Research and Course Guides: Justice Studies: Articles/Journals

Search Everything at MSSU

Recommended Databases to Search

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Access thousands of full-text journals covering information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study including: anthropology, biology, chemistry, engineering, law, mathematics, multicultural studies, music, physics, psychology, women's studies and many other fields.
Access World News This link opens in a new window
Contains local, regional, national, and international newspapers including The Joplin Globe, The Kansas City Star, USA Today, The Christian Science Monitor, The Guardian, and The Times of India. Many newspapers have decades of access as well as current news.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Single-themed weekly reports providing an overview, background and chronology of issues along with an assessment of current situation, tables, maps, pro/con statements, and bibliographies of key sources.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A large digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources covering more than 50 disciplines primarily in the Arts & Sciences, Life Sciences, and Business. Coverage begins at the first issue of the journal and extends up to a publication date usually set in the past three to five years.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Covering more than 160 subjects areas, this database includes scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Searchable full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles covering general psychology and specialized, basic, applied, clinical and theoretical research.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Over five million interdisciplinary bibliographic records and dissertations in psychology, behavioral sciences, and social sciences.
Social Science Journals This link opens in a new window
A sub-database of ProQuest Central; offers indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work and sociology.
SocIndex with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides information encompassing the broad spectrum of sociological study including all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study.
Sociology Database This link opens in a new window
A sub-database of ProQuest Central, this database covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including social policy, social services, anthropology, gender studies, gerontology, and population studies.

Justice Studies Journals

Civil Rights Monitor
Beginning in August 1985 as a bi-monthly newsletter published by The Leadership Conference Education Fund, the Civil Rights Monitor is now an annual publication that reports on civil rights issues pending before the three branches of government.
First Amendment Law Review
Since 2002, the First Amendment Law Review (“FALR”) has sought to “promote and protect the rights and freedoms guaranteed by the First Amendment through publishing scholarly writings on, and promoting discussion of, issues related to the First Amendment of the Constitution of the United States.” To accomplish this mission, FALR performs three primary duties.
Harvard Civil Rights-Civil Liberties Law Review
The Harvard Civil Rights-Civil Liberties Law Review (CR-CL) is the nation’s leading progressive law journal. Founded in 1966 as an instrument to advance personal freedoms and human dignities, CR-CL seeks to catalyze progressive thought and dialogue through publishing innovative legal scholarship and from various perspectives and in diverse fields of study.

Full Search Video Guide

Database Search Tips

Use Boolean Logic (AND, OR, NOT) to combine search concepts.

TOO FEW hits: OR to add synonyms; individual key words, NOT whole phrases; drop concept(s) with AND; truncate; consider other databases.

TOO MANY hits: AND another concept into search; use other available limiters in the database.

Truncation symbols (?, *, !, +) will provide variant spelling after the root word.

A wildcard (?, *) is a character that may be used in a search term to represent one or more other characters.

Do an advanced search and take advantage of the fields provided.

Use the subject headings/descriptors to find additional citations on your topic. If that does not work, use the keyword search.

You can also use limits (e.g., publication year, language, words in the title, etc.) to narrow your retrieval.

Set up an auto alert/RSS feed to monitor the research.

Interlibrary Loan Request for Articles

If you need an article to which Spiva Library does not have full-text access, we can request a copy from another library using a service called InterLibrary Loan.

This service is available to all MSSU students, faculty, alumni, staff and community card holders.

InterLibrary Loan Policy

*a nominal service fee may
apply in some cases*