Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Harry Rollins Collection: Home

Special Collections, SC#35, Harry Rollins Collection. Copies of photographs of old prints of Carthage, Missouri, including the Carthage square, firemen, the Harrington Hotel, and the Carthage light guard.

Collection Information

Collection Number: SC#35

Title: 
Harry Rollins Collection

Dates: 
1868-1912 (copies)


Collection Size: 
1 Box

Scope and Content

Copies of photographs of old prints of Carthage, Missouri, including the Carthage square, firemen, the Harrington Hotel, and the Carthage light guard.

Acquisition Information

Donated by Harry Rollins in 1986.

Preview the Collection

1887 - The Carthage Light Guard Band

Top Row - (Left to Right) Andy Clifton, D. Burns, W.J. Sewall, Frank Bennett, Bill Watson (drum major), David E. Brown, Ed Shulties, Will Gerkey, S.P. Glass

Middle Row - Woodbury Riley, John Monroe, Lynn Monroe, Gene Bennett, Ed Ogden, Mac Corwin, Ben Conard, Ed Hottel

Front Row - Ed Burns, Jim Hughes, Charley Lamars (director), David Stump

Carthage Hose Company

Bill Hawthorne, Bill Watson, Dan Fruffett, Wash Logsden, Steve Head, Dan Smith, Sam Lloyd, Earl Husted, Jim Hurst, Jim Logsden, Tom Main, John Manker, Tate Ambrose, Al Morrison

Collection Inventory

Folder 1

  • 1930’s – Reproduced Photos – Carthage (16 photos)

Folder 2

  • Reproduced Photos ‑ Carthage ‑ 19th Century Transportation (15 photos)
    • E. Knell
    • Fred Knell and Frank Knell
    • Chief Matthews and wife (2 copies)
    • The Family Car
    • Early day
    • Prize team by Mr. Knell
    • W.E. Hall’s Boarding and Sale Stable
    • Harrington Hotel 50 years ago
    • Fire Dept. on parade on square, about 1912

Folder 3

  • 1800’s Reproduced Photos ‑ Carthage Business (8 photos)
    • “This mine was located just south of Carthage and was owned in part by H.P. Hall, one-time Carthage jeweler
    • 1880 - “Carthage Mo. Old Wooden Mill.  N. Main St.” (3 copies)
    • 1889 - “The Fair”

Folder 4

  • Reproduced Photos ‑ Carthage ‑ 19th Century Groups (9 photos)
    • 1883 – The Light Guard
    • Company A of Carthage
    • 1887 - Light Guard Band
    • Champion Hose Co. – Carthage

Folder 5

  • Reproduced Photos ‑ Carthage Square (17 photos)
    • 1868 – Part of East Side (2 copies)
    • 1868 – North side (2 copies)
    • 1868 – West Side
    • 1868 – South Side – Hardware Store on S.E. corner
    • 1877 – North Side

This site is maintained by the librarians of George A. Spiva Library.
If you have a question or comment about the Library's LibGuides, please contact the site administrator.