Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Rolla Stephens Collection: Home

Special Collections, SC#29, Rolla Stephens Collection. Rolla Stephens was a Joplin real estate agent. This collection includes pictures and postcards of Joplin, Missouri and a book written by Stephens, telling his life story.

Collection Information

Collection Number: SC#29


Title: 
Rolla Stephens Collection

Dates: 
1972, 1984


Collection Size: 
1 Folder

Biographical History

Rolla Stephens, born July 5th, 1904. At the age of 20, he gained ownership of his family’s real estate business, which opened in 1902, after the death of his father in February 1925. In 1934, he became a member of the American Institute of Real Estate Appraisers. Rolla was President of Joplin Chamber of Commerce.

Scope and Content

Rolla Stephens was a Joplin real estate agent. This collection includes pictures and postcards of Joplin, Missouri and a book written by Stephens, telling his life story.

Creator(s)

Rolla Stephens

Preview the Collection

Postcard, Main Street, Looking North from Seventh Street, Joplin, Mo.

Back of Postcard

Postcard, Union Depot, Joplin, Mo.

Postcard, Grand Falls, Joplin, Mo.

Postcard, Connor Hotel, Joplin, Mo.

Collection Inventory

Folder 1:

  • The House of the Lords Club member card
  • House of the Lords flyer
  • Photographs
    • Olivia Apartments
    • Lake side park
    • Picher Lead works photocopy
    • Picher Lead works
    • Grand Falls
    • Hand Jig. And steam Jig.
  • Postcards of Joplin, Mo. by Rolla Stephens
  • Methodist Church Pamphlet attached to Forget me Not seed packet
  • 1972 postcard of “Joplin at the turn of the Century” mural
  • Chicken House postcard by Rolla Stephens
  • Pages of old Joplin, Mo. photographs
  • “the Salesman—as seen by” postcard
  • Rolla Stephen’s envelope “82nd year of service”
  • The book “The Life of Rolla Stephens – Cats and Frentlemen”

This site is maintained by the librarians of George A. Spiva Library.
If you have a question or comment about the Library's LibGuides, please contact the site administrator.