Research and Course Guides: International and Political Affairs (IPA): Articles/Journals

Search Everything

Recommended Databases to Search

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Access thousands of full-text journals covering information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study including: anthropology, biology, chemistry, engineering, law, mathematics, multicultural studies, music, physics, psychology, women's studies and many other fields.
CIA World Factbook This link opens in a new window
Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
The Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, a World Oceans map, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.
Country Studies This link opens in a new window
Presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A large digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources covering more than 50 disciplines primarily in the Arts & Sciences, Life Sciences, and Business. Coverage begins at the first issue of the journal and extends up to a publication date usually set in the past three to five years.
Political Science Database This link opens in a new window
A sub-database of ProQuest Central; provides political science and international relations journals, dissertations, and working papers on topics such as comparative politics, political economy, international development, and environmental policy.
Social Science Journals This link opens in a new window
A sub-database of ProQuest Central; offers indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work and sociology.

Full Search Video Tutorial

Database Search Tips

Use Boolean Logic (AND, OR, NOT) to combine search concepts.

TOO FEW hits: OR to add synonyms; individual key words, NOT whole phrases; drop concept(s) with AND; truncate; consider other databases.

TOO MANY hits: AND another concept into search; use other available limiters in the database.

Truncation symbols (?, *, !, +) will provide variant spelling after the root word.

A wildcard (?, *) is a character that may be used in a search term to represent one or more other characters.

Do an advanced search and take advantage of the fields provided.

Use the subject headings/descriptors to find additional citations on your topic. If that does not work, use the keyword search.

You can also use limits (e.g., publication year, language, words in the title, etc.) to narrow your retrieval.

Set up an auto alert/RSS feed to monitor the research.

Interlibrary Loan Request for Articles

If you need an article to which Spiva Library does not have full-text access, we can request a copy from another library using a service called InterLibrary Loan.

This service is available to all MSSU students, faculty, alumni, staff and community card holders.

InterLibrary Loan Policy

*a nominal service fee may
apply in some cases*

Google Scholar

Set Preferences to link to full-text available @ MSSU

International and Political Affairs (IPA)