Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Joplin Business and Professional Women's Club: Home

Special Collections, SC#111, Joplin Business and Professional Women's Club

Collection Information

Collection Number: SC#111

Title: 
Joplin Business and Professional Women's Club Collection

Dates: 
1940s-2000s


Collection Size: 
10 Boxes

Biographical History

The National Federation of Business and Professional Women’s Club was founded on July 16, 1919, in Kentucky by Lena Madesin Phillips. The Joplin chapter of the club was organized on March 18, 1929. This collection encompasses the documents of the Joplin Business and Professional Women's Club from the 1940s through the 2010s. The collection includes correspondence, scrapbooks, financial information, event documents, member information, club rules and standards, meeting notes, music, event scripts/programs, pamphlets, award information and information about the work the club did in the community.

Scope and Content

9 boxes primarily of documents, 1 scrapbook

Creator(s)

Joplin Business and Professional Women's Club

Joplin Business and Professional Women's Club Exhibit Link

Joplin Business and Professional Women's Club Exhibit

 

In the Summer of 2021 the HIST 483: Archival Collections & Methods class at Missouri Southern State University worked this collection and each student created an exhibit for a portion of the collection. View the exhibit at the link below!

Preview the Collection

BPW Welcomes You Pamphlet

Front page of the Big Puff O'Wind Newsletter from October of 1946

First page of the January 3, 1955 Meeting Minutes

Preview the Collection

Images from the 1974-1975 Scrapbook

Images from the 1974-1975 Scrapbook

Images from the 1974-1975 Scrapbook

Collection Inventory

Box 1

  • Basic Principles of Parliamentary Law and Protocol, Marguerite Grumme, 1971
  • BPW Action Manual, 1966
  • Handbook of Policies and Procedures, 1978, 1981 (3 copies)
  • BPW Action Manual, 1966 1978 (3 copies)
  • “How To” Manual
  • Robert’s Rules of Order, 1967
  • Rules, Regulations and Procedures
  • BPW Treasures Manual, 1988-1989
  • Articles of Incorporation, National Federation By-Laws, 1969
  • B.P.W. Bylaws 2/1979
  • Bylaws 1959, 1979- Revised 1981, 1987
  • Handbook of Policies and Procedures- July 1978
  • Joplin Business and Professional Women’s Club Bylaws, December 1987.
  • Bylaws 1997

Box 2

  • BPW History, 1921-1968
  • Missouri Federation of Business and Professional Women, 1987-1988, New Life in BPW
  • Tips for Presidents
  • President’s Book, 1988-1989
  • Board of Directors, 1972-1974
  • Joplin BPW Officers, 1988-1989
  • Board Members, Committees & Officers, 1992-1993
  • JBPWC Committees
  • Committee Instruction Sheet
  • Joplin BPW Federation Focus Yearbooks, 1955-1987 (various)

Box 3

  • Federation Focus Yearbooks, 1975-1988 (various)
  • Administrative Meeting Minutes, 1955-1977

Box 4

  • Regular Meeting Minutes, 1955-1977
  • Event Meeting Minutes, 1959-1976
  • Meeting Minutes and Reports, 1988-1989
  • Meeting Minutes, 1992
  • Board Meeting Minutes, 1992
  • Meeting Minutes, 1999
  • Meeting Minutes, 1995-2001

Box 5

  • Big Puff O’Wind newsletter, 1946-1980 (various)
  • Membership and Club Organization
  • BPW Paid Membership, 1982
  • BPW Membership List, 1982
  • 1980s JBPWC Membership Information
  • Member Info Cards, 1980s

Box 6

  • Membership/Induction
  • Membership Orientation “Speak Up” Handbook, 1984
  • BPW Membership
  • Club Membership Annual Report, 1969, 1970, 1983
  • Committees, Officer Positions
  • BPW Certificates, Brochures, and Meeting Invitations
  • Letters from BPWC, 1973-1980
  • BPW Letterhead

Box 7

  • BPW Guest Book, 1962-7-27
  • Benediction and Objectives Cards, Guests Log and Trivia Cards
  • Copies of certificates and awards, 1968-1969
  • Awards Requirements
  • Young Career Woman Awards
  • Skits, Pantomimes
  • Music 1
  • Music 2
    • “Song Sheet for BPW Convention Kansas City, Missouri May 3 – 5, 1968
    • “B. P. W. Song Sheet”
    • “Old Favorites”
    • God Bless America
    • Fellowship
    • Hail, Hail the Gang’s All Here
    • B. P. W. C.
    • BPW State Song
    • Glory, Glory for Missouri
    • Carols for Christmas – December 1961
    • Carols for Christmas: The Prudential Insurance Company of America – Undated
    • The Christmas Story: A Family Program for Christmas Eve – Undated
    • For a Merrier Christmas – Undated
  • Weekly Monthly Meetings Menus
  • Event Calendars
  • Event Invitations
  • BPW Banquet Program, October 19, 1972
  • Monett BPW Invitation, 1988
  • National Business Women’s Week, 2003
  • Individual Development Workshop, 2004
  • Joplin Council for the Arts, Benton Fund
  • Red Cross
  • Outlook – Freeman Hospital, Joplin, MO
  • Seminar
  • Banquet Information
  • Emblem Pageant
  • BPW Stickers
  • Parade
  • Recommendations Accepted by Members of BPW, 1965-8-16
  • Missouri State Legislation Information
  • Miscellaneous

Box 8

  • Resource Kit
  • BPW State Convention Papers
  • District Programs
  • District 6 Meetings, 2002-2003
  • BPW Conference/Event Papers, 2005
  • Convention Papers, 1935, 1940
  • District 6 Conferences
  • BPW Fundraising, 1971-1972
  • Supporting Businesses
  • BPW Papers, 1987-1988
  • Circus Literature
  • R.S.V.P Rules, Forms and History
  • Miscellaneous
  • Joplin’s Rich Heritage Coloring Book

Box 9

  • BPW Report of Audit, 1969-5-31
  • Treasurer’s Reports, 1999
  • Financial Information
  • Budget, 1993
  • Secretary Reports, 1992-1993
  • Treasurer’s Reports
  • BPW District 6 Financial Information, 2005, 2006
  • District 6 Reports, 1998-2002
  • District 6 Reports, 2004-2006
  • District 6 Reports, 2002-2006

Box 10

  • 1974-1975 Scrapbook
    • Page 1-3: (1974-1975)
      • Imogene Hole - Installed President of Joplin B&PW on April 15th, 1974
      • Newspaper clip on Imogene becoming president dated April 17, 1974 from Joplin Globe
      • Photos: Imogene Hole being pinned for president, Imogene Hole Receiving a Plaque, Imogene Hole giving her acceptance speech, Group photo of the B&PW board (also dated for 1974-1975)
    • Page 4-5 (Information of the B&PW)
      • Page 4: Federation Objectives, Club Collect (Mary Stewart) , Federation Pledge, Emblem Collect
    • Page 5: Pamphlet’s and Photos: June’s last meeting
    • Page 6-7
      • Call to Convention: Installation Breakfast, April 21, 1974, Kansas City
  • “Archway To A Brighter Future”

This site is maintained by the librarians of George A. Spiva Library.
If you have a question or comment about the Library's LibGuides, please contact the site administrator.