Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Frank Newton Collection: Home

Special Collections, SC#55, Frank Newton Collection. Newspaper articles between 1926-1980 from the Joplin Globe, Joplin News Herald, The Southeast Missourian, and Tri-State Tribune about highway engineering and about Frank Newton, a highway engineer.

Collection Information

Collection Number: SC#55

Title: 
Frank B. Newton Collection

Dates: 
December 31, 1926 - August 14, 1980


Collection Size: 
1 Folder

Biographical History

Frank B. Newton (b. 1880-1-1-d. 1971-3-5) was a district engineer for the Missouri Highway Department, Division 10, Sikeston, until his retirement in 1926. In 1934 he was employed by the Joplin Special Road District and named superintendent in 1937. He retired from the Joplin Special Road District in 1969.

Scope and Content

Newspaper articles between 1926-1980 from the Joplin Globe, Joplin News Herald, The Southeast Missourian, and Tri-State Tribune about highway engineering and about Frank Newton, a highway engineer.

Creator(s)

The Joplin Globe

The Joplin News Herald

The Southeast Missourian

The Tri-State Tribune

Preview the Collection

"Highway Men of District at Big Meeting," Southwest Missourian, February 11, 1927; Frank B. Newton

Collection Inventory

  • “Makes Fine Road Record”
  • Dec. 31, 1926 – Cape Girardeau Southeast Missourian, “Extension Workers Estimate the Results of Special Poultry Week
  • Dec. 31, 1926 – The Southeast Missourian, “Work to Start Soon on Mississippi River Bridge”
  • Feb. 11, 1927 – The Southwest Missourian, “Highway men of District at Big Meeting”
  • July 28, 1935 – Joplin Globe, “New Interurban Bus Service Recalls History of Old Electric Line”
  • July 22, 1969 – The Joplin News Herald, “Car Inspection Operating More Smoothly Now”
  • Aug. 14, 1980 – Tri-State Tribune,  “A Mining Engineer looks back on 50 years”

This site is maintained by the librarians of George A. Spiva Library.
If you have a question or comment about the Library's LibGuides, please contact the site administrator.