Skip to main content

Lee McKee Collection: Home

Special Collections, SC#50, Lee McKee Collection. Donated by Lee McKee. Correspondence, photographs, newspaper clippings, and other papers from and about the Democratic Party of Southwest Missouri in the 1970s.

Collection Information

Collection Number: SC#50

Title: 
Lee McKee Collection

Dates: 
1968-1977


Collection Size: 
1 Box

Biographical History

Lee McKee was appointed as Jasper County chairman by William S. Morris of the Morris for Governor Committee. McKee was chairman of the Western Democratic Committee. He was a member of the Elks, VFW, American Legion, Joplin Chamber of Commerce, a veteran of World War II and was active in civic affairs for many years. He attended the University of Missouri – Columbia. He began engaging in business in Joplin in 1945.

Scope and Content

Correspondence, photographs, newspaper clippings, and other papers from and about the Democratic Party of Southwest Missouri in the 1970s.

Creator(s)

The Joplin Globe
The Carthage Press
St. Louis Globe Democrat
The Daily News Democrat
Ralph E. Baird
James C. Kirkpatrick

Acquisition Information

Donated by Lee McKee in 1986.

Preview the Collection

Collection Inventory

Box 1

Folder 1

  • 4 photographs

Folder 2

  • “Missouri Faction Feud Continues” newspaper clipping
  • “Lee McKee To Head Morris Drive” newspaper clipping
  • “Newton County…One Additional Filing Recorded Before Deadline” newspaper clipping
  • “Missouri Delegation” newspaper clipping
  • “Vote Democratic” newspaper clipping
  • “Democratic Candidate Says…Attorney General’s Office Should Be More Involved” newspaper clipping
  • “Joins Dowd at Party Rally Here…Eagleton Says He Will Seek Re-Election in 1974” newspaper clipping
  • “Democrats Name Donnelly State Committee Chairman” newspaper clipping
  • “League of Women Voters Claim Credibility Damaged” newspaper clipping
  • “Eagleton, Dowd To Be Here Today” newspaper clipping
  • “Democrat Women Plan Chili Feed” newspaper clipping
  • “Salinger to Campaign Here On McGovern-Shriver Behalf” newspaper clipping
  • “Area Persons Appointed To Reorganization Group” newspaper clipping
  • “County Democrats Name Delegates to Conventions” newspaper clipping
  • “District Demo Convention To Be Held at Springfield” newspaper clipping
  • “By District Demo…McKee and Lewis Named Delegates” newspaper clipping
  • “Democrats Elect Delegates” newspaper clipping
  • “County Democrats Name Delegates to Conventions” newspaper clipping
  • “Democrats Select Delegates” newspaper clipping
  • “Missouri Democrats Select 18 Uncommitted Delegates” newspaper clipping
  • “Taylor Key Speaker…District Republicans Elect Ellis Chairman” newspaper clipping
  • “Seventh District Democrats Back State Party Organization’s Slate” newspaper clipping
  • “Democratic Club Schedules Meeting” newspaper clipping
  • “On Nixon’s Chance…Rogers Labels Shriver’s Charge ‘Political Fantasy’” newspaper clipping
  • Aug. 7, 1968 – The Joplin Globe, “Eagleton Nominated By Missouri Demos”, “Rep. Hall Piles Up Big Vote”, and “Shewmake, Hurn Capture Newton County Victories” newspaper clippings
  • May 31, 1972 – Carthage Press, “Morris Appoints McKee” newspaper clipping
  • June 2, 1972 – The Joplin Globe, “’State Goals’ Group Recommendations Cover Wide Spectrum of Area Interest” newspaper clipping
  • June 25, 1972 – “Morris Plans Two Days Of Campaigning in City” newspaper clipping
  • June 27, 1972 – The Joplin Globe, “Morris Pledges to Support Full State Aid for MSSC” newspaper clipping
  • July 6, 1972 – “Missouri Democrats Add Twelve Women to Convention Delegates” newspaper clipping
  • July 11, 1972 – “Missouri Delegation…McGovern Challenge Fades” newspaper clipping
  • July 12, 1972 – “For Vice President…Eagleton Says He’s Considered” newspaper clipping
  • July 12, 1972 – The Joplin Globe, “For Vice President…Eagleton Says He’s Considered” newspaper clipping
  • July 13, 1972 – The Joplin Globe, “McGovern Nominated…Democratic Convention Delegates Make It Official” newspaper clipping
  • July 14, 1972 – The New York Times, “The Poor Man’s Ticket” newspaper clipping
  • July 14, 1972 – The Joplin Globe, “Missouri Feud Continues” newspaper clipping
  • July 14, 1972 – the Joplin Globe, “Missouri’s Freshman Senator…McGovern Tags Eagleton for No. 2 Spot” newspaper clipping
  • July 16, 1972 – The Joplin Globe, “Missouri, Kansas Demo Delegates Got Little Sleep at Convention” newspaper clipping
  • July 28, 1972 – The Joplin Globe, “County Clerk’s Notice of Primary Election Jasper County, Missouri” newspaper clipping
  • Aug. 4, 1972 – The Joplin Globe, “In Telephone Poll…Kermit Lewis Named to Membership On Democratic National Committee”, “Young Democrats of MSSC Select New Officers”, “Helen Wyatt Elected Chairman of Citizens for McGovern Group” newspaper clippings
  • Aug. 6, 1972 – The Joplin Globe, “Know Your Candidates…Five Contests to Highlight Jasper County Primary” newspaper clipping
  • Aug. 9, 1972 – The Joplin Globe, “Gubernatorial Race…Voters Pair Bond, Dowd For November Sweepstakes” newspaper clipping
  • Aug. 11, 1972 – The Joplin Globe, “Political Committee Meeting Places Set” newspaper clipping
  • Aug. 12, 1972 – The Joplin Globe, “Missouri Democratic Candidates” newspaper clipping
  • Aug. 16, 1972 – The Joplin Globe, “Whitehead Re-Elected Chairman Of Jasper County Republicans” newspaper clipping
  • Aug. 23, 1972 – The Joplin Globe, “Jasper County Democrats Elect Central Committee” newspaper clipping
  • Aug. 30, 1972 – “Wins Over Lewis…Demos Elect Skidmore As District Chairman” newspaper clipping
  • Aug. 31, 1972 – The Joplin Globe, “Taylor Won by 4, 372 Votes…Survey Shows Several Records Fell In 7th District Primary Election” newspaper clipping
  • Oct. 5, 1972 – The Joplin Globe, “At Dinner Here…Thomas Predicts Victory Over Taylor in November” newspaper clipping
  • Oct. 17, 1972 – The Joplin Globe, “Democratic Central Committee to Meet” newspaper clipping
  • Oct. 19, 1972 – The Joplin Globe, “Dan DeCarlo Heads County Democratic Youth Committee”, “MSSC Young Demos To Meet Tuesday” newspaper clipping
  • Oct. 19, 1972 – “County Demos Meet At Webb City”, “Saturday Luncheon…Eagleton, Dowd To Visit Joplin” newspaper clipping
  • Oct. 26, 1972 – “During Stop in Joplin…Salinger Says Polls Show McGovern Gaining on Nixon” newspaper clipping
  • Oct. 31, 1972 – The Joplin Globe, “Car Albert to Campaign Here Friday for Thomas” newspaper clipping
  • Nov. 4, 1972 – The Joplin Globe, “Albert Calls for Election of Thomas in Visit to Area” newspaper clipping
  • Nov. 4, 1972 - “Students Can Vote…Missouri Residency Law Bows to Federal Ruling” newspaper clipping
  • Nov. 5, 1972 – The Joplin Globe, “Congressional Candidates Push Campaigns as Election Nears” newspaper clipping
  • Nov. 9, 1972 – The Joplin Globe, “Demos Remain Entrenched In Control of Congress” newspaper clipping
  • Jan. 31, 1973 – “Gov. Bond Bypasses Hickey, Names Jack Curtis to Post” newspaper clipping
  • Jan. 12, 1974 – “Two Groups Appear At County Budget Hearing” newspaper clipping
  • Sept. 11, 1977 – The Columbia Daily Tribune, “The LePage affair” newspaper clipping

Folder 3

  • “Ed Bonitt” flyer
  • “Jerry Litton will be a U.S. Senator Missouri can trust” pamphlet (2 copies)
  •  “Did Your Congressman Support Education?” flyer
  • “American Civil Liberties Union of Western Missouri” letter from Swomley
  • 1973 – “Missouri Young Democrat – Truman Day” newsletter
  • Fall 1973 – “Missouri Youth For Tom Eagleton” newsletter
  • Sept. 1973 – Vol 1, No. 1, “The Southwest Missouri Young Democrat” newsletter
  • 1974 – “The Democratic Party Responsibility and Opportunity” booklet
  • May 25, 1974 – “Bonitt for Congress Committee” letter
  • June 5, 1974 – Springfield Daily News, “We Were Wrong – and We Apologize” newspaper clipping
  • May 17, 1976 – “Missouri 7th Congressional District” letter
  • June 7, 1976 – “Jasper County Court” report (2 pages)
  • June 12, 1976 – “Democratic State Convention – Jefferson City, Missouri: Unofficial List of Delegates” booklet
  • July 8, 1976 – The Daily News Democrat, “Today’s editorial” article (2 copies)
  • July 15, 1976 – “Election Litton a Rare Opportunity” article
  • July 26, 1976 – St. Louis Globe Democrat, “Outstate Democrats give Litton 2-to-1 lead in race” paper
  • July 26, 1976 – St. Louis Globe Democrat, “Candidates unleash their thunder” article
  • July 28, 1976 – letter to Joyce and Bob

Folder 4

  • “Congressman Gene Taylor Reports from Washington: Legislative Report” newsletter
  • “Congressman Gene Taylor Reports from Washington: The Torch Has Passed” newsletter
  • “Congressman Gene Taylor Reports from Washington: 1974 Midyear Report” newsletter
  • “Congress of the United States” letter to teacher friend from Gene Taylor
  • “Congress of the United States” letter to friend from Gene Taylor
  • “Taylor’s Voting Record” paper (5 pages)
  • Oct. 1, 1973 – “Congress of the United States” letter to friends from Gene Taylor
  • Sept. 5, 1974 – “Congress of the United States” letter to educators from Gene Taylor (2 pages)

Folder 5

  • “Richard L. Franks…more than just a change” flyer
  • “Richard L. Franks for Congress Committee” letter
  • “Franks for Congress – News for the Week” letter
  • “Richard L. Franks for Congress Committee – Canvass Progress Report” letter
  • “Meet Judge Franks” paper
  • “Fundraiser” invitation
  • June 2, 1974 – “Given Office in RDI Building – Frank’s Free Rent Is Illegal?
    newspaper clipping

Folder 6

  • “Seasons Greetings” cards
  • “Smile” poster
  • “TenHolder Travel” papers (2 pages)
  • “Missouri Campaign Finance and Disclosure Law” pamphlet
  • “Democrat Primary Election Results” papers
  • 1972 – “Jasper County Property” map
  • July 2, 1972 – Telegram to Lee McKee
  • Aug. 8, 1972 – letter from William S. Morris
  • March 14, 1973 – “Jasper County Democratic Committee Financial Report” paper (3 copies)
  • Aug. 2, 1973 – “Memorandum to the File” memo from Ralph E. Baird
  • Dec. 21, 1973 – “Bi Partisan Voter’s Reform Group” letter to Lee McKee from Ralph E. Baird (2 pages)
  • Dec. 22, 1973 – “Bi Partisan Voter’s Reform Group” letter to Lee McKee from Ralph E. Baird
  • Dec. 26, 1973 – “Bi Partisan Voter’s Reform Group” letter to Lee McKee from Ralph E. Baird
  • July 31, 1974 – “Petition for Declaratory Judgement” papers (4 pages)
  • Aug. 30, 1974 – “In the Circuit Court of Jasper County, Missouri” papers (2 pages)
  • Feb. 26, 1975 – “Democratic State Committee of Missouri” paper (2 pages)
  • June 7, 1976 – letter to Lee from James C. Kirkpatrick

Folder 7

  • April 8, 1971 – “Democratic Party of Missouri – Constitution and By-Laws” booklet
  • June 1, 1974 – “Democratic Party of Missouri – Constitution and By-Laws adopted April 8, 1971, Amended to June 1, 1974” booklet

This site is maintained by the librarians of George A. Spiva Library.
If you have a question or comment about the Library's LibGuides, please contact the site administrator.