USGS Biodiversity Information Serving Our Nation (BISON) is a unique, web-based Federal mapping resource for species occurrence data in the United States and its Territories. Researchers collect species occurrence data, records of an organism at a particular time in a particular place, as a primary or ancillary function of many biological field investigations.
Source: https://bison.usgs.gov/#home
Biodiversity Information Serving Our Nation (BISON)
"...Here you will find authoritative taxonomic information on plants, animals, fungi, and microbes of North America and the world..." Source: http://www.itis.gov/
"Located at Gainesville, Florida, this site has been established as a central repository for spatially referenced biogeographic accounts of introduced aquatic species. The program provides scientific reports, online/realtime queries, spatial data sets, regional contact lists, and general information. The data is made available for use by biologists, interagency groups, and the general public. The geographical coverage is the United States..."
Source: http://nas.er.usgs.gov/
"The National Center for Biotechnology Information advances science and health by providing access to biomedical and genomic information..." Source: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/
"The PLANTS Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories..." Source: http://plants.usda.gov/java/
“Animal Diversity Web (ADW) is an online database of animal natural history, distribution, classification, and conservation biology at the University of Michigan.”
Source: http://animaldiversity.ummz.umich.edu/about/
The University of Arizona designed this website "for biology students at the college level" and it can also be "useful for high school students, medical students, physicians, science writers, and all types of interested people."
Source: http://www.biology.arizona.edu/the_biology_project/about.html
The Biology Project - BIOCHEMISTRY is a highly informative and illustrative web source on biochemistry by The University of Arizona.
Source: http://www.biology.arizona.edu/biochemistry/biochemistry.html
The Cell is a project by the American Society for Cell Biology (ASCB.) and “is a repository for images and movies of cells from a variety of organisms. It demonstrates cellular architecture and functions with high quality images, videos, and animations.” Images could be downloaded in JPEG and OME- TIF formats.
Source: http://cellimagelibrary.org/pages/about
A digital library of nearly 10,000 page images of primary source materials relating to south Florida environmental history spanning the years 1884 to present and covering topics such as the establishment of the Everglades National Park, Native American land rights, agriculture, urban development, endangered species, invasive plants, and the role of women in the modern conservation movement.
Source: http://everglades.fiu.edu/
Freshwater and Marine Image Bank is a brainchild of the Fisheries-Oceanography Library of the University of Washington and consists “of images related to freshwater and marine topics.” The collection has a global scope.
Source: http://content.lib.washington.edu/fishweb/index.html
Image Bank by the Higher Education Academy, United Kingdom, is a compendium of fauna images with basic descriptions of them.
Source: http://www.bioscience.heacademy.ac.uk/imagebank/
A vast of genetics information could be found on this site. The Genetics Science Learning Center of The University of Utah designed this site to facilitate the understanding of the basics of genetics. The Information on this site also comprises some sophisticated material.
Source: https://learn.genetics.utah.edu/
On this site you can find detailed information on Linus Carl Pauling, the famous American chemist, biochemist, as well as a peace activist. The collection is built by the Oregon State University Libraries Special Collections & Archives Research Center.
Source: http://pauling.library.oregonstate.edu/
North Texas Aquatics Gateway “is designed to be a starting point for teachers and students interested in aquatic habitats, plants and animals in North Texas.”
Source: http://www.bio.tcu.edu/nortag/
The goal of this University of Florida’s site “is to enable users to identify crickets, katydids, and cicadas from America north of Mexico." You can also find here a few recent books about these insects.
Source: http://entomology.ifas.ufl.edu/walker/buzz/
The University of Miami's "The Plant Anatomy Digital Archive features over 1,700 images from more than 250 species of plants collected from all over the world..." Source: http://swingle.miami.edu/plantReference.html
On this site Dr. Stephanie Dellis from the College of Charleston gives basic explanations on how to conduct biology labs. The site is rich with images and thorough descriptions that facilitate understanding the processes.
Source: http://delliss.people.cofc.edu/virtuallabbook/
"ActionBioscience.org is a non-commercial, educational web site created to promote bioscience literacy..."
Source: http://www.actionbioscience.org/
"On this site you will find the manuscripts that record Charles Darwin's work as a practicing scientist..." Source: http://darwin.amnh.org/
"...The Animal Genome Size Database, Release 2.0, a comprehensive catalogue of animal genome size data. Haploid DNA contents (C-values, in picograms) are currently available for 4972 species (3231 vertebrates and 1741 non-vertebrates) based on 6518 records from 669 published sources..."
Source: http://www.genomesize.com/
"Biology-Online.org is run by enthusiasts from all around the world and visited by over 25,000 people every day. Please help us grow our content! Submit your own articles, tutorials, essays, reports or any other biology related work and we will publish it online in the appropriate section...."
Source: http://www.biology-online.org/
"BRENDA is the main collection of enzyme functional data available to the scientific community. It is available free of charge for via the internet..."
Source: http://www.brenda-enzymes.info/
Information on invasive animals and plants in the U.S. Source: https://www.bugwood.org/index.cfm
"Welcome to the Catalogue of Life website! The gateway to our online database of the world's known species of animals, plants, fungi and micro-organisms..." Source: http://www.catalogueoflife.org/colwebsite/
"The DNA Learning Center has had a strong web presence since the early days of the World Wide Web in 1993. We now maintain 21 sites with content and tools to enhance science education for a broad audience..." Source: http://www.dnalc.org/websites/
EOL's "knowledge of the many life-forms on Earth - of animals, plants, fungi, protists and bacteria - is scattered around the world in books, journals, databases, websites, specimen collections, and in the minds of people everywhere..."
Source: http://eol.org/about
American Society for Microbiology Podcasts Source: https://www.asm.org/index.php/podcasts
"The IUCN Red List of Threatened Species™ is widely recognized as the most comprehensive, objective global approach for evaluating the conservation status of plant and animal species..." Source: http://www.iucnredlist.org/about/red-list-overview
"The Society of Toxicology (SOT) is a professional and scholarly organization of scientists from academic institutions, government, and industry representing the great variety of scientists who practice toxicology in the US and abroad..." Source: http://www.toxicology.org/
United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) is a good source on climate change effect on biological ecosystems.
Source: http://www.unep.org/explore-topics/ecosystems
This site is maintained by the librarians of George A. Spiva Library.
If you have a question or comment about the Library's LibGuides, please contact the site administrator.
