Skip to main content

Open Access Resources: Home

Open Access Resources

Open Educational Resources

Free and openly licensed educational materials that can be used for teaching, learning, research, and other purposes.

OPEN EDUCATIONAL RESOURCES

Open Access Resources

Refers to unrestricted online access to resources published in scholarly publications. Open access publications can be articles, books, and book chapters, conference papers, theses, working papers, data, images, and more.

To view materials that have creative commons please click here. If you would like to know more about Creative Commons, check out the library's Creative Commons page.

Open Education Search


OPEN EDUCATION RESPOSITORIES


Open Educational Resources


ACADEMIC/OPEN EDUCATION REPOSITORIES


Repositories

The Digital Commons Network brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. Curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, the Network includes a growing collection of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work.

Community College Consortium for OER
The Digital Commons Network brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. Curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, the Network includes a growing collection of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work.

Digital Commons Network
Not all materials are open access as the materials come from varying sources. Materials are from libraries, archives and museums around the United States.

Digital Public Library of America
A digital preservation repository and access platform for a variety of sources.

HathiTrust
Founded in 1876 and based in Washington, D.C., the AAMC (Association of American Medical Colleges) is a not-for-profit association dedicated to transforming health care through innovative medical education, cutting-edge patient care, and groundbreaking medical research.

MedEdPortal
Online learning materials, including presentations, textbooks, and more.

MERLOT
Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS) is a search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier. OASIS currently searches open content from 73 different sources and contains 171,366 records.

OASIS is being developed at SUNY Geneseo's Milne Library in consultation with Alexis Clifton, SUNY OER Services Executive Director.

OASIS
Open Author helps you build Open Educational Resources, lesson plans, and courses (on your own, or with others) — and then publish them, to the benefit of educators and learners everywhere.

OER Commons
Florida's Open Educational Resource Repository. This site does not house the content but links to the content through other sites. Registered accounts are for Florida educators only, but materials are open for anyone to use.

The Orange Grove
From the Saylor Foundation, a collection of courses including syllabus, external resources, and more. Saylor does not house content, but links to outside resources.

Saylor Courses

Textbooks

Open Access textbook for abstract algebra, written by Thomas W. Judson, Robert A. Breezer of University of Puget Sound.

Abstract Algebra
Guide for authors interested in the production of Open Textbooks.

Authoring Open Textbooks
Supported by the BC OpenTextbook initiative, these peer-reviewed books are sorted by discipline.

BC Campus OpenED
Open textbooks are textbooks that are published with some form of open license. An open license is a blanket grant to use the book’s content under certain conditions. Open licenses contrast with traditional copyrights, where authors reserve all rights for themselves and those wishing to reuse the content must contact the author to gain rights. Open-licensed books are copyrighted; the license simply formalizes the permissions granted by the author.

College Open Textbooks
A collection of Open Access Books with links for accessibility and subject terms. Requirements of books featured on this site include being under an Open Access License and being subjected to peer review prior to publication.

The Directory of OpenAccess Books
The primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of Open Access books. Academic publishers are invited to provide metadata of their Open Access books to DOAB. Metadata will be harvestable in order to maximize dissemination, visibility and impact. Aggregators can integrate the records in their commercial services and libraries can integrate the directory into their online catalogues, helping scholars and students to discover the books. The directory is open to all publishers who publish academic, peer reviewed books in Open Access and should contain as many books as possible, provided that these publications are in Open Access and meet academic standards.

Directory of Open Access Books
From the site: "We are the world's leading publisher of Open Access books built by scientists, for scientists"

In Tech Open Books
Open Access academic materials with a focus on Humanities and Social Sciences.

Open Access Publishing in European Networks
Peer-reviewed, openly licensed, backed by additional learning resources.

Open Stax
Open Access Textbooks sorted by discipline and reviewed by Faculty from academic institutions.

Open Textbook Library
Collection of Open Textbooks from the Saylor Foundation.

Saylor Textbooks

Audiovisual

Peer-Populated platform for Art History teachers.

Art History Teaching Resources
Music uploaded to Bandcamp. All have Creative Common license.

Bandcamp
Many Flickr users have chosen to offer their work under a Creative Commons license, and you can browse or search through content under each type of license.

Flickr: Creative Commons
The Free Music Archive is an interactive library of high-quality, legal audio downloads directed by WFMU, the longest-running freeform radio station in the United States.

Free Music Archive
A collection of shared digital videos including documentaries, lectures and more.

Open Video Project
Images, recordings and audio all in the public domain.

The Public Domain Project

Other Resources

Lumen’s leading OER courses in high-enrollment subjects.

Lumen Learning
The Open Course Library (OCL) is a collection of shareable course materials, including syllabi, course activities, readings, and assessments designed by teams of college faculty, instructional designers, librarians, and other experts. Some of our materials (also called open educational resources, or OER) are paired with low cost textbooks ($30 or less). Many of the courses can be taught at no cost to students. Unless otherwise noted, all materials are shared under a Creative Commons (CC BY) license.OCL courses and materials have undergone testing for accessibility and have been designed using the industry-standard Quality Matters (QM) rubric for assessing the quality of online courses.

Open Course Library

Open Access Search


OPEN ACCESS RESPOSITORIES


Open Access Resources


ACADEMIC/OPEN ACCESS REPOSITORIES


Institutional Repositories

Designed to store, index, and share the university's creative and scholarly ouptut. Supports almost any type of content, including text, images, audio, video, data sets, and more.

ASU Digital Repository
Contains research publications by Caltech faculty and other Caltech researchers.

CaltechAUTHORS
Provides access to the scholarly work and research files of faculty, students and staff at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Electronic theses and Dissertations | Master's Papers

The Carolina Digital Repository
Credo is an online repository containing the digital collections held by the UMass Amherst Libraries' Department of Special Collections and University Archives (SCUA).

Credo
Central, open access repository for the scholarly output of faculty and the broader research community at Harvard.

DASH
University of Michigan's premanent, safe, and accessible service for representing our rich intellectual community.

Deep Blue
The repository is a service of the University of Nevada, Las Vegas Libraries. The mission is to capture, preserve, and share the intellectual output of UNLV faculty, staff, students, and collaborations with other stakeholders.

Digital Scholarship@UNLV
Provides access to recent Duke dissertations and theses, as well as access to university records and other related digital content.

DukeSpace
Provides open access, scholarly publishing services to the University of California and delivers a dynamic research platform to scholars to scholars worldwide.

eSchlarship
Access to the research and scholarship of faculty, staff, and students at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. Provides access to dissertations and theses.

IDEALS
Enables IU scholars and academic units to make their scholarly materials accessible to the world, at a stable URL, and with the assurance they will be maintained over the long term. | Bloomington | IUPUI | Kokomo | South Bend |

IUScholarWorks Repository
Provides an online, collaborative working space and data-sharing platform to support the data management needs of Purdue researchers and their collaborators.

Purdue University Research Repository | PURR
Repository for the scholarly output of researchers at the University of Pennsylvania. Publicly accessible Penn dissertations.

ScholarlyCommons
Stores, indexes, distributes, and preserves the digital materials of the University of Wisconsin.

MINDS@UW
Organized by the Departments, Centers, and Research Groups: contains more than 30,800 articles, papers, ebooks, documents, presentations, creative activities, master's theses, open-access dissertations, etc.

The UNL DigitalCommons
The aim of ROAR is to the promote the development of open access by providing timely information about the growth and status of repositories throughout the world.

ROAR
Directory of academic open access repositories.

OpenDOAR

Discipline Based Repositories

e-Print archive. Open access to over a million e-prints in Physics, mathematics, computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative finance and Statistics, now hosted at Cornell.

Discipline Based Repositories
A pre-print server for biology, operated by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory.

bioRxiv
An electronic archive for self-archived papers in any area of Psychology, Neuroscience, and Linguistics, and many areas of Computer Science.

Cogprints
A free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine. Over 3 million articles.

PubMed Central
A world wide collaborative of over 298,000 authors and more than 1.7 million users that is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research. Founded in 1994, it is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences. Each of SSRN's networks encourages the early distribution of research results by reviewing and distributing submitted abstracts and full text papers from scholars around the world. All scholars may submit papers for free, and author-submitted content is downloadable at no charge by users world-wide. (Bought by Elsevier in May 2016)

Social Science Research network
Open archive of the social sciences. Founded in spring 2016. Click here to learn more about SocArXiv.

SocArXiv

This site is maintained by the librarians of George A. Spiva Library.
If you have a question or comment about the Library's LibGuides, please contact the site administrator.