Skip to main content

Missouri Highway Department Collection: Home

Special Collections, SC#103, Missouri Highway Department Collection. A photograph album of Missouri Highway Department road and bridge construction projects in various counties in Southeast Missouri in the early 1920s.

Collection Information

Collection Number: SC#103

Title: 
Missouri Highway Department Collection

Dates: 
1921-1923


Collection Size: 
1 Box

Scope and Content

A photograph album of Missouri Highway Department road and bridge construction projects in various counties in Southeast Missouri in the early 1920s.

Creator(s)

Missouri Highway Department

Preview the Collection

001

Route 53, Butler County

002

Route 42, Butler County

003

Butler County, Project No. 59, Location of Roadway is along left of telephone line.

004

April 27, 1921, Butler County, Project No. 59, Blood Black River at bridge 

005

U.S.Route 60 – Sec. 90., Stoddard County, Looking East – Sta. 682 (Wahite)

006

U.S.Route 60 – Sec. 90, .Stoddard County, East from Sta. 687

007

U.S.Route 60 – Federal Aid Project 118B, Stoddard Co., 2½ Mi. E. of Essex.

008

Route 60, Stoddard County, Equaliser & Rip Rap

009

Route 25 – Federal Aid Project 211-A, Stoddard County, 2 Mi. So. of Dexter

0010

July 6, 1923, Stoddard County, Wahite Bridge

0011

July 6, 1923, Stoddard County, Wahite Bridge, 118A

0012

Stoddard County, 118-B Bridge

0013

U.S.Route 60 – Sec. 93., Scott County, 4 Miles East of Sikeston

0014

U.S.Route 60 – Sec. 92., Scott County, 1 Mile West of Sikeston

0015

U.S.Route 60 – Section 90., Stoddard County, 1 Mile East of Gray’s Ridge.

0016

U.S.Route 60 – Federal Aid Project 118C, Stoddard County, 1¾ Miles East of Essex., 9’ Concrete & 7’ Gravel

0017

Route 25 – Federal Aid Project 211-A., Stoddard County, 1½ Mile South of Dexter

0018

U.S.Route 60 – Federal Aid Project 179, Stoddard County, ½ Mile East of Dexter

0019

Route 60, Stoddard County

0020

Route 60, Stoddard County, West of Duley

0021

Route 25 – Federal Aid Project 211-A, Stoddard County, 1 Mile South of Dexter

0022

Route 25 – Federal Aid Project 211A., Stoddard County, ½ Mile South of Dexter

0023

Route 42, Ripley County

0024

Ripley County, Overlooking Doniphan

Preview the Collection

0025

Route 42, Ripley County, Note road in center background

0026

Junction of Route 42 & 21, Ripley County

0027

Route 42, Ripley County, East of Doniphan.

0028

Route 42, Ripley County, East of Doniphan.

0029

Route 42, Ripley County, West of Doniphan.

0030

Route 42, Ripley County, East of Doniphan.

0031

Route 67, Butler County, 5 Miles North of Poplar Bluff

0032

Route 67, Butler County, North of Poplar Bluff

0033

Route 67, Butler County, Note cut made for road.

0034

Route 67, Butler County

0035

U.S.Route 60 – Sec. 91., New Madrid County, 3 Miles West of Sikeston.

0036

U.S.Route 60 – Sec. 91., New Madrid County, ½ Mile West of Morehouse

0037

U.S.Route 60. – Sec. 91., New Madrid County, 1 Mile East of Morehouse.

0038

U.S.Route 60 – Sec. 91., New Madrid County, 3 Miles West of Sikeston.

0039

U.S.Route 60 – Sec. 91, New Madrid County, 4 Miles West of Sikeston.

0040

Project 40 New Madrid County, Route 61, New Madrid

0041

Cutting drainage ditch across Route 61, New Madrid County

0042

Route 61., New Madrid County, Federal Aid Project 15

0043

Mississippi County, Missouri, Project #7-A, Curve #3. Station 739, Method of using finishing machine on curves, Inside built by hand, F.W. Sayers, Res. Eng.

0044

December 12, 1921, Project 7A, Mississippi County, Cairo – Poplar Bluff, Type of Pavement: 16’ – 2 course concrete, Station 1314+00, Details: Using Incline, Note crevasted piling timber in place, Incline paved with rubble stone.

0045

April 1, 1922, Project 7A, Mississippi County, Cairo – Poplar Bluff, Type of Pavement: 16’ -2 Course Concrete, Station – 1314+00, Details: Showing damage done to shoulder by high water of of Mississippi River

0046

Project #7-A, Mississippi County, Missouri, Ready for steel, Bridge Station 1197+52.

0047

Project #7-A, Mississippi County, Looking East from Station 560, J.W. Sayers Res. Eng.

0048

April 1, 1922, Project 7-A, Mississippi County, Cario – Poplar Bluff, Type of Pavement: 16’ – 2 Course Concrete, Station 1309 + 00, Details: Mississippi River, Water off road, Only damage was to shoulder.

0049

Project #7-A, Mississippi County, Missouri, South Allotment Bridge, Station 1198 + 52, Bayers, Project Engineer

0050

March 22, 1922, Project 7A, Mississippi County, Cairo – Poplar Bluff, Type of Pavement: 16’ – 2 Course Concrete, Station 1309 + 00, Details: Looking toward River, Mississippi River, Flood water over road 12”

Preview the Collection

0051

March 23, 1922, Project 7A, Mississippi County, Cario Poplar Bluff, 16’ – 2 Course Concrete, Station: 1312 + 00, Details: Boat going over road

0052

Project 7A, Mississippi County, Missouri, Constructing Culvert #23 @ Sta 1232 + 40, Picture shows 52’ of 30” vitrified pipe blocked in place to line and grade, Pipe is placed on an 8” x 6’ x 54’ concrete slab with 117’ of 8” foundation from down to solid ground to make culvert and fill safe, Drain tile was also placed on with sides of foundation.

0053

Project #7A, Mississippi County – Missouri, 52’ of 30” Vit. Pipe, Culvert #23 @ station 1232 + 40, Pipe to line and grade on 8”, Cxton Order #15 concrete foundation, Not drain tile

0054

Project #7-A, Mississippi County, Missouri, Pouring bottom half of footing., South Allotment bridge, Station 1197 + 52

0055

Project #7-A, Mississippi County, Missouri, Building forms and placing steel in Bridge Allotment, Station 1197 + 52

0056

Project #7A, Mississippi County, Missouri, 30 Ton test on. 40’ Pile, .03’ settlement @ End 24 hours

0057

Project #7-A, Mississippi County, Missouri, 15 Ton test Riding on 40’ pile., Test showed no settlement @ end of 24 hours.

0058

Project #7-A, Mississippi County, Missouri, North Allotment bridge, Station 1197 + 52

0059

Project #7-A, Mississippi County, Missouri, Bridge Station 1997 + 52

0060

Project #7-A, Mississippi County, Looking East from Sta. 673, Shoulder not completed, Loads would call for 2 – to 3 teams to each wagon on old road.

0061

December 2, 1921, Project 7-A, Mississippi County, Cairo – Poplar Bluff, 16’ – 2 Course Concrete, Station: 1300 + 59, Details: 8’ + 5’ Box Culvert, To be used as equalizer during flood stage of Mississippi River.

0062

Project #7-A, Mississippi County, Missouri, Taken from Station 1317 + 88, Picture Shows Rubble pouring and Riprap completed to Sta. 1316

0063

Project #7-A, Mississippi County, Missouri, Mississippi River Incline

0064

March. 21, 1922, Project 7A, Mississippi County, Cairo – Poplar Bluff, 16’ – 2 Course Concrete, Station 1302 + 00, Details: Flood water causing no damage to road

0065

Project #7-A, Mississippi County, Missouri, Location of (?) @ Mississippi River, River at Elevation of 290.

0066

Project #7-A, Mississippi County, Missouri, Mississippi River Incline., Unloading barge of stone, rubble paving, grading &, Riprap was started at Elev. of 290, Station 1317 + 88.

0067

Project #7-A, Mississippi County, Looking East from station 582, This place was impassable to auto traffic during winter & spring months 1919-1920, Road, shoulders & side ditches completed.

0068

June 17, 1922, Project 7B, Mississippi County, Cairo – Poplar Bluff, Type of Pavement: 9’ Concrete – 7’ gravel, Station 437 + 00, Details: West half of railroad approach completed

0069

May 5, 1922, Project 7B, Mississippi County, Cario - Poplar Bluff, Type of Pavement: 9’ Concrete 7’ Gravel, Station 128 + 00, Details: (?) base to grade gravel being placed.

0070

April 19, 1922, Project 7B, Mississippi County, Cairo – Poplar Bluff, Type of Pavement: 9’ concrete 7’ gravel, Station 170 + 00, Details: Forms in place for 9 concrete pavement (?) in Bertrand, Missouri

0071

March 5, 1922, Project 7B, Mississippi County, Cairo to Poplar Bluff, Type of Pavement: 9’ Concrete 7’ Gravel, Station: 345 + 00, Details: 15 ton test on piling at bridge silt station, 345 + 00 30 ton test, fixture no good

0072

May 5, 1922, Project 7B, Mississippi County, Cairo – Poplar Bluff, Type of Pavement: 9’ Concrete 7’ Gravel, Station 128 + 00, Details: Showing method of placing gravel. Boxes hold 2 cu. yds.

0073

May 5, 1922, Project 7B, Mississippi County, Cairo – Poplar Bluff, Type of Pavement: 9’ Concrete 7’ gravel, Station: 128 + 00, Details: After pavement has had proper curing. Industrial truck is placed on some. Sub base for gravel is prepared and grade is hauled to place as shown.

0074

June 23, 1922, Project 7B, Mississippi County, Cairo – Poplar Bluff, Type of Pavement: 9’ Concrete – 7’ gravel, Station: 458 + 10, Details: Forms in place, sub grade ready for concrete.

Preview the Collection

0075

Project 199, Dunklin County, Type of Pavement: 9’ Concrete – 7’ Gravel, May 18, 1923, Station: 152 + 00, Details: Placing concrete on damp sub – grade., Reinforcing steel is held in place with special spacers.

0076

Project 199, Dunklin County, Type of Pavement: 9’ Concrete – 7’ Gravel, May 18, 1923, Details: Using straight edge on finished surface.

0077

Project 199, Dunklin County, Type of Pavement: 9’ Concrete – 7’ Gravel, May 18, 1923, Station: 152 + 00, Details: Concrete is spread with shovels to as near the (?) as possible before finishing machine (strikes?) (same?) off.

0078

no info

0079

'Road Building is a Process' sign

0080

(?) (?), Madison 0081 – Madison

0081

Madison

0082

101B, Madison

0083

101B,  Madison, Hammick Hill

0084

203 A, Madison

0085

203 A, Madison

0086

203A, Madison, St. Francis R.

0087

R. 70. S. 4, Madison

0088

R. 70 S. 4, Madison

0089

2 Mile Bridge, Madison

0090

R. 70 S. 4, Madison

0091

R. 9 S. 97, Madison

0092

R. 9 S. 98, Madison

0093

R9 5. 101A, Bollinger

0094

9-101-A, Little Whitewater Bridge, Putting in weep-hole pipe, Bollinger Co.

0095

R.9.S. 101A, White Water Bridge, Sta. 346, Route 9 – Bollinger County

0096

R. 9. S. 102 A, Bollinger

0097

R. 9 S. 102A, Bollinger

0098

R. 9 S. 102A, Bollinger, Spreading Burlap

0099

Project 101B, Madison, Lone Star Route, Fredericktown, Mo., Postcard

Collection Inventory

Page 1

  • 001 – Route 53, Butler County
  • 002 – Route 42, Butler County

Page 2

  • 003 – Butler County, Project No. 59, Location of Roadway is along left of telephone line.
  • 004 – April 27, 1921, Butler County, Project No. 59, Blood Black River at bridge

Page 3

  • 005 – U.S.Route 60 – Sec. 90., Stoddard County, Looking East – Sta. 682 (Wahite)
  • 006 – U.S.Route 60 – Sec. 90, .Stoddard County, East from Sta. 687

Page 4

  • 007 – U.S.Route 60 – Federal Aid Project 118B, Stoddard Co., 2½ Mi. E. of Essex.
  • 008 – Route 60 Stoddard Co., Equaliser & Rip Rap

Page 5

  • 009 – Route 25 – Federal Aid Project 211-A, Stoddard County, 2 Miles South of Dexter
  • 0010 – July 6, 1923, Stoddard County, Wahite Bridge

Page 6

  • 0011 – July 6, 1923, Stoddard County, Wahite Bridge, 118A
  • 0012 – Stoddard County, 118-B Bridge

Page 7

  • Blank

Page 8

  • 0013 – U.S.Route 60 – Sec. 93., Scott County, 4 Miles East of Sikeston
  • 0014 – U.S.Route 60 – Sec. 92., Scott County, 1 Miles West of Sikeston

Page 9

  • 0015 – U.S.Route 60 – Sec. 90., Stoddard County, 1 Mile East of Gray’s Ridge.
  • 0016 – U.S.Route 60 – Federal Aid Project 118C, Stoddard County, 1¾ Mi. E. of Essex., 9’ Concrete & 7’ Gravel

Page 10

  • 0017 – Route 25 – Federal Aid Project 211-A., Stoddard County, 1½ Mile South of Dexter
  • 0018 – U.S.Route 60 – Federal Aid Project 179, Stoddard County, ½ Mile East of Dexter

Page 11

  • 0019 – Route 60, Stoddard County
  • 0020 – Route 60, Stoddard County, West of Duley

Page 12

  • 0021 – Route 25 – Federal Aid Project 211-A, Stoddard County, 1 Mile South of Dexter
  • 0022 – R 25 – Federal Aid Project 211A., Stoddard County, ½ Mile South of Dexter

Page 13

  • 0023 – Route 42, Ripley County
  • 0024 – Ripley County, Overlooking Doniphan

Collection Inventory

Page 14

  • 0025 – Route 42, Ripley County, Note road in center background
  • 0026 – Junction of Route 42 & 21, Ripley County

Page 15

  • 0027 – Route 42, Ripley County, East of Doniphan.
  • 0028 – Route 42, Ripley County, East of Doniphan.

Page 16

  • 0029 – Route 42, Ripley County, West of Doniphan.
  • 0030 – Route 42, Ripley County, East of Doniphan.

Page 17

  • 0031 – Route 67, Butler County, 5 Miles North of Poplar Bluff
  • 0032 – Route 67, Butler County, North of Poplar Bluff

Page 18

  • 0033 – Route 67, Butler County, Note cut made for road.
  • 0034 – Route 67, Butler County

Page 19

  • 0035 – U.S.Route 60 – Sec. 91., New Madrid County, 3 Miles West of Sikeston.
  • 0036 – U.S.Route 60 – Sec. 91., New Madrid County, ½ Mile West of Morehouse

Page 20

  • 0037 – U.S.Route 60. – Sec. 91., New Madrid County, 1 Mile East of Morehouse.
  • 0038 – U.S.Route 60 – Sec. 91., New Madrid County, 3 Miles West of Sikeston.

Page 21

  • 0039 – U.S.Route 60 – Sec. 91, New Madrid County, 4 Miles West of Sikeston.
  • 0040 – Project 40 New Madrid County, Route 61, New Madrid

Page 22

  • 0041 – Cutting drainage ditch across Route 61, New Madrid County
  • 0042 – Route 61., New Madrid County, Federal Aid Project 15

Page 23

  • 0043 – Mississippi County, Missouri, Project #7-A, Curve #3. Station 739, Method of using finishing machine on curves, Inside built by hand, F.W. Sayers, Res. Eng.
  • 0044 – December 12, 1921, Project 7A, Mississippi County, Cairo – Poplar Bluff, Type of Pavement: 16’ – 2 course concrete, Station 1314+00, Details: Using Incline, Note crevasted piling timber in place, Incline paved with rubble stone.

Page 24

  • 0045 – April 1, 1922, Project 7A, Mississippi County, Cairo – Poplar Bluff, Type of Pavement: 16’ -2 Course Concrete, Station – 1314+00, Details: Showing damage done to shoulder by high water of of Mississippi River
  • 0046 – Project #7-A, Mississippi County, Missouri, Ready for steel, Bridge Station 1197+52.

Page 25

  • 0047 – Project #7-A, Mississippi County, Looking East from Station 560, J.W. Sayers Res. Eng.
  • 0048 – April 1, 1922, Project 7-A, Mississippi County, Cario – Poplar Bluff, Type of Pavement: 16’ – 2 Course Concrete, Station 1309 + 00, Details: Mississippi River, Water off road, Only damage was to shoulder.

Page 26

  • 0049 – Project #7-A, Mississippi County, Missouri, South Allotment Bridge, Station 1198 + 52, Bayers, Project Engineer
  • 0050 – March 22, 1922, Project 7A, Mississippi County, Cairo – Poplar Bluff, Type of Pavement: 16’ – 2 Course Concrete, Station 1309 + 00, Details: Looking toward River, Mississippi River, Flood water over road 12”

Collection Inventory

Page 27

  • 0051 – March 23, 1922, Project 7A, Mississippi County, Cario Poplar Bluff, 16’ – 2 Course Concrete, Station: 1312 + 00, Details: Boat going over road
  • 0052 – Project 7A, Mississippi County, Missouri, Constructing Culvert #23 @ Sta 1232 + 40, Picture shows 52’ of 30” vitrified pipe blocked in place to line and grade, Pipe is placed on an 8” x 6’ x 54’ concrete slab with 117’ of 8” foundation from down to solid ground to make culvert and fill safe, Drain tile was also placed on with sides of foundation.

Page 28

  • 0053 – Project #7A, Mississippi County – Missouri, 52’ of 30” Vit. Pipe, Culvert #23 @ station 1232 + 40, Pipe to line and grade on 8”, Cxton Order #15 concrete foundation, Not drain tile
  • 0054 – Project #7-A, Mississippi County, Missouri, Pouring bottom half of footing., South Allotment bridge, Station 1197 + 52

Page 29

  • 0055 – Project #7-A, Mississippi County, Missouri, Building forms and placing steel in Bridge Allotment, Station 1197 + 52
  • 0056 – Project #7A, Mississippi County, Missouri, 30 Ton test on. 40’ Pile, .03’ settlement @ End 24 hours

Page 30

  • 0057 – Project #7-A, Mississippi County, Missouri, 15 Ton test Riding on 40’ pile., Test showed no settlement @ end of 24 hours.
  • 0058 – Project #7-A, Mississippi County, Missouri, North Allotment bridge, Station 1197 + 52

Page 31

  • 0059 – Project #7-A, Mississippi County, Missouri, Bridge Station 1997 + 52
  • 0060 – Project #7-A, Mississippi County, Looking East from Sta. 673, Shoulder not completed, Loads would call for 2 – to 3 teams to each wagon on old road.

Page 32

  • 0061 – December 2, 1921, Project 7-A, Mississippi County, Cairo – Poplar Bluff, 16’ – 2 Course Concrete, Station: 1300 + 59, Details: 8’ + 5’ Box Culvert, To be used as equalizer during flood stage of Mississippi River.
  • 0062 – Project #7-A, Mississippi County, Missouri, Taken from Station 1317 + 88, Picture Shows Rubble pouring and Riprap completed to Sta. 1316

Page 33

  • 0063 – Project #7-A, Mississippi County, Missouri, Mississippi River Incline
  • 0064 – March. 21, 1922, Project 7A, Mississippi County, Cairo – Poplar Bluff, 16’ – 2 Course Concrete, Station 1302 + 00, Details: Flood water causing no damage to road

Page 34

  • 0065 – Project #7-A, Mississippi County, Missouri, Location of (?) @ Mississippi River, River at Elevation of 290.
  • 0066 – Project #7-A, Mississippi County, Missouri, Mississippi River Incline., Unloading barge of stone, rubble paving, grading &, Riprap was started at Elev. of 290, Station 1317 + 88.

Page 35

  • 0067 – Project #7-A, Mississippi County, Looking East from station 582, This place was impassable to auto traffic during winter & spring months 1919-1920, Road, shoulders & side ditches completed.
  • 0068 – June 17, 1922, Project 7B, Mississippi County, Cairo – Poplar Bluff, Type of Pavement: 9’ Concrete – 7’ gravel, Station 437 + 00, Details: West half of railroad approach completed

Page 36

  • 0069 – May 5, 1922, Project 7B, Mississippi County, Cario - Poplar Bluff, Type of Pavement: 9’ Concrete 7’ Gravel, Station 128 + 00, Details: (?) base to grade gravel being placed.
  • 0070 – April 19, 1922, Project 7B, Mississippi County, Cairo – Poplar Bluff, Type of Pavement: 9’ concrete 7’ gravel, Station 170 + 00, Details: Forms in place for 9 concrete pavement (?) in Bertrand, Missouri

Page 37

  • 0071 – March 5, 1922, Project 7B, Mississippi County, Cairo to Poplar Bluff, Type of Pavement: 9’ Concrete 7’ Gravel, Station: 345 + 00, Details: 15 ton test on piling at bridge silt station, 345 + 00 30 ton test, fixture no good
  • 0072 – May 5, 1922, Project 7B, Mississippi County, Cairo – Poplar Bluff, Type of Pavement: 9’ Concrete 7’ Gravel, Station 128 + 00, Details: Showing method of placing gravel. Boxes hold 2 cu. yds.

Page 38

  • 0073 – May 5, 1922, Project 7B, Mississippi County, Cairo – Poplar Bluff, Type of Pavement: 9’ Concrete 7’ gravel, Station: 128 + 00, Details: After pavement has had proper curing. Industrial truck is placed on some. Sub base for gravel is prepared and grade is hauled to place as shown.
  • 0074 – June 23, 1922, Project 7B, Mississippi County, Cairo – Poplar Bluff, Type of Pavement: 9’ Concrete – 7’ gravel, Station: 458 + 10, Details: Forms in place, sub grade ready for concrete.

Collection Inventory

Page 39

  • 0075 – Project 199, Dunklin County, Type of Pavement: 9’ Concrete – 7’ Gravel, May 18, 1923, Station: 152 + 00, Details: Placing concrete on damp sub – grade., Reinforcing steel is held in place with special spacers.
  • 0076 – Project 199, Dunklin County, Type of Pavement: 9’ Concrete – 7’ Gravel, May 18, 1923, Details: Using straight edge on finished surface.

Page 40

  • 0077 – Project 199, Dunklin County, Type of Pavement: 9’ Concrete – 7’ Gravel, May 18, 1923, Station: 152 + 00, Details: Concrete is spread with shovels to as near the (?) as possible before finishing machine (strikes?) (same?) off.
  • 0078 – no info

Page 41

  • 0079 – no info
  • 0080 – (?) (?), Madison
  • 0081 – Madison

Page 42

  • 0082 – 101B, Madison
  • 0083 – 101B,  Madison, Hammick Hill
  • 0084 – 203 A, Madison

Page 43

  • 0085 – 203 A, Madison
  • 0086 – 203A, Madison, St. Francis R.
  • 0087 – R. 70. S. 4, Madison
  • 0088 – R. 70 S. 4, Madison

Page 44

  • 0089 – 2 Mile Bridge, Madison
  • 0090 – R. 70 S. 4, Madison
  • 0091 – R. 9 S. 97, Madison

Page 45

  • 0092 – R. 9 S. 98​​​​​​​, Madison
  • 0093 – R9 5. 101A, Bollinger​​​​​​​

Page 46

  • 0094 – 9-101-A, Little Whitewater Bridge, Putting in weep-hole pipe, Bollinger Co.
  • 0095 – R.9.S. 101A, White Water Bridge, Sta. 346, Route 9 – Bollinger County

Page 47

  • 0096 – R. 9. S. 102 A, Bollinger
  • 0097 – R. 9 S. 102A, Bollinger​​​​​​​ ​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

Page 48

  • 0098 – R. 9 S. 102A, Bollinger, Spreading Burlap
  • 0099 – Project 101B, Madison, Lone Star Route, Fredericktown, Mo., Postcard

This site is maintained by the librarians of George A. Spiva Library.
If you have a question or comment about the Library's LibGuides, please contact the site administrator.