Research and Course Guides: PSC 352: Introduction to Comparative Politics: Find Articles, Reports & Documents

Search Everything at MSSU

Recommended Databases to Search

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Access thousands of full-text journals covering information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study including: anthropology, biology, chemistry, engineering, law, mathematics, multicultural studies, music, physics, psychology, women's studies and many other fields.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Single-themed weekly reports providing an overview, background and chronology of issues along with an assessment of current situation, tables, maps, pro/con statements, and bibliographies of key sources.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A large digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources covering more than 50 disciplines primarily in the Arts & Sciences, Life Sciences, and Business. Coverage begins at the first issue of the journal and extends up to a publication date usually set in the past three to five years.
Nexis Uni (LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Includes full text sources for regional, national, and international newspapers as well as business, legal, and medical publications, and also, government documents.
MasterFILE Complete This link opens in a new window
A collection of popular full-text magazines, reference books, videos, and other sources covering multiple subject areas.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels. Covering more than 160 subjects areas, ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content.
News Stream This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Newsstand™ offers unparalleled access to the full text of over 1300 newspapers, news websites and blogs from leading publishers throughout the world. The database includes backfile for most newspapers, providing access to articles, columns, editorials, obituaries and features published in each paper.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
- searchable full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles covering general psychology and specialized, basic, applied, clinical and theoretical research.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- contains nearly 2.3 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s.
SocIndex with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- comprehensive coverage of sociology encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study.

Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center
- opposing viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and pod casts, and links to Websites with information on today's hottest social issues.

Full Search Video Guide

Current Journal Articles from Comparative Political Studies

Database Search Tips

Use Boolean Logic (AND, OR, NOT) to combine search concepts.

TOO FEW hits: OR to add synonyms; individual key words, NOT whole phrases; drop concept(s) with AND; truncate; consider other databases.

TOO MANY hits: AND another concept into search; use other available limiters in the database.

Truncation symbols (?, *, !, +) will provide variant spelling after the root word.

A wildcard (?, *) is a character that may be used in a search term to represent one or more other characters.

Do an advanced search and take advantage of the fields provided.

Use the subject headings/descriptors to find additional citations on your topic. If that does not work, use the keyword search.

You can also use limits (e.g., publication year, language, words in the title, etc.) to narrow your retrieval.

Set up an auto alert/RSS feed to monitor the research.

Searching for Statistics within articles

Helpful Hints:

Sometimes statistics are buried within the text of a journal, magazine, or newspaper.

As you research, take the time to skim through your findings to discover potential sources of statistics.
Follow leads in the articles to locate other statistics.

Look in books and articles at graphs, charts, and diagrams to find statistical information.
Sometimes statistics are hidden within other articles but can't simply be found by searching "statistics."

When searching library databases, combine your topic search with a subject search for statistics.

Search Words:

Add these keywords to your topic searches to focus on statistics for your topic:

Statistics
Data
Numbers
Trends
Polling
Figures
Tables

Search Examples:

Maylasia AND Statistics
India AND population data

Google Scholar

Set Preferences to link to full-text available @ MSSU