Open Educational Resources

The Digital Commons Network brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. Curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, the Network includes a growing collection of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work.

Not all materials are open access as the materials come from varying sources. Materials are from libraries, archives and museums around the United States.

A digital preservation repository and access platform for a variety of sources.

Founded in 1876 and based in Washington, D.C., the AAMC (Association of American Medical Colleges) is a not-for-profit association dedicated to transforming health care through innovative medical education, cutting-edge patient care, and groundbreaking medical research.

Online learning materials, including presentations, textbooks, and more.

Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS) is a search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier. OASIS currently searches open content from 73 different sources and contains 171,366 records.

OASIS is being developed at SUNY Geneseo's Milne Library in consultation with Alexis Clifton, SUNY OER Services Executive Director.

Open Author helps you build Open Educational Resources, lesson plans, and courses (on your own, or with others) — and then publish them, to the benefit of educators and learners everywhere.

Florida's Open Educational Resource Repository. This site does not house the content but links to the content through other sites. Registered accounts are for Florida educators only, but materials are open for anyone to use.

From the Saylor Foundation, a collection of courses including syllabus, external resources, and more. Saylor does not house content, but links to outside resources.

Peer-Populated platform for Art History teachers.

Music uploaded to Bandcamp. All have Creative Common license.

Many Flickr users have chosen to offer their work under a Creative Commons license, and you can browse or search through content under each type of license.

The Free Music Archive is an interactive library of high-quality, legal audio downloads directed by WFMU, the longest-running freeform radio station in the United States.

A collection of shared digital videos including documentaries, lectures and more.

Images, recordings and audio all in the public domain.

Open Access textbook for abstract algebra, written by Thomas W. Judson, Robert A. Breezer of University of Puget Sound.

Guide for authors interested in the production of Open Textbooks.

Supported by the BC OpenTextbook initiative, these peer-reviewed books are sorted by discipline.

The primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of Open Access books. Academic publishers are invited to provide metadata of their Open Access books to DOAB. Metadata will be harvestable in order to maximize dissemination, visibility and impact. Aggregators can integrate the records in their commercial services and libraries can integrate the directory into their online catalogues, helping scholars and students to discover the books. The directory is open to all publishers who publish academic, peer reviewed books in Open Access and should contain as many books as possible, provided that these publications are in Open Access and meet academic standards.

From the site: "We are the world's leading publisher of Open Access books
Built by scientists, for scientists"

The LibreText Project, a leading, non-commercial
open textbook organization initiated at the University of California, Davis,
announced today that it is receiving the $5 million Open Textbooks Pilot Program
award from the Department of Education. The award, funded by Congress in the
2018 Fiscal Year omnibus spending bill, is intended to decrease the burden of
textbook costs on college students while increasing the availability, usage and
educational value of open textbooks that are freely available to download, edit, and
share to better serve all students.

Peer-reviewed, openly licensed, backed by additional learning resources.

Open Access Textbooks sorted by discipline and reviewed by Faculty from academic institutions.

Collection of Open Textbooks from the Saylor Foundation.

Lumen’s leading OER courses in high-enrollment subjects.

The Open Course Library (OCL) is a collection of shareable course materials, including syllabi, course activities, readings, and assessments designed by teams of college faculty, instructional designers, librarians, and other experts. Some of our materials (also called open educational resources, or OER) are paired with low cost textbooks ($30 or less). Many of the courses can be taught at no cost to students. Unless otherwise noted, all materials are shared under a Creative Commons (CC BY) license.OCL courses and materials have undergone testing for accessibility and have been designed using the industry-standard Quality Matters (QM) rubric for assessing the quality of online courses.