Research and Course Guides: Nursing: Articles & Journals

Search Everything

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides nursing and allied health literature, including nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing, and the American Nurses' Association.
Consumer Health Database This link opens in a new window
This database includes journals and magazines covering an enormous range of health subjects...
Health & Medical Complete This link opens in a new window
A sub-database of ProQuest Central; coverage of clinical and biomedical topics, consumer health, health administration and more.
Healthcare Administration Database This link opens in a new window
A sub-database of ProQuest Central, this database is a collection of resources in the field of health administration, including journals and dissertations.
Nursing & Allied Health Source This link opens in a new window
Reliable, comprehensive coverage of the fields of nursing and allied health including journals, evidence-based resources, video, dissertations, reference books and more
Public Health This link opens in a new window
Covers a variety of disciplines including nutrition, biology, physical fitness, and social services.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Comprises more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations MAY include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
-multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Covering more than 160 subjects areas, this database includes scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.

Use Boolean Logic (AND, OR, NOT) to combine search concepts.

TOO FEW hits: OR to add synonyms; individual key words, NOT whole phrases; drop concept(s) with AND; truncate; consider other databases.

TOO MANY hits: AND another concept into search; use other available limiters in the database.

Truncation symbols (?, *, !, +) will provide variant spelling after the root word.

A wildcard (?, *) is a character that may be used in a search term to represent one or more other characters.

Do an advanced search and take advantage of the fields provided.

Use the subject headings/descriptors to find additional citations on your topic. If that does not work, use the keyword search.

You can also use limits (e.g., publication year, language, words in the title, etc.) to narrow your retrieval.

Set up an auto alert/RSS feed to monitor the research.