With concentrations in education, performance, and industry, our music and theatre degrees and certificates will give you the essential training and experience for a career in the performing arts. Whether you are an instrumentalist, singer, future educator, actor, director, designer, playwright, or future artistic director, the skills you learn at Missouri Southern will provide you with the necessary foundation to enable you to start your career upon graduation or prepare you for a competitive graduate program.
The Missouri Southern Department of Performing Arts seeks to serve the university and its community by providing access to music and theatre as a vocation or avocation through education, performance, and technology with the goal of creating performing arts supporters, entrepreneurs, participants, and professionals in music and/or theatre.
Encyclopedia of the Musical Theatre
by
Here are approximately 2,700 entries for performers, composers, writers, and shows; some producers, directors, choreographers, and designers are included as well. The scope is the text-based musical (no opera, pantomines, or revues) as performed in Britain, Europe, the U.S., Australia, and New Zealand in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries.
An International Dictionary of Theatre Language
by
Includes all aspects of drama and production, from burlesque, dramatic literature, opera, playwriting and theater management to vaudeville. Two-thirds of the terms explained are from English; the balance are from European, African, and, especially, Asian languages.
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of World Drama
by
Ranging from the earliest drama to the theater of the 1980's this encyclopedia includes coverage of national drama and theater around the world, theater companies, and musical comedy. Arrangement of the 1,300 entries is alphabetically by name or subject with nearly 950 of these devoted to individual playwrights and their works.
Starting a Theatre Company
by
Exploring everything from company incorporation and marketing, to legal, finance and festivals, Starting a Theatre Company is the complete guide to running a low-to-no budget or student theatre company. Written by an experienced theatre practitioner and featuring on-the-ground advice, this book covers all aspects of starting a theatre company with limited resources, including how to become a company, finding talent, defining a style, roles and responsibilities, building an audience, marketing, the logistics of a production, legalities, funding, and productions at festivals and beyond. The book also includes a chapter on being a sustainable company, and how to create a mindset that will lead to positive artistic creation. Each chapter contains a list of further resources, key terms and helpful tasks designed to support the reader through all of the steps necessary to thrive as a new organisation. An eResource page contains links to a wide range of industry created templates, guidance and interviews, making it even easier for you to get up and running as simply as possible. Starting a Theatre Company targets Theatre and Performance students interested in building their own theatre companies. This book will also be invaluable to independent producers and theatre makers.
This site is maintained by the librarians of George A. Spiva Library.
If you have a question or comment about the Library's LibGuides, please contact the site administrator.
