Research and Course Guides: Frank M. Forbey Collection: Home

Collection Information

Collection Number: SC#101

Title:
Frank M. Forbey Collection

Dates:
September 16, 1942-December 26, 1945

Collection Size:
3 Boxes

Biographical History

Frank Moses Forbey Jr. (often goes by F.M. Forbey or Buck), was born June 28, 1924, Charleston, Missouri. He was the son of Frank M. and Mary Anna Evans Forbey. He trained for the Navy at Camp Green Bay in the Great Lakes in the Fall of 1942, before entering the U.S. Navy during World War II.

On December 13, 1947, F.M. Forbey Jr. married Elizabeth Bethune Forbey in Blodgett, MO. For 28 years, he was employed as a test desk technician at Southwestern Bell both in Joplin and Columbia, Missouri. On Jan. 30, 2001, at age 76, F.M. Forbey died, at the Missouri Veterans Home in Mexico, Missouri.

Scope and Content

The personal letters from Frank Moses (F.M.) Forbey Jr., from his time in the U.S. Navy during World War II, written mostly to his parents and younger sisters, Dorothy and Anna Lou.

Creator

Frank Moses Forbey Jr.

Acquisition Information

Donated by Frank M. Forbey in 1990.

Preview the Collection

November 29, 1942 Letter

Preview the Collection

1942 Christmas Menu, U.S. Naval Training Station, Great Lakes, Illinois

Collection Inventory

Box 1

Folder 1

Sept. 16, 1942 – letter to Mom and Dad from F.M. Forbey
Sept. 17, 1942 – letter to Mom and Dad from F.M. Forbey

Folder 2

Oct. 8, 1942 – letter to F.M. Forbey from Mom

Folder 3

Nov. 27, 1942 – letter to Frank M. Forbey from F.M Forbey
Nov. 29, 1942 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey

Folder 4

Dec. 1, 1942 – letter to family from Frank M. Forbey
Dec. 2, 1942 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey
Dec. 3, 1942 – letter to folks from F.M. Forbey
Dec. 3, 1942 – letter to folks from F.M. Forbey
Dec. 6, 1942 – letter to folks from F.M. Forbey
Dec. 7, 1942 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey
Dec. 7, 1942 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey
Dec. 9, 1942 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey
Dec. 10, 1942 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey
Dec. 13, 1942 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey
Dec. (14?), 1942 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey
Dec. 14, 1942 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey
Dec. 15, 1942 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey

Folder 5

Dec. 18, 1942 – letter to mom from F.M. Forbey
Dec. 18, 1942 – Christmas Card to family from F.M. Forbey
Dec. 19, 1942 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey
Dec. 19, 1942 – letter to folks from F.M. Forbey
Dec. 20, 1942 – letter to mom from F.M. Forbey
Dec. 21, 1942 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey
Dec. 22, 1942 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey
Dec. 23, 1942 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey
Dec. 24, 1942 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey
Dec. 26, 1942 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey
Dec. 26, 1942 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey
Dec. 26, 1942 – letter to folks from F.M. Forbey
Dec. 30, 1942 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey
Dec. 30, 1942 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey
Happy Birthday card to Buck from Martha

Folder 6

Jan. 2, 1943 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey
Jan. 2, 1943 – V-mail letter to family from F.M. Forbey
Jan. 3, 1943 – V-mail letter to family from F.M. Forbey
Jan. 4, 1943 – V-mail letter to family from F.M. Forbey
Jan. 7, 1943 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey
Jan. 9, 1943 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey
Jan. 9, 1943 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey
Jan. (11^th?), 1943 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey
Jan. 12, 1943 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey
Jan. 12, 1943 – Life Insurance copy to family from F.M. Forbey
Jan. 14, 1943 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey
Jan. 14, 1943 – V-mail letter to family from F.M. Forbey
Jan. 16, 1943 – V-mail letter to family from F.M. Forbey
Jan. 17, 1943 – V-mail letter to family from F.M. Forbey
Jan. 17, 1943 – V-mail letter to family from F.M. Forbey
Jan. 19, 1943 – letter to folks from F.M. Forbey
Jan. 20, 1943 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey
Jan. 21, 1943 – letter to home from F.M. Forbey
Jan. 22, 1943 – letter to mom from F.M. Forbey
Jan. 22, 1943 – V-mail letter to home from F.M. Forbey
Jan. 24, 1943 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey
Jan. 24, 1943 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey
Jan. 25, 1943 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey
Jan. 26, 1943 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey
Jan. (26?), 1943 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey
Jan. 28, 1943 – letter to mom from F.M. Forbey (birthday wishes)
Jan. 29, 1943 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey

Folder 7

Feb. 16, 1943 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey (first letter in Key West Florida)
Feb. 17, 1943 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey
Feb. 18, 1943 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey
Feb. 20, 1943 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey
Feb. 21, 1943 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey
Feb. 24, 1943 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey
Feb. 25, 1943 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey
Feb. 26, 1943 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey
Feb. 27, 1943 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey
Feb. 28, 1943 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey

Folder 8

March 3, 1943 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey
March 4, 1943 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey
March 8, 1943 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey
March 13, 1943 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey
March 16, 1943 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey
March 19, 1943 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey
March 19, 1943 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey
March 21, 1943 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey
March 24, 1943 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey
March 25, 1943 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey
March 25, 1943 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey
March 30, 1943 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey
March 31, 1943 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey
March 31, 1943 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey

Folder 9

June 1, 1943 – letter to folks from F.M. Forbey
June 18, 1943 – letter to F.M. Forbey from Nelson (Aunt and Uncle)
June 22, 1943 – letter
June 22, 1943 – letter to F.M. Forbey from mom
June 23, 1943 – Birthday card to F.M. Forbey from Anna Lou(sister)

Folder 10

July 4, 1943 – letter to F.M. Forbey from mom
July 6, 1943 – V-mail letter to family from F.M. Forbey

Folder 11

March 31, 1943 – Western Union Telegram

Folder 12

Undated - letter to F.M. Forbey from Anna Lou (sister)
Undated – letter to F.M. Forbey from Anna Lou (sister)

Box 2

Folder 1

Aug. 8, 1943 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey
Aug. 11, 1943 – letter to folks from F.M. Forbey
Aug. 26, 1943 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey

Folder 2

Sept. 2, 1943 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey
Sept. 5, 1943 – letter to folks from F.M. Forbey
Sept. 10, 1943 – letter to folks from F.M. Forbey
Sept. 14, 1943 – letter to folks from F.M. Forbey
Sept. 15, 1943 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey

Folder 3

Sept. 28, 1943 – letter to folks from F.M. Forbey
Oct. 15 – letter to folks from F.M. Forbey
Oct. 21, 1943 – letter to folks from F.M. Forbey
Oct. 23, 1943 – letter to folks from F.M. Forbey
Oct. 24, 1943 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey
Oct. 25, 1943 – letter to folks from F.M. Forbey
Oct. 26, 1943 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey
Oct. 31, 1943 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey

Folder 4

Nov. 16, 1943 – letter to folks from F.M. Forbey
Nov. 27, 1943 – V-mail letter to folks from F.M. Forbey
Nov. 29, 1943 – V-mail letter to family from F.M. Forbey

Folder 5

Dec. 1, 1943 – letter to folks from F.M. Forbey
Dec. 5, 1943 – letter to folks from F.M. Forbey
Dec. 7, 1943 – letter to folks from F.M. Forbey
Dec. 11, 1943 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey
Dec. 13, 1943 – letter to folks from F.M. Forbey
Dec. 13, 1943 – letter to folks from F.M. Forbey
Dec. 15, 1943 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey
Dec. 16, 1943 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey
Dec. 18, 1943 – letter to folks from F.M. Forbey
Dec. 19, 1943 – letter to folks from F.M. Forbey
Dec. 25, 1943 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey
Dec. 27, 1943 – letter to folks from F.M. Forbey
Dec. 27, 1943 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey
Dec. 28, 1943 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey
Dec. 29, 1943 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey

Folder 6

1942 – Christmas Card
1943 – Christmas Card

Folder 7

Feb. 11, 1943 – postcard from “Sunken Garden” Pergola, Chicago to family from F.M. Forbey
March 1, 1943 – postcard of “Patrol Torpedo Boat” to family from F.M. Forbey
March 1, 1943 – postcard of “U.S.S. New Mexico” to family from F.M. Forbey
Sept. 6, 1943 – postcard from “Jack Dempsey’s Broadway Resturant”, NYC to family from F.M. Forbey
Sept. 6, 1943 – postcard from “The Aquarium”, NYC to family from F.M. Forbey

Folder 8 (labeled 1944)

Jan. 2, 1944 – letter to folks from F.M. Forbey
Jan. 3, 1944 – letter to folks from F.M. Forbey
Jan. 23, 1944 – letter to folks from F.M. Forbey
March 1 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey
August 5 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey
September 1 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey
Dec. 5 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey

Folder 9

Feb. 18, 1944 – V-mail letter to family from F.M. Forbey
Feb. 20, 1944 – V-mail letter to folks from F.M. Forbey
Feb. 22, 1944 – V-mail letter to family from F.M. Forbey
Feb. 26, 1944 – V-mail letter to folks from F.M. Forbey
March 10, 1944 – V-mail letter to folks from F.M. Forbey
March 17, 1944 – V-mail letter to family from F.M. Forbey
March 19, 1944 – V-mail letter to family from F.M. Forbey
March 20, 1944 – V-mail letter to family from F.M. Forbey
March 26, 1944 – V-mail letter to folks from F.M. Forbey
April 2, 1944 – V-mail letter to family from F.M. Forbey
April 5, 1944 – V-mail letter to family from F.M. Forbey
April 6, 1944 – V-mail letter to family from F.M. Forbey
April 9, 1944 – V-mail letter to family from F.M. Forbey
April 9, 1944 – V-mail letter to family from F.M. Forbey
April 12, 1944 – V-mail letter to family from F.M. Forbey
April 13, 1944 – V-mail letter to family from F.M. Forbey
April 14, 1944 – V-mail letter to family from F.M. Forbey
April 14, 1944 – V-mail letter to family from F.M. Forbey
April 18, 1944 – V-mail letter to folks from F.M. Forbey
April 21, 1944 – V-mail letter to family from F.M. Forbey
April 23, 1944 – V-mail letter to folks from F.M. Forbey
April 23, 1944 – V-mail letter to “The old man” from F.M. Forbey
April 23, 1944 – V-mail letter to “kid sis” from F.M. Forbey
April 24, 1944 – V-mail letter to family from F.M. Forbey
April 29, 1944 – V-mail letter to folks from F.M. Forbey
May 2, 1944 – V-mail letter to folks from F.M. Forbey
May 7, 1944 – V-mail letter to Pop from F.M. Forbey
May 8, 1944 – V-mail letter to folks from F.M. Forbey
May 8, 1944 – V-mail letter to Mrs. Forbey from Jimmy
May 9, 1944 – V-mail letter to family from F.M. Forbey
May 12, 1944 – V-mail letter to family from F.M. Forbey
May 12, 1944 – V-mail letter to family from F.M. Forbey
May 12, 1944 – V-mail letter to folks from F.M. Forbey
May 17, 1944 – V-mail letter to family from F.M. Forbey
May 17, 1944 – V-mail letter to family from F.M. Forbey
May 18, 1944 – V-mail letter to family from F.M. Forbey
May 20, 1944 – V-mail letter to family from F.M. Forbey
May 21, 1944 – V-mail letter to Dad from F.M. Forbey
May 21, 1944 – V-mail letter to family from F.M. Forbey
May 21, 1944 – V-mail letter to family from F.M. Forbey
May 21, 1944 – V-mail letter to folks from F.M. Forbey
May 21, 1944 – V-mail letter to folks from F.M. Forbey
May 25, 1944 – V-mail letter to Sis from F.M. Forbey
May 27, 1944 – V-mail letter to folks from F.M. Forbey
May 28, 1944 – V-mail letter to family from F.M. Forbey
June 1, 1944 – V-mail letter to family from F.M. Forbey
June 1, 1944 – V-mail letter to Sis (Anna Lou) from F.M. Forbey
June 2, 1944 – V-mail letter to Mom and Dad from F.M. Forbey
June 4, 1944 – V-mail letter to Dorothy (sister) from F.M. Forbey
June 5, 1944 – V-mail letter to Dad from F.M. Forbey
June 5, 1944 – V-mail letter to Folks from F.M. Forbey
June 5, 1944 – V-mail letter to folks from F.M. Forbey
June 6, 1944 – V-mail letter to family from F.M. Forbey
June 11, 1944 – V-mail letter to Mom from F.M. Forbey
June 11, 1944 – V-mail letter to Dad from F.M. Forbey
June 12, 1944 – V-mail letter to family from F.M. Forbey
June 14, 1944 – V-mail letter to family from F.M. Forbey
June 15, 1944 – V-mail letter to family from F.M. Forbey
June 15, 1944 – V-mail letter to Mrs. Forbey from Jimmy
June 16, 1944 – V-mail letter to family from F.M. Forbey
June 16, 1944 – V-mail letter to family from F.M. Forbey
June 17, 1944 – V-mail letter to family from F.M. Forbey
June 17, 1944 – V-mail letter to family from F.M. Forbey
June 17, 1944 – V-mail letter to Anna Lou (sister) from F.M. Forbey
June 21, 1944 – V-mail letter to Sis(Dorothy) from F.M. Forbey

Folder 10

April 23, 1944 – V-mail letter to Anna Lou (sister) from F.M. Forbey
July 1, 1944 – V-mail letter to family from F.M. Forbey
July 2, 1944 – V-mail letter to Dottie (sister) from F.M. Forbey
July 3, 1944 – V-mail letter to Mrs. Forbey from Jimmy
July 7, 1944 – V-mail letter to folks from F.M. Forbey
July 16, 1944 – V-mail letter to family from F.M. Forbey
July 23, 1944 – V-mail letter to family from F.M. Forbey
July 25, 1944 – V-mail letter to Darlings from F.M. Forbey
July 25, 1944 – V-mail letter to Dottie (sister) from F.M. Forbey
July 26, 1944 – V-mail letter to Mrs. Forbey from Jimmy
July 28, 1944 – V-mail letter to family from F.M. Forbey
July 28, 1944 – V-mail letter to Dad from F.M. Forbey
July 28, 1944 – V-mail letter to family from F.M. Forbey
July 29, 1944 – V-mail letter to family from F.M. Forbey
Aug. 3, 1944 – V-mail letter to family from F.M. Forbey
Aug. 5, 1944 – V-mail letter to Dottie (sister) from F.M. Forbey
Aug. 5, 1944 – V-mail letter to family from F.M. Forbey
Aug. 8, 1944 – V-mail letter to family from F.M. Forbey
Aug. 10, 1944 – V-mail letter to Mrs. Forbey from Jimmy
Aug. 10, 1944 – V-mail letter to family from F.M. Forbey
Aug. 23, 1944 – V-mail letter to family from F.M. Forbey
Sept. 4, 1944 – V-mail letter to family from F.M. Forbey
Sept. 4, 1944 – V-mail letter to Dottie (sister) from F.M. Forbey
Sept. 4, 1944 – V-mail letter to Dad from F.M. Forbey
Sept. 4, 1944 – V-mail letter to Anna Lou from F.M. Forbey
Sept. 5, 1944 – V-mal letter to family from F.M. Forbey
Sept. 8, 1944 – V-mail letter to family from F.M. Forbey
Sept. 8, 1944 – V-mail letter to Dad from F.M. Forbey
Sept. 11, 1944 – V-mail letter to Anna Lou (sister) from F.M. Forbey
Sept. 11, 1944 – V-mail letter to Anna Lou (sister) from F.M. Forbey
Sept. 14, 1944 – V-mail letter to family from F.M. Forbey
Sept. 14, 1944 – V-mail letter to Dad from F.M. Forbey
Sept. 14, 1944 – V-mail letter to family from F.M. Forbey
Sept. 14, 1944 – V-mail letter to Dad from F.M. Forbey
Sept. 14, 1944 – V-mail letter to Dottie (sister) from F.M. Forbey
Sept. 27, 1944 – V-mail letter to family from F.M. Forbey
Oct. 3, 1944 – V-mail letter to family from F.M. Forbey
Oct. 4, 1944 – V-mail letter to Dad from F.M. Forbey
Oct. 4, 1944 – V-mail letter to Anna Lou (sister) from F.M. Forbey
Oct. 7, 1944 – V-mail letter to family from F.M. Forbey
Oct. 22, 1944 – V-mail letter to family from F.M. Forbey
Oct. 24, 1944 – V-mail letter to family from F.M. Forbey
Oct. 30, 1944 – V-mail letter to Dottie (sister) from F.M. Forbey
Oct. 30, 1944 – V-mail letter to Dad from F.M. Forbey
Oct. 30, 1944 – V-mail letter to family from F.M. Forbey
Nov. 7, 1944 – V-mail letter to Anna Lou (sister) from F.M. Forbey
Nov. 7, 1944 – V-mail letter to family from F.M. Forbey
Nov. 7, 1944 – V-mail letter to Dottie (sister) from F.M. Forbey
Nov. 11, 1944 – V-mail letter to Anna Lou (sister) from F.M. Forbey
Nov. 24, 1944 – V-mail letter to family from F.M. Forbey

Folder 11

Feb. 8, 1944 – War Bond Letter

Box 3

Folder 1

Jan 11, 1945 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey
Jan. 18, 1945 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey
Jan. 23, 1945 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey

Folder 2

Jan. 30, 1945 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey
Feb. 6, 1945 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey
Feb. 11, 1945 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey
Feb. 27, 1945 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey

Folder 3

March 1, 1945 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey
March 4, 1945 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey
March 6, 1945 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey
March 6, 1945 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey

Folder 4

May 11, 1945 – letter to Mom from F.M. Forbey
May 16, 1945 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey
May 25, 1945 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey

Folder 5

June 4, 1945 – letter to folks from F.M. Forbey
June 7, 1945 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey

Folder 6

July 3, 1945 – letter to folks from F.M. Forbey
July 4, 1945 – letter to folks from F.M. Forbey
July 6, 1945 – letter to Dad from F.M. Forbey
July 14, 1945 – letter to folks from F.M. Forbey
July 27, 1945 – letter to folks from F.M. Forbey
July 28, 1945 – letter to folks from F.M. Forbey
July 31, 1945 – letter to folks from F.M. Forbey

Folder 7

Aug. 4, 1945 – letter from Salute to Servicemen to Forbey’s family
Aug. 6, 1945 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey
Aug. 12, 1945 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey
Aug. 12, 1945 – letter to folks from F.M. Forbey
Aug. 23, 1945 – letter to folks from F.M. Forbey
Aug. 30, 1945 – letter to folks from F.M. Forbey

Folder 8

Oct. 3, 1945 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey
Oct. 25, 1945 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey
Oct. 28, 1945 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey
Oct. 30, 1945 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey

Folder 9

Nov. 9, 1945 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey
Nov. 10, 1945 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey
Nov. 31, 1945 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey

Folder 10

Christmas Card to family from F.M. Forbey
Christmas Card to Forbey’s from the Higgins family
Dec. 6, 1945 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey
Dec. 7, 1945 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey
Dec. 8, 1945 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey
Dec. 9, 1945 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey
Dec. 10, 1945 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey
Dec. 11, 1945 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey
Dec. 11, 1945 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey
Dec. 16, 1945 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey
Dec. 19, 1945 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey
Dec. 20, 1945 – letter to family from F.M. Forbey
Dec. 20, 1945 – Christmas Card to family from F.M. Forbey
Dec. 26, 1945 – letter to Dad from F.M. Forbey

Folder 11

Undated letter to family from F.M. Forbey about marriage

Folder 12

Undated letter to Mrs. Forbey from Etta Higgins

Folder 13

Undated card titled “Mother Dear” from F.M. Forbey

Folder 14

Undated photograph from the movie “Casablanca” – Showing Humphrey Bogart, Ingrid Bergman, and Paul Henreid