Research and Course Guides: Marvin Singleton Collection: Home

Collection Information

Collection Number: SC#110

Title:
Marvin Singleton Collection

Dates:
1990-2003

Collection Size:
42 Boxes

Biographical History

Marvin Singleton was born October 7, 1939. He was educated at Schreiner Institute, Kerrville, Texas; The University of the South, Sewanee, Tennessee; and The University of Tennessee Medical School, where he received his M.D. degree. He was a practicing physician in Joplin, Missouri, specializing in ear, nose, and throat, problems.

Dr. Singleton was a resident of Newton County. He has been a member of the rotary club, Methodist church, Elks Club, Masonic Lodge, Farm Bureau, Newton County Historical Society, and Newton County 4-H.

Dr. Singleton was elected to the Seneca R-VII School Board. He was also elected as a delegate to the Republican National Convention in 1988 and 1992.

Dr. Singleton was first elected to the 32^nd State Senatorial District in a special election on June 5, 1990, and was re-elected in November 1990, 1994, and 1998. In 1996 and 1998 Senator Singleton was elected to the Senate leadership position of Assistant Minority Floor Leader. Senator Singleton has served as chairman of the Senate Committee on Public Health and Welfare and State Budget Control; Vice-Chairman of the Senate Administration Committee and was a member of the Senate Committees on Insurance and housing, rules, joint rules, resolutions, and ethics.

Senator Singleton has also been a member a member of the National Conference of State Legislatures Health Committee, the Southern Legislative Conference Human Services, and Public Safety Committee and Advisory to the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality.

Scope and Content

The papers of retired Missouri State Senator for the 32nd District, Marvin Singleton. Dr. Singleton served as state senator from 1990-2003.

Creator(s)

Marvin Singleton

Acquisition Information

Donated by Marvin Singleton in 2002 and 2005.

Preview the Collection

Marvin Singleton

Collection Inventory

Box 1

F-1 June-1990 – Correspondence
F-2 July-1990 – Correspondence
F-3 August-1990 – Correspondence
F-4 September-1990 Correspondence
F-5 Veto Session-1990-Correspondence
F-6 October-1990-Correspondence
F-7 November-1990
F-8 December-1990
F-9 January-1991
F-10 Closing of the Carthage Job Service Office
F-11 1990-Congratulation letters on election to Barton, Jasper, Newton Counties
F-12 1990 Congrats letters to Senator
F-13 1990 Constituent Problems
F-14 Dept. of Natural Resources-1990
F-15 Senate Correspondence
F-16 Letters Jan.1990-Dec.1990
F-17 Info: HB 141-1991
F-18 1991 Correspondence
F-19 Correspondence-January (1-25)
F-20 Correspondence-January (26-31)
F-21 Correspondence-February (1-13)
F-22 Correspondence-February (14-28)
F-23 Correspondence-March (1-18)
F-24 Correspondence-March (20-31)

Box 2

F-1 April (1-12)
F-2 April (15-30)
F-3 May (1-9)
F-4 May (10-31)
F-5 June-1991
F-6 July-1991
F-7 August-1991
F-8 September-1991
F-9 October-1991
F-10 November-1991
F-11 December-1991
F-12 Senate & House Bills
F-13 Miscellaneous
F-14 Mo. Rehab Center
F-15 Workers Compensation
F-16 Bills Introduced by Senate
F-17 D D R
F-18 Economic Development-1992
F-19 Expense Account-1992
F-20 Stoplight in Seneca
F-21 A-1992
F-22 B-1992
F-23 C-1992
F-24 D-1992
F-25 E-1992
F-26 F-1992
F-27 G-1992
F-28 H-1992
F-29 J-1992
F-30 K-1992
F-31 L-1992
F-32 M-1992
F-33 N-1992
F-34 O-1992
F-35 P-1992
F-36 R-1992
F-37 S-1992
F-38 T-1992
F-39 U-1992
F-40 V-1992
F-41 W-1992
F-42 Y-1992
F-43 Z-1992

Box 3

F-1 1993 Constituent Letters
F-2 Shemlock Fingers
F-3 Legislation 1993
F-4 SB 127 Nurse Midwifery
F-5 January-1993 (Correspondence)
F-6 February-1993 (Correspondence)
F-7 March-1993 (Correspondence)
F-8 April-1993 (Correspondence)
F-9 May-1993 (Correspondence)
F-10 June-1993 (Correspondence)
F-11 July-1993 (Correspondence)
F-12 August-1993 (Correspondence)
F-13 September-1993 (Correspondence)
F-14 October-1993 (Correspondence)
F-15 November-1993 (Correspondence)
F-16 December-1993 (Correspondence)
F-17 Christmas cards
F-18 Prohibiting the use if sexuality materials with school curriculum
F-19 Missouri Political News Letter
F-20 1993 Planner
F-21 SB-680, HB 592
F-22 January 1994
F-23 February 1994

Collection Inventory

Box 4

F-1 March-1994 (Correspondence)
F-2 April-1994 (Correspondence)
F-3 May-1994 (Correspondence)
F-4 June-1994 (Correspondence)
F-5 July-1994 (Correspondence)
F-6 August-1994 (Correspondence)
F-7 September-1994 (Correspondence)
F-8 October-1994 (Correspondence)
F-9 November-1994 (Correspondence)
F-10 December-1994 (Correspondence)
F-11 Miscellaneous-1994
F-12 Wrongful Execution
F-13 Conflict of Interest
F-14 Census Information
F-15 Certificate of Need Home Office
F-16 Attorney General Opinion
F-17 Information from Senator
F-18 1994 Hospital
F-19 1994 Dept. of Insurance
F-20 Labor & Industrial Relations
F-21 Leg. Research
F-22 Lobbyist
F-23 Mental Health
F-24 Kit Bond
F-25 DNR-1994
F-26 Committee Assignment 1995
F-27 Public Health
F-28 Appropriations-1995
F-29 Public Health
F-30 Economic Development
F-31 1994 General Information
F-32 Graduating Students
F-33 Health-1994
F-34 Highway Dept.-1994

Box 5

F-1 Executive Office 1990-92
F-2 General Information 1990-92
F-3 Gillioz Theater
F-4 Senators Responses
F-5 Phone Messages
F-6 Guest Book
F-7 Political
F-8 Mo. Highway Dept.
F-9 Children’s Hospital
F-10 Gas Tax
F-11 Clear Air Bill
F-12 Relating to Prevailing Wages SB 33-1995
F-13 Relating to County Planning SB 421-1995
F-14 Relating to Health Care Providers SB 609(1995)
F-15 Relating to Peace Officers Standards & Training (accreditation) SB 387-1995
F-16 Relating to Motor Carrier Operations (Crowder College) SB 377-1995
F-17 Relating to Midwives SB 336-1995
F-18 Relating to Members of the General Assembly (lobbyists) SB 335-1995
F-19 Relating to Public Safety Offenses (leaving scene of accident) SB 328-1995
F-20 Relating to Elections (open primary) SB 327-1995
F-21 Relating to pharmacists & pharmacies SB 308-1995
F-22 Certificate of Need SB 5 (1995)
F-23 Worker’s Comp. SB 23 & HB 245 (1995)
F-24 Pawnbroker Bill SCS/HCS/HB 85 (1995)
F-25 Health Insurance Availability Act SB 318 (1995)
F-26 Redefines Residential Property HB 211 (1995)
F-27 Landlord Remedies HB 383 (1995)
F-28 Legislation Intro by Sen. Singleton-1994
F-29 Adding two new sections relating to the sale of recordings to minors
F-30 Amendment to SB 475 Relating to Peace Officer Training
F-31 Relating to Peace Officers Standards & Training SB 646-1994
F-32 Relating to Midwives SB 779-1994
F-33 Patient’s Medical Records; Small Claims SB 826 (’94 Schneider) Copy of
F-34 Relating to the Judiciary
F-35 Lowers Motorcycle Helmet Penalty HB 149(1995)
F-36 Counties; Officers; Procedures SCS/HCS/HB 274 & 268 (1995)
F-37 Voter Approval for Tax Increases <$50m HS/HCS/HJR 20 (1995)
F-38 Tuition Deduction on Income Tax Return SB 333 (1995)
F-39 School District Bonds SA/SS/SB 301 (1995)
F-40 Senate Amendmend. NO
F-41 Bill Signed by Gov. Carnahan
F-42 Sponsor Report-Senator Singleton
F-43 Roll Call Vote
F-44 Veto Senate Bill 279
F-45 Legislation passed
F-46 New Articles
F-47 Legislative News
F-48 Journal of the House
F-49 Governor’s Amendment
F-50 SJR 4
F-51 HB-400
F-52 HB-18
F-53 HB-558& SB 418
F-54 Public School Retirement System

Box 6

F-1 Casino Proposal October-95
F-2 Casino Proposal October-95
F-3 Casino Proposal October-95
F-4 Thank you 1990-1993
F-5 Letters-1991
F-6 Letters-1990
F-7 Job Applications 1992
F-8 Health 1992
F-9 School letter
F-10 Miscellaneous
F-11 Casino Proposal November/December 1995
F-12 Casino March 1996
F-13 Correspondence Feb-July 1992
F-14 January Letters 1992
F-15 Bill Correspondence 1991-1992
F-16 Correspondence 1990 Sept. Dec.
F-17 Health 1992
F-18 FEMA
F-19 Kelly Amendment
F-20 Senate Bills 14-178
F-21 Senate Bills 212-461
F-22 Senate Bills No. 3

Box 7

F-1 House Joint Resolution No. 19
F-2 Casino Letters-Oct. 1995
F-3 Casino Letters-Oct.1995
F-4 Casino Letters-Oct. 1995
F-5 Casino Letters-Oct. 1995
F-6 Casino Letters-Oct. 1995
F-7 Sen. Singletons Casino Postion-Nov.1995
F-8 SB-326-1995-Relating to local hold harmless for state aid
F-9 Prison Work-1995
F-10 Penalties for Personal Finance Disclosure
F-11 Guilty But Mentally Ill
F-12 Medical Savings Accounts
F-13 HB 1372-Util. Care
F-14 Gun Bill Amendment
F-15 SB 0578-Removes Limit on Number of Patrol Officers
F-16 SS/SCS/SB 507
F-17 SB 887 Pawn Broker Bill
F-18 SCA/HCS/HB 1372
F-19 SB/679
F-20 Lobbyist Legislation
F-21 Senate Rule-902-1996 Lobbyists Gifts
F-22 SR 830-1996 New Lobbyists Rule
F-23 HCR 11-1996-Class III Gambling
F-24 HB 1604-1996-Webb City National Guard Armory
F-25 SR 1326-1996 Health Care on Federal Level
F-26 SB 877-1996 Nurse-Midwives to be certified
F-27 SB 866-1996 Lobbyists
F-28 SB 841-1996 Combined w/SCS SB’s 884
F-29 SB 758-1996-Patrol Inspections of Mfg. Homes
F-30 SB 601-1996 Expand Public Hospital Jurisdiction
F-31 SB 593-1996 Unlawful Use of Weapons
F-32 SB 592-1996 Open Primary
F-33 SB 591-1996 Open Primary
F-34 SB 568-1996 CON Removing Legislation
F-35 SB 567-1996 Prevailing Wage less than 300 million
F-36 CON Meeting 10-27-95
F-37 SB 515-1996 Anatomical Gifts

Box 8

F-1 1999-Special License Plates/Aging
F-2 1999-Municipal Taxation of Electrical Corporation
F-3 Missouri Highway and Transportation Dept. (Leg. Budget Request-Fiscal Year 1997)
F-4 Missouri Dept. Of Revenue Directory
F-5 Individuals to Contact to Testify for 1996 Legislation
F-6 88^th General Assembly Legislation Roster 1995-96
F-7 Missouri Highway & Transportation Dept.-Dist. 7 S.W. District
F-8 State of Missouri Appropriation Activity Request-1996
F-9 Moving Missouri into the 21^st Century
F-10 Coordinating Board for Higher Education Appropriations Request Fiscal Year-1996
F-11 House Bill No. 17 96-97
F-12 House Bill No. 18 96-97
F-13 SB 514-1996 Leaving Scene of Accidental Shooting
F-14 SB 513-1996 Prevailing Wage
F-15 SB 566-1996 Hwy Patrol Off Riverboats
F-16 Administration Committee-Jan. 10,1996
F-17 Administration Committee-Jan. 31,1996
F-18 Administration Committee-Jan. 24, 1996
F-19 Administration Committee-Jan. 17, 1996
F-20 Administration Committee-Jan. 3, 1996
F-21 Administration Committee-Feb. 7, 1996
F-22 Administration Committee-Feb. 7, 1996
F-23 Administration Committee-Feb. 14,1996
F-24 Administration Committee-Feb. 21, 1996
F-25 Administration Committee-Feb. 28,1996
F-26 Administration Committee-March 6, 1996
F-27 Administration Committee-March 20,1996
F-28 Administration Committee March 27,1996

Box 9

F-1 Administration Committee April 10, 1996
F-2 Administration Committee April 3, 1996
F-3 Administration Committee April 24, 1996
F-4 Administration Committee May 1, 1996
F-5 Administration Committee May 9, 1996
F-6 Administration Committee May 15, 1996
F-7 Administration Committee May 22, 1996
F-8 Administration Committee June 10, 1996
F-9 Administration Committee June 24, 1996
F-10 Administration Committee July 10, 1996
F-11 Administration Committee August 26, 1996
F-12 Administration Committee September 11, 1996
F-13 Administration Committee September 30, 1996
F-14 Administration Committee November 6, 1996
F-15 Administration Committee December 4, 1996

Box 10

F-1 Administration Committee December 17, 1996
F-2 SB 32-1997 Leaving Scene of Accidental Shooting
F-3 SB 34-1997 DNR Land Transfer
F-4 SB 33-1997 Prevailing Wages $100,000 $50,000
F-5 SB 74-1997 Crimes Against Law Enforcement Officers
F-6 SB 75-1997 Criminal Street Gangs
F-7 SB 151-1997 Administration Procedures for Schools
F-8 SB 411-1997 Change of Venue, Supreme Court Rules
F-9 SB 412-1997 Change of Venue, less than 75,000 population
F-10 SB 434-1997 Hwy. Patrol off Riverboats
F-11 SB 435-1997 One License Plate
F-12 SB 465-1997 Establishes Bureau of Gaming Security
F-13 SCR 4-1997 Compensation for State Officials
F-14 SB 12-1997 Sen. Russell-Relating to State Income Taxes
F-15 SB 101-1997 Sen. Kenney-Increases Dependent Exemption
F-16 SB 147-1997 Sen. Kinder-Job Reference Bill
F-17 SB 234-1997 Sen. Howard-Physicians Licensed in Canada
F-18 SB 241-1997 Sen. Bentley-County Road & Bridges Funds
F-19 SB 300-1997 Sen. Lybyer-Change of Venue
F-20 HB 150-1997 Rep. Gaskill-DNR Land Transfer
F-21 Family Fairness Tax Relief Plan 1997
F-22 Amendment to HB 738
F-23 SB 360 Amendments
F-24 Amendments of SB 406-Tax
F-25 HB 339-Public Defenders
F-26 HB 335 Managed Cure
F-27 Campaign Finance Law after SB 16
F-28 Amendments for SB 169-1997-All ruled out of order
F-29 Proclamation-Convening First Extra Session
F-30 Mo. Senate-Bills agreed to and passed
F-31 SB 360
F-32 Bail Bond
F-33 Public Work Auctions
F-34 Medical Savings Accounts
F-35 Neosho School Tax Levy
F-36 Medicare Service Write-off
F-37 Public Defenders Office in 40^th Circuit
F-38 School Districts
F-39 Adjustments to School Levies Due to Reassessment Rollbacks
F-40 Legislation-1997
F-41 Legislation-1997

Box 11

F-1 Senate Bills 6 to 459-1997
F-2 Senate Bills 470 to 698-1998
F-3 Senate Bills 701 to 898-1998
F-4 Senate Bills 900 to 963-1998
F-5 Senate Bills 448 to 740-1996
F-6 Senate Bills 757 to 980-1996
F-7 House Bills 1 to 797-1997
F-8 Senate Joint Resolutions 20,32 (1996) & 24 (1998)
F-9 Education/ SB 781-1998
F-10 Education
F-11 News Articles
F-12 SB 926-1998 Public School Retirement
F-13 SB 937-1998 Employment of Retired Teachers
F-14 SB 951-1998 Elections
F-15 Amendment for SB 751
F-16 SCS/SB 475 Careline Registry of Childcare Providers excludes religious orders
Their employees
F-17 SB/589 Licenses Professionals
F-18 Amendment to SB 773-1998
F-19 SB 808-Highway Patrol Cop
F-20 SB 491-1998 Family Tax Relief Plan
F-21 SB 492-1998 Hancock Amendment
F-22 SB 493-1998 Leaving Scene of Accidental Shooting
F-23 SB 544-1998 Presidential Primary
F-24 SB 545-1995 County Assessor-assume office
F-25 SB 546-1998 Assault of Law Enforcement Officers
F-26 SB 568-1998 Mo. Manufactured Housing Liens
F-27 SB 569-1998 EOB Standardized
F-28 EOB
F-29 SB 570-1998 Planning Commission
F-30 SB 577-1998 Unsolicited Phone Sales Calls
F-31 SB 578-1998 Insurance Cards Standardized
F-32 Budget

Collection Inventory (cont.)