Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Harry Hood Collection: Home

Special Collections, SC#106, Harry Hood Collection

Collection Information

Collection Number: SC#106

Title: 
Harry Hood Collection

Dates: 
1901-1985


Collection Size: 
3 boxes

Biographical History

Harry C. Hood Sr. was born on December 28, 1905 in the southern part of Carterville, otherwise known as Johnstown, Missouri. Hood was a native resident of Southwest Missouri and spent his childhood on mining grounds, in a house that cost one dollar in rent per year. As an adult, Hood spent years working in mines around Missouri, Kansas and Oklahoma and also found work at the Carthage Marble Corporation’s quarry. He retired from Carthage Marble in 1969, and decided to spend his time focusing on the history of Webb City and surrounding areas. Hood was a member of both the Webb City Historical Society and the Jasper County Historical Association, holding offices in the Webb City Historical Society. He wrote a series of news articles about Webb City for the Carthage Press, and also wrote the book “The Southwest Missouri Railroad.” After writing various articles about Webb City’s history, Hood was appointed to the position of city historian by the mayor. He was married to Blanche Alberta (Harrington) Hood and had one son, Harry Carl Hood. Harry C. Hood passed away on April 28, 1989 at 83 years old.

Scope and Content

Harry Hood was an author and historian from Webb City, Missouri. The topics of his writing were primarily related to Webb City history and mining in the surrounding area. The Harry Hood collection includes small articles written by Hood on various local history topics, scrapbooks with photographs, postcards and newspaper clippings of places and mining in the area, several books, a collection of postcards from around the United States, and a collection of 1920s magazines. The items in the collection range from 1901 to 1985.

Creator(s)

Harry Hood 

Acquisition Information

Acc.#896; Donated in 1988, by Harry Hood, in 1989, 1990 by Blanche Hood, the wife of Harry Hood, in 1993 by Harry Hood Jr., the son of Harry Hood, and in 2005 by Gerald Hood, the grandson of Harry Hood. 

Preview the Collection

Collection Inventory

Box 1

  • Advertisements in 1914 and 1923

  • Andy Bisher Obituary 

  • Handwritten 

  • Brief Early History of the Center Creek Mining Co. 1874-1897  

  • Carterville 1914 News
  • Carterville, Mo. - Twin Cities 

  • Chapman, Lennan & Company  

  • Crystal Cave 

  • Elections 1944 – Webb City 

  • Geology of the Lead and Zinc – 1904 

  • George W. Moore & Webb City History 

  • Humphreys Dept. Store 

  • J.C. Harrison 

  • James A. Daughtery 

  • John C. Webb 

  • Joplin News Herald Sources 1914 & 1916 

  • Joseph Allen Hardey 

  • Judge Charles E. Elliot 

  • Lewis J. Stevison 

  • Merchant & Miners Bank 1907 

  • Mining in Jasper County – The first ore found in Jasper County was at Oronogo in 1849 

  • Mining Operations 

  • Paternalism Condemned 

  • Robert Boatwright 

  • Webb City 1926, 1918, and 1920 

  • Webb City and Carterville Mining District in 1897 

  • Webb City Cyclone 1922 

  • Webb City Historical Society Research 

  • Webb City History Manuscripts from Harry Hood 

  • Copies of Webb City History Manuscripts 

  • Schoenherr Waltor Mining Co. 

  • Miscellaneous   

  • King Jack Karnival Ticket 

  • Cashier Check – Natl Bank of Webb City 

  • “Take Me Out to Lakeside” and “King Jack Waltz” 

  • Carterville – Operations and Mining Companies 

  • Discovery of Lead at Oronogo 

  • Mining at Webb City and Carterville 

  • Neck City, Purcell and Alba 

  • Prosperity 

  • Mining in Jasper County 1849-1920  

  • Burch Center, Burch City and Scotland 

  • Mining Near Carthage  

  • Sheet Ground Diggins 

  • The Geological Society 

  • Mining the Ore 

  • Organization of a Mining Company – The Schoenherr Walton Mining Co. 

  • Miners and Mine Owners 

  • Continental Zinc Co. 

  • Oronogo Circle Mining Company 

  • Jasper County in 1907 

  • Providence Mine  

  • The National Lead and Zinc Company 

  • Center Creek Mining Co. 

  • Gundling Mining Company 

  • Reliance Mining Company 

  • Webb City Iron Works 

  • Photos of Carterville Trains 

  • Dedication Program May 29, 1976 Kneeling Miner Stature 

  • Miners and Mine Owners 

  • Cemetery Bill – James M Robinson 

  • Truman Birthplace – Lamar, MO 

  • Papers and Letters  

  • Court Cases  

  • Paper maps 

  • Webb City Pioneers in Aviation 

  • Joplin Globe Annual March 28, 1982 

Box 2:

  • Scrapbook No. 5 
  • 2. The Designer – April 1926 

  •  The Fashionist – Late Summer 1925 

  •  The Fashionist – July 1924 

  •  The Fashionist – August 1923 

  • The Fashionist – June 1923 

  • The Fashionist – March 1923 

  • The Fashionist – February 1923 

  •  The Fashionist – January 1923 

  • Woman’s World – December 1926 

  •  Woman’s World – Sept. 1926 

  •  Woman’s World – August 1926 

  • Woman’s World – May 1926 

  •  Woman’s World – February 1926 

  •  Woman’s Word – February 1925 

  •  Woman’s World – November 1924 

  •  Woman’s World – April 1924 

  •  Woman’s World  - January 1924 

Box 3:

  • Newspaper Clippings 
  • The World’s Greatest Zinc and Lead District As Seen Through The Camera – 1907 
  • King Jack Annual 
  • Webb City – Carterville Notebook of History by Harry Hood 

  • The Southwest Missouri Electric Railroad 1893 

  • The Schoenherr Walton Mining Co. 

  • Mines in Jasper County 1906 

  • Reminiscences of E.Z. Wallower Concerning the Southwest Missouri Railroad and Other Adventures 

  • A History and Economic Survey of Webb City Missouri – 1937 

  • The Webb City Story 

  • The First Presbyterian Church Manual for 1917 

  • The First Presbyterian Church Manual for 1926 

  • A Guide to Banks and Trust Companies 

  • Zinc and Lead Annual 1907 

  • Guide to the Ozarks for Automobiles and Tourists 

  • Alabama postcards 

  • Arizona Postcards 

  • Arkansas Postcards 

  • California Postcards 

  • Colorado Postcards 

  • Delaware Postcards 

  • Florida Postcards 

  • Georgia Postcards 

  • Hawaii Postcards 

  • Indiana Postcards 

  • Illinois Postcards 

  • Iowa Postcards 

  • Kansas Postcards 

  • Kentucky Postcards 

  • Louisiana Postcards 

  • Massachusetts Postcards 

  • Maine Postcards 

  • Michigan Postcards 

  • Minnesota Postcards 

  • Missouri Postcards 

  • Montana Postcards 

  • Nebraska Postcards 

  • New Jersey Postcards 

  • New Mexico Postcards 

  • New York Postcards 

  • North Carolina Postcards 

  • North Dakota Postcards 

  • Ohio Postcards 

  • Oklahoma Postcards 

  • Oregon Postcards 

  • Pennsylvania Postcards 

  • Rhode Island Postcards 

  • South Carolina Postcards 

  • Tennessee Postcards 

  • Texas Postcards 

  • Utah Postcards 

  • Virginia Postcards 

  • Washington Postcards 

  • Washington D.C. Postcards 

  • Wisconsin Postcards 

  • Wonders of the World Cards 

  • Argentina Postcard 

  • Paris Postcard 

  • Germany Postcard 

  • Mexico Postcards 

  • Canada Postcards 

  • Panama Postcards 

  • Unknown Postcard

  • Philippines, China, Japan and on the Pacific – JD Givens  

  • Old Graves Tell Tale of Murder in Civil War 

  • 1918 Joplin Street Car Time Table 

  • Only 550 Miles of Streetcar Tracks Left 

  • News clippings 

  • News Clippings 1940s 

  • News clippings 1942-1944 / 1975-1980 

  • Webb City Sentinel – 1985 

  • Tragedy Tempered Success in Mines 

  • Four State Focus – Dec 1978 

  • Railway Scene in early 1900s 

  • Bank History Mirrors Mining 

  • ‘Big Blue’ - a dive into history 

  • School Days Everchanging 

  • Typical Mining Scene –Joplin Globe 1985 

  • Webb City Sentinel – February 1985 

  • “No Bonded Debt and Law Tax” Is Slogan in Carterville Now 

  • Map of Webb City 

  • Railroads only part fascination 

  • Wells Fargo Building – Brick by Brick 

  • Significance of Circle Mine In Area Traced by Club 

  • Southern Belle Evolved from Man who “Saw” Need for Railroad Between Kansas City and Gulf Coast 

  • Webb City’s Past 

  • New Exchange Building Recalls Early Webb City Communications 

  • First Christian Church to Observe 80th Anniversary 

  • Rail Car Off the Beaten Track, but Not for Long 

  • Southern Bell at Joplin - “Passenger Train Service Ends Here With Last Run of “Belle” 1969 

  • Ray Holland’s Station Destroyed By Fire Wednesday Night 1970 

  • Tri-State Mining History Recalled 

  • The Midwest Motorist 1969 

  • Kansas City Journal 1940 

  • The Joplin Globe December 1972 

  • The Joplin Globe – Harry S Truman December 1972 

  • The Joplin Globe – April 1975 

  • The Joplin Globe 1941 / 1973 

  • Four States Focus April 1980 

  • Webb City Sentinel August 1980 

  • Four States Focus Sept 7 1980 

This site is maintained by the librarians of George A. Spiva Library.
If you have a question or comment about the Library's LibGuides, please contact the site administrator.