Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Rex Newman Collection: Home

Special Collections, SC#14, Rex Newman Collection. Transcriptions and taped interviews with Mr. Rex Newman, who was a reporter and editor for the Joplin Globe from 1918-1969.

Collection Information

Collection Number: SC#14

Title: 
Rex Newman Collection

Dates: 
1969


Collection Size: 
1 Folder

Scope and Content

Transcriptions and taped interviews with Mr. Rex Newman, who was a reporter and editor for the Joplin Globe from 1918-1969. These interviews explore the history of the Joplin Globe and of Joplin.

Creator(s)

Rex Newman

Bob Markman - Interviewer

Preview the Collection

Mayors of Joplin 1876-1968

Rex Newman, 2nd Interview, August 1969

Rex Newman, 2nd Interview, August 1969

Rex Newman, 2nd Interview, August 1969

Rex Newman, 2nd Interview, August 1969

Collection Inventory

  • Rex Newman (Joplin Globe) - Interview Tapes
    • Tape 1 7-22-1969
    • Tape 2 8-21-1969
    • Tape 3 8-28-1969
  • Interview notecards
    • Rex Newman
      • 1st interview – 2 notecards
      • 2nd interview – 4 notecards
    • Bill Marquart (Former Baker) – Joiner of clubs
      •  3 notecards
    • Mr. Austin Longstreet
      • 1st interview – 1 notecard
    • Mrs. P.T. Little (Joplin Resident 60 years)
      • 1 notecard
    • Uivian Riggs
      • 1 notecard
    • Joplin Globe
      • 5 notecards
  • Rex Newman interview transcript 7-22-1969
    •  Joplin Globe
    • 20 pages
  • Rex Newman interview 8-21-1969
    • Copy 1 (16 pages)
    • Copy 2 (17 pages)
  • Rex Newman rough draft
    • Pages 11-14
  • Mayors of Joplin list from 1873 to 1968
  • Rex Newman newspaper articles copies/scans
    • Missouri Tourist Future
    • Saved by Conservation
    • The Last Float
    • Our Ozarks “Sailors”
    • Ozarks Recreation Grows
    • The Fall Tourist Season
    • Off the Beaton Path

This site is maintained by the librarians of George A. Spiva Library.
If you have a question or comment about the Library's LibGuides, please contact the site administrator.