
  • April 7, 1941 – “Hillsboro, Illinois: Mercedes Vogel Is Winner in Local Poster Contest” newspaper clipping

Page 43

  • Dec. 1940 – “The President’s Message Christmas Greetings” newspaper clipping
  • Feb. 10, 1941 – “Hillsboro, Illinois, Officials of County order Machines Out” newspaper clipping

Page 44

  • “God Give Us Grace” article clipping
  • March 6, 1941 – “Hillsboro, Illinois: World Day of Prayer Set For Next Friday” newspaper clipping

Page 45

  • March 6, 1941 – “The Hillsboro Journal: Energy From Prayer” newspaper clipping
  • April 14, 1941 – “The Hillsboro Journal: County WCTU to Hold Spring Meet Friday in Hillsboro” newspaper clipping

Page 46

  • April 1941 – “WCTU Institute Held at Hillsboro” newspaper clipping
  • June 12, 1941 – “Hillsboro, Illinois: Hillsboro WCTU Meets at Church” newspaper clipping
  • July 20, 1941 – “Illinois State Register: Speaker” newspaper clipping
  • July 24, 1941 – “Hillsboro, Illinois Journal: Lecture by Sam Morris” newspaper clipping

Page 47

  • “Name Litchfield WCTU Officers” newspaper clipping
  • “Misuse of Liquor” newspaper clipping
  • “Hillsboro WCTU Elects Its Officers” newspaper clipping
  • July 20, 1941 – “Church Calendar” program

Page 48

  • 1939 – “County WCTU to have Convention” newspaper clipping
  • “Illinois State Journal: Plan Temperance Meet In Raymond” newspaper clipping

Page 49

  • “Youth Talks Back to Alcohol Advertising” newspaper clipping

Page 50

  • Jan. 17, 1944 – “St. Louis Star Times: Two Men Held on Charge of Selling Marijuana” newspaper clipping
  • Jan. 17, 1941 – “St. Louis Star Times: Sheppard Scores ‘Alcohol-Drinking Democracy’ Again” newspaper clipping

Page 51

  • Nov. 29, 1940 – “St. Louis Star Times: Star-Times Stories Preceded Grand Jury Report” newspaper clipping
  • Jan. 8, 1941 – “St. Louis Daily Globe Democrat: Bootlegging Still Thriving Industry” newspaper clipping

Page 52

  • 1940 – “St. Louis Daily Globe Democrat: France to Impose Rigid Dry Laws” newspaper clipping
  • 1940 – “St. Louis Daily Globe Democrat: WCTU Leader Says Drink Costs more than Education” newspaper clipping
  • Oct. 1940 – “St. Louis Daily Globe Democrat: Drunken Drivers Blamed for 8 Pct. Of Fatal Accidents” newspaper clipping
  • Oct. 1, 1940 – “St. Louis Daily Globe Democrat: Begin Drive on Obscene Books” newspaper clipping
  • 1941 – “Cut in Alcoholic Content of Hard Liquors Advised” newspaper clipping

Page 53

  • Sept. 1940 – “Movie Radio Guide: Let’s Banish Drinking Scenes From Our Movies” article clipping
  • Sept. 1940 – “Authenticated Facts” newspaper clipping

Page 54

  • “Bright Teen-Age High School Girl Wins National Contest Prize” newspaper clipping
  • “Attention Illinois WCTU” newspaper clipping
  • May 1940 – “For Mother’s Day” newspaper clipping
  • June 1940 – “WCTU” newspaper clipping

Page 55

  • Sept. 30 – “Dyer Predicts Rise in Prohibition View” newspaper clipping
  • “Park Av. ‘Unemployed’ Drink Up Job Insurance in Night Clubs” newspaper clipping
  • “Disappointed With Editorial” newspaper clipping
  • “Personal Responsibility” newspaper clipping
  • Sept. 28, 1940 – “St. Louis Post-Dispatch: Again the Prohibitionists” newspaper clipping

Page 56

  • Sept. – “Presidents Message” newspaper clipping
  • Sept. – “Report of Directors” newspaper clipping
  • Sept. 1940 – “State Convention” newspaper photograph clipping

Page 57

  • “Safety School on Wheels” pamphlet
  • “Do many newspapers refuse liquor advertising?” newspaper clipping
  • Oct. 1940 – “Presidents Message” clipping

Page 58

  • “Donnell Pledges Law Enforcement: Gives View on Report of Grand Jury on Liquor Conditions” newspaper clipping

Page 59

  • “Babies Dedicated to Temperance” newspaper clipping

Page 60

  • “Highlight of Meeting” newspaper clipping
  • “If You Drink Don’t Drive” newspaper photograph clipping
  • Oct. 21st – “St. Louis Globe Democrat: Man Can Make Spiritual Gains During Crisis, Says Edgar Guest” newspaper clipping

Page 61

  • “Two More Faces on the Barroom Floor” newspaper comic clipping
  • Dec. 1940 – “Holiday Liquors: How to Keep Well” newspaper clipping

Page 62

  • “Illinois Legislature Passes $47,000,000 Luxury Tax Bill” newspaper clipping
  • May 25, 1939 – “Marijuana Big Peril to Youths” newspaper clipping

Page 63

  • “En Route to the Morgue” newspaper photograph clipping
  • “May Peace Return Among Men” newspaper clipping
  • “Christian wants nothing” newspaper clipping
  • “Liquor Bill Bigger Than Relief, Says WCTU” newspaper clipping
  • “Donnell Acts to Halt Vice in Ft. Wood Area” newspaper clipping

Page 64

  • “More Drink, More Blood” newspaper clipping
  • Dec. 2, 1940 – “St. Louis Post-Dispatch: St Louis’ Tavern Mess” newspaper clipping
  • Feb. 1941 – “St. Louis Daily: Manufacturer” newspaper clipping

Page 65

  • “Stricter Traffic Control Ordered” newspaper clipping
  • “Destroyer of Youth” newspaper clipping
  • “Alcohol Blunts Moral Sense” newspaper clipping

Page 66

  • “The Beginning of Trouble” newspaper clipping
  • “Mothers of Today” newspaper clipping
  • “School Teacher” newspaper clipping
  • April 16, 1941 – “St. Louis Daily Globe – Democrat: Repeal of Illinois 3-Day Gin Wedding Law Goes to Green” newspaper clipping

Page 67

  • May 22, 1941 – “State Conference: Illinois Woman’s Christian Temperance Union” schedule paper

Page 68

  • “In Memorium” article clipping

Page 69

  • “Illinois Watch Tower” newspaper clipping
  • “What Is There In It For Me?” clipping

Page 70

  • “President’s Family Recognized His Mother as Head of the House” newspaper clipping
  • “I Believe in Law” clipping

Page 71

  • “St. Louis Daily Globe – Democrat: Drys Happier Than Drinkers, Studies at Washington U. Show” newspaper clipping
  • Aug. 25, 1941 – “Misuse of Liquor by Women Increases” newspaper clipping

Page 72

  • Sept. 28, 1939 – “Hillsboro, Illinois: Montgomery County WCTU in Annual Convention” newspaper photograph and article clipping

Loose in Box - WCTU Scrapbook (Red Cover - Large)

Page 1

  • “Jeremiah 7-23” clipping
  • “Second For Religious Theme” newspaper clipping
  • “Proverbs 23: 20, 21” clipping
  • 1962 – “1962 Old Settlers’ Day Festivities: Parade Size Set Record” photograph
  • Sept. 23, 1962 –  (Loose) “The Amazing Frances Willard” article

Page 2

  • “Illinois WCTU In Convention At Springfield” newspaper clipping
  • “WCTU Parade” newspaper photograph clipping
  • 1962 – “WCTU Holds October Meeting” newspaper clipping
  • 1962 – “WCTU Has Fine Meeting” newspaper clipping
  • Sept. 27, 1962 – “WCTU To Hold County Convention At Fillmore Friday” newspaper clipping

Page 3

  • “WCTU Meets At Neimeyer Home” newspaper clipping
  • “Dimension in Unity’ newspaper clipping
  • 1963 – “WCTU Meets At Mrs. Logsdon Home In Hillsboro” newspaper clipping
  • Oct. 1963 – “Beer and Pretzel Premiere” newspaper clipping

Page 4

  • “Hillsboro WCTU Favors Legislation” newspaper clipping
  • “Decline of Morality” newspaper clipping
  • 1963 – “Hillsboro WCTU Has Good Program” newspaper clipping
  • June 27, 1963 – Hillsboro WCTU Has Meeting” newspaper clipping

Page 5

  • “Temporary Neighbors With Differing Views” newspaper clipping
  • “WCTU Institute Held At Calvary Baptist Church” newspaper clipping
  • April 26, 1963 – “WCTU To Hold Institute On Friday at Hillsboro Church” newspaper clipping

Page 6

  • “Loyal Temperance Legion” newspaper clipping
  • “Walking Up the Kings Highway” newspaper clipping
  • “Christian Women Signs Pledge” newspaper clipping

Page 7

  • “Meetings…” newspaper clipping
  • “Youth Temperance Council Meets at Waveland” newspaper clipping
  • “The YTC Meets Near Woodside Church” newspaper clipping
  • “U.S. Drinking On Rise, Say Psychiatrists” newspaper clipping
  • “Abundance” newspaper clipping
  • “May 15, 1962 – “Illinois Girls Can Buy Beer In Kegs” newspaper clipping
  • Oct. 1962 – “Youth Temperance Council to Organize” newspaper clipping
  • Oct. 11, 1962 – “Youth Temperance Council Elects At Its First Meeting” newspaper clipping
  • Oct. 12, 1962 – “Name Alcoholism Week Chairman” newspaper clipping
  • June 15, 1963 – “Youth Temperance Council Elects” newspaper clipping

Page 8

  • Sept. 1961 – “Beer Blasts Bring Battles in 6 States” newspaper clipping
  • 1963 – WCTU Convention Friday At Waggoner” newspaper clipping
  • 1963 – County Women’s Christian Temperance Union Meeting” newspaper clipping

Page 9

  • (Loose) “Prize Winning Old Settlers’ Floats” newspaper clipping
  • (Loose) “Help Observe Youth Temperance Education Week” newspaper clipping
  • (Loose) “Henrichs” newspaper clipping
  • May 1953 – “Announce Winners In Temperance Poster Contest” newspaper clipping
  • Sept. 27, 1962 – “Making ‘Shine’ Not Unusual Pastime In Deep South” newspaper clipping
  • April 28, 1966 – (Loose) “The Hillsboro Journal: Mrs. E.B. Strange Is Honored Guest of Eastern Star” newspaper clipping
  • April 29, 1966 – (Loose) “Montgomery County WCTU Institute at Hillsboro Community Building on Lake Road” program
  • April 25, 1968 – (Loose) “Mrs. H.F. Henrichs Dies At Litchfield” newspaper clipping

Page 10

  • Aug. 26, 1962 – “The State Journal-Register: Accent On Youth, WCTU has ‘New Look’” newspaper clipping

Page 11

  • “Here’s A Warning” newspaper clipping
  • “Prayer” card
  • “Heritage” newspaper clipping
  • April 1963 – “Illinois White Ribbon” clipping

Page 12

  • “Georgia Bulletin” clipping
  • “The Ten Commandments” paper
  • 1951 – “WCTU” photograph of members

Page 13

  • Feb. 9, 1963 – (Loose) “The Union Signal: A Journal of Social Welfare” magazine
  • April 1963 – “Illinois White Ribboner: Governor Proclaims YTE Week” newspaper clipping

Page 14

  • “Fact Sheet of National Safety Council” paper

Page 15

  • (Loose) “County Girls Fil State Posts YTC” newspaper clipping
  • (Loose) “Eleven Members of Hillsboro WCTU” newspaper clipping
  • (Loose) “Church Pastor Hits Drinking” newspaper clipping
  • (Loose) “WCTU Holds February Meeting in Hillsboro” newspaper clipping
  • (Loose) “Youth Temperance Meeting” newspaper clipping
  • “Post Cards Used to Spread Message” newspaper clipping
  • “Your Good Health: Alcohol And Its Effects” newspaper clipping
  • “Baby’s Milk Sold After Hours, Grocer Fined; Beer Sale Legal” newspaper clipping
  • 1966 – (Loose) “Hillsboro Women Attend WTCU At Springfield” newspaper clipping
  • Sept. 19, 1966 – (Loose)“Larry Nelson Given IYTC Award” newspaper clipping

Page 16

  • “Legacy by Maude Parker” poem
  • “Mrs. D. Leigh Colvin” newspaper clipping
  • June 1963 – “Illinois White Ribboner: President Nessl Speaks” newspaper clipping

Page 17

  • “Alcohol Invites for You” poster

Page 18

  • “Walking Up the King’s Highway” lyric sheet
  • Aug. 28, 1965 – (Loose) “The Union Signal: A Journal of Social Welfare” magazine
  • Feb. 1970 – (Loose) “Illinois White Ribboner: A Glimpse of Frances E. Willard” article
  • Feb. 15, 1970 - (Loose) “First Presbyterian Church” Bulletin

Page 19

  • “Ground Breaking Theme Wins First for Methodist Church” newspaper photograph clipping
  • 1963 – “Record Throng Here for Principal Parade” newspaper clipping
  • Aug. 21-22, 1963 – “Old Settlers’ Reunion” newspaper clipping

Page 20

  • “Cynthia Salsi Crowned Settlers’s Queen” newspaper clipping
  • “Mrs. Hattie Turner Proclaimed Senior Queen” newspaper clipping
  • “Our Sunday Wants” newspaper photograph clipping

Page 21

  • “Mardy Lindqvist of Finland Arrives Here” newspaper clipping
  • “Youth Temperance Council Has Picnic” newspaper clipping
  • “Meetings…” newspaper clipping
  • Aug. 1, 1963 – “Youth Temperance Council Begins New Meeting Year” newspaper clipping

Page 22

  • Sept. 23, 1962 – “The Amazing Frances Willard” article

Page 23

  • “James Cranfill Killed As Bus Backs Over Him” newspaper clipping
  • “Mrs. Esta Williamson Died this Morning, Funeral Wednesday” newspaper clipping
  • “When Frances Willard Read Her Bible” pamphlet
  • “Washington’s New Skyline” comic
  • 1966 – (Loose) “WCTU Meeting Held Today” newspaper clipping

Page 24

  • “Salute to American Flag” paper
  • “What God Hath Promised” paper
  • “What Seest Thou” paper
  • “The Naked Truth About Liquor” clipping

Page 25

  • “12 Steps to Help Eliminate Even Moderate Drinking From Our Midst” paper
  • Aug. 1963 – “Call for the Annual Convention” clipping

Page 26

  • Sept. 14, 1963 – “The Union Signal: A Journal of Social Welfare” cover

Page 27

  • “Statue of Frances E. Willard” clipping

Page 28 & 29

  • Oct. 12, 1963 - “The Union Signal: A Journal of Social Welfare” Photographs

Loose in Box - Scrapbook (Black Cover)

  • “Ceremonial of the Three Flags” pamphlet
  • “Carry Nation’s Home” newspaper photograph clipping
  • “The American’s Creed” paper
  • “Morning Has Broken” and “We Affirm Our Faith” lyrics
  • “The School Code Of Illinois” paper
  • 1945 – Had written notes
  • 1949 – “Montgomery Co. Convention” notes
  • Sept. 29, 1950 – “Montgomery County Annual Convention” program
  • Sept. 29, 1950 – “WTCU Convention” notes
  • 1951 – “WCTU Officers Confer Here On County Convention” newspaper clipping
  • 1951 – “Mrs. H.I. Henrichs” paper
  • April 27, 1951 – “Tri-County WCTU Institute” program
  • April 27, 1951 – “Tri-County WCTU at Greenville” notes
  • Sept. 28, 1951 – “WCTU County Convention at Hillsboro” notes
  • Sept. 28, 1951 – “WCTU Annual Convention” program
  • May 2, 1952 – “Program of the Group Institute” program
  • Oct. 3, 1952 – “WCTU of Montgomery County Annual Convention” program
  • Oct. 3, 1952 – “WCTU County Convention at Fillmore” notes
  • Feb. 14, 1953 – “To the Citizens of Bond County” letter
  • April 23, 1953 – Tri-County meeting” notes
  • April 23, 1953 – “Tri-County WCTU Institute” program
  • Sept. 28, 1953 – “Mont. Co. WCTU” notes
  • Sept. 28, 1953 – “WCTU of Montgomery County Annual Convention” program
  • Sept. 28, 1953 – “County WCTU Reflects at Annual Meet” newspaper clipping
  • Sept. 28, 1953 – “County WCTU Re-Elects At Annual Meet” newspaper clipping
  • Oct. 1953 – “State WCTU Convention Held
  • Oct. 1, 1954 – “WCTU of Montgomery County Annual Convention” program
  • Nov. 12, 1954 – “Greenville Workshop” notes
  • April 29, 1955 – “County Institute” notes
  • April 29, 1955 – “Montgomery County WCTU” program
  • Sept. 30, 1955 – “Montgomery County WCTU Convention” notes
  • Sept. 28, 1956 – “WCTU of Montgomery County Annual Convention” program
  • Sept. 28, 1956 – “WCTU of Montgomery County Annual Convention” notes
  • Sept. 27, 1957 – “Montgomery County Annual Convention” notes
  • Sept. 27, 1957 – “Montgomery County Annual Convention” notes
  • April 25, 1958 – “WCTU County Institute” program
  • April 25, 1958 – “WCTU County Institute” notes
  • Sept. 26, 1958 – “WCTU of Montgomery County Annual Convention” program
  • Sept. 26, 1958 – “WCTU of Montgomery County Annual Convention” notes
  • April 1959 – “Hillsboro Institute” notes
  • Sept. 25, 1959 – “Convention” notes
  • Sept. 25, 1959 – “WCTU of Montgomery County” program
  • 1960 – “WCTU Convention” notes
  • April 22, 1960 – “Institute” notes
  • Sept. 30, 1960 – “WCTU Convention” notes
  • Sept. 30, 1960 – “Montgomery County” program
  • April 28, 1961 – “WCTU Institute” notes
  • April 28, 1961 – “WCTU Institute” program
  • Sept. 22, 1961 – “WCTU Institute” notes
  • April 27, 1962 – “Montgomery County WCTU” program (2 copies)
  • April 27, 1962 – “WCTU Institute” Notes
  • May 10, 1962 – “Illinois State WCTU Seminar” program
  • Sept. 28, 1962 – “1962 WCTU Convention, Fillmore” notes
  • Sept. 28, 1962 – “1962 WCTU Convention, Fillmore” program
  • 1963 – “Welcome!” program
  • April 26, 1963 – “What? Montgomery County Institute” program
  • April 26, 1963 – “WCTU Institute” notes
  • Sept. 27, 1963 – “WCTU Convention” notes
  • April 24, 1964 – “What? Montgomery County Institute” program
  • April 24, 1964 – “WCTU Institute” notes
  • Sept. 11, 1964 – “WCTU Convention” notes
  • Sept. 11, 1964 – “WCTU Convention” program
  • April 30, 1965 – “WCTU Institute” notes
  • Sept. 24, 1965 – “WCTU Convention Fillmore” notes
  • April 29, 1966 – “WCTU Institute” notes
  • April 29, 1966 – “WCTU Institute” program (2 copies)
  • Sept. 16, 1966 – “WCTU Convention Waggoner” notes
  • Sept. 16, 1966 – “WCTU Convention” program
  • Aug. 25, 1967 – “WCTU Convention, Hillsboro” notes
  • Aug. 25, 1967 – “WCTU Convention” program (3 copies)
  • Aug. 6, 1968 – “WCTU Convention at Hillsboro” notes
  • Aug. 6, 1968 – “WCTU Convention” program
  • Sept. 5, 1969 – “WCTU Convention” notes
  • Sept. 23-25, 1969 – “Illinois Beyond the Horizon Total Abstinence” program
  • April 25, 1969 – “Montgomery County WCTU Institute” program (2 copies)
  • April 24, 1970 – “Montgomery County WCTU Institute” program (2 copies)
  • April 25, 1970 – “WCTU Institute Community House” notes
  • Sept. 4, 1970 – “Mont. Co. WCTU Convention” notes
  • Sept. 4, 1970 – “Mont. Co. WCTU Convention” program
  • Sept. 7, 1970 – “Mont. Co. WCTU” program
  • April 30, 1971 – “Montgomery Co. WCTU Institute” program
  • April 30, 1971 – “WCTU Institute Community” notes
  • Sept. 24, 1971 – “Mont. County WCTU Convention” notes
  • Sept. 24, 1971 – “Mont. County WCTU Convention” program (2 copies)
  • April 4-5, 1972 – “Wesley United Methodist Church – WCTU ‘Reach Out’” program
  • April 28, 1972 – “Montgomery County WCTU Convention” program (2 copies)
  • Sept. 8, 1972 – “WCTU Convention” notes
  • Nov. 8, 1972 – “State Booster Meeting” program
  • April 27, 1973 – “WCTU Institute” notes
  • April 27, 1973 – “WCTU Institute” program
  • Sept. 21, 1973 – “Mont. Co. WCTU Convention” notes
  • April 26, 1974 – “WCTU Institute” notes
  • Sept. 27, 1974 – “Mont. Co. WCTU Convention” notes
  • Sept. 19, 1975 – “Mont. Co. WCTU Convention’ notes
  • June 25, 1975 – “WCTU Institute” notes
  • Sept. 30, 1977 – “Montgomery Co. WCTU Convention” notes
  • Sept. 1, 1978 – “WCTU County Convention” program

This site is maintained by the librarians of George A. Spiva Library.
If you have a question or comment about the Library's LibGuides, please contact the site administrator.