Research and Course Guides: Engineering Technology: Articles & Journals

Search Everything at MSSU

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Access thousands of full-text journals covering information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study including: anthropology, biology, chemistry, engineering, law, mathematics, multicultural studies, music, physics, psychology, women's studies and many other fields.
Engineering Database This link opens in a new window
A sub-database of ProQuest Central, this database covers construction, civil engineering, aircraft design, and other engineering topics.
Materials Science Database This link opens in a new window
A sub-database of ProQuest Central, the Materials Science & Engineering Database is an interdisciplinary resource of full-text content along with indexing of global literature in materials science and engineering.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Covering more than 160 subjects areas, this database includes scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.

Use Boolean Logic (AND, OR, NOT) to combine search concepts.

TOO FEW hits: OR to add synonyms; individual key words, NOT whole phrases; drop concept(s) with AND; truncate; consider other databases.

TOO MANY hits: AND another concept into search; use other available limiters in the database.

Truncation symbols (?, *, !, +) will provide variant spelling after the root word.

A wildcard (?, *) is a character that may be used in a search term to represent one or more other characters.

Do an advanced search and take advantage of the fields provided.

Use the subject headings/descriptors to find additional citations on your topic. If that does not work, use the keyword search.

You can also use limits (e.g., publication year, language, words in the title, etc.) to narrow your retrieval.

Set up an auto alert/RSS feed to monitor the research.