MOBIUS is a resource sharing library network that allows access to thousands of books, ebooks, media, and more! MOBIUS allows you to request materials from academic/public libraries all across the U.S.!
The following is a small sampling of ebooks available through Spiva Library's subscription ebook collections. Browse more comprehensive lists via the links in the center column boxes.
Cities and Global Governance by
Case study rich, this volume advances our understanding of the significance of 'the city' in global governance. The editors call for innovation in international relations theory with case studies that add breadth to theorizing the role sub-national political actors play in global affairs. Each of the eight case studies demonstrates different intersections between the local and the global and how these intersections alter the conditions resulting from globalization processes. The case studies do so by focusing on one of three sub-themes: the diverse ways in which cities and sub-national regions impact nation-state foreign policy; the various dimensions of urban imbrications in global environmental politics; or the multiple methods and standards used to measure the global roles of cities.
Cultural Geography by
**Named a 2014 Choice Outstanding Academic Title** Combining coverage of key themes and debates from a variety ofhistorical and theoretical perspectives, this authoritativereference volume offers the most up-to-date and substantiveanalysis of cultural geography currently available. A significantly revised new edition covering a number of newtopics such as biotechnology, rural, food, media and tech, bordersand tourism, whilst also reflecting developments in establishedsubjects including animal geographies Edited and written by the leading authorities in thisfast-developing discipline, and features a host of new contributorsto the second edition Traces the historical evolution of cultural geography throughto the very latest research Provides an international perspective, reflecting the advancingacademic traditions of non-Western institutions, especially inAsia Features a thematic structure, with sections exploring topicssuch as identities, nature and culture, and flows and mobility
The Dictionary of Physical Geography by
This fully-revised comprehensive fourth edition covers the whole field of physical geography including climate and atmosphere, geomorphology, biogeography, hydrology, oceans, Quaternary, environmental change, soils, remote sensing and GIS. This new edition reflects developments in the discipline during the last decade, with the expert advisory group providing an international perspective on the discipline of physical geography. Over 2000 entries that are self-contained or cross-referenced include 200 that are new to this edition, over 400 that are rewritten and updated, and new supporting references and additional recommended reading in many others. Entries removed from the last edition are available in the online resource. This volume is the essential reference point for students of physical geography and related environmental disciplines, lecturers and interested individuals alike.
New Explorations into International Relations by
This book addresses a range of issues surrounding the search for scientific truths in the study of international conflict and international political economy. Unlike empirical studies in other disciplines, says Seung-Whan Choi, many political studies seem more competent at presenting theoretical conjecture and hypotheses than they are at performing rigorous empirical analyses. When we study global issues like democratic institutions, flows of foreign direct investment, international terrorism, civil wars, and international conflict, we often uncritically adopt established theoretical frameworks and research designs. The natural assumption is that well-known and widely cited studies, once ingrained within the tradition of the discipline, should not be challenged or refuted. However, do such noted research areas reflect scientific truth? Choi looks closely at ten widely cited empirical studies that represent well-known research programs in international relations. His discussions address such statistical and theoretical issues as endogeneity bias, model specification error, fixed effects, theoretical predictability, outliers, normality of regression residuals, and choice of estimation techniques. In addition, scientific progress made by remarkable discoveries usually results from finding a new way of thinking about long-held scientific truths, therefore Choi also demonstrates how one may search for novel ideas at minimal cost by developing new research designs with original data. Here is a valuable resource for students, scholars, and policy makers who want to quickly grasp the evolutionary pattern of scientific research on democracy, foreign investment, terrorism, and conflict; build their research designs and choose appropriate statistical techniques; and identify their own agendas for the production of cutting-edge research.
Books at Spiva Library are filed by the Library of Congress Classification System. To determine the Library of Congress call number of a specific book one must search the Spiva Library Catalog. A Spiva Library catalog search widget is provided below.
Civilization
Cultural Studies
Culture
Diplomacy
Foreign Relations
Global Health
Global Issues
Globalization
Government
Human Rights
International Cooperation
International Law
International Relations
Politics
Social Conditions
Social Customs
World Humanities
To access the full-text of ebooks from off-campus you must be a current MSSU student, faculty or staff member with a username and PIN. If you don't know or can't remember your Missouri Southern Username or PIN, please contact the IT Help Desk.
Want to browse the shelves? Here are the Library of Congress call numbers for various topics in International and Political Affairs:
E183.7-183.9 U.S. Diplomatic history. Foreign and general relations.
G1‑922 Geography (General)
G1000‑3122 Atlases
G3160‑3171 Globes
G3180‑9980 Maps
GA1‑1776 Mathematical geography. Cartography
GB3‑5030 Physical geography (islands, mountains, reefs)
GC1‑1581 Oceanography
GE1‑350 Environmental sciences
GN301‑674 Ethnology. Social and cultural anthropology.
HG3810-4000 Foreign exchange. International finance. International monetary system.
JA1‑92 Political science (General)
JC11‑605 Political theory. The state. Theories of the state
JF20‑2112 Political institutions and public administration (General)
JJ1000‑1019 Political institutions and public administration (North America)
JK1‑9993 Political institutions and public administration (United States)
JL1‑3899 Political institutions and public administration (Canada, Latin America, etc.)
JN1‑9689 Political institutions and public administration (Europe)
JQ21‑6651 Political institutions and public administration (Asia, Africa, Australia, Pacific Area, etc.)
JS39‑8500 Local government. Municipal government
JV1‑9480 Colonies and colonization. Emigration and immigration. International migration
JZ5‑6530 International relations
KZ2‑6795 Law of nations
If you need a book which Spiva Library does not own, we can request a copy from another library using a service called InterLibrary Loan.
Before you place a request for a book, be sure to check MOBIUS. Books available through MOBIUS libraries can be requested by MSSU students, faculty and staff from the MOBIUS page.
This service is available to all MSSU students, faculty, alumni, staff and community card holders.
*a nominal service fee may
apply in some cases*
Why use Google Books?
Google Books searches the full-text of books. It is great for narrow topics because it lets you search within the text of books--you can see the table of contents, index or a portion of the contents of the book. You can then locate the book in a nearby library.
Current in print copyrighted books are not full text. Out of print but still copyrighted books will show 20% of the book. Books in the public domain (pre 1923) are completely full text.
SAMPLE SEARCH: political science
This site is maintained by the librarians of George A. Spiva Library.
If you have a question or comment about the Library's LibGuides, please contact the site administrator.
