Skip to main content

Francis Wilburn Strong Collection: Home

Special Collections, SC#63, The correspondence, financial information, pamphlets, booklets, and postcards of Francis Wilburn Strong, who was an evangelical minister for 40 years and founded Ozark Bible College (Ozark Christian College) in 1942.

Collection Information

Collection Number: SC#63

Title: 
Francis Wilburn Strong Collection

Dates: 
1928-1951


Collection Size: 
1 Box

Biographical History

Frances Wilburn (F.W.) Strong, [b. November 2, 1880 d. May 3, 1951] was an evangelical minister for forty years. He founded and became president Ozark Bible College at Bentonville, Arkansas in 1942. The College would move to Joplin, Missouri in 1946. The College would later be renamed Ozark Christian College. He received an honorary doctorate from Cincinnati Bible Seminary in 1931 for his church planning efforts with the Christian Restoration Association.

Scope and Content

The correspondence, financial information, pamphlets, booklets, and postcards of Francis Wilburn Strong.

Creator(s)

Francis Wilburn (F.W.) Strong

Minnie Frances Strong

Martha Opal Youngblood

The Christian Restoration Association

George B. Curtis

J.L. Schuler

R.C. Foster

Anna Wilson

T.K. Smith

Acquisition Information

Donated in 1986 by Annetta St. Clair, the granddaughter of F.W. Strong.

Preview the Collection

Preview the Collection

Collection Inventory

Folder 1

  • Photograph of F.W. Strong, no attached information

Folder 2

  • March 26-28 – “Mid-West Christian Convention” poster (2 copies)

Folder 3

  • Pouch with photographs from Carlsbad Caverns, New Mexico
  • Western Clergy Fare Certificate book, 1944
  • “Evangelical Meetings” with F.W. Strong, postcard (2 copies) •
  • "The World’s Oldest Church” postcards (6 copies)
  • “The Dilemma of E.S. Jouett” paper (4 pages)
  • “Outline Program Restoration Rally Richmond VA” paper (2 pages)
  • “Burgess Agency Company” postcard
  • “Does the original Greek favor the use of instrumental music in the worship of God in the New Testament church?” paper by George B. Curtis, copied by F.W. Strong
  • May 10, 1928 – “Agreement between The Christian Restoration Association and F.W. Strong” paper (2 pages)
  • 1929 – “Our Spring Restoration Rallies” paper
  • April 4, 1929 – letter to Strong from The Christian Restoration Association
  • April 8, 1929 – letter to Strong from The Christian Restoration Association
  • Sept. 9, 1929 – letter to Strong from The Christian Restoration Association
  • Oct. 18, 1929 – letter from daughter, Opal, on Daniel Baker College stationary
  • Jan. 12, 1930 – letter to F.W. Strong from J.L. Schuler
  • Jan. 18, 1930 – letter to F.W. Strong from R.C. Foster
  • Jan. 21, 1930 – “From Feud to Fraternity by Charles Christopher Klingman” book
  • July 24, 1936 – letter to Mrs. Strong
  • April 1, 1938 – “Dear Husband” letter to F.W. Strong
  • Jan. 1943 – letter to Mr. W.S. Curlee from F.W. Strong
  • Dec. 20, 1943 – letter to Gurney L. Reeves from F.W. Strong • 1944 – “Western Clergy Fare Certificate” booklet
  • Dec. 1946 – The Compass, Vol. 1 No. 4, “An Open Christmas Letter From Our President” newsletter
  • Invitation to an OBC Homemakers’ meeting, February 12, 1951, postcard, from Anna Wilson
  • Feb. 2, 1951 – Postcard about the North American Christian Convention, from T.K. Smith

Folder 4

  • Written notes (2 pages)
  • “Joplin National Bank & Trust Co.” checks (3 copies)
  • “Account Cost Analysis” paper
  • Deposit slips (41)
  • Nov. 8, 1927 – Contract
  • Dec. 8, 1927 - Contract
  • March 13, 1928 – Contract
  • Nov. 3, 1936 – “The Franklin Fire Insurance Company” bill
  • Dec. 17, 1936 – “The Franklin Fire Insurance Company” bill
  • Jan. 4, 1940 – letter from Treasury Department • Dec. 30, 1941 – letter to Strong from W.S. Curlee
  • Jan. 26, 1943 – letter to Strong from Tax Department (2 pages)
  • May 24, 1944 – letter to F.W. Strong (2 pages)
  • July 14, 1944 – letter to J.W. Strong from W.S. Curlee
  • Aug. 1, 1944 – “Payment Received” letter (3 pages)
  • March 12, 1948 – “State County and School Taxes for 1948” paper
  • April and May 1948 – Bank Statement
  • June 17, 1948 – lease paper
  • June and May 1948 – Bank Statement
  • Oct. 1948 – “Treasurer’s Report” paper (2 pages)
  • April 1949 – “Treasurer’s Report” paper (2 pages)

Folder 5

  • “Gospel Sermons” by F.W. Strong, Christian Evangelist, booklets (9 copies)

This site is maintained by the librarians of George A. Spiva Library.
If you have a question or comment about the Library's LibGuides, please contact the site administrator.