George A. Spiva Library is a congressionally designated depository for U.S. Government Documents. Public access to the Government Documents collection is guaranteed by public law. (Title 44 United States Code).
The library is one of selective depository libraries in Missouri and has an Intrastate Regional agreement with University of Missouri, the Regional Federal Depository Library for the State of Missouri. The library is designated to hold documents from Congressional Committee dealing with Indian Affairs (SuDoc range Y 4.IN 2/1-2/11) and Bureau of Indian Affairs (SuDoc range I 20: ).
What is the Federal Depository Library Programs?
Discover U.S Government Information
This collection is a combination of books and government documents and is located on the 4th floor of Spiva Library. Use the search box below to browse our Native American Resources Collection.
A Native American encyclopedia : history, culture, and peoples by 
Arts and Crafts of the Native American Tribes by 
Encyclopedia of Native Tribes of North America by
"A model of excellence in the art of reference volume publishing... Every public and school library... should acquire this treasure. It will remain the standard for many years to come." --Dr. James A. Clifton, Department of Anthropology, Western Michigan University "This substantial reference remains one of the most elaborately illustrated books on Native Americans now in print... Highly recommended." --Library Journal This superb, fully illustrated reference offers the most up-to-date and essential facts on the identity, kinships, locations, populations and cultural characteristics of some 400 separately identifiable peoples native to the North American continent, both living and extinct, from the Canadian Arctic to the Rio Grande. The abundance of illustrations and photographs form an especially rich store of material describing the vast range of Native American material culture. The maps are valuable pictorial representations of major historical events. Population and settlement trends based on the most recent US Census paint detailed portraits of all officially recognized tribes. The book includes: More than 600 color and archival photographs Extensive visual coverage of tribal dress and cultural artifacts 46 maps, including prehistoric cultural and historic sites and tribe distribution maps, as well as maps showing movement of tribes and non-indigenous troops during conflicts More than 100 specially commissioned color illustrations. Comprehensive, authoritative and up-to-date, Encyclopedia of Native Tribes of North America is an important and accessible record of the Native American peoples and an essential addition to all school and library collections.
This site is maintained by the librarians of George A. Spiva Library.
If you have a question or comment about the Library's LibGuides, please contact the site administrator.
