Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Economic Security Corporation Collection: Home

Special Collections, SC#33, Economic Security Corporation Collection. Papers of the Economic Security Corporation of the Southwest Area [of Missouri] through the 1970s and 1980s.

Collection Information

Collection Number: SC#33

Title: 
Economic Security Corporation Collection

Dates: 
1971-1981


Collection Size: 
2 Boxes

Scope and Content

Papers of the Economic Security Corporation of the Southwest Area [of Missouri] through the 1970s and 1980s. The Economic Security Corporation of the Southwest Area was created as a not-for-profit corporation to serve the needs of low-income individuals and families residing in Southwest Missouri.

Creator(s)

Economic Security Corporation

Acquisition Information

Donated by Robert Markman in 1985.

Preview the Collection

Collection Inventory

Box 1

Folder 1

  • March 1976 – Insight Vol. 1 No. 10 newspaper
  • June 1976 – Insight Vol. 1 No. 13 newspaper
  • July 1976 – Insight Vol. 1 No. 14 newspaper
  • Aug. 1976 – Insight Vol. 1 No. 15 newspaper
  • Sept. 1976 – Insight Vol. 1 No. 16 newspaper
  • April-May, 1978 – Insight Vol. 3 No. 2 newspaper

Folder 2

  • March 31, 1971 – “Economic Security Corporation of the Southwest Area: Annual Report Year Ending” booklet
  • March 31, 1974 – “Economic Security Corporation of the Southwest Area: Annual Report Year Ending” booklet
  • 1974-1975 – “Economic Security Corporation for the Southwest Area: Annual Report IX” booklet
  • 1977-1978  - “Annual Report: Economic Security Corporation of the southwest Area” booklet

Folder 3

  • April 23, 1979 – letter to Daryl Andrews from Jack McBride
    • Forms from participants

Folder 4

  • Sept. 21, 1977 – letter to Daryl Andrews from Wayne Thomas
  • Jan. 3, 1978 – “Late mailing of budgets and Conduct and Administration Objectives for 1978-79 Fiscal Year” memo to Area Board Members from Daryl Andrews
  • Jan. 24, 1978 – “Letter of Understanding” to Daryl Andrews from Linda Carson (3 pages)
  • Feb. 2, 1978 – letter to Daryl Andrews (2 pages)
  • Feb. 23, 1978 – letter to Board members from Daryl Andrews
  • March 30, 1978 – letter to Daryl Andrews from Lillian Eaton, Eloise Jones, Daisy Crandall, and Ken Gray
  • April 26, 1978 – “Annual Meeting” memo to Area Board Members from Daryl Andrews
  • Sept. 6, 1978 – letter to Daryl Andrews from Jack McBride (29 pages)
    • Includes a copy of a field report
  • Sept. 29, 1978 – “Area Board Meeting” memo to Board Members from Daryl Andrews
  • Nov. 6, 1978 – letter to Daryl Andrews from Community Services Administration
  • Feb. 6, 1979 – letter to Daryl Andrews from William Howard and Richard Schrader (3 pages)
  • March 2, 1979 – letter to Daryl Andrews from Janet Dostal
  • March 14, 1979 – “Grant No. 6181” letter to Daryl Andrews from Richard Schrader and William Howard (7 pages)
  • March 15, 1979 – letter to Daryl Andrews from Jack McBride (6 pages)
    • Includes field report
  • March 26, 1979 – “Head Start Refunding” memo to Daryl Andrews from Richard Schrader and William Howard
  • April 1, 1981 – “Agency Personnel Cut Back Procedures” memo to Personnel Committee and Board of Directors from Daryl Andrews (3 pages)

Folder 5

  • Written notes (13 pages)
  • June 14, 1977 – letter to Edward Delaney from Henrietta L. Hall
  • March 9, 1978 – letter to Edward Delaney from Lawrence P. Lillis
  • July 10, 1978 – letter from Mae Rogers
  • Aug. 8, 1978 – “Martha Farley Case” letter to Edward Delaney from Dwight Douglas (2 pages)
  • Oct. 11, 1978 – letter to Edward Delaney from Jack McBride (2 pages)
  • Nov. 6, 1978 – letter to Edward Delaney from Ron Wyse
  • Dec. 8, 1979 – “Grant number H6181 Audit Control number 07-95004” letter to Edward Delaney from William P. Howard (3 pages)
  • Jan. 16, 1979 – “Grant Application No. 6181” memo to Edward Delaney from William P. Howard
  • Jan. 18, 1979 – “Grant No. H6181 Audit Control No. 07-95004” to Edward Delaney from William Howard and Richard Rosenthal (7 pages)
  • Jan. 26, 1979 – “Grant #H6181 Audit Control No. #07-95004” letter to Edward Delaney from William P. Howard, and Richard Rosenthal
  • Feb. 1, 1979 – letter to Edward Delaney from Sue King
  • Feb. 5, 1979 – “Grant #H6181 Audit Control No. 07-95004” letter to Edward Delaney from Daryl Andrews
  • March 2, 1979 – letter to Edward Delaney from George L. Dorsey
  • March 6, 1979 – “Evaluation Report of Economic Security Corporation of Southwest Area”  letter to Edward Delaney from Daryl Andrews (10 pages)
    • Includes monitoring report
  • March 7, 1979 – letter to Edward Delaney from Wilma J. Howsmon
  • March 20, 1979 – letter to Edward Delaney from Robert Manning
  • March 27, 1979 – letter to Bill Howard from Edward Delaney
  • March 30, 1979 – letter to Edward Delaney from Dean B. Chocholousek (5 pages)
    • Includes Notice of Grant Award
  • Oct. 22, 1979 – letter to Edward Delaney from Karen Yates (2 pages)
  • March 6, 1981 – letter to Edward Delaney from Janet Dostal
  • March 9, 1981 – letter from Edward Delaney
  • March 9, 1981 – letter to Byron Fly from Edward Delaney (2 pages)
  • March 12, 1981 – letter to Edward Delaney from Bob Ford
  • May 6, 1981 – letter to Edward Delaney from Janet Dostal (2 pages)
  • May 12, 1981 – letter to Edward Delaney from Janet Dostal (3 pages)
  • May 28, 1981 – letter to Edward Delaney from Janet Dostal

Folder 6

  • “Executive Committee Board Material” papers

Folder 7

  • “Draft: Outside Employment” paper
  • May 4, 1978 – “Administrative Policy No. 3: Travel Regulations” paper (3 pages)
  • May 4, 1978 – “Economic Security Corporation of the Southwest Area” Board Policy - Adopted”
  • Oct. 10, 1978 – “Administrative Policy No. 9 – Salary Adjustment and anniversary Date Changes” paper
  • Feb. 19, 1981 – “Travel Policies” memo to All Region VII Grantees from Wayne Thomas (2 pages)
  • Nov. 1981 – “Economic Security Corporation of Southwest Area: Procurement Procedures” paper (5 pages)

Folder 8

  • “Program Planning Supplemental Materials – Books” paper (16 pages)
  • Aug-Dec. 1977 - “Planning Process” paper (5 pages)
  • 1978-1979 – “Program Planning Budget” draft paper
  • “Senior Opportunities and Services Budget” draft paper
  • “Conduct and Administration Budget” draft paper (2 pages)
  • 1978-79 – “Family Planning Budget” draft paper (3 pages)
  • Jan 1978 – “December Bills: 1977” meeting paper (9 pages)
  • “Tentative Itinerary” paper
  • “Head Start Budget” paper (2 pages)
  • 1978-1979 – “HeadStart Handicap Budget” paper (3 pages)
  • “Budget Summary Sheet II” paper
  • “Automobile Mileage Voucher” form paper (2 pages)
  • “Economic Security Corporation of Southwest Area: Request and Authorization of Out-Of-Town Travel” form paper
  • “Out-Of-Town Travel Expense Account” paper
  • 1978-1979 – “HeadStart Handicap Budget” paper (3 pages)
  • “ManPower Department Activities” paper (6 pages)
    • Map (2 pages)
  • “Agreement” paper (2 pages)
  • 1978-1979 – “HeadStart Budget” paper (2 pages)
  • “Senior Opportunities and Services/nutrition” draft paper (2 pages)
  • “Community Development Budget” draft paper (2 pages)
  • “Outline” paper (7 pages)

Folder 9

  • Letter to Frank from Daryl Andrews
  • “Corporation may decide who will serve meals” newspaper clipping photocopy
  • April 12, 1977 – memo from Edward Delaney
  • April 28, 1977 – letter to Donald M. Franks from Dell Reed
  • April 28, 1977 – letter to Byron Halam from Dell Reed
  • May 13, 1977 – letter to Donald M. Franks from Daryl Andrews (2 pages)
  • June 16, 1977 – letter to Tom Carver from Daryl Andrews
  • March 18, 1981 - paper (3 pages)

Folder 10

  • “Committee Appoint to work with Nutrition Problems” paper
  • April 14, 1977 – “Policy Advisory Council Meeting” paper (2 pages)
  • Oct. 1978 – letter to friends from Thomasine Yeager
  • Oct. 26, 1978 – “Meeting of the Program Committee” memo to Area Board Members from Charles Obermann
  • Feb. 20, 1979 – letter to board members from Nell R. Finley

Folder 11

  • Letter to friend from John C. Danforth and Thomas Eagleton (2 copies)
  • 1980-1981 – “Economic Security Corporation” booklet

Folder 12

  • “Salary Survey” folder
  • April 1975 – “Personnel Policy of Economic Security Corporation of the Southwest Area” booklet

Folder 13

  • January 1979 – “Primary Care Effectiveness” booklet
  • March 16, 1979 – “Productivity/Effectiveness Initiative” memo to Region VII BCHS Grantees from Acting Regional Health Administrator (18 pages)

Folder 14

  • April 1, 1977 – “Area Board Committee” paper (2 pages)
  • April 14, 1977 – “Area Board Committee Members” paper (3 pages)
  • May 4, 1978 – “Area Board Members” paper (2 pages)
  • 1978-1979 – “Area Board Committee Members” paper
  • June 6, 1980 – “Area Board Members” paper (2 pages)
  • 1980-81 – “Area Board Committee Members” paper

Folder 15

  • April 1, 1977 – “Area Board Meeting” paper (2 pages)
  • April 1, 1977 – “Revised Poverty Level Income Guidelines” paper
  • April 7, 1977 – “Area Board Meeting Minutes” paper (4 pages)
  • April 20, 1977 – “Minutes: Special Committee Meeting” paper (2 pages)
    • “Senior Opportunities and Services: Original Budget” paper (2 pages)
  • May 5, 1977 – “Area Board Meeting Minutes” paper (3 pages)
  • May 5, 1977 – “Area Board Meeting: Agenda” paper (3 pages)
  • June 2, 1977 – “Area Board Meeting: Agenda” paper
  • July 7, 1977 – “Area Board Meeting Minutes” paper (3 pages)
  • Aug. 4, 1977 – “Area Board Meeting: Agenda” paper
  • Aug. 4, 1977 – “Area Board Meeting Minutes” paper (4 pages)
  • Sept. 1, 1977 – “Area Board Meeting: Agenda” paper
  • Oct. 6, 1977 – “Area Board Meeting Minutes” paper (4 pages)
  • Nov. 3, 1977 – “Area Board Meeting Minutes” paper (3 pages)
  • Nov. 3, 1977 – “Area Board Meeting: Agenda” paper (2 copies)
  • Dec. 1, 1977 – “Area Board Meeting Minutes” paper (3 pages)
  • Dec. 1, 1977 – “Area Board Meeting: Agenda” paper
  • Jan. 5, 1978 – “Resumes” paper
  • Jan. 5, 1978 – “Area Board Meeting: Agenda” paper
  • Jan. 5, 1978 – “Area Board Meeting Minutes” paper (3 pages)
  • Feb. 2, 1978 – “Area Board Meeting Minutes” paper (3 pages)
  • Feb. 2, 1978 – “Area Board Meeting: Agenda” paper
  • March 9, 1978 – “Area Board Meeting Minutes” paper (3 pages)
  • March 2, 1978 – “Area Board Meeting: Agenda” paper
  • April 6, 1978 – “Area Board Meeting Minutes” paper (4 pages)
  • April 6, 1978 – “Area Board Meeting: Agenda” paper
  • May 4, 1978 – “Area Board Meeting: Agenda” paper
  • July 6, 1978 – “Area Board Meeting Minutes” paper (3 pages)
  • Aug. 3, 1978 – “Resume” paper
  • Aug. 3, 1978 – “Area Board Meeting: Agenda” paper
  • Aug. 3, 1978 – “Area Board Meeting Minutes” paper (3 pages)
  • Sept. 7, 1978 – “Area Board Meeting: Agenda” paper
  • Sept. 7, 1978 – “Area Board Meeting Minutes” paper (3 pages)
  • Oct. 5, 1978 – “Area Board Meeting Minutes” paper (3 pages)
  • Oct. 5, 1978 – “Area Board Meeting: Agenda” paper
  • Nov. 2, 1978 – “Area Board Meeting: Agenda” paper (2 pages)
  • Nov. 2, 1978 – “Area Board Meeting Minutes” paper (3 pages)
  • Dec. 7, 1978 – “Area Board Meeting” paper
  • Jan. 4, 1979 – “Area Board Meeting Minutes” paper (3 pages)
  • Feb. 1, 1979 – “Area Board Meeting: Agenda” paper
  • Feb. 1, 1979 – “Area Board Meeting Minutes” paper (2 pages)
  • March 1, 1979 – “Area Board Meeting: Agenda” paper
  • March 1, 1979 – “Area Board Meeting Minutes” paper (3 pages)
  • April 5, 1979 – “Area Board Meeting: Agenda” paper
  • April 5, 1979 – “Area Board Meeting Minutes” paper (3 pages)
  • May 3, 1979 – “Area Board Meeting: Agenda” paper
  • June 5, 1980 – “Area Board Meeting Minutes” paper (5 pages)
  • July 10, 1980 – “Area Board Meeting: Agenda” paper
  • March 5, 1981 – “Area Board Meeting Minutes” paper (4 pages)
  • April 2, 1981 – “Area Board Meeting: Agenda” paper
  • May 7, 1981 – “Area Board Meeting Minutes” paper (4 pages)
  • June 4, 1981 – “Agenda” paper
  • Oct. 1, 1981 – “Area Board Meeting Minutes” paper (3 pages)
  • Nov. 5, 1981 – “Area Board Meeting” paper
  • July 7, 1983 – “Area Board Meeting Minutes” paper (3 pages)
  • Aug. 4, 1983 – “Area Board Meeting” paper

Box 2

Folder 1

  • “Head Start Budget” paper (2 pages)
  • “Part III – Budget Information” paper (7 pages)
  • Aug. 28, 1978 – “Economic Security Corporation of Southwest Area” paper (2 pages)
  • 1978-1979 – “Family Planning Budget” paper (2 pages)
  • 1978-1979 – “Program Planning Budget” paper
  • 1978-1979 – “Manpower Budget” paper (2 pages)
  • 1978-1979 – “Conduct and Administration Budget” paper (2 pages)
  • 1978-1979 – “Senior Opportunities and Services Budget” paper (2 pages)
  • 1978-1979 – “Community Development Budget” paper (2 pages)
  • 1978-1979 – “Missouri Balance of State Prime Sponsor Project Application” paper (2 pages) (2 copies)
  • 1979-1980 – “Head Start FY 79-80” paper (2 pages)
  • 1979 – 1980 – “Head Start FY 79-80” draft paper (2 pages)
  • 1979-1980 – “Family Planning Budget” paper (3 pages)
  • 1979- 1980 – “Family Planning Budget” paper (3 pages)1979-1980 – “Conduct and Administration Budget” paper (2 pages)
  • 1979-1980 – “Program Planning Budget” paper (2 pages)
  • 1979-1980 – “Program Planning Budget” draft paper (2 pages)
  • 1979-1980 – “Conduct and Administration Budget” draft paper (2 pages)
  • 1979-1980 – “Conduct and Administration Budget” paper (2 pages)
  • 1979-1980 – “Manpower Budget” paper
  • 1979-1980 – “Senior Opportunities and Services Objectives for 16979-80” paper (2 pages)
  • April 1979 – March 1980 – “Community Development Budget” draft paper (2 pages)
  • April 1979 – March 1980 – “Community Development Budget” paper (2 pages)
  • April 1979 – March 1980 – “Senior Opportunities and Services” draft paper
  • April 1, 1979 – March 31, 1980 – “Senior Opportunities and Services” paper
  • April 1979 – March 31, 1980 – “Manpower: Key Result Areas and Objectives” paper
  • April 1, 1979 – March 31, 1980 – “Head Start Revised Objectives” paper (2 pages)
  • April 1, 1979 – March 31, 1980 – “Manpower Budget” paper
  • April 1, 1979 – March 31, 1980 – “Community Development: KRA’s and Objectives” paper
  • May 1980 – “Monthly Financial Report: Title III – Transportation” paper (14 pages)
  • March 18, 1981 – “Title III Budget Up-Date” paper

Folder 2

  • “Help in Time of Trouble” pamphlet
  • “Missouri Association for Community Action” pamphlet
  • “KRA’s and Objectives Planner” paper (2 pages)
  • “KRA’s and Objectives Family Planning” paper (2 pages)
  • “Administrative Policy No. 3” paper
  • “Training Proposal for the Area Board of Directors of Economic Security Corp.” paper (2 pages)
  • “EEO Committee” paper
  • “Agreement” paper (3 pages)
  • “Agreement” paper (5 pages)
  • “Agreement” paper (4 pages)
  •  “Lease Agreement” paper (4 pages)
  • Oct. 1970 – “Manual for Community Action Agency Board Members” booklet
  • April 1977 – “Committee Members” paper
  • Aug. 30, 1977 – “Area Board Social and Training” paper
  • 1978-1979 – “Present Operating Fiscal Year Mission Statement & Goals” paper

Folder 3

  • “Area Board Training Proposal” paper
  • May 25, 1977 – “SB 185 and SB 334” letter from Tennie Ross
  • June 21, 1977 – letter to Henrietta L. Hall from Edward Delaney (2 pages)
  • June 27, 1977 – “Agenda” paper
  • Oct. 25, 1977 – “Southwest Missouri Area Agency on Aging Springfield, Missouri” memo to Whom it may concern from John V. Beaver (8 pages)
    • “Weaknesses in Accounting Systems” papers
    • “Internal Control of Weaknesses – SafeGuarding of Assets” papers
  • Sept. 20, 1977 – Neosho Daily News Vol. 73 No. 204 newspaper
  • Nov. 30, 1977 – Finances paper
  • April 14, 1978 – “Posted Meal Cost” paper
  • Jan. 15, 1981 – “Area Agency on Aging Region X” letter to Judge Fly from Ronald Pilkenton (2 pages)

Folder 4

  • July 1971 – “Bylaws of the Economic Security Corporation of Southwest Area” paper (9 pages)

Folder 5

  • Written notes
  • “SEOO Missouri by Funding Available” paper
  • April 1977 – “Bills for April, 1977” paper (13 pages)
  • May 1977 – “Bill List May 1977” paper (11 pages)
  • July 1977 – “Bill List July 1977” paper (8 pages)
  • Aug. 1977 – “Bill List August 1977” paper (10 pages)
  • Oct. 1977 – “October Bills 1977” paper (6 pages)
  • Oct. 1977 – “Additional October Bills” paper (3 pages)
  • Nov. 1977 – “Bills November, 1977” paper (13 pages)

Folder 6

  • Jan. 1978 – “January Bills – 1978” paper (9 pages)
  • Feb. 1978 – “February Bills – 1978” paper (12 pages)
  • March 1978 – “March Bills – 1978” paper (11 pages)
  • April 1978 – “April Bills – 1978” paper (15 pages)
  • July 1978 – “July Bills – 1978” paper (11 pages)
  • Aug. 1978 – “August Bills – 1978” paper (10 pages)
  • Sept. 1978 – “Summary Sheet – September Bills” paper (10 pages)
  • Sept. 7, 1978 – “Economic Security Corporation Southwest Area: Position Title” paper
  • Sept. 7, 1978 – “Economic Security Corporation of Southwest Area: Range/Salary” paper
  • Sept. 7, 1978 – “Request to purchase new autoclave” letter with info (3 pages)
  • Oct. 1978 – “October Bills – 1978” paper (8 pages)
  • Nov. 2, 1978 – “Rule Missouri Incorporated” paper
  • Nov. 2, 1978 – “Grand Totals” paper
  • Nov. 1978 – “Economic Security Corporation November 1978 Bills” paper (11 pages)
  • Jan. 1979 – “Economic Security Corporation January Billing 1979” paper (9 pages)
  • Feb. 1979 – “Economic Security Corporation February Billing 1979” paper (10 pages)
  • March 1979 – “Economic Security Corporation March Billing 1979” paper (13 pages)
  • April 1979 – “Economic Security Corporation April Billing 1979” paper (15 pages)

Folder 7

  • “CAA’s and A National Anti-Poverty Plan” paper (3 pages)
  • “Insulation Bid Analysis” paper
  • “To: Friends of Community Action Programs” paper (4 pages)
  • “How Can A Significant Number of Americans Reach Congress in Time to Save CSA=CAAS?” paper (3 pages)
  • “Neosho Senior Citizen’s Center Floor Improvement Bids” paper
  • “Information Concerning Bids Submitted for the Audit of Weatherization Program” paper
  • “Info to include when Writing to your Representative” paper
  •  “Request permission be granted to dispose by sealed bids” paper
  • Feb. 1978 – “L & E Committee Adopts Legislative Program” paper
  • May 2, 1978 – letter to Emergency Energy Program Grantees from Wayne Thomas
  • Aug. 22, 1978 - “Readership Survey” paper
  • Sept. 1978 – “Jim Sheehan Appointed MACA Project Director” paper
  • Oct. 13, 1978 – “Discrimination Charges” memo to Personnel Committee from Clarence Havens
  • Oct. 17, 1978 – “Energy Assistance for the Coming Winter” letter to all CAA Chairpersons, All CAA Directors, and ALL SEOOs from Wayne Thomas (2 pages)
  • April 5, 1979 – letter to Daryl Andrews from Wayne Thomas
  • 1981 – “Missouri Legislative Directory” pamphlet
  • 1981 – “Lease” agreement paper (4 pages)
  • March 1981 – “Lease” agreement paper (4 pages)
  • March 3, 1981 – “Attached I.G. Request” memo to All CSA Region VII Grantees from Wayne Thomas

Folder 8

  • May 1980 – “Expenditures by Program May 1980” paper (17 pages)
  • Feb. 1981 – “Total Expenditures for February, 1981” paper (28 pages)
  • April 1981 – “Total Expenditures for April, 1981” paper (29 pages)
  • Sept. 1981 – “Total Expenditures for September, 1981” paper (25 pages)

Folder 9

  • Sept. 1, 1977 – “Economic Security Corporation of Southwest Area: Financial Procedures Manual” draft paper (13 pages)

Folder 10

  • “Conduct & Administration – Objectives” paper
  • 1978-1979 – “Goals and Objectives” paper (4 pages)

Folder 11

  • Sept. 12, 1978 – letter to Gene Gibson (2 pages)
  • April 1, 1978 – March 31, 1979 – “Manpower Budget” draft paper (2 copies)

Folder 12

  • “The Goals for the Joplin Satellite School YETP Program” paper (3 pages) (2 copies)
  • “Exclusions from Monthly Gross Income” paper (2 pages)
  • “Countable Income” paper (2 pages)
  • “Legal Aid Delivery Systems” paper (2 pages)
  • “Community Food & Nutrition: Training and Technical Needs Assessment” paper (3 pages)
  • Aug. 23, 1978 – “EOO Training Workshop” memo to Board Chairperson, executive director, and equal opportunity officer from Edmond J. Taylor
  • Oct. 12, 1978 – memo to CAA Directors and Board Chairpersons from Praxis, Inc.
  • Nov. 15, 1978 – “To: Recipients of the ‘Policy and Procedures Manual for Governing Board Members’” paper
  • 1979 – “Two-Day Workshop on Communication Problems and Behaviors of the Older American” pamphlet
  • March 17, 1979 – “Senior Citizens Recognition Dinner” program
  • April 16, 1979 – “Notice of Grant Awarded” paper (2 pages)

Folder 13

  • “Personnel Committee Meeting Minutes: Area Board” paper
  • Oct. 2, 1978 – “Anniversary Date, 6% Merit Increase” memo to Executive Director and Personnel Committee of the Board of Directors from Vickie Todd (2 pages)
  • Oct. 29, 1981 – “Personnel Committee Meeting” paper

This site is maintained by the librarians of George A. Spiva Library.
If you have a question or comment about the Library's LibGuides, please contact the site administrator.