Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Daniel Stewart Collection: Home

Special Collections, SC#165, Mr. Stewart worked in the Tri-State District (MO, KS, OK), as a geologist, for over 21 years. His collection consists of over 1,000 maps, reports on mining in the Tri-State District and books relating to geology and mining.

Collection Information

Collection Number: SC#165

Title: 
Daniel Stewart Collection

Dates: 
[Unknown date range]


Collection Size: 
5 Map Cases, 19 Boxes, 4 Bookshelves, 4 Filing Cabinets

Biographical History

Daniel R. Stewart was born in Taylorville, Illinois on December 20, 1913 and was raised in Hannibal, Missouri. 

He worked as a geologist and geophysicist in the Tri-State District, the zinc and lead mining area of Missouri, Kansas, and Oklahoma, for over 21 years. He was associated with American Zinc, Lead and Smelting Company and was also the district manager for the Tri-State District. After retirement he maintained a private consulting business.

Stewart passed away on November 21, 2006 and is buried in Mount Hope Cemetery in Webb City, Missouri.

Scope and Content

The Daniel Stewart collection consists of over 1,000 maps, reports on mining in the Tri-State District, books relating to geology and mining and mining equipment and rock samples. The collection has a lot of information on lead and zinc mining of the area, particularly to mines operated by the American Zinc, Lead and Smelting Company.

Creator(s)

Daniel Stewart

American Lead and Zinc Smelting Company

American Zinc, Lead and Smelting Company

Acquisition Information

Donated on April 23, 1994 by Daniel R. Stewart.

Preview the Collection

Preview the Collection

December 27, 1960 News release from American Zinc, Lead and Smelting Company

December 28, 1960 Joplin Globe newspaper article about Cardin, Oklahoma Mill reopening

Collection Inventory

The Daniel Stewart collection is in the process of being moved out of filing cabinets and into boxes. While this is being done the collection is being sorted. At the moment the most current collection inventory is from May 1998. That inventory is linked in the next tab.

This site is maintained by the librarians of George A. Spiva Library.
If you have a question or comment about the Library's LibGuides, please contact the site administrator.