Research and Course Guides: Native American Resources: Articles & Journals

Search Everything at MSSU

Article databases - Community Patrons MUST be in the library to search and access any full-text

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Biography Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Biography Reference Center offers a comprehensive collection of more than 450,000 full text biographies, including the complete full text run of Biography Today and Biography Magazine, as well as thousands of narrative biographies that are not available in other databases.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A large digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources covering more than 50 disciplines primarily in the Arts & Sciences, Life Sciences, and Business. Coverage begins at the first issue of the journal and extends up to a publication date usually set in the past three to five years.
Nexis Uni (LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information as well as U.S. Supreme Court decisions back to 1790.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Covering more than 160 subjects areas, this database includes scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.

Historic Documents Series
Published annually since 1972, the Historic Documents Series now contains 39 volumes of primary sources. Each volume includes approximately one hundred documents covering the most significant events of the year. These documents range from presidential speeches, international agreements, and Supreme Court decisions to U.S. governmental reports, scientific findings, and cultural discussions.
New York Times Newspaper (1851-2011)
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. The Historical New York Times with Index (1851-1993) provides search capability using subject terms and topics for focused and targeted results in combination with searchable full text, full page, and article-level images from the Historical New York Times (1851-2007)
Issues & Controversies in American History
Indian Removal Act

Database Search Tips

Use Boolean Logic (AND, OR, NOT) to combine search concepts.

TOO FEW hits: OR to add synonyms; individual key words, NOT whole phrases; drop concept(s) with AND; truncate; consider other databases.

TOO MANY hits: AND another concept into search; use other available limiters in the database.

Truncation symbols (?, *, !, +) will provide variant spelling after the root word.

A wildcard (?, *) is a character that may be used in a search term to represent one or more other characters.

Do an advanced search and take advantage of the fields provided.

Use the subject headings/descriptors to find additional citations on your topic. If that does not work, use the keyword search.

You can also use limits (e.g., publication year, language, words in the title, etc.) to narrow your retrieval.

Set up an auto alert/RSS feed to monitor the research.

Evaluating Journals

CHARACTERISTICS	SCHOLARLY/PEER REVIEWED JOURNALS	GENERAL MAGAZINES
How to tell the difference between these two types of periodicals:
Content	Reports on original research; in-depth analysis of topics; statistical information; academic level book reviews; refereed or peer-reviewed	Current events and news; hot topics; brief, factual information; interviews
Length	Longer articles providing in-depth analysis of topics	Shorter articles providing broader overviews of topics
Authorship	Author usually an expert or specialist in the field; name and credentials always provided - researchers, academics, professors, scholars	Author usually a staff writer or a journalist; name and credentials often not provided
Language	Academic level writing & vocabulary; specialized language of the discipline; can be highly technical	Non-technical vocabulary; often simple language
Format/Structure	Articles usually more structured; may include these sections: abstract, literature review, methodology, results, conclusion, bibliography	Articles do not necessarily follow a specific format or structure
Editors	Editors/reviewers are experts in the same field as author(s); many participate in peer-review process prior to publication; rigorous publication standards; articles checked for content, format and style	Editors not academic experts in subject field of article; article topics often assigned or contracted; articles usually only edited for style and format
Publishers	Professional organizations; Universities, research institutes and scholarly presses	Commercial/trade publishers; corporate ownership
Special Features	Illustrations that support the text, such as tables of statistics, graphs, maps, or photographs	Illustrations with glossy or color photographs, usually for advertising purposes
Credits	A bibliography (works cited) and/or footnotes are always provided to document research thoroughly	A bibliography (works cited) is usually not provided; names of reports or references may be mentioned in the text; sources, when used, are rarely cited in full