Research and Course Guides: Meyer Goldman Collection: Home

Collection Information

Collection Number: SC#5

Title:
Meyer Goldman Collection

Dates:
1957-1978

Collection Size:
3 Boxes

Biographical History

Meyer Goldman was the founder of the Labor Beacon Newspaper in Kansas City, Missouri.

Scope and Content

The minutes and papers of various union labor groups and labor initiatives from 1957-1978, specifically dealing with the right to work law in Missouri. The collection was donated by Meyer Goldman in 1980. Mr. Goldman was a publisher for the Labor Beacon Newspaper in Kansas City, Missouri.

Creator(s)

Meyer Goldman - donor

Acquisition Information

Donated by Meyer Goldman on February 1, 1980.

Preview the Collection

Jefferson City Rally, March 1, 1978

Crowd, Jefferson City Rally, March 1, 1978

Governor Warren Hearnes, Jefferson City Rally, March 1, 1978

Judge George Lehr, Jefferson City Rally, March 1, 1978

Preview the Collection

Right to Work Cartoon

Minutes of the Labor's Educational and Political Club, December 22, 1977

Collection Inventory

Box 1

Consumer Delegate Body – 1978
Labor Education and Political Club Independent – 1978 – Election Information
Labor Education and Political Club Independent – Financial Statements – 1975-1979
Labor Life Insurance Co. – Letter 1976-77
Minutes L.E. & P.C.I. - Members – 1977
Minutes L.E. & P.C.I. – Executive Board Meeting – 1975-78
L.E. & P.C.I. Secretary Correspondence 1976 – 1978
Minutes 40 Club Meeting – 1975 –1978
Audio Recordings: Right to Work Campaign, 1978, Kansas City Labor Beacon and Labor Council; Kansas City Labor Beacon, December 6, 1978; Various unlabeled or broken recordings
Audio Recordings: Right to Work, February 22, 1978; United Labor Council (unknown date); Frank Emmick
Photographs: Anti-Right to Work, Jefferson City, Missouri, March 1, 1978
How Right is the ‘Right-to-Work’ Law? Folder with various handouts

Box 2

Don Enlow – Right to Work
Arkansas Right to Work
Union papers
Pro Right to Work
United Labor Committee
Notes: Right to Work
Labor Captain ‘Follow-Up” Statistics
Labor Captain Tallies for October 1978
“Right to Work” Copies
Tally Miscellaneous
Post March Tally Sheets for October 1978
I.D. Tallies for November 1978
E.C. Tallies for October 1978
Blitz Call on EC and LC Tallies and Stats
Right to Work Pamphlets and Broadsides
Labor Flyers
Right to Work Background
Miscellaneous Right to Work Newspaper Clippings
Newspaper Clippings 1978
Right to Work Manuals and Notebooks

Box 3

Newspaper clippings, 1977-1978