Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Carthage Cave Collection: Home

Special Collections, SC#60, Carthage Cave Collection, Photocopies of newspapers clippings from local newspapers in the 1960s with information about Carthage caves.

Collection Information

Collection Number: SC#60

Title: 
Carthage Cave Collection

Dates: 
September 24, 1959-May 22, 1962


Collection Size: 
1 Folder

Scope and Content

Photocopies of newspapers clippings from local newspapers in the 1960s with information about Carthage caves, and two short papers about Carthage caves.

Creator(s)

“On The Carthage Cave” – contributed by Dawn Crawford

“Dazzling Wonders Beneath Carthage, Missouri” by James D. Schiltz

Missouri Civil Defense Agency

The Joplin Globe

The Kansas City Star

Missouri Speleological Survey

Acquisition Information

Portions of the collection were donated by Dawn Crawford in 1986 and B. Hamilton in 1990.

Preview the Collection

January 16, 1962, Letter from the Missouri Civil Defense Agency

January 16, 1962, Letter from the Missouri Civil Defense Agency

Collection Inventory

  • “Dazzling Wonders Beneath Carthage, Missouri” by James D. Schiltz for Our Lady of the Ozarks in Carthage, Missouri with bibliography
  • “Carthage caves” newspaper clipping
  • “On The Carthage Cave” paper, contributed by Dawn Crawford
  • “Carthage caves – Residents say evidence supports network theory” newspaper clipping
  • “Carthage caves – Spelunkers share tales of underground labyrinth” newspaper clipping
  • Sept. 24, 1959 – “W.H. Harrington Launches Move To Explore Caverns That Exist Below Carthage; Entrance At Garrison And Tenth” newspaper clipping (2 copies)
  • Oct. 8, 1959 – “F.A. Asendorf, Former Carthaginian, Tells of Tenth Street Cave” newspaper clipping
  • June 18, 1961 – “Huge Cave Beneath Heart of City” newspaper clipping
  • Jan. 11, 1962 – “Use of Cave as Community Shelter” newspaper clipping
  • Jan. 11, 1962 – “Carthaginians Tell Experiences of Area Caverns” newspaper clipping
  • Jan. 13, 1962 – “A Great Possibility Exists in Carthage – Please Help” newspaper clipping
  • Jan. 16, 1962 – Press Information, Missouri Civil Defense Agency
  • Jan. 17, 1962 – “Carthage Cave Creates Interest” newspaper clipping
  • Jan. 18, 1962 – “Use Of Missouri Mines, Caves For Fallout Shelter Related; Carthage Has A Natural” newspaper clipping
  • Jan. 22, 1962 – “To Survey Cave Under City For Possible Fallout Shelter” newspaper clipping
  • Feb. 7, 1962 – “2-Man Survey Team Begins Inspection of 34 Buildings Here For Shelter Use” newspaper clipping
  • Feb. 9, 1962 – “Sarcoxie, As Carthage, Has Cave Under City” newspaper clipping
  • Feb. 10, 1962 – untitled Newspaper clipping
  • Feb. 14, 1962 – “Sarcoxie Spelunkers” newspaper clipping
  • Feb. 15, 1962 – “Fallout Shelter?...Entrance to Old Cave Being Opened at Sarcoxie” newspaper clipping
  • Feb. 17, 1962 – “Spelunkers Seek Second Branch of Sarcoxie’s Cave” newspaper clipping
  • Feb. 21, 1962 – “Board of Realtors Give Big Boost To Carthage Cave Exploration” newspaper clipping
  • March 25, 1962 – Missouri Speleological Survey letter
  • April 1, 1962 – The Kansas City Star, untitled newspaper clipping (2 copies)
  • April 16, 1962 – “Evaluation of Carthage Cave For Shelter Continues As Objective State CD Agency” newspaper clipping
  • May 21, 1962 – untitled newspaper clipping
  • May 22, 1962 – “Civil Defense Workers Start Digging For Potential Shelter at Carthage” newspaper clipping

This site is maintained by the librarians of George A. Spiva Library.
If you have a question or comment about the Library's LibGuides, please contact the site administrator.