Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

District Local 340 Collection: Home

Special Collections, SC#68, District Local 340 Collection. Issues of the "District Local 340 Reporter," the official publication of the United Food and Commercial Union for Joplin, Missouri, from 1978-1981.

Collection Information

Collection Number: SC#68

Title: 
District Local 340 Collection

Dates: 

September 1978 to October 1981


Collection Size: 
1 Folder

Scope and Content

Issues of the "District Local 340 Reporter," the official publication of the United Food and Commercial Union for Joplin, Missouri, from 1978-1981.

Creator(s)

Amalgamated Meat Cutters and Butcher Workmen of North America-AFL-CIO District Local 340

Virgil Talbot

Acquisition Information

Donated on April 15, 1981 by Virgil Talbot.

Preview the Collection

Collection Inventory

  • Note from Virgil Talbot to Robert Markman
  • District Records memos
    • Undated – from Virgil Talbot to Robert Markman
    • April 15, 1981 – from Virgil Talbot to Robert Markman
    • May 21, 1981 – from Virgil Talbot to Robert Markman
    • June 4, 1981 – from Virgil Talbot to Robert Markman
    • July 9, 1981 – from Virgil Talbot to Robert Markman
    • July 24, 1981 – from Virgil Talbot to Robert Markman
    • Aug. 7, 1981 – from Virgil Talbot to Robert Markman
    • Oct. 2, 1981 – from Robert Markman to Virgil Talbot
  • Dist. Local 340 Reporter – Joplin, Missouri
    • Sept.-Oct. 1978 Vol. 1 No. 1 “Notice of Nominations of Officers”
    • Nov.-Dec. 1978 Vol. 1 No. 2 “Some Won, Some Lost in Election”
    • Jan.-Feb. 1979 Vol. 1 No. 3 “Meat Cutters, Clerks Agree to Merge”
    • March – April 1979 Vol. 1 No. 4 “’Corporate Greed’ Is Word: Profits Soar”
    • May-June 1979 Vol. 1 No. 5 “The Knot Is Tied – A New Union Is Born”
    • July – Aug. 1979 Vol. 1 No. 6 “Labor Endorses Carter’s Energy Plan”
    • Sept. – Oct. 1979 Vol. 1 No. 7 “Historic Accord Reached on Economy
    • Nov. – Dec. 1979 Vol. 1 No. 8 “Eagleton Is Tops In Labor Voting Record; Dole Zero”
    • Jan. – Feb. 1980 Vol. 2 No. 1 “Public Funds Finance Union – Busting”
    • March – April 1980 Vol. 2 No. 2 “Labor Dept. Honors ‘Madam Secretary’”
    • May-June 1980 Vol. 2 No. 3 “MBPXL Committee Does Good Job”
    • July-Aug. 1980 Vol. 2 No. 4 “The Bishop and the Boycott”
    • Sept.-Oct. 1980 Vol. 2 No. 5 “From Brass Knuckles to Briefcases”
    • Nov.-Dec. 1980 Vol. 2 No. 6 “Has the Nightmare Become Reality?”
    • Jan.-Feb. 1981 Vol. 3 No. 1 “UFCW Mounts Drive Against Perdue”
    • March-April 1981 Vol. 3 No. 2 “Prevailing Wage Laws Under ‘All-Out’ Attack”
    • May-June 1981 Vol. 3 No. 3 “Reagan Is Turning the Clock Back”
    • July-Aug. 1981 Vol. 3 No. 4 “Reagan’s Supply-Side Voodoo Economics”
    • Sept.-Oct. 1981 Vol. 3 No. 5 “Self Defense…It Could Get You Twenty Years In Jail”

This site is maintained by the librarians of George A. Spiva Library.
If you have a question or comment about the Library's LibGuides, please contact the site administrator.